Information message

Novotel Southampton Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.2/5 7,761 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Novotel Southampton
See on a map
+ 10 Services

Hotel extras

  • Central location, with plenty of nearby transport links, 1 km from Red Funnel Ferry Port

  • Leisure facilities, including gym, sauna and heated pool. Work area, Free Wifi, 32-inch TV

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 330 guests

  • Elegant, modern restaurant, relaxed dining, Lavish hot breakfast buffet with pancakes

  • 10 meeting and banquet rooms, capable of holding 500 guests

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00


Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Private outdoor parking Paying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowed Paying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Electric car recharging units
  • Cash machine
Leisure and activities
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Sauna
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 10 Meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Novotel Southampton

1 West Quay Road
S015 1RA southampton
united kingdom

Tel: +442381072800

Fax: (+44)2380/222158

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00


  • By plane

    EASTLEIGH At 11.26km / 7 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON HEATHROW At 112.64km / 69.99 miles

  • By boat

    RED FUNNEL - TOWN QUAY At 1km / 0.63 miles

  • By car

    M 27 JUNCTION 3 At 4.83km / 3 miles

  • By train

    CENTRAL STATION At 0.4km / 0.25 miles

GPS :50.904846, -1.414687

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious, contemporary in design, and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living. Perfect for all your needs.

Our restaurants and bars


Type of cuisine: International

Enjoy a range of local and international cuisine, simple yet authentic, in a casual setting. Whether you want to eat or simply have a drink, our restaurant has that extra something you can only find at Novotel. Closed down right now, pub is serving food.

  • Monday Closed
  • Tuesday Closed
  • Wednesday Closed
  • Thursday Closed
  • Friday Closed
  • Saturday Closed
  • Sunday Closed


Absorb the lively atmosphere at Novotel. In stylish surroundings, choose from an array of beers, wines and cocktails served by our fun and friendly staff. Our buzzing bar offers the perfect place to enjoy an evening's entertainment or relax and unwind.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday -
  • Tuesday -
  • Wednesday -
  • Thursday -
  • Friday -
  • Saturday -
  • Sunday -

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 10

  • Maximum size: 504

  • Maximum capacity: 500 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 400 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Southampton

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.2/5

7,761 reviews


TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,230 reviews

Medieval rooms

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

nooousername 26/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

I am struggling to understand how a hotel of this standing has no air conditioning and windows that only open a fraction. When i asked for a fan for the room as it was approaching 30 degrees, I was told that if there was not one in the wardrobe (there wasn't) then they could not help. Utterly hopeless.

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anne Families - 25/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Perfect for our family. Swimming pool and gym was good. Good breakfast. Very satisfied

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Zara Families - 25/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very nice hotel, just what we needed after a long day out with the kids

Good family friendly hotel

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Dana Families - 25/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was a good family friendly hotel - the staff were all friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet was excellent with a great array of choice to suit everyone- we were travelling with four small children so it made all the difference that the hotel was able to give us connecting rooms- the pool was small but the children loved it and because the hotel limited the numbers it didn’t feel crowded also because it opened at 6 am I was able to go laps on my own in the morning and take the kids for a swim in the late afternoon- the rooms were a great size and didn’t feel cramped even with all the sofa beds being used - there were a couple of things that needed some improvement- the bed was too hard fit be but I prefer a softer bed do for others it might have been fine- the hotel dinner wasn’t as good as I’d hope - it wasn’t great quality, especially for the price, I think it was frozen and then reheated - and the bar said they couldn’t do any cocktails which was a bit disappointing but they were friendly about it -!my main problem with our stay was the fact that, on the website, the hotel claimed to have an ‘air cooling system’ - this was not the case or it was just ineffectual as our hotel room was VERY hot, so hot in fact that my 5 year old was sick several times during the first night because she got so over heated - I only averaged about 3-4 hours sleep each night because of the heat - and we had a desk fan on through the night - when I asked the hotel about it they said it was dependent on the guest keeping their windows closed - which we did but to no benefit - in fact it was hotter - I don’t mind that they don’t have air conditioning and I know it was especially hot when we visited - I just wish they didn’t claim to have an air cooling system when they don’t or it can’t cope - it was really false advertising- I really would book this hotel again just not in summer

Great location right by the docks

Customer review rating 4.0/5

M. F. Families - 25/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was very hot (hot July weekend), despite the addition of a fan in the room. Window would also only open part way. Shower screen wasn't long enough to prevent water going onto the floor.

Very convenient

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Cintia J. Families - 22/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Conveniently located at walking distance from town centre, seafront, restaurants

Great location

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 22/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Really good location for the port, and not too far to shops. It was really really hot and the room aircon was not sufficient, but we we given a small desk fan which helped.

Pleasant stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Chris Business - 21/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

A brief one night stay that was enjoyable. Room was clean and comfortable with nice breakfast.

Covid Safe

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 21/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Easy to use bookings Web site together with easy collection of key at reception & excelent service in bar/ dining room and all felt Covid safe environment.

Didn't feel safe

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Chris Families - 20/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Not my usual pleasant stay at a Novotel. Not entirely the hotels fault but I definitely did not feel safe and secure during this stay. despite the hotel apparently operating to the law (as it was then) and insisting on adults wearing face masks whilst moving around the hotel, my wife and I were in the minority. At breakfast, roughly 60% of adults had no face covering. I saw no one wearing a lanyard. Breakfast was understandably different, due to safety concerns but I cannot understand why this means you have to ask 4 times for a spoon (or indeed any cutlery)! Plus, all the precautions are wonderful, if they actually get done. We were shown to a table that had clearly not been wiped off, let alone sanitised. Cleaners, presumably moving around the whole hotel, were not wearing masks. After all this time, it should be easy to get the basics right?


