Information message

Novotel Reading Centre Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.3/5 6,174 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Novotel Reading Centre
See on a map
+ 23 Services

Hotel extras

  • Central location close to primary transport links

  • Reading train station is only a two minute walk away, London Heathrow Airport is 40 km away

  • Breakfast available daily: Full English assisted buffet service

  • Eight versatile meeting rooms for up to 50 guests in line with government guidelines

  • Leisure facilities including gym, pool, sauna, steam room. Please reserve your space

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Novotel Reading Centre

25b Friar Street
(For car parking use RG1 1NR)
RG1 1DP reading
united kingdom

Tel: +441189522600

Fax: (+44)118/9522610

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • READING BUSSES :  Reading Station

  • By plane

    Heathrow Int Apt At 40km / 24.86 miles

  • By plane

    London Gatwick At 88km / 54.69 miles

  • By plane

    London Luton At 96.5km / 59.97 miles

  • By train

    Reading Station At 0.8km / 0.5 miles

GPS :51.456745, -0.972343

Hotel services

Gourmet Bar

Entertain your palate at Novotel. Enjoy a range of local and international cuisine, simple yet authentic, in a casual setting.Whether you want to eat or simply have a drink, our restaurant has that extra something you can only find at Novotel.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary

  • Swimming pool
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
Catering services
  • One Restaurant
  • One Bar
  • Breakfast
    • Buffet Additional charge
  • Room service
    • Cold snacks
    • Hot meals
  • 10 Meeting rooms
  • Business Center
    • Self service business center
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
Hotel Services And Equipments
  • Hotel informations
    • 179 rooms
    • 10 rooms for people with reduced mobility
    • 155 family rooms
    • 27 connecting rooms
    • 179 non-smoking rooms
    • 13 floors
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • Italian
    • French
    • Spanish
    • English
    • Japanese
    • Portuguese
    • Polish
  • Laundry / Valet Services
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Wi-Fi
    • High Speed WiFi
    • WiFi in the communal areas
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • High Speed internet
  • Reduced mobility Facilities
  • 100% Non Smoking Property
  • Elevator to all floor
  • Check In & Check-out facilities
    • Late Checkout
    • Express check-out
    • Express check-in
  • Luggage storage
    • Luggage storage
  • Desk equipment available
    • Shoe shine machine
Access to property
  • Novotel Car Park Additional charge
    • On site
    • 19 parking spaces
    • Private
    • Electric car recharging units 3,7 kVA
    • Parking opened 24/7
  • For guests
    • Covered
    • On site
  • Non residents Additional charge
    • Covered
    • On site
  • For guests
    • On site
    • Sauna room
    • Turkish Steambath
  • Non residents
    • On site
  • Services for children
    • Childrens library
    • Board games available
    • Video game area
    • Play area

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious, contemporary in design, and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living. Perfect for all your needs.

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 10

  • Maximum size: 106

  • Maximum capacity: 110 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 90 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Reading Centre

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

6,174 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,700 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Nice hotel

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Kieren Business - 23/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I stay in the Novotel Regularly on business. Very nice hotel and facilities, very friendly staff. Great value for money.

Very good stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Chrystalla Families - 23/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very kind and helpful people, excellent location, nice breakfast, big rooms

Well located, good facilities, great for exploring

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Colin G. Families - 23/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Well located, good facilities, great for exploring the local area or a quick 25min train to London Paddington and the London area.

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Ayan S. Couples - 22/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The executive rooms aren’t exactly that.. bathroom half way across the room doesn’t make any sense and the toilet being right next to the hotel room door. Decor was just terrible. I was given only 2 pillows instead of 4. The swimming pool was absolutely freezing someone can catch a cold! Seriously sort out of the temperature. It was my husbands birthday and I just wasn’t impressed at all. What I can say is though, you guys made effort to put a cake in there with 2 balloons which was very appreciated. Overall, it was an ok stay. Do better though guys.

Well located, beautiful hotel

Customer review rating 3.5/5

K. Couples - 22/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Bed was uncomfortable and room was too warm But hotel was beautiful and very well located.

