Information message

21c Museum Hotel Durham Hotel 4.5 stars

Customer review rating 4.3/5 440 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

21c Museum Hotel Durham
See on a map
+ 15 Services

Hotel extras

  • AAA Four Diamond hotel that combines contemporary art with luxurious, southern hospitality.

  • 10,500 square feet of exhibition and event space

  • Located in the heart of downtown Durham/City Center close to Duke, DPAC and restaurants.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 16h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowed Paying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • RALEIGH DURHAM INT Paying
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Electric car recharging units
  • Laundry
  • Boutiques/shopping
  • Porter
  • Room for hearing impaired guests
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
  • Bike rack facilities
Business services
  • 6 Meeting room(s)
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

21c Museum Hotel Durham

111 North Corcoran Street
27701 durham
united states

Tel: +19199566700

Fax: (+1)9199566701

Check-in from 16h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • By plane

    RALEIGH DURHAM INT At 23km / 14 miles - Shuttle paying

Our accommodation(s)

The 125 guest rooms are spacious with high ceilings, large windows, and custom furnishings, providing a respite to the stimulating museum spaces below. Design team preserved the foyer's green marble and silver leaf ceiling and terrazzo floors throughout. All guest rooms include Free WiFi, 42" HDTV Television, Fully Stocked Minibar, Nespresso Coffee Machine, Alarm Clock/Docking Station, Malin and Goetz Bath Amenities, Luxurious Bedding, and Original Artwork.

Our restaurants and bars

COUNTING HOUSE

Type of cuisine: Regional

The culinary team at Counting House celebrates North Carolina's rich heritage of fresh seafood using local, high-quality ingredients.

  • Monday -
  • Tuesday -
  • Wednesday -
  • Thursday -
  • Friday -
  • Saturday -
  • Sunday -

COUNTING HOUSE BAR

bar and lounge at Counting House is an inviting place to explore the rotating selection of craft beers on tap, sip on housemade cocktails and aperitifs, or enjoy a smart selection of old and new world wines.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday -
  • Tuesday -
  • Wednesday -
  • Thursday -
  • Friday -
  • Saturday -
  • Sunday -

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 6

  • Maximum capacity: 225 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 180 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
21c Museum Hotel Durham

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

440 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

897 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Well located, unique

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Annette Couples - 19/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Just a one night stay to visit family but included a Bulls game. The hotel location was GREAT for that! The hotel was clean but maybe a little old and tired. Very comfortable bed. Good space in the bathroom. We didn't have an opportunity to view the museum so that was disappointing. Front door staff and front desk staff were very friendly and very helpful.

Dear Annette L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the 21c Museum Hotel Durham. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback and we appreciate you taking the time to write. I am sorry that you did not get a chance to see our museum spaces. Please let us know when your travels bring you back to downtown Durham. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Sincerely, Ron Morin

Disappointed

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Steve R. Couples - 18/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

On Monday, July 12, we stayed in the 21C Museum Hotel – Durham, room 1005. My wife and I had found the hotel in our historical hotel literature and decided to stay there on our return home. The staff was pleasant and knowledgeable. The valet parking at $25 per night was acceptable, the room was not. First, the room had evidently been remodeled and whoever worked on the electrical system should have their license revoked. None of the electrical outlets (and there were three that we found) would accept any of our phone charging cords. Some receptacles were not flush with their covers and none of our cords would remain in the sockets for any time. They just popped out onto the floor. This is a serious danger which should be addressed before a fire starts. Second, a minor but annoying problem was with the coffee maker. It was not a coffee maker. It was a fancy expresso machine and while I am sure this upscale feature would be appreciated by some; it was not by me. I called to get help on how the thing worked. The engineer who responded said he did not know how it worked. So, no morning coffee for me although it was offered in the lobby. Nobody told us it was there. Finally, do not stay in this hotel on Monday, Tuesday, or Wednesday when in Durham. The hotel offers no open restaurant. That’s right, no food of any type for anyone staying in the hotel not even a vending machine. In fact, the whole downtown area is closed to eating on Monday and Tuesday. Thank goodness we still had some food in our travel cooler. Eating some of our remaining fruit and cheese for dinner is not my idea of fun. Yes, I could have gotten the car back out of the valet parking and driven ten miles to a chain restaurant in an unfamiliar city, but I was just too tired to do that. Lack of food left us both sick. The lack of a breakfast offering caused us to get up and leave early. The museum art display was the only redeeming point of our stay. The exhibits were spread over three floors, but the elevator to the bottom floor was not working at the time, so we did not get a chance to see that portion of the museum. We see no reason to ever return to this hotel or another 21C Museum Hotel.

