Fairmont San Francisco

Information message

Fairmont San Francisco 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.2/5 2,078 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • Labeled ALLSAFE

  • One of San Francisco’s most iconic luxury hotels, famed for impeccable, attentive service

  • Located in vibrant Nob Hill, near the Financial District, Chinatown and the Embarcadero

  • Lavishly appointed rooms and suites, most with sweeping views

  • Fine dining at the elegant Laurel Court and Polynesian-fusion cuisine at the Tonga Room

Hotel location

Fairmont San Francisco

950 Mason Street
94108 SAN FRANCISCO
United States

  • By plane

    METROPOLITAN OAKLAND INTL APT  At 32.19km / 20 miles

  • By plane

    SAN FRANCISCO INTERNATIONAL APT At 22.53km / 14 miles

GPS:37.792581, -122.410513

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Well-being
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

Our accommodation(s)

Fairmont San Francisco hotel provides accommodations that are a testament to luxury with 591 individually furnished and decorated guest rooms. The 62 elegant suites offer impressive views of the City and Bay. The Fairmont hotel in San Francisco, CA, is an ideal escape. Built in 1907- the hotel combines a classic ambiance with modern amenities.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Fairmont San Francisco

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.2/5  2,078 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.5/5  4,808 reviews

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Comfortable rooms. Not including wifi and gym costs with the room made it poor value. Most hotels include these…

Dear Wayne Robert B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Fairmont San Francisco. I want to apologize that you did not get all of the value you had anticipated out of your visit with us. Our urban fee covers gym access and wifi as is common in out industry, however, if you join our complimentary loyalty program ALL by Accor, the urban fee is waived and access to wifi and the gym are completely complimentary. I do apologize if this was not explained at check-in and hope you give us another chance in the future. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Spencer Mears FRONT OFFICE MANAGER

Okay

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

- Wi-Fi did not work (I thought I purchased but was told I didn’t purchase. It was really confusing. Ultimately I couldn’t take a work meeting at the hotel) - website should update the change in the room service menu

Dear Kara Y., Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Fairmont San Francisco. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. I want to thank you for bringing the issue with the WiFi you experienced to our attention and I am so sorry that this caused you to not be able to take a work meeting while staying with us, and for the confusing situation with the in-room dining menu. I have reached out to the appropriate departments to amend the issues that caused these discrepancies. Our relationship with our guests is of paramount importance. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to better serve you soon. Sincerely, Spencer Mears Front Office Manager Fairmont San Francisco

Pretty hotel

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

The room I stayed in, the bathtub/shower didn't drain well despite the fact that I had the drain opened all the way. The refrigerator didn't work, so the food I had put inside all spoiled. The room was ok, but disappointing for the price paid. I had stayed there a couple times for pleasure and the rooms were amazing, so I had high expectations. This was definitely a let down.

Dear Jennifer G., Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete a survey following your recent stay at Fairmont San Francisco At Fairmont San Francisco we all take great pride in providing our guests with the highest standards of service, therefore I am very sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion; please allow me to express my sincere apologies. Your feedback is very important to us and I wish to assure you that we take all comments seriously and we will address these issues accordingly. Although we may not always enjoy receiving negative feedback, it certainly allows us to continuously review the services we provide and help us to concentrate our training efforts where needed to build the confidence and skills of our colleagues. Thank you so much for bringing the issue with the drain and refrigerator to our attention so that we have the opportunity to repair it before it affects anyone else. Once again, please accept my sincere apologies and we hope to have the opportunity of warmly welcome you again to Fairmont San Francisco in the near future. If I can be of any assistance to you in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at Sp…, I will be happy to connect with you directly to discuss further if you would like. Sincerely, Spencer Mears Front Office Manager

Great location, Great Stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

G. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is immaculately kept -- it's history is incredibly rich and the staff smiles as they walk the hallways. Breakfast in the Venetian Room was great quality. The only downside was that the dinner room service menu was somewhat limited. We would definitely stay here again!

Dear Emirza G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Fairmont San Francisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I understand your concern about the limited menu offerings and it is something we are taking very seriously and working to amend. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Spencer Mears Front Office Manager

Mother’s weekend disappointment.

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Caligirl Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

What a complete waste of $1500. Didn’t get the room I thought I booked. There were 3 of us and they gave us a queen bed. That’s it! Ya know what? Never mind… My list goes on and on…. I need to speak with someone at the top.

Dear Jennifer P., Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at the Fairmont San Francisco. Exceptional service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I see that you had booked a Main Building Suite and were given a complimentary upgrade to a Suite in the main building with an attached balcony rather than the non-balcony room you had booked, I do apologize if this caused you any inconvenience and it certainly was not our intention. Our room configurations vary as our historic property is well over 100 years old and therefore we accommodate some of our rooms with a Queen bed and some with a King bed but are always happy to discuss options to find a room that matches your preferences when possible. All of our suites come equipped with a pullout sofa, and we have rollaway beds available for your comfort as well. I apologize if this was not communicated to your satisfaction. Our relationship with our guests is of paramount importance. We hope that you will present us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Spencer Mears Front Office Manager

5 Star Experience!

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Kdonnalisa Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed one night at the Fairmont to celebrate a milestone birthday and the services was second to none. The service maybe us feel special from the bellmen to the check in and check out staff! Breakfast and early evenings cocktails we amazing, thanks for making our stay memorable.

