Novotel Gent Centrum Hotel 3 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.3/5 6,655 reviews

Information message

Novotel Gent Centrum
See on a map
+ 17 Services

Hotel extras

  • In the heart of the historical city centre

  • Restaurants, sights and shops within walking distance

  • Hammam, sauna, fitness centre and outdoor pool

  • Delicious breakfast buffet, bar and restaurant

  • Air-conditioned, 100% non-smoking and 24/7 reception

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Novotel Gent Centrum

Hoogpoort 52
Postadres : Goudenleeuwplein 5
9000 gent
belgium

Fax: (+32)9/2243295

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • BLAARMEERSEN:  38 GOUDENLEEUWPLEIN

  • DAMPOORT STATION:  3 GENT CENTRUM 1

  • Wondelgem Evergem:  1 GENT CENTRUM 1

  • By plane

    BRUSSELS NAT. AIRPORT At 55km / 34.38 miles

  • By helicopter

    ZAVENTEM At 55km / 34.38 miles

  • By car

    GENT ANDERE RICHTINGEN At 4km / 2.5 miles

  • By car

    GENT CENTRUM At 2km / 1.25 miles

  • By train

    DAMPOORT At 1km / 0.63 miles

  • By train

    ST PIETERS At 5km / 3.13 miles

GPS:51.054213, 3.723646

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
  • Swimming pool
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Well-being
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

GOURMETBAR

Gourmet Bar is the heart of our hotel. A place to meet or to relax, away from the chaos of modern live. The menu of changing seasonal flavours, international classics and house specialities is as versatile and creative as the city of Gent itself.

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious, contemporary in design, and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living, perfect for all your needs. Tasty dishes are prepared with fresh ingredients. The Gourmet Bar offers delicious snacks, quick meals and seasonal specialities. Healthy and balanced food in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Children have their own menu.

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 7

  • Maximum size: 120

  • Maximum capacity: 100 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 80 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Gent Centrum

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

6,655 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,653 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Excellent stay in the middle of Ghent!

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Michael D. D. Couples - 16/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

This was our second stay at the Novotel in a few months' time and everything was just fine in spite of the full house in the middle of the Covid period!

Great location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Tanja Families - 11/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed at your hotel to celebrate our last mini get-away before our family expansion (expecting our second child in March). The location in the city center was perfect with all areas of interest within walking distance. Parking is within a short walk away as well. Note that even when it says the parking is full, it only takes a few minutes before several cars are admitted again so do not get discouraged and wait it out. Two points of improvement were 1. The smell in the lobby of the hotel - it really smells like sewer (badly!) and 2. The interactions of the front desk staff with their guests could be more personal. At check-in, we were not asked anything personal nor were we updated about the fact that the Gourmet Bar was closed due to staffing issues. This was actually one of the reasons why we stayed at the hotel (it is nice to have in-house dinner options sorted when travelling with a 2-year old).

Bad experience

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Robert M. Families - 10/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Check in time at 3PM (quite late already) so we dropped our luggage at 1:30, they told us we can check in from 3PM onwards, came back around 03:15 and surprisingly the room was not finished. at 4:30 the room was finally finished, I told them it is not acceptable and an excuse was not enough, the guy at the desk laughed and said we did not expect a Dutch invasion, sorry but what do I have to do with that? Capacity of the hotel is xxx and to be controlled by the hotel itself. Right after that he approached the next one in the line and asked if he could help them - in other words our conversation was over. Went to the interconnecting room with kids, can't even lock any of the doors, bathroom, intermediate door. Next morning: We arrive at 9 for breakfast, surprisingly the lady says, sorry we are full. But we booked the hotel with breakfast? Yes, I am sorry sir, can not do anything about it. We didn't take any further breakfast and made sure we avoided contact with the staff. Maybe our standards are too high and we should book a different level of hotels but this is not what I am used to from Novotel which has quite a good reputation around the globe. The only positive thing was the location. Oh yeah nearly forgot; by the way, I asked where I could charge my electric car, on 10 minutes drive, while we arrived turns out the charges are out of order ever since......

Perfect location… but imperfect cleanliness

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Ncm Families - 09/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

The NOVOTEL Ghent Centrum is perfectly located and our room had a beautiful view of Saint Nicholas’ church but the room itself was a disappointment. It really could have been cleaned better, in particular, the bathroom. The door to the toilet had what looked like dried vomit splashed on it; this was horrifying because we were traveling with our toddler who wants to touch everything. The breakfast, while copious, was a stressful event because there were SO MANY families and the hotel had obvious not planned for the number of guests. The breakfast room was crammed and chaotic… a little scary during Covid times.

Dear Guest, Thanks very much for your feedback. While we are happy to hear that our central position was great for your visit, we're sorry that not everything was perfect. Please do let us know immediately if you have an issue and we'll find the right solution. We are concerned to hear that your breakfast experience was not enjoyable, rest assured we have noted your concerns and will take them into consideration as we continue to improve for our guests. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back, for an improved stay. Kind regards, Petra DE MEYERE, General Manager

In the best place of the city

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Émilie D. Families - 09/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Really well located with parking !

Not very good but not very bad either

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Stephan Families - 06/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Although an attractive price and a great location in the center of Gent, the experience was somewhat disappointing. The room we stayed in was somewhat worn out, the beds so-so, and the hot breakfast was cold. On top of that, they charge you a staggering 30 euros for parking per night, which is way more expensive than the nearby public parking garage.