Well located, but loud

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Vanessa Families - 18/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

While ideally located in the center of town in walking distance to restaurants and shop , Guete need to be aware of the high noise level stemming from neighboring party type hotel with loud music and crows hanging out at hotel outdoor swimming pool until late .

Dear Vanessa H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the 21c Museum Hotel Durham We are always grateful to receive feedback and we appreciate you taking the time to write. I am sorry that you experienced noise from our neighbors. On your next visit, we will do our best to find you a room away from the din. Please let us know when your travels bring you back to downtown Durham. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Sincerely, Ron Morin

I enjoyed my stay there

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Cflugga Families - 17/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I would definately reccommend the hotel. Staff was curtious and helpful. My only complaint is that they didn't offer shuttle service. Covid has been here for over a year. They need to take that off their web site if they are not offering that. Wonderful hotel though. I would definately stay there again.

Dear Cheryl F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the 21c Museum Hotel Durham - MGallery. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I will also look into our website regarding the shuttle. This is a service we hope will soon return in the near future. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,
Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anne P. Friends - 17/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great Service People!

Dear Anne P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay and the service you received at the 21c Museum Hotel Durham. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kevin Raney

Stylish and comfortable!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

D D. Families - 17/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

What a great way to change up our hotel choice! So much better than staying in a typical hotel! This boutique experience was loved by all!

Underwhelming

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Eric Families - 16/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I understand that some things are curtailed because of COVID but you can still provide quality service. First, the check-in desk was some temporary tables crowding the entrance and elevators. It looked terrible and I wasn’t even sure I was in a hotel. Second, we were informed the restaurant and bar were not open at all. These looked really cool on the web and a big reason for booking this hotel. The hotel website did not warn that it would be closed. Third, the main bathroom light was not working and the engineer could not fix it until the head engineer came in the next day. He fixed it and then it promptly broke again the next day. Lastly, we called for ice which was never delivered. The building is cool and I love the concept of using an old office building but you have to get the basics right.

Dear Eric W., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the 21c Museum Hotel Durham. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. As more and more guests return to the hotel, we will be once again occupying our second floor Front Desk, situated in the heart of our galleries. I truly apologize that the temporary check-in left you "underwhelmed". We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Ron Morin

Nice location, best suited for true tourists

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Business - 16/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Unique space with lots of touches for the modern traveler tucked into quaint but older building. Rooms are well-sized, but they do lack some modern business travel conveniences. Definitely better suited for non-business travelers who want to be immersed in the eclectic and artful downtown area. Extremely attentive staff who are at the ready for all your needs. Would recommend for anyone who has never been to the area.

Dear Jon R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the 21c Museum Hotel Durham. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I will also note your suggestions for improved work spaces. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as this one. Sincerely, Ron Morin

Great location

Customer review rating 3.0/5

M. Couples - 16/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The valet service was off the charts amazing. They got so busy when we were around and they hustled every second with a smile. When requested, we were able to get a mini-fridge in our room to store our baby's milk. We really appreciated the special offer of staying an extra night free as well. On arrival I asked if it was possible to switch our king room to a double queen. The desk agent said that would be fine and changed the room. However, I was not told he cancelled our booking (and special offer) and created a new reservation at the current pricing. I called them back when I found it on the credit card statement which the manager resolved quickly.