Restaurant dreadful

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Anonymous Families - 21/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

took 45 mins to find parking which cost £33 over night. Restaurant was so poor. Sent our food back as inedible. Hotel/facilities/staff fine.

Poor parking experience

Customer review rating 3.5/5

C. Friends - 21/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel and room was good. If you’re driving, it’s a nightmare. Buzzer to enter car park which doesn’t get answered, limited spaces and fills up quickly. Nearest car park 8 min walk away with your luggage.


Customer review rating 1.5/5

Charles M. Business - 18/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The food in the restaurant at this hotel was terrible. The menu had many items unavailable which is understandable given current supply chain issues. However, what we were served was terrible. The calamari was like a plate of rubber bands coated in half cooked batter. I had fish and chips which was awful - the fish was black and looked like a cheap supermarket own label fish portion. The chips were uncooked and also black. The mushy peas and tartare sauce had clearly been standing long enough to develop a skin. The other main course was a chicken burger which was inedible. The rooms seemed a bit tired and the taps and plugs covered in limescale. There was a sign in the room about the new air con system which is allegedly better for the environment. This may be true but it fails miserably in acting as a cooling system – I would suggest dispensing with this completely. It doesn't work. I have stayed in Novotel hotels throughout Europe and generally the standard is good. This is by far the worst I have visited. I would point out that the waitress from Brazil in the restaurant was excellent and very friendly – she alone lifts the review from 1 to 3 stars

Good location and great staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Simon Families - 16/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great people - courteous and helpful!

Great location, terrible room.

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Stacey M. Families - 15/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Dirty, unprepared room charged at the most expensive rate possible that week. Made a complaint to the management but no reply at all.

Well managed property but poor customer service

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Young M. C. Business - 15/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Clean hotel (very important under Covid situation). Not very responsive staffs. The following exchange with the hotel manager sums it all. Dear Mr. Young Man C., Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some valuable feedback. I am terribly sorry to understand that your refund was not processed in the correct time frame as it should have been by our team . I may guarantee that was not our intention originate you a loss during the process. Please let me assure you that our Food and Beverage Manager has personally conducted some retraining with the restaurant team members and supervisors to ensure the service issues you experienced have been resolved. As a gesture of goodwill I am happy to offer you 1500 ALL loyalty points. You can use those points as payment method in any hotel of the group; anywhere in the world; here is the link: Would you be happy to receive our ALL membership proposal on the email address above? Should you require further assistance do not hesitate to contact me directly. Kind regards, Bruno Alves Bruno Alves Rooms Division Manager Novotel Reading Centre 25b Friar Street – RG1 1DP, Reading - United Kingdom T +4… 600, E: H5… From: Young Man C. <ym…> Sent: 12 November 2021 10:46 To: NOVOTEL Reading Centre RD <h5…> Subject: Partial refund Dear Mr. Alves, My name is Young Man C. and I stayed in Novotel Reading from Nov. 8 to Nov. 12, 2021 with the bill no. # 40630. First of all, I enjoyed staying in your hotel. The room was quiet and clean. Staffs were generally kind. Unlike all the compliments to hotel stay, I have a couple of concerns: 1. I had an original booking with your hotel from Nov. 2 to Nov. 6 but I had to change my reservation to Nov. 8 to Nov. 12. I made the original reservation on Oct. 18 and cancelled the reservation on Oct. 21. I made another reservation for Nov. 8 o Nov. 12. The problem is that you were on holidays for two weeks and I did not get my refund on time. In the meantime, the exchange rate dropped significantly. The original charge was $ 496.01 but the returned money on Nov. 8 was only $ 484.13. The exchange rate fluctuates, so sometimes I have to bear a loss. In this case, the hotel delayed refund for too long (almost three weeks) due to your absence (that’s what the staff told me). I sent emails to hotel in October and also contacted Accor but heard no response. Even if you were on vacation, someone should have taken care of the matter but nobody did. Under this circumstance, I deserve compensation for the loss of around $ 12. 2. This morning (Nov. 12, 2021), I went to dining hall to have a breakfast buffet around 6:35 am. I had to leave for airport around 8:10 am. I don’t eat much meat, so I normally eat mushrooms, tomato, hash-brown and some breads. None was available around 6:35 am. I kept waiting and waiting but until I left around 7:05 pm, mushrooms, tomato and breads were not available. I reluctantly had some sausage and hash-brown. On the previous three days, I did not have an issue like this. My breakfast was pre-paid. So whether I eat or not, I couldn’t do much but under the circumstance I described above, I feel that I deserve compensation. Once again, I enjoyed my stay and will come back again. It would be great if you can find some resolutions on the above matter. Regards, - Young Man C.

