Information message

Novotel Southampton Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.2/5 7,576 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Novotel Southampton
See on a map
+ 22 Services

Hotel extras

  • Central location, with plenty of nearby transport links, 1 km from Red Funnel Ferry Port

  • Leisure facilities, including gym, sauna and heated pool. Work area, Free Wifi, 32-inch TV

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 330 guests

  • Elegant, modern restaurant, relaxed dining, Lavish hot breakfast buffet with pancakes

  • 10 meeting and banquet rooms, capable of holding 500 guests

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Private outdoor parkingPaying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 5PMPaying
  • Electric car recharging units
  • Shoe shine machine
  • Currency exchange
Leisure and activities
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Sauna
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 10 Meeting room(s)
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Novotel Southampton

1 West Quay Road
S015 1RA southampton
united kingdom

Tel: +442381072800

Fax: (+44)2380/222158

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • SOUTHAMPTON COACH STATION : 

  • By plane

    EASTLEIGH At 11.26km / 7 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON HEATHROW At 112.64km / 69.99 miles

  • By boat

    RED FUNNEL - TOWN QUAY At 1km / 0.63 miles

  • By car

    M 27 JUNCTION 3 At 4.83km / 3 miles

  • By train

    CENTRAL STATION At 0.4km / 0.25 miles

GPS :50.904846, -1.414687

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious, contemporary in design, and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living. Perfect for all your needs.

Standard Room with Queen bed + convertible Sofa

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 21 / 226 sq ft
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron

Superior Room with Queen bed + convertible Sofa

Accessible room
  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 21 / 226 sq ft
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron

Executive Room 1 Queen bed + convertible Sofa

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 21 / 226 sq ft
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron

MyRoom by Ady: Cruise and Heritage room.

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 21 / 226 sq ft
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron

MyRoom by Georgiana: Vintage Floral room

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 21 / 226 sq ft
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron

MyRoom by Agnieszka: Forest room

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

Enjoy a range of local and international cuisine, simple yet authentic, in a casual setting. Whether you want to eat or simply have a drink, our restaurant has that extra something you can only find at Novotel. Closed down right now, pub is serving food.

Menu (PDF)

Dinner

18:00 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

BAR

Non contractual photo

Absorb the lively atmosphere at Novotel. In stylish surroundings, choose from an array of beers, wines and cocktails served by our fun and friendly staff. Our buzzing bar offers the perfect place to enjoy an evening's entertainment or relax and unwind.

Menu (PDF)

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 10

  • Maximum size: 504

  • Maximum capacity: 500 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 400 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Southampton

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.2/5

7,576 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,209 reviews

Good comfortable stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Gurpal S. Business - 05/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

front desk staff was very accomodating and well equipped with knowledge and professionalism to keep ourselves very happy , in particular Yvonne and Georgina.

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Stephen B. Business - 04/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had to call reception at 9.10pm to advise of the mattress having springs digging in to our bodies, we think maybe that the mattress was the wrong way round but advised reception and they said to give us 15 mins and we will be moved to another room. 25 mins passed and as We heard nothing we decided to go to reception and the receptionist had been busy she hadn’t managed to deal with this, I also told her that the smell of drugs (weed) was very strong in the 2nd floor corridor and said this needs investigating. She said that people know they are not supposed to do this but we don’t have control over it. I strongly wanted to go to the police station next door and get them involved as I now feel that nothing at all was done. We are possibly still going to advise them of this.....So overall not a great stay!!! This is still bothering us and we feel disappointed. There wasn’t really an apology of any kind. We had to move rooms and pay £10 for parking which we wasn’t aware of until we arrived, We didn’t notice this when booking so it is what it is.

Great location near rail station

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Clare M. Solo - 04/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent short stay, comfortable and clean rooms.

Hotel all round brilliant and friendly

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Ra Business - 03/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Came in the evening and left early in morning

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Ross Business - 02/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

People professional. Friendly and really helpful

Good

Customer review rating 4.0/5

R. R. Solo - 28/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

My experience with jour good, me assisted Josie he was big help, many thanks

good location. comfy rooms

Customer review rating 4.5/5

A E. Business - 26/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Perfect location close to shops/bars/ restaurants etc. Rooms are clean and comfortable. All good...!!