Dear Arvic M., Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the 21c Museum Hotel Durham. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. I noticed that you rated our “service” experience low but stated that you enjoyed our valet services. I would greatly appreciate it if you would be willing to provide further information about any problem you may have encountered as this will help me better understand what happened in order to anticipate any future occurrence. Our relationship with our guests is of paramount importance. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to better serve you soon. Sincerely, Kevin Raney

It was ok but not great.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Sarah Solo - 15/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Front staff were great but the room itself didn't seem impressive to me for the price. No big complaints though. There was hot water with good water pressure in the shower and beds were comfy and clean. I was disappointed the bar fridge didn't seem very cold at all and I was storing milk in it for my baby. It was imperative for me to have a COLD fridge to use - but it was only slightly cooler than room temp. I also had a $100 charge that no one told me what it was for (I left the room clean and didn't drink any of the provided bottled water).

Dear Melissa M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the 21c Museum Hotel Durham - MGallery. I have reviewed your folio and only see the charges for your room and taxes. Was there an incidental hold on the card? Has it cleared with your bank? Please let me know and we will address it immediately. I am sorry that you had trouble keeping your milk cold. If the future, we would be happy to bring you a dedicated refrigerator, should you need one. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be soon. Sincerely, Ron Morin

Still recovering from Covid-19

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Bernard Business - 14/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We like the location, the people, the restaurant but missed housekeeping , fresh towels, clean glasses, min-bar, just recovering from Covid-19 unfortunately.

Dear Bernard R., Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the 21c Museum Hotel Durham. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. I and sorry for the noise you encountered during your stay. Being part of a vibrant downtown, does sometimes have it's trying moments. I also wish to apologize for the housekeeping items that you mentioned. We are now returning to full housekeeping operations, and hope that you will present us with the opportunity to better serve you soon. Sincerely, Ron Morin
Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 12/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great stay but bad phone reservation support

Dear Francesca T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the 21c Museum Hotel Durham - MGallery. I am sorry to hear that you had trouble connecting, but glad that you were able to book. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ron Morin

A mixed bag but glad I stayed there once

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Doug M. Business - 11/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Positives: location, decor, staff service, historical interest, art gallery Negatives: no on-site parking, no breakfast, no ice machines, no exhaust fan in bathroom, beds too soft

Dear Douglas M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the 21c Museum Hotel Durham - MGallery. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kevin Raney

Good Stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anthony Couples - 11/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Loved the 21C Suite

Dear Anthony W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the 21c Museum Hotel Durham - MGallery. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ron Morin

Charged well above what I was quoted

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Anonymous Families - 10/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was quoted a room rate of $159 plus tax and valet parking for $25. I was ultimately charged $255 and never received a receipt.

Dear Adio M., Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at the 21c Museum Hotel Durham. Exceptional service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for not detailing the charges and sending a folio. Under separate cover, we are sending a folio. We have removed all additional charges beyond your room & taxes. Our relationship with our guests is of paramount importance. We hope that you will present us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Ron Morin

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 10/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room and check in process were excellent. Issue with the bacon being present in a dish we were assured was vegetarian.

Dear William J., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the 21c Museum Hotel Durham. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I do apologize that we were not more vigilant in the request for a vegetarian dish. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ron Morin

Fun hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

clairearmbruster2019 Business - 11/11/2019 TripAdvisor review

This is a really great hotel in the heart of Durham. It's curiously interesting as it is in a refurbished bank building. Room service is good. Nice bar. Friendly staff. Felt very safe as a single woman traveling alone.

Hello Clairearmbruster2019, Thank you for taking time to complete a review. I'm so happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us! We enjoyed your time here as well, and would love to have you stay with us again the next time you're in Durham. Upon your return, please feel free to contact me with any questions or requests. Best Regards, Kristin Drake | General Manager T 919.956.6705 kdrake@21cHotels.com | 21cDurham.com

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor