Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.1/5 2,019 reviews

Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa
See on a map
+ 17 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • 18 hole championship golf course located nearby

  • Located just 15 minutes away from Newcastle Upon Tyne

  • 8 dedicated meeting rooms accommodating up to 160 guests

  • Fully-licensed wedding venue and reception

  • Indoor pool, spa and jacuzzi located on-site

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Beauty salon
  • Porter
Leisure and activities
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Golf
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 4 meeting room(s)
  • Business center with support staff
  • Copy/print service available
Information message

Due to the unprecedented situation related to Covid-19, we have taken the difficulty decision to close our doors. We hope all our guests are safe and well and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards from us all

Hotel location

Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa

Stone Cellar Road
High Usworth Washington
Tyne and Wear
NE37 1PH
newcastle
united kingdom

Tel: +441914029988

Fax: (+44)1914/151166

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • DONWELL HIGH USWORTH :  DONWELL HIGH USW

  • By plane

    DURHAM TEES At 48.28km / 30 miles

  • By plane

    NEWCASTLE AIRPORT At 19.31km / 12 miles

  • By train

    NEWCASTLE CENTRAL At 8.05km / 5 miles

  • By train

    TRAIN STATION At 11.1km / 6.9 miles

GPS :54.922823, -1.533922

Our accommodations

The hotel's 103 bedrooms offer guests a range of accommodation options including doubles, twins, triples, family rooms and executive rooms. Each room features a range of facilities including complimentary WiFi and 26" flatscreen TV.

Standard Room with King size bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 17 / 183 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Iron(...)

Standard Room with Twin beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 17 / 183 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Iron(...)

Standard Family Room with King-size and Single Bed

Accessible room
  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Iron(...)

Superior Room with King-size bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 30 / 323 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Iron(...)

Junior Privilege Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Privilege Room with King-Size and Sofa Beds

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Views: Golf view *
  • Most of the accommodation: Balcony *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

CARTER & FITCH

Type of cuisine: Italian

PIZZERIA - SMOKEHOUSE - BAR Combining a stylish background and chilled out atmosphere, Carter and Fitch is the place to be for superb food, a cool choice of cocktails and drinks, and a relaxed and friendly vibe.

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 4

  • Maximum size: 190

  • Maximum capacity: 200 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 180 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.1/5

2,019 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,170 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

Great despite the Corona Virus

Customer review rating 4.1/5

D T. Business - 28/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff did an excellent jo of looking after me during my stay they went above and beyond to keep us all safe, the rose to the many challenges faced and did what they could. Many thanks to them all.

Lovely hotel

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Paula W. Couples - 23/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely stay. Great facilities.

Excellent

Customer review rating 4.1/5

D. I. Solo - 21/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

As usual pretty faultless. Everyone professional & very good at communication making you feel comfortable.

Good Hotel

Customer review rating 4.1/5

M B. Business - 21/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Spent 2 nights here on business and the hotel staff are super friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable although I was not expecting single beds! Food in the restaurant is great and well priced.

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Irene R. Families - 20/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was my daughters wedding day it was a fantastic day at your hotel staff were amazing and all plans were carried out to the letter to make it a memorable day for all of the guests who were there thank you very much for making the day run smoothly and creating fantastic memories

Golf, mainly .

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Dave Friends - 18/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Had a great stay, friendly happy staff, course was muddy in places, to be expected. Had a good weekend , pro shop very good and pro helpful and informative.

Dear {guest_first_name} A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Good staff

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Stephen H. Families - 17/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We always enjoy staying at the George Washington and this time was no exeption .very satisfied

Dear stephen H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Enjoyed our second stay

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Lee T. Families - 17/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Did ask for room 124 again but not allocated.

Dear Maxine Nadin-t., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Great functional hotel

Customer review rating 4.1/5

If Couples - 17/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Only there for one night as traveled through the area. Staff pleasant when booking in - despite being very busy. Room fine as was meal in Carter and Fitch. Came back and a small amount of water was dripping from the bathroom ceiling. Duty manager there very promptly, couldn't resolve and so arranged for a move. Really appreciated the upgrade which was not requested or expected. Result of which is very happy customers. Great example of how to turn a problem to your advantage and gain to converts.

Dear Ian F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Terrible room service

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Anonymous Business - 15/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Whilst you serve light snacks in your bar area only food menu for room service was main restaurant. People,when travelling don’t always want a large meal in the evening and not being able to order a simple sandwich ruined my stay wi5h you.

