Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4 estrelas

Classificação clientes Avis (Classificação ALL) 3.7/5 450 comentários

Hotel ALLSAFE. Aprovado

Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Ver em um mapa

Descrição

Extras do hotel

  • Central location, nearby the Cathedral and Bedford Square

  • Leisure facilities including swimming pool, sauna & jacuzzi

  • Close proximity to popular Princesshay Shopping District

  • The Gate House restaurant features locally-sourced dishes

  • Ideal destination for weddings and private functions

Nossas acomodações

Os 156 quartos do hotel oferecem uma série de opções de acomodação, incluindo Classic, Privilege, Suíte, Conjugado e 7 quartos com acessibilidade. Todos os quartos são para não fumantes e possuem acesso ao WIFI, serviço de quarto e TV de tela plana. Cada quarto tem um padrão 4 estrelas, mas oferece vista particularmente inspiradora para a cidade, incluindo a catedral de Exeter, o histórico Southernhay e vislumbres da zona rural de Devon.

Localização do hotel

Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Southernhay East
EX1 1QF EXETER
Reino Unido

Fax: +44 1392 413549

  • De avião

    BRISTOL A 108 km / 67 milhas

  • De avião

    EXETER INTERNATIONA A 10,3 km / 6,4 milhas

  • De avião

    PLYMOUTH/ROBOROUGH A 73,5 km / 45,67 milhas

  • De carro

    M5 JUNCTION 29 A 6,6 km / 4,1 milhas

  • De trem

    EXETER CENTRAL A 0,97 km / 0,6 milhas

  • De trem

    EXETER ST DAVID'S A 2,3 km / 1,43 milhas

GPS:50.720332, -3.528424

Serviços de hotéis

Check-in a partir das - Check out até as

Em resumo
No local
  • Piscina
  • Estacionamento
  • Restaurante
  • Hotel com acesso para cadeira de rodas
  • Ar condicionado
  • Wi-Fi
  • Bar
  • Salas de reunião

THE GATE HOUSE

Nosso chef, Damian Martin, lhe dá as boas-vindas em nosso Gate House Restaurant. Os hóspedes podem saborear a contemporânea cozinha britânica, incluindo carne de origem local e frutos do mar frescos.

Avaliações dos nossos hóspedes para
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Avaliações 100% certificadas de hóspedes que realmente se hospedaram conosco

Saiba mais

Classificação ALL  3.7/5  450 comentários

Classificação no TripAdvisor  4.0/5  2.922 comentários

Tired Hotel

Classificação TripAdvisor 3.0/5

karlbousfield Negócios - Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

I have stayed here a lot over the years but my recent stay was somewhat disappointing due to the condition of the room, the table top was loose and hanging off couldn't use it. The lights in the room were either all on or all off, there was mold in the shower. The room was generally tired. The food menu was limited and has the same old same old offerings not much incentive to eating in house.

Thank you for leaving us a review of your recent stay with us - I will bring up with the maintenance team the issues you have mentioned. The maintenance team are working hard to improve all rooms and just this week we have been replacing curtains/nets, some tv's and other electrical appliances which is all based on the valued feedback we receive from our guests so once again - thank you for your comments. Kind Regards,

Excellent service and position

Classificação TripAdvisor 5.0/5

720alison Negócios - Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

The hotel is excellent with clean big room and great pool. Perfect to unwind. Good location for sight seeing and or work in central Exeter. Only concern that on a Sunday night the kitchen couldn't cope with high demand. Understood this as everywhere is recovering from Covid and staffing issues.

Thanks for leaving us a great review of your recent stay. I am pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us but would like to apologise that we were busy on the Sunday evening - I thank you for your understanding and hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards

Disappointed

Classificação TripAdvisor 3.0/5

Nomis60 Negócios - Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

Service is below average. No night porter service. Reluctant to print off a bill. Impossible to phone through to the hotel to obtain an email copy of the bill and again reluctant to send. Disappointed.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay with us. I am really sorry to hear of the issues you have had during your stay with us. Please be assured that we are taking all feedback on board, more now than ever. The hotel is now under new management and along side that we are implementing new policies and procedures, staff training and listening to our valued guests. We hope that your next stay with us is a successful one and would like to once again apologise for the issues. Kind Regards, Front Desk Team

Will never stay here again despite having stayed here every time we have travelled to Cornwall

Classificação TripAdvisor 1.0/5

Mariette R Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

We arrived for an over night stay to celebrate my companions 70 birthday. I had booked a suite,direct with Accor,as it was a special event. I collected the key and found we had been given a Privelege room, the worst I had ever seen, half lights on bathroom mirror didn't work, nor air conditioning and a great piece of wallpaper was missing. I went down to reception and was told they didn't have a suite available, despite it having been booked sometime in advance. Something was said about one person being unable to leave as ill and other 2 already taken! Another guest who arrived as I was in conversation was also refused the suite he had booked. Disgraceful! I will never stay with you again, completely ruined a special occasion! I did fill in a complaint form on line but have not had a reply.

