Information message

Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.1/5 3,362 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel
See on a map
+ 17 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton certified hotel

  • 19th century building with original features

  • Central location, with plenty of nearby transport links

  • On-site leisure facilities, including a dedicated gym

  • Sherwood Forrest and Nottingham Castle located nearby

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel Paying
  • Air conditioned
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing Paying
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
Business services
  • 4 Meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Business center with support staff
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel

2 George Street
NG1 3BP nottingham
united kingdom

Tel: +441159599777

Fax: (+44)115/9581335

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • NET :  NET Lace Market

  • By plane

    EAST MIDLANDS At 22.53km / 14 miles

  • By train

    NOTTINGHAM At 1.61km / 1 miles

GPS :52.953693, -1.144617

Our accommodation(s)

All 76 air conditioned bedrooms have been individually designed to offer the best in guest comfort and satisfaction. Each room is equipped with the latest amenities, such as WiFi Internet, flat screen TV's, Ipod docks.

Our restaurants and bars

1822

Type of cuisine: Other cooking style

Stylish restaurant, serving beautifully prepared food.

1822

Stylish lounge bar. The perfect place to unwind with your favorite book. Sample a drink or and whip up a conversation. Serving a full range of light refreshment including international and local wines, beers and spirits.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 4

  • Maximum size: 128

  • Maximum capacity: 100 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 100 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.1/5

3,362 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,651 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Great location fantastic staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Cara H. Families - 20/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

After having my previous hotel booking cancelled at a different mecure hotel the evening before bringing my son to university I was so grateful to call and speak with Sabrin at the George. She went above and beyond to make our stay possible, helping with everything from the practical to the personal. All the reception staff were absolutely lovely, kind, welcoming and organised. I would recommend this hotel purely for the staff without hesitation. It was like hone from home..

Dear Cara, Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and the completed questionnaire. It really is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and scores like yours. I am so sorry to hear of the issues you experienced and sincerely delighted to hear we were able to assist in all ways possible. Thank you so much for your high praise of Sabrin and the reception team. This is so wonderful to hear and I will ensure your kind words are shared with them all. If you have a moment Cara we would be extremely grateful and thankful if you could share your feedback on our TripAdvisor page so the TripAdvisor community can also see your comments. Leaving a review here really does help us as a hotel and indeed possible future guests who are thinking about staying with us. The link to click to do so is: http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g186356-d189742-Reviews-Mercure_Nottingham_City_Centre_Hotel-Nottingham_Nottinghamshire_England.html I will also share your comments with my team. I have no doubt that your comments and suggestions provided in your questionnaire will serve as an encouragement to all of the team as we all strive to continuously improve the quality of our service. Thank you once again Cara for sharing your experience and for having chosen to stay with us. I genuinely hope your next stay with us or indeed with any other Mercure Hotel / Accor hotel will be as pleasant as the previous one. With kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Tim M. Couples - 19/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very pleasant staff, who were warm and welcoming.

Dear Tim, Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and the completed questionnaire. It really is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and scores like yours. If you have a moment Tim we would be extremely grateful and thankful if you could share your feedback on our TripAdvisor page so the TripAdvisor community can also see your comments. Leaving a review here really does help us as a hotel and indeed possible future guests who are thinking about staying with us. The link to click to do so is: http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g186356-d189742-Reviews-Mercure_Nottingham_City_Centre_Hotel-Nottingham_Nottinghamshire_England.html I will also share your comments with my team. I have no doubt that your comments and suggestions provided in your questionnaire will serve as an encouragement to all of the team as we all strive to continuously improve the quality of our service. Thank you once again Tim for sharing your experience and for having chosen to stay with us. I genuinely hope your next stay with us or indeed with any other Mercure Hotel / Accor hotel will be as pleasant as the previous one. With kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager

Birthday stay

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Jane Couples - 19/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

For the money I was really disappointed with the room. Very small bed, nothing luxurious about it especially the bathroom. No view, just brick walls and general mess. Location is very good and the breakfast was nice. For a special occasion I was disappointed overall.