Dear Rachel R., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am slightly confused by your comments as there is only one menu, not two seperste offerings, and the light snacks available in the restaurant are avalable in the room and are on the room service menu. I would like to reiterate our commitment to high quality standards, and I personally would like to make sure you will experience it during your next stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Mercure. Please do not hesitate to contact me during your next visit. Sincerely,

Could be better

Customer review rating 4.1/5

L. Families - 14/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We came for a night away with 2 children. We were not allowed in the pool on the sunday morning before checkout as it was adults only but no information on the information sheets in room to be turned away from the pool. Food was ok but not worth the £22 for the steak, it was fatty and thin so over cooked. I was extremely disappointed as we came for an over night stay and wanted a pool. You even are advertising on the web for an easter break but no mention of kids not been allowed in the pool till 10am and checkout is 11am. We have had good stays before but this stay was well below the standard we expected.

Dear Knowles L., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. After speaking with my team I understand you were given a 50% discount on your food. in addition to this we have offered you 4 x day passes to use at your convenience with you living not too far away. Please use this email as your day passes We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,
Customer review rating 4.1/5

Anonymous Business - 14/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel driving range all excellent. Restaurant wasn’t great. Slow service and had to question the authenticity of the smoke house platter I received. The “smoked” brisket tasted like left over roast beef in bbq sauce, when I asked the server why there wasn’t a smoke ring in the beef they didn’t know what I was talking about and went back to the kitchen. To come back it’s been cooked over hickory for 13 hours.. so whys there no smoke ring then... couldn’t get an answer...

Dear Tom S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback. I will share your comments with our team and act on the food and service issues you have raised. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Great Hotel with friendly staff

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Andy Business - 13/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great Hotel and amenities (Gym, Golf, Driving Range etc). Rooms are comfortable and clean. However, the restaurant attached to the hotel, Carter and Fitch, some of the staff could be more attentive (not all of them but a minority) and friendly, slow service at times. The Orangery for breakfast was good, plenty of choice.

Dear Andy S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Comfortable and welcoming

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Dawn S. Business - 05/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was staying at the hotel for 2 months, for work, and the staff could not have made me feel more at home. Nothing was too much trouble and when there was an issue, it was resolved quickly and efficiently. The room was very comfortable and breakfast offered a wide range of options and they catered for my dietary needs. A wonderful stay with staff to be proud of. Thank you all

Dear Dawn S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa. It has been our pleasure to have you all staying with us from the Red Cross and we hope to see you all again Sincerely,

Lovely weekend

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Lauren T. Friends - 04/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I went with my friend for my birthday weekend for the night away really enjoyed my time lovely clean rooms good facilities will definitely return

Dear Lauren T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Stay at Newcastle George Washington Hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Tour34434484464 04/03/2020 TripAdvisor review

The hotel itself was really nice though the leisure facilities were disappointing. The pool is extremely small . We stayed for two nights. On the first night the steam room was not working but the sauna was, on the second night the steam room was working but the sauna was not. On our second night we went to the restaurant for a meal. Unfortunately we had not booked so couldn’t get a table for another hour and half (our fault no theirs). We were advised to go into the bar area where we could have the exact same food but the order would go immediately to the kitchen and we would be served quickly. Good idea we thought so did this, my husband ordered the pulled pork burger, I ordered the vegetable calzone. We waited at least 40 mins for the waiter to bring the food and when he did he brough5 out the burger and apologised, saying my calzone order had not been passed on to chef so mine would be about 5 mins. He asked if this was ok, I said not really so he offered us a complimentary drink which we accepted. He brought one drink for me only as my husband had his meal !!!! Again we waited. It was again so long coming that my husband had finished his ages before I got mine so in effect we both finished up eating alone. We would have been quicker waiting for the table in the restaurant. Not a good experience at all.

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Anonymous Couples - 03/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good clean rooms everything you wanted

Dear Maureen H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Easy to find

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Sara Families - 03/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Attended a birthday party

Dear Sara F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

friendly atmosphere

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Anonymous Business - 02/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

all staff are friendly no matter how busy they are, lovely atmosphere

Dear Karon P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Excellent staff

Customer review rating 4.1/5

Anonymous Business - 01/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Brilliant staff great location

Dear Stuart M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in newcastle