Thank you for leaving us a review Mariette R. I am really saddened to hear the issues you had during your stay with us and I am very sorry your complaint has not been replied to so far - I will look into this as a matter of importance. As you may be aware the hotel is under new management and we are beginning the new year with new team members, staff training and new policies and procedures and this is not the standard that we want our guests to be leaving the hotel with. Please contact me direct at the hotel on 01392 412812 as I would like to discuss your feedback with you. Kind Regards Barnaby Kean General Manager

Excellent hotel and location

Classificação TripAdvisor 5.0/5

Martin C Negócios - Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

Excellent hotel and location - Everything you need for central Exeter Great value for all the facilities Great friendly staff Location is central and walking distance from all the amenities of Exeter.

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Front Desk Team Mercure Exeter Southgate

Very shabby rooms and groups of people living at the hotel long-term

Classificação TripAdvisor 1.0/5

courtzy14 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

For what the room cost per night, we were very disappointed. Reception staff checking in and out were super efficient and the hotel is well-located to Exeter centre, but I don't have much else positive to say about this hotel. The air conditioner in our room was broken so it was hot and we were not offered another room when we complained. The room itself was extremely shabby and in desperate need of redecorating. There was a large damp patch on the bathroom ceiling that was mouldy. Someone set the fire alarm off at 10:30pm one night causing an evacuation and a freezing wait in the carpark, and we heard from another guest that the same had happened just two nights before. There were also large groups of people living in the hotel long-term, which we were not warned about and didn't make for the sort of atmosphere you expect when paying to spend a couple of nights in a hotel. I also would not have felt very comfortable if I was a woman travelling alone. We will not be returning to any Mercure hotels in the future.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay with us. I am really sorry to hear of the issues you have had during your stay with us. Please be assured that we are taking all feedback on board, more now than ever. The hotel is now under new management and along side that we are implementing new policies and procedures, staff training and listening to our valued guests. We hope that your next stay with us is a successful one and would like to once again apologise for the issues. Kind Regards, Front Desk Team

Anne Devlin

Classificação TripAdvisor 3.0/5

westgatehotel2 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

Very disappointed l have stayed before this time housekeeping was very poor. I was charged £15 or night parking when l booked it said £8 per night. Not at all relaxing very noisy l come often to Exeter to visit family will not stay again.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your feedback. I am sorry to have read your comments regarding the issues you had during your stay - please be assured that we take all feedback on board and are implementing changes to improve our services so thank you for your comments. We hope to welcome you back again the future. Kind Regards, Front Desk Team Mercure Exeter Southgate

Disturbed sleep

Classificação TripAdvisor 3.0/5

T5112UOrobertl Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

We were in room 2 , staff quarters opposite which were used frequently. They opened the door and just let it slam everytime . Also spoke really loud all thro the nite . We woke about 5 times during the nite . Spoke to the older female receptionist in the morning who said she would look into it but offered no apology what so ever . If I was in a premier inn I would of had my money back , so I know where il be staying next time . Can’t recommend but breakfast and breakfast staff were brilliant.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay with us. I am really sorry to hear of the issues you have had during your stay with us. Please be assured that we are taking all feedback on board, more now than ever. The hotel is now under new management and along side that we are implementing new policies and procedures, staff training and listening to our valued guests. We hope that your next stay with us is a successful one and would like to once again apologise for the issues. Kind Regards, Front Desk Team

Great Location

Classificação TripAdvisor 4.0/5

Wraxall_Travellers Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

We loved the location of this hotel as it is a short walk to the cathedral and city centre. It also has a car park. Whilst I loved the stay and would stay there again, it was not without issues with maintenance in the room (no TV, then kettle did not work, phone would ring but nobody could hear you and the safe was out of service). The hotel moved us to another room. The breakfast was good as was the evening meal. We booked an eat in package which really was a fabulous deal.