Dear Karen H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Fairmont San Francisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Spencer Mears Front Office Manager

Absolutely Wonderful Experience

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

This was my first time at the Fairmont and it was absolutely wonderful. The hotel is gorgeous and my room was amazing. The bed was so comfortable and I had such a wonderful view of the city from my window. Staff was friendly and it was so much fun being able to go and hang out at the Tonga room. It was a wonderful stay.

Dear Liz B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Fairmont San Francisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Spencer Mears Front Office Manager

Gorgeous Hotel!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Michelle K. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

I’ve stayed at the Fairmont many times and it’s just one of my favorite spots. Terrific location, amazing history, and always smells wonderful. (Spring lilies this time of year)

Dear Michelle K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Fairmont San Francisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Spencer Mears Front Office Manager

The staff was very accommodating and happy

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Enjoyable

Dear Denis C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Fairmont San Francisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Spencer Mears Front Office Manager

Well located, luxurious and attentive staff.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Was there for a wedding and had a very enjoyable experience staying at The Fairmont. We loved the location, the accommodations and appreciate a high level of service provided by EVERY staff member we had the pleasure of interfacing with. Not a place to stay for those seeking a clean bed at a cheap price but rather those seeking to enjoy themselves spending time at the property. The rooftop garden was gorgeous.

Dear Bob V., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Fairmont San Francisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Spencer Mears Front Office Manager

Much needed get away!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Kim M. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

We were able to check in a little before 4 pm. Our room was ready. The view of the city was exactly what we were hoping for.

Dear Thomas B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Fairmont San Francisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Spencer Mears Front Office Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Aj Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was good, view is amazing

Dear Isaako P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Fairmont San Francisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Spencer Mears Front Office Manager

Elegant ambiance

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is beautiful, perfectly located, and gracious. We stayed in the charming historic section. Our only complaint is the lack of in-room amenities like coffee, cups and extra blankets that we are used to at this price point. I think we could have requested an additional robe and other amenities but by the time we realized we needed to, it was so late that we didn’t bother. The facilities are superb although the shower is so high pressure that it didn’t feel low-flow. Room ventilation is excellent and even on the second floor the room was quiet. It is a plus to have room service available that even orders from nearby restaurants, although we didn’t need it.

Dear Ardath W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Fairmont San Francisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Loved it!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Marianne H. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Eldridge, William, Sean in valet - The BEST To the dark hair young lady (hostess?) at Tonga Room -THANK YOU! Our waiter at Tonga Room - Thank you!

Dear Marianne H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Fairmont San Francisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Spencer Mears Front Office Manager

Lovely building, but loud room

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Basil Y. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Was placed in one of your suites in the historic building the "Byzantine Suite"). The bathroom was small and cramped and had no storage or counter space. Also the room had a shower that easily overflowed into the bathroom. This resulted in wet floors. Also at night there was significant street noise that could be heard through closed windows. These conditions made for an incredibly poor sleep. I would have expected a more luxury experience having booked a suite in one of the highest rated hotel in San Francisco. Finally and perhaps the most upsetting was the poor quality of the cocktails at the downstairs bar. I had to send back my margarita "on Cinco de Mayo" because it tasted like salt was spilled directly into the drink itself. Likely would opt to stay at another hotel on future trips to San Francisco.

Dear Basil Y., Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Fairmont San Francisco. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. I sincerely apologize that we failed to meet your expectations in the quality of the drinks you were offered, the bathroom in our Byzantine Suite, and the noise issues you experienced from the downtown city traffic. We offer suites in our tower building which is modern and has much higher floors to avoid street noise - the main building conversely was built in 1906 and has 7 levels. Our relationship with our guests is of paramount importance. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to better serve you soon. Sincerely, Spencer Mears Front Office Manager

Very pleasant stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Experience was very good overall.

Dear Peter Henry B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Fairmont San Francisco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Spencer Mears Front Office Manager

A shell of its former self

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

spratt2021 TripAdvisor review

Staying at the Fairmont in San Francisco has always been about the total experience, a feeling of luxury with professional top of the line service. The beautiful view is still there, but the hotel feels abandoned. No restaurants or room service, not even coffee pods or mini bar in the rooms, and you can't help but feel sad for all of the staff who have apparently lost their jobs. Depressing

Dear spratt2021, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Working within the current city health restrictions we hope to be able to reopen all of our full service amenities in the near future. Just this week we have been able to reintroduce dinner service 7 days a week! We hope to welcome you back soon when restrictions are lifted to provide you with a stay in which we exceed your expectations.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in SAN FRANCISCO