Dear Ms. h., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kindest regards Chris Butler Hotel Manager

Warm welcome great to go back

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Lisa C. Couples - 19/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Sabine very welcoming and professional as always, staff very friendly, very comfy bed and great power shower , location is perfect.

Dear Ms. c., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I thank you for your comments about breakfast which I will share with our owner to consider. These are very much appreciated. It really was my pleasure to have been able to assist with your reservation and welcome you back Ms. c.. I very much hope I will have the pleasure again in the future. Kindest regards Sabrin Daoud Operations Manager

Nice staff

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Victoria Couples - 18/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room looks nice, but is very dated. Sink is leaking, mattress is very old. Fire alarm went off at 2am and we got told two different stories of what happened. Apology only offered after prompting the staff. The two ladies that checked us in were wonderful.

Dear Victoria, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Sabrin Daoud Operations Manager

Lovely place, but........

Customer review rating 3.0/5

James Couples - 16/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had stayed at this hotel previously and had a wonderful time, so as we have had a rough time of late, I thought I would treat myself and my wife to a night away in the hotel. The bedroom area was great, lovely decor and clean, however the bathroom section of the room was terrible. Firstly it wasn't particularly clean, I appreciate that the walls are high and tough to clean, but with relation to the current situation I would expect every inch of the room to be spotless. Then the shower cubicle had broken handles, and broken seals on the door not great, and again not hygienic.

Dear James, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I have instructed my head housekeeper and maintenance manager to thoroughly check this room, which I will do with them to ensure any issues found are rectified. I thank you for bringing them to my attention. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kindest regards Chris Butler Hotel Manager

Great location but terrible room

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Graham P. Couples - 16/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Location really is greatly however our room was terrible. Very small bathroom very small room which would be fine if it was specked but the mattress is the worst I’ve ever laid on. Not slept as I couldn’t just laid on.

Dear Mr. P., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured I will have both my head housekeeper and maintenance manager inspect the mattress in the room and should it be necessary have it replaced. I thank you for bringing this possible issue to my attention. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kindest regards Chris Butler Hotel Manager

Fabulous staff and a nice hotel

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Emma Business - 16/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

This is a great hotel in the city centre, the staff are fabulous. The breakfast was lovely, the room was clean with a comfy bed and pillows. Would highly recommend and will certainly stay here again when visiting Nottingham

Dear Emma, Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and the completed questionnaire. It really is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and scores like yours. If you have a moment we would be extremely grateful and thankful if you could share your feedback on our TripAdvisor page so the TripAdvisor community can also see your comments. Leaving a review here really does help us as a hotel and indeed possible future guests who are thinking about staying with us. The link to click to do so is: http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g186356-d189742-Reviews-Mercure_Nottingham_City_Centre_Hotel-Nottingham_Nottinghamshire_England.html I will also share your comments with my team. I have no doubt that your comments and suggestions provided in your questionnaire will serve as an encouragement to all of the team as we all strive to continuously improve the quality of our service. Thank you once again for sharing your experience and for having chosen to stay with us. I genuinely hope your next stay with us or indeed with any other Mercure Hotel / Accor hotel will be as pleasant as the previous one. With kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 16/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great stay for a couple of nights in Nottingham, the hotel is well located in the city centre around lots of good restaurants and bars! The staff were all really helpful and friendly, one of the reasons we have visited the hotel many times.

Dear Amy, Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and the completed questionnaire. It really is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and scores like yours. If you have a moment Amy we would be extremely grateful and thankful if you could share your feedback on our TripAdvisor page so the TripAdvisor community can also see your comments. Leaving a review here really does help us as a hotel and indeed possible future guests who are thinking about staying with us. The link to click to do so is: http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g186356-d189742-Reviews-Mercure_Nottingham_City_Centre_Hotel-Nottingham_Nottinghamshire_England.html I will also share your comments with my team. I have no doubt that your comments and suggestions provided in your questionnaire will serve as an encouragement to all of the team as we all strive to continuously improve the quality of our service. Thank you once again Amy for sharing your experience and for having chosen to stay with us. I genuinely hope your next stay with us or indeed with any other Mercure Hotel / Accor hotel will be as pleasant as the previous one. With kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager

Top location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Families - 15/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice welcome, great room, good breakfast although service could have been more attentive.