Dear Wraxall_Travellers Thank you so much for your 4* review I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us but sorry you had issues in the first room. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future Kind regards Barnaby Kean

Wasn’t cleaned

Classificação TripAdvisor 3.0/5

molliejermy Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

Literal stains on the towels, hair on the floor and an old railcard on the floor too. Said something to the receptionist and was pretty much sent away without any compensation. Just gross really for how much I was paying. Never going again.

Dear molliejermy Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us, I'm so sorry to read your comments about your stay. I have now been with the hotel 4 days and trying to rectifying the issues raised. Thank you for brining this to my attention and I do hope you will give us another chance and return in the near future. Kind regards Barnaby Kean General Manager

Disappointed

Classificação TripAdvisor 3.0/5

MargandJul Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

Very disappointed in the overall stay, hotel is in need of a little face lift, we reported a very intense smelling our bathroom on arrival but nothing was done about it We have stayed at this hotel for about 10 years , however it definitely didn’t meet our expectations this year. We also noticed a lot of young men hanging around the public areas

Dear MargandJul Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us, I'm so sorry to read your comments about your stay. I have now been with the hotel 4 days and trying to rectifying the issues raised. Thank you for brining this to my attention and I do hope you will give us another chance and return in the near future. Kind regards Barnaby Kean General Manager

Very disappointing

Classificação TripAdvisor 2.0/5

Anne A Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

Booked for a 2 night stay. On arrival we were informed that as we are members, we had been given a free room upgrade. Obviously we thought this was a lovely surprise. That was very short lived as when arriving at the room, which was very cold, we found the heating wasn't working. We had an error code registered on the control. We reported this that afternoon, to be told maintenance had left for the day, but we could have a heater. This didn't arrive. In the evening we also discovered there was a fault with the TV remote control, which was very temperamental, only working occasionally. The following morning we discovered that the smaller shower head was gushing water from where it was connected to the hose. We reported both issues the following morning, and again reported the heating not working. By the time we left the following morning, none of these issues had even been looked at. We've stayed at this hotel in the past and always enjoyed our stay so we were very disappointed at the total lack of customer care shown on this occasion and will not be going back.

Dear Anne A I'm so sorry to read your review, I can only apologise for the issues you have raised from your stay with us. I'm now the new General Manager of the hotel from the 29th November and I will be working on the issues raised and hope to be able to resolve as many as I can quickly. Thank you for your feedback, without your help we would be unable to improve the standards and services we provide to both yourself and to all the guests who come through our doors at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel. I do hope you will return to the hotel in the near future and give us another chance so we can show you how it should have been done. Kind regards Barnaby Kean General Manager

Good Room with a Great Shower

Classificação TripAdvisor 4.0/5

Meander570418 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

This hotel is in a great location for the city center. Good car parking. Check in was quick & easy. The room was very good with everything that we needed. The bathroom had a great shower in it.. A good place to stay & will definitely return.

Dear Meander570418 Thank you so much for your review, I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon Kind regards Barnaby

Poor value for money

Classificação TripAdvisor 1.0/5

Barbara T Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

Reported and sent photos. Hoping for their comments but not holding my breath. Two nights with restaurant closed, Saturday night bar closed. No prior warning. Paid for upgrade, room substandard, Manager stated that if it was substandard he would down grade it!!! Surely it should be upgraded not the reverse??

Good afternoon Barbara and thanks for the review. I am not sure who you have sent photos too I am afraid as I haven't seen them but I am sorry about this. Matt

Dreadful

Classificação TripAdvisor 1.0/5

jac2n Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

We stayed 4 nights in the executive suite. The air conditioning was not working. The central heating was not working . The plug-in radiator was broken. The room was cold. The lights in the room were not working properly - flickering. The fridge was leaking. The toilet roll holder was broken. The shower soap dish was broken. The room was not clean, and smelt musty. The room was not serviced. We had to ask on three occasions for some new towels, and for toilet rolls, and for the bin to be emptied - before any action was taken. The corridors were dirty - with empty plates, glasses and rubbish from take-aways on the floor. Overall - it was a very uncomfortable and unpleasant stay. I was dismayed at the lack of service - and the hotel seems totally un-cared for. I will not be staying at a Mercure Hotel again.