Dear Stephan, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. While we are happy to hear that our central position was great for your visit, we're sorry that not everything was perfect. Please do let us know immediately if you have an issue and we'll find the right solution. We require a reservation for our secure parking spaces as these are limited and in very high demand. We do have public parking also nearby which you are free to use any time that you visit. We value your feedback and please be assured your comments have been noted for consideration. The team hopes to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Petra DE MEYERE, General Manager

Buen servicio!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

EdgarChinga Family - 06/01/2022 TripAdvisor review

One day my room was not cleaned (the housekeeping was out) and I called to reception and Mr. Laurens gave a quick and good solution for me. After just 5 minutes he was on my floor with a new key for change in a new room. That solution exceeded my expectations!

Well located hotel BUT with bathroom water problem

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

WilfridusP Family - 02/01/2022 TripAdvisor review

The hotel is very well located in the centrum, breakfast was okay, Junior Suite room was spacious. BUT it didn't have any meaning when there was a repeated issue with bathroom water (water supply, shower pressure) during our 5-days stay. Already 2-3 times told Receptionist to fix this, but no improvement. On the last night, even we could not use shower at all. Neither no apology to this situation until we checked-out. During check-out, there was a mistake that the Receptionist created second reservation into my credit card instead of cancelling the first reservation. But he kept insist no mistake. He gave me the printed receipt and said actually he could not give me the printed receipt. Need two times explaining to him by showing him the printed receipt that he gave, that he did a mistake. Both stated "reservering" and not "annuleren". Finally, he corrected it. Anyway, still no apology coming from him. It looks like Novotel (specifically Ghent Centrum) needs to improve their customer handling mindset

Hotel with short of water supply but well located

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Wilfridus P. Families - 30/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is very well located in the centrum, breakfast was okay, room was okay, but it would not mean anything when there were repeated water issue (very low water shower) during our 5 nights stay. I am Gold member and already 2 or 3 times requesting action to the Reception to fix the water issue but no improvement. On the last night, even we could not use shower at all. Neither no apology to this situation. And even during check out, we spent almost half an hour wasting time and almost missed our train. The Reception guy did a mistake by creating another credit card reservation on 28 Dec (so double reservation) instead of cancelling the previous credit card reservation that made on 23 Dec. And I need two times to explain that he did a mistake since at the first he said he did it correctly and online credit card apps took time to update. I cross checked via customer service credit card and it was said there were two times reservation 500 Euro on 23 and 28 Dec. So I told the Reception guy one more time. After he corrected it, even no apology. We stayed already in many worldwide Accors hotel, but this is the first hotel that we feel dissappointed.

Dear Wilfridus, Thank you for leaving us this review of your recent stay. Whilst we are happy to know that our location was to your satisfaction and you enjoyed your spacious room, we regret that you felt the service provided by our reception team did not entirely meet our high standards. Please accept our apologies on this occasion, our entire team are usually commended as being very courteous and professional by our guests and we can only assume that there was a misunderstanding. Rest assured that we will be addressing our team regarding your comments. Regarding your comments on your shower, we have taken note of your comments and will be addressing this with our maintenance team who are on site and dedicated to the good upkeep of all the hotel and services. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in future. Kind regards, Petra DE MEYERE, General Manager

Well located. Excellent stay!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mag D. Families - 25/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Made very welcome, helpful and friendly staff, professional service and very impressive choice for breakfast. We would certainly stay again even under tight Covid restrictions! A very convenient location in the centre of Gent.

Great location

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Emilie Families - 20/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very nice breakfast and super nice location, the rooms need a good refresh though and toiletries were a bit short for a family of 4

Good location to explore the town

Customer review rating 4.5/5

A T. E. Couples - 06/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Well located hotel with friendly staff.

good location

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Business - 02/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel is in a good location. Parking was a bit challenging with all the corners. Personnel was friendly. Curtains were too short Room a bit out dated, dent in the door Rain pipe made a lot of noice during the night.

Well located

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Sara N. Friends - 24/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were not happy with our overall stay. The rooms appeared shabby compared to the years we have stayed before. There were two of us in the room but only one bottle of free water. The staff were very unfriendly and rude (they did not acknowledge you for breakfast or smile and would push past you in the breakfast room) apart from the lovely tall lady in the bar, she was fun and friendly. We did complain about our shower being blocked and that was sorted quickly.

Excellent location

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Msh Business - 23/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Location was fantastic. Breakfast was fine. No water was provided in the room, despite the notice on the fridge saying there was a bottle provided on arrival. Toiletries were a bit sparse. Only shampoo and shower gel provided. Additional toiletries were provided in some rooms. At a minimum I would also expect conditioner and perhaps a body lotion.

Does the job.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Paul Solo - 23/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Well located, friendly staff, clean. Unfortunately the was some sort of a party in the building opposite my window, which wasn't very sound proof, so it was noisy and I slept poorly.

Wrong invoice address - I NEED COMPANY ADDRESS

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Olatz D. L. Q. -. A. S. (. P. P. R. P. S. T. P. /. 2. M. S. Business - 22/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I requested during the check-in to made the invoice to my company address and I writte is down in the check-in form, I initially received the invoice with my home adddress, I have sent 3 emails to get someone to fix it, the first question they made is, which is the address, I indicated again, and they sent me an invoice with my previous addess and a comment in the botton. When someone ask for an specific address is for an specific reason, so next time I need to stay in Gent I will probably stay in another hotel that is able to indicate the correct address in the invoice, wihtout requesting it several times.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Marilene L. Business - 19/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very nice except for old pillows. Aircon was not working.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Business - 10/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The stay was good, however, it would be good to have some stationery in the room (like a notepad and a pen) that can be used to take some quick notes...

Nice location, Good stay for one night

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Families - 09/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was warm with 4 people in it. Ventilation could be better

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in gent