Nice, clean hotel. Centrally located for railway station and city centre

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Carl B. Solo - 15/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice, clean hotel. Centrally located for railway station and city centre Easy check in and check out

Well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Nicola Friends - 15/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was clean and had the facilities we needed. Unfortunately the hotel hadn’t accommodated for 3 of us staying with regard to cups, teas and coffees and the fridge in the room didn’t work but these were minor things. Breakfast was great. Unfortunately the leisure facilities were somewhat lacking. The swimming pool shower was broken so you couldn’t change the temperature and it was scolding hot.

If You Have A Car And Small Children Avoid!

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Dr E. V. Families - 15/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

On arrival the reception staff seemed, overwhelmed and very disorganised. It took 20 mins to book in, only saving Grace was a little play area in view from the reception. Room was clean, TV poorly placed for all to see. Not enough cups, offered a paper one from reception. Two normal tea bags, so had to ask for more. The fridge was a nice touch and we used it for bits for the children. The room was far to hot and the aircon did not work. We opened the window but it was still very hot, even though we turned the heating to the lowest setting and had the fan on full blast. With the window open, we had all the noise from the high street into the early morning, even though we asked for a quiet room. So my husband and I managed to get about four hours sleep, which was not conducive. The children loved the pool, it was quite cold but to much fun was being had to actually realise the blue children. There were a shortage of pool towels but were replaced when asked. There were swings and roundabouts staying here and I would not stay here again to be honest and it was not our first choice but our first choice was cancelled by this chain with no real apology or compensation.


Customer review rating 3.5/5

Curly Business - 14/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL


Great hotel

Customer review rating 4.5/5

L. S. Friends - 13/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Enjoyed staying here. Nice clean room, quiet and good location.

Good services

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

766toto 18/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

My family appreciated our stay in Novotel, The staffs were very helpful. The hotel provides us almost every facilities . Food was great(i mean it :))Overall experience was awesome. I'll recommend this hotel to every couple and families:). You wont regret, just be there:)

Dear 766toto, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards,


TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

83joannee 03/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

Check in was chaotic. Room wasn’t ready until gone 4pm. Staff seemed over stretched and communication was poor. The room itself was just average. Very strange layout with a separate toilet. I have definitely stayed in better hotels with more engaged staff. The plus side is great location close to shopping and public transport. Breakfast was nice. The car park is small and over priced I wouldn’t bother paying for this! There are loads of car parks around that are much cheaper.

Poor cleanliness of room

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Price000 02/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

The staff were very Friendly but the stay was majorly let down by the cleanliness of the room. We didn't check in until after midnight so there can be no excuse for the room not being ready and up to standard, but the bin wasn't emptied, the bed wasn't properly made and there were no large towels available in the room. Based on the condition of the room I'm not even confident that the room had been sanitised or cleaned at all, and after years of staying in Novotel hotels for the first time I'm strongly questioning if I'd stay in one again!

Dear Price, I am sorry we let you down on this occasion. We can assure you your experience does not reflect the high level of comfort that we strive to provide every day to our guests. Please rest assure that we reported this to the management. Thank you so much for your invaluable feedback, that will help us improve and I hope that you will give us a chance to provide you a completely different experience, up to our usual high level of service. Kind regards,

Well located at Reading Centre

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

cheekongc2013 16/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

The hotel is well located in Reading centre, convenient to go to shops and restaurants in town. Room was spacious but air conditioning was not working well, overall quite warm. Breakfast and facilities are good.

Dear Mr David Norris, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. Regarding the room temperature our air cooling/heating system admittedly doesn’t offer the same flexibility as a modern A/C would do. We are always happy to provide a fan if you find the interior too warm. Your kind message has been shared with the team. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards,

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in reading