Good afternoon and I am sorry that there were clearly a number of areas where we could and should have done better. I am sorry about this. Matt

Disappointed at mercure

Classificação TripAdvisor 2.0/5

nick329 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

I wanted a hotel with facilities swimming pool, jacuzzi, gym and sauna to relax whilst my son was in lectures at uni, the booking had issues from the start so I ended up paying an unbelievable £1000 plus for 6 nights NOT including breakfast because apparently only a privilege room was available Privilege seems to mean small table and a chair for £300 plus extra (really) I then found only 2 coat hangers in my room, I requested more, was brought 2 more and told no more were available The house cost provided was a mile too small ( I am a large) nothing else available The jacuzzi didn’t work for the whole duration of my trip Every time I went to reception I had to call out to get somebody’s attention I called down as I had run out of milk in my room only to be told I had to come downstairs and get it myself I then had no still water in my room and was informed the hotel didn’t have any The hotel bar closed at 10 PM, No last bell was rung and to be honest the bar staff could have approached the people still in the bar and said we are closing can I get you anything before we cash, Too much to ask I on 1 occasion paid for breakfast it was buffet and ok apart from the lack of yogurt and fruit selection To finish I’m so disappointed my son has started a 4 yr degree at Exeter and I was looking for a semi regular hotel to stay in whilst visiting him Been overcharged badly looked after And received No apologies for the lack of customer service

Good morning and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Your feedback was disappointing to read and I am sorry that there were a few issues when you were with us. I have of course shared your comments with the wider team and we are working hard to improve. Matt

September stay

Classificação TripAdvisor 3.0/5

Akjte Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

We were not impressed with our stay at the hotel. We have previously stayed here and it was much nicer. We did not get a very jolly welcome it seemed they were very Pre occupied with a wedding. The room was clean and ready for our stay. Not all condiments were replenished but you could get what you required at reception. We were woken both mornings by very heavy footed people above us from 630am to 8. Not great when we were child free!! (Not sure if they have staff staying up there?) Breakfast day one there were no clean tables. Approximately 20 tables with dishes on. We asked the staff to clean one for us, after 10 minutes of waiting we cleared and cleaned our own table. Multiple breakfast staff passed us and just ignored us. Day two breakfast, different staff who were very attentive. Quick to clear the tables once someone left. Much better experience. Think we will try somewhere else next time.

Good afternoon Akjte Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that you felt unwelcome upon your arrival and that there was noise from the floor above you early in the mornings. I also apologise for the slow service during breakfast this was due to staff sickness and new team members starting. I have taken note of your concerns and thank you for bringing them to my attention. Kind Regards Matt

Unable to contact reception

Classificação TripAdvisor 3.0/5

reesfamilyat43 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

This is our second visit to the hotel last week and in general pleased with the sevice. Unfortunately we believe we have left some items in our room last week. Its nearly impossible to get to speak to anybody on reception. I have emailed the hotel with no response, even resorted to contacting the gym manager who left a note with reception. Ive spoken to reception once. All telephone calls ultimately routed to reservations somewhere in the world. I do get the impression that the hotel is short of staff, but it would be good if somebody could return our messages

Good afternoon and thank you for your review. It was great to read that you were pleased with the service but I am sorry you have struggles to get hold of us to discuss your missing items. On our website, there is a generic email address. If you send an email here and put for the attention of the GM, Matt, I will look into this for you. Kind regards Matt

Location, staff and breakfast really good

Classificação TripAdvisor 4.0/5

OggyChannelIslands Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

A great old building, having problems with air-con but hopefully soon to be fixed. So close to city centre and loads of restaurants. All of the staff that we met were very helpful and friendly, breakfast buffet was very good and well stocked

Good afternoon Thank you very much for your kind review. I was so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that you like the location of our Hotel and the variety of restaurants nearby. I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Kind Regards Matt

Stay Away

Classificação TripAdvisor 1.0/5

Als_trips Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

The hotel is desperately in need of a refurbishment. We had a premiere room, number 365. There was pealing wall paper, damp on the ceiling, brown stains on the pillows a TV that only worked intermittently, draws that collapsed when you pulled them out a cracked shower tray and pealing paint. The service in the restaurant was poor, it took one hour to get a chicken burger, The food was cooked terribly. Still frozen chips and a burger that was overcooked and dark (brown/black). Breakfast was not much better. If I had paid under £100 I would have thought the stay acceptable but it cost £270. The front desk service was good but there was only one person on desk and a long que to checkout. This is not a nice hotel , not what you would expect from 4 star and I would not recommend.

Good afternoon and thanks for your comments. I was sorry to read you felt your stay with us was not good value and that there were service and maintenance issues when you were with us. Matt

Nossas mais recentes avaliações de 20

Em parceria com o TripAdvisor

Nossos outros estabelecimentos nas proximidades

Todos os nossos hotéis em EXETER