Dear Mr. B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you didn't receive friendly and attentive service from our team. This is most disappointing to hear especially as we are inundated with compliments from the team so I am sorry to hear of complacency when you stayed and will ensure your feedback is shared with them. Your comments will assist me in my ongoing efforts to provide our guests with the best possible experience. Thank you again for sharing your experience and for having chosen to stay with us on this occasion. The team and I very much hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards Chris Butler Hotel Manager

Disappointing.

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Chris Couples - 14/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Poor - great location and friendly staff but room was small, dark and noisy.

Dear Mr. D., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kindest regards Chris Butler Hotel Manager

Disappointed

Customer review rating 1.5/5

R. Families - 14/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staffs were very friendly and helpful. However the hotel felt tired in many places, the public toilet was disgusting. Covid safety was not a priority. Very noisy from the street night activities!! which I do realise is no fault of the hotel. I now know that the hotel is used by many stag and hen groups. We were charged over £230 for a standard room without breakfast. Five star prices at low 3 star.

Dear Ms. R., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Your feedback will be shared with the housekeeping team and I will discuss the public toilets with them. I am sincerely very sorry to hear that we fell short of our usual high housekeeping standards and will ensure this does not happen again. When booking online both room only and bed and breakfast rates are available so our guests can make a decision at the point of booking as to whether they wish to book with or without breakfast. For any guest who decides to add breakfast on at the hotel this is not a problem and is charged at £10.00 per person. I thank you for your kind comments about the team here and will be sure to share your feedback with them all. We appreciate your sharing your experience with us and your feedback is genuinely very well received and will assist me in my on going efforts to improve both our product and service standards. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kindest regards Chris Butler Hotel Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Bob Couples - 14/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Polite and knowledgeable staff

Dear Mr. D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kindest regards Chris Butler Hotel Manager

very poor due to Room and noise

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Terry E. Couples - 13/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Had a very disappointing stay one due to dirty room with trip hazards in carpet also the room location we was kept awake till gone 3am in morning due to excessive noise

Dear Mr. E., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I welcome your feedback which is well received and will ensure it is shared with my maintenance and housekeeping team. I will personally inspect the room with both departments to ensure any issue found is rectified and our owners are informed to assist with anything that requires replacement. I apologize once again for your experience. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kindest regards Chris Butler Hotel Manager

Perfect location lovely hotel

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Michele Friends - 11/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Perfect location lovely hotel with friendly staff - breakfast good too!

Dear Michele, Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and the completed questionnaire. It really is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and scores like yours. Your scores also assist us in being able to see which areas should be concentrated on due to there clearly being room for improvement. If you have a moment we would be extremely grateful and thankful if you could share your feedback on our TripAdvisor page so the TripAdvisor community can also see your comments. Leaving a review here really does help us as a hotel and indeed possible future guests who are thinking about staying with us. The link to click to do so is: http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g186356-d189742-Reviews-Mercure_Nottingham_City_Centre_Hotel-Nottingham_Nottinghamshire_England.html I will also share your comments with my team. I have no doubt that your comments and suggestions provided in your questionnaire will serve as an encouragement to all of the team as we all strive to continuously improve the quality of our service. Thank you once again for sharing your experience and for having chosen to stay with us. I genuinely hope your next stay with us or indeed with any other Mercure Hotel / Accor hotel will be as pleasant as the previous one. With kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Guest Families - 11/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Welcomed by the receptionist and understood the reason for my visit to Nottingham. The room was lovely Very comfortable stay

Dear Guest, Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and the completed questionnaire. It really is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and scores like yours. If you have a moment we would be extremely grateful and thankful if you could share your feedback on our TripAdvisor page so the TripAdvisor community can also see your comments. Leaving a review here really does help us as a hotel and indeed possible future guests who are thinking about staying with us. The link to click to do so is: http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g186356-d189742-Reviews-Mercure_Nottingham_City_Centre_Hotel-Nottingham_Nottinghamshire_England.html I will also share your comments with my team. I have no doubt that your comments and suggestions provided in your questionnaire will serve as an encouragement to all of the team as we all strive to continuously improve the quality of our service. Thank you once again for sharing your experience and for having chosen to stay with us. I genuinely hope your next stay with us or indeed with any other Mercure Hotel / Accor hotel will be as pleasant as the previous one. With kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager

Good location

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Terry L. Business - 10/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff good, breakfast very good, rooms very tired - lighting too dim, walls too dark, air conditioning noisy and not working well, toilet constantly running meant pumped unit made noise every 10 minutes, tv did not have many channels.

