The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - Handwritten Collection 5 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.4/5 64 reviews

The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - Handwritten Collection - Image 1
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - Handwritten Collection - Image 2
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - Handwritten Collection - Image 3
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - Handwritten Collection - Image 4


Hotel extras

  • Prime city center location, near Tugu and Malioboro, the iconic shopping street.

  • Rooms with balcony overlooking the magnificent pool.

  • Complimentary historical activity on Hotel Tour.

  • Unlimited complimentary WIFI connection.

  • Unique check-in moment with our welcome drink and traditional local snacks.

Our accommodation(s)

Take advantage of our Flight + Hotel offers


Hotel location

The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - Handwritten Collection

Jl Jenderal Sudirman 9

GPS:-7.782697, 110.368393

Access and transport

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

On site
  • Swimming pool
  • Car park
  • Shuttle
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Air conditioning
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
  • Room service


Located next to the swimming pool, in an open-air courtyard. Indonesian, Chinese and Western cuisine are available.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.4/5  64 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.5/5  4,425 reviews

Not as expected

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Nozzy681 TripAdvisor review

As an Accor ALL member i booked 2 rooms for 3 night stay on the hotel's own website. The hotel staff is lovely and always polite. The two rooms, communicating as requested, overlooked a petrol station and a derelict side alley. The rooms were large and pleasant, but the bathrooms looked old, the toilet leaked in one of them and both bathrooms smelled of damp. The breakfast had a vast selection of average quality. We had dinner once in the hotel restaurant (despite the multitude of negative reviews) and found the service to be polite but desperately slow: 20 minutes to get water, cocktails (good) arrived after the food and the food itself was poor and the least enticing meal we had in Indonesia. The rooms were cleaned quite late (around 3pm) and on two days shower towels were not replaced at all. We had to call repeatedly to have them replaced. More annoyingly the area around the pool and spa was overrun with a large conference. It is normal for a hotel to conduct conference business but odd to have it by the pool with very loud music and crowds of conference participants hanging around the poolside during their breaks. Very noisy and not very relaxing. All in all, nothing shocking but will not be staying here again.

Dear Nozzy681, Thank you for your loyalty to Accor and for choosing The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta for your recent stay. We are glad you were pleased with our staff's professional and genuine services. However, we noticed that you had inconveniences regarding the bathroom situation, dinner services in our restaurant, towel availability in the room, and also some noise from the conference near the pool. We are sorry if your stay experience is not as expected and we apologize for being unable to deliver a fully satisfying experience to you. We should have anticipated those things, but we missed the mark. Please accept our sincerest apologies for our flaws that make your stay uncomfortable. Please rest assured that I have shared your comments with the team and action plans have been taken to address your remarks and ensure our standards are met and all our guests' experience is flawless. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back with a much better experience. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. Sincerely Yours, Rulvastina Randy General Manager

A good hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Roy I TripAdvisor review

This is a good hotel although our room was looking a bit tired and in need some refurbishment. The staff were excellent, helpful and very polite. The food in the restaurant, breakfast and dinner was very good with lots of variety. Its a city hotel so it doesn't have large grounds and the pool seems a bit enclosed by the buildings but overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

Dear RoyI822, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your feedback is very much valued. We appreciate every detail of your comments and also the highlight of the room situation. This is very important for us and we appreciate your kind suggestion. Please rest assured that we have forwarded your review to the team for our future improvement. Once again, thank you for sharing your valuable feedback and please do give us another chance to welcome you back in the future for a much better experience with us at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. Sincerely Yours, Rulvastina Randy General Manager

Great location, old world charm

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

011969 TripAdvisor review

If you like the old world charm accommodation e.g. Raffles Sin before reno; E & O Penang in the 80s, this is the hotel for you. Located a stroll away from Malioboro St, it's an old hotel that's undergone some reno, but plumbing defo needs sorting out. If "everything has to work" is what you need, this is not for you. Buffet breakfast was quite a good spread and excellent quality. But I would not bother about the dinner. Our lunch during our day excursion at a mostly tourist eatery was 100% better. I ordered beef rendang, which should be a signature dish in Indonesia and I could safely say my version is far superior. It was small (and I am a small eater) and tasteless, almost like from a cheap package paste. This dish (if made correctly) is made from so many spices, I can't understand how they can turn out this bland version. Beats me how this can come out of a kitchen in Indonesia. It's chalk and cheese compared to the quality at breakfast. That meal for 2 cost A$100 and is the worst meal we had over 3 weeks in Malaysia, Indonesia & Singapore. Enough of that. The staff were really helpful & friendly, rooms were clean - addition of bathrobes would be a nice touch. The pool & greenery setting was perfect to cool down after a day out in the heat. Bed was comfy and we quite like the older decor. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

Dear 011969, Thank you for staying in our heritage hotel and sharing your experience. We are pleased that you like our hotel building styles and that you have an overall enjoyable stay in The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. Yet, we regret that your dinner experience didn’t satisfy your expectations. We should have been better in the area that you mentioned, but we missed it. We apologize for our flaws. If only we had the chance to fix it earlier during your stay, we would do our best to recover the shortfalls immediately. Your comment has been shared with the team for further improvement. Here, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We have taken note of your displeasure with the dinner experience, especially regarding the beef Rendang quality. These will certainly enable us to improve the quality of our services to better meet the needs of our guests. Once again, we are sorry for being unable to make your stay fully satisfied. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back here and serve you a much better experience and fully satisfying experience with us at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. Sincerely Yours, Rulvastina Randy General Manager

Lovely Stay .....

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

PoipuJim TripAdvisor review

I stayed here for 4 nights in a Legendary Suite. The entire property is quite nice with lots of charm. The room was clean and well appointed. The breakfast buffet was extensive with plentiful options. There was a gentleman playing a gender ... a type of metallophone ... every morning at breakfast and his calm peaceful music filled the room. The best part of my stay here was the staff ...... front desk, housekeeping, restaurant. Without exception they were kind, helpful, and very eager to provide the best experience possible. I would most definitely return here again.

Dear PoipuJim, Thank you for writing such a heartfelt review about your time spent at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. We are delighted that you enjoyed almost everything that we have here. As you mentioned in the review, we are about providing an exceptional experience and much more. We are grateful for your amazing comments about our facilities and the service offered by our professional Ladies and Gentlemen. We pride ourselves in the genuine and warm services that our staff provides every day. We look forward to your return and will do our best to re-kindle the fond memories of our hotel. Sincerely Yours, Rulvastina Randy General Manager

Well located and a very nice hotel all around.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Ian Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL


Dear HOPE IAN R., It was a great pleasure to have you staying at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta. Thank you very much for your review and the positive feedback. It is valuable and encourages the team to keep their spirit in giving the best services to each customer. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely Yours, Rulvastina Randy General Manager

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Other web-users rate our hotel

  • 355 reviews 9.2/10 Location
  • 803 reviews 7.8/10 Room
  • 1,013 reviews 8.9/10 Service
  • 23 reviews 7.8/10 WiFi
  • 449 reviews 8.5/10 Vibe
  • 435 reviews 8.5/10 Amenities
  • 400 reviews 8.7/10 Cleanliness
  • 370 reviews 8.7/10 Breakfast

Powered by Trustyou

Our other establishments nearby