Customer review rating 2.5/5

R Families - 19/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Paid for two executive rooms. Phoned in advance to ensure they were adjoining rooms which was confirmed. Checked again when checking in and confirmed to be adjoining rooms. Got to the rooms and they were not adjoining. Neither room was equipped as it should have been for an executive room. One room had no dressing gowns or slippers. The other room had no coffee machine, no bose speaker, no gowns or slippers etc. So just normal rooms and I paid a premium for them. Not enough staff at hotel, 2 people for a full hotel. Rooms not particularly clean either.

Excellent Staff - but manning levels mean they cant achieve the standard they would like

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Mg Families - 19/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff always helpful, professional and provide great customer service, but the the level of staffing means they can achieve the level of service they would like - They was evident at breakfast where time slots were booked so the customer flow was controlled.

perfect for a short stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

K.k. Friends - 19/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

the room was clean and had all usual facilities, good breakfast and late check out, although I would say that car park charges should have been included in the price of the room

Great location, near to West Quay for shopping. Facilities are fantastic as you have swimming pool.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Angela E. Solo - 18/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had a lovely time, as usual. I don’t have a bath at home to really love the fact that I can have a bath, also that I can have a swim in your pool. I really like the fact that I could have the Pool to myself due to the booking system you have in place. Will you be keeping the booking system in place? I hope so.

Not happy

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Colin D. Couples - 18/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Our room was very dirty and we don't think it had been cleaned at all, we had no choice but to complain

Average at best

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Jonathan H. Business - 18/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great that the hotel stayed open during Covid to support front line workers. Still object that there’s a £10 per night hidden cost to parking. Further object to only 4 disabled spots for such a large hotel (albeit free for blue badge). Breakfast order wrong 2 out of 3 days and stone cold on last day… don’t use room service! On day 3 was informed I was using the wrong form and to stop using it… (1) reception said go to restaurant for form (2) restaurant gave me said form (3) both are wrong… insist on the room service form from reception! I continue to stay there as it stayed open allowing me to cover my front line duties… I know this will have cost the company money to do. I stay out of loyalty, not out of a quality experience

Adequate but not 4 star

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Cameron Couples - 17/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was spotless and the staff friendly. I paid for an executive room as a ‘treat’ however I felt I would have got more for my money in a budget hotel (nothing wrong with budget hotels). The room had no air conditioning and with the safety catches on the windows (which I know are standard for any hotel) barely cooled the room making it rather uncomfortable to sleep. There was a hole in the plaster in the ceiling and the room overall felt that it should have been at least a ‘basic’ rate room rather than ‘executive’. The restaurant, although serving a limited menu due to COVID which is perfectly understandable had all of around 3 options and really tried hard to make it sound ‘fancy’ when in reality it was just basic meals you would expect from anywhere. I will say however that the breakfast was really good it was a good spread so to speak. All in all I would say my stay in the hotel was adequate and the staff were excellent although the room was stupidly overpriced and uncomfortable for an ‘executive’ room. I probably won’t be returning purely on the fact I feel that I can get better value for money elsewhere

Well located. Clean and tidy. Friendly, helpful staff.

Customer review rating 3.0/5

M Families - 17/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed for one night with our three-year-old. The whole reason for booking this particular hotel was the pool. On arrival we were told that 20 min pool slots had to be booked in advance (there was no mention of this when I booked) and it was fully booked that day. By sheer chance, as we were checking in there was a last minute cancellation for the next session (in 5 mins time) so we rushed and were able to have 15 mins in the pool. Otherwise we would have a VERY disappointed toddler to deal with. The room was a good size and clean but it was SO hot! And the windows wouldn't open because the sofa-bed was in the way. Both my husband and I found the bed to be EXTREMELY hard and we both had backache in the morning. Breakfast was lovely - well organised and a good selection.

Absolutely awful H.

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Awful H. Business - 16/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

This H. is not up to Novotel standard. From the outset devotion were rude and uninterested in making check in/smooth. The room was in a disgusting state, carpets were stained, furniture tired and worn out, paper cups and a zip lock bag contains some very basic provisions (aware this is a covid measure but for £80 per night this could be better presented at least). The toilet was separate to the sink/shower and all light switches were placed in odd areas. There is no air conditioning and you cannot open the windows as it’s too noisy (again aware near a port but also the police station which meant constant sirens). I was left standing for ages to be seated although restaurant staff were friendly at least. My advice - avoid at all cost. This H. is in desperate need of renovations in all areas. It felt like a hostel.

Essential Business traveller

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

jamesashton019 Business - 18/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

Arrived at a booked stay at Ibis, this hotel was closed and was transferred to the Novotel opposite. The reception was helpful and polite. Room was dated but clean, however was very cold despite heating. Lost loyalty stay due to swap - frustrating.

Dear jamesashton019, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I'm sorry to see that you were disappointed with your stay. Your original booking was made with ibis Budget Southampton, and therefore it is not eligible for loyalty points, as is the case with all bookings at Ibis Budget Hotels. I do apologize if this was not made clear to you at the time of booking. Due to the pandemic you were upgraded complimentary to the Novotel, however the rate that you paid, and the conditions of that booking do still apply. I do hope that we have a chance to welcome you back again in the future. Sincerely, Patina Farnham General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in southampton