Dear Mr. L., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Nottingham City Centre George Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured your feedback will be shared with our maintenance team to investigate the issues you mention along with our owner to bare in mind for any possible refurbishment plans for the future. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kindest regards Chris Butler Hotel Manager
Customer review rating 5.0/5

Reena Families - 09/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I came for my daughter’s graduation. I have to praise Sabrine. I lost my favourite pair of earrings in my room. She got her best housekeeper to find them. I received them in the post the following day. What a star ⭐️. Thank you so much for a fabulous stay. Would definitely stay again !!!

Dear Reena, Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and the completed questionnaire. It really is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and scores like yours. I am so glad you had the earrings, I did wonder whether you received them, I am very happy you did. If you have a moment we would be extremely grateful and thankful if you could share your feedback on our TripAdvisor page so the TripAdvisor community can also see your comments. Leaving a review here really does help us as a hotel and indeed possible future guests who are thinking about staying with us. The link to click to do so is: http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g186356-d189742-Reviews-Mercure_Nottingham_City_Centre_Hotel-Nottingham_Nottinghamshire_England.html I will also share your comments with my team. I have no doubt that your comments and suggestions provided in your questionnaire will serve as an encouragement to all of the team as we all strive to continuously improve the quality of our service. Thank you once again for sharing your experience Reena and for having chosen to stay with us. I genuinely hope your next stay with us or indeed with any other Mercure Hotel / Accor hotel will be as pleasant as the previous one. With kindest regards Sabrin Daoud Operations Manager

3 night break

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

bevandmikehurn 18/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Mercure. Very friendly staff. Location was great and we will definitely come back. We hope to be back and do a lot more as we did not realise so much history. Every body we spoke to were happy to tell us where to go and what to see. Thank you.

Dear Bev & Mike, Thank you so much for finding the time to leave a review. The team and I are so pleased to hear that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that our location also proved to be ideal for your time in the city. We all very much appreciate you having chosen to stay with us on this occasion and sincerely do hope we will have the pleasure of being able to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards Chris Butler Hotel Manager

Midweek Getaway

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

ozzie19692016 11/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

We had a midweek stay at this hotel and thought it was pricey(£440)but thought it was worth it, how wrong we were.We did not realise that when we booked that the cricket was on at Trent Bridge which is why it was so expensive.It would have been (£189) this week.The Privilege room was meant to be the best in the hotel but not much natural light, no view and not much air flow it felt a bit like a prison cell.The air con in the bedroom did not work so it was very stuffy and we did not sleep well.It was cleaned out the following day as the filter inside was covered in dust.The roll top bath would have took 2 hours to fill as it just dripped into the bath.The shower trap was filthy and the water from the shower would not drain, you could not have a proper wash in the sink as it had a rack above it for toiletries so you had to stand up and splash your face!!! The evening reception staff were very good and helpful but we would no recommend this hotel due to our experience we had.

Dear Ozzie, Thank you for your review. I am sincerely very sorry to hear of the disappointment you had with your recent stay. I thank you for having shared your feedback in person and also for sharing it with the TripAdvisor community. Your feedback has been taken on board and shared with our housekeeping team to ensure that the necessary retraining and support is given to the individual who serviced your room. Our maintenance team are also looking into the issues you mention with the AC and the slow flowing taps for the bath. I thank you for bringing this to our attention. I am sincerely very sorry for the less than impressive experience and sincerely apologize that this was the experience you had. I thank you for your kind words about the team which I will share with them. Your feedback will assist myself and the team in our ongoing efforts to improve both the quality of our product and service standard and I therefore thank you once again for sharing your experience with us. Kindest regards Chris Butler Hotel Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in nottingham