Dear ANDY E., Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are so pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards Iwona Kowalczyk Novotel Southampton

No WiFi

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Rs Business - 23/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed many times before, always good but I need WiFi to work, on this occasion there was none and no satisfactory explanation as to why not. WiFi had been down all day apparently but I was not informed before arrival.

Dear Richard S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Southampton. I am sorry that your experience on this occasion regarding the wifi did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. As per our conversation earlier today I hope your stay on 27/04/21 you will have a better experience, Kind Regards Iwona Kowalczyk Novotel southampton

Well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Sk Business - 18/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Housekeeping never cleaned first night

Good location but heating issue

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Anonymous Business - 18/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

After complaining 3 times throughout the day that the heating system in my room wasn’t working at 9pm I was offered to move rooms. When transporting my luggage and son who was asleep to the new room I was greeting with the sofa bed not yet made up so I had to again speak to the receptionist to arrange for the bed to be made up. The next morning I was woken up at 10:50am by a cleaner trying to enter my room telling me that checkout was at 11am. When querying this with the receptionist I was told that it must have been a misunderstanding because checkout is actually at 12pm. Overall I checked out dissatisfied and really wanting to file a complaint.

Essential Business traveller

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

jamesashton019 Business - 18/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

Arrived at a booked stay at Ibis, this hotel was closed and was transferred to the Novotel opposite. The reception was helpful and polite. Room was dated but clean, however was very cold despite heating. Lost loyalty stay due to swap - frustrating.

Dear jamesashton019, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I'm sorry to see that you were disappointed with your stay. Your original booking was made with ibis Budget Southampton, and therefore it is not eligible for loyalty points, as is the case with all bookings at Ibis Budget Hotels. I do apologize if this was not made clear to you at the time of booking. Due to the pandemic you were upgraded complimentary to the Novotel, however the rate that you paid, and the conditions of that booking do still apply. I do hope that we have a chance to welcome you back again in the future. Sincerely, Patina Farnham General Manager

Well located and safe

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Business - 15/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Given our need to travel in lockdown, we found the hotel well appointed and spotlessly clean. Hope to stay again in more relaxed times

Dear Lesley D., Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are so pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards Iwona Kowalczyk Novotel Southampton

Well located & Good stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

A. W. Couples - 13/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It is convenient not far to WestQuay shopping centre and is nice & quiet.

Dear W. A., Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are so pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards Iwona Kowalczyk Novotel Southampton

Good Stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Dorritt Business - 12/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

On check in I was bit disturb, when I was asked to show my ID, by the Assistant Manager, I have never been asked this in all the hotels I have stayed at, so I was extremely concerned, However I repentantly showed it to him. I then requested a room with a bath, I was upgraded to a nice room and offered additional heating for the room. Overall my stay was pleasant.

Dear Dorritt A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Southampton. At our hotel we ask all guests for ID at the hotel level this is part of our procedure which has been put into place and is out of our hands but I am sorry you was disturbed by this matter. I am glad that you did enjoy your stay with the accommodation itself with the upgrade for your room and the additional heating which was provided. We welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Kind Regards Benjamin Plumb Guest Relations

Very comfortable

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Keitht2 12/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

My room was spotlessly clean, spacious with a very comfortable settee which I later realised was a bed setter. I had an excellent night’s sleep on the best mattress I have ever encountered in an hotel. The shower was also excellent. There was a generous selection of teas and coffee available and, for the first time ever in my experience of an hotel small cartons of fresh semi-skimmed milk. In the past I have been a frequent user of Ibis hotels but on this occasion due to reduced numbers as a result of Covid all Accor guests were accommodated in the Novatel. In the light if my experience here my next bookings will definitely be with Novatel.

Dear Kietht2, thank you for your lovely review. I'm delighted to see that you not only enjoyed your stay, but will be continuing to choose Novotel in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, Patina Farnham General Manager Novotel Southampton

Good

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Jon Business - 08/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Short visit for work. Good warm comfy rooms

Dear Jonathan H., Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are so pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards Iwona Kowalczyk Novotel Southampton

good stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Dr J. M. Business - 06/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

everything perfect, only central heating needs improvements

Dear Jawaid M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Southampton. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with Brian and our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Iwona Kowalczyk Novotel Southampton

Very satisfactory.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Business - 06/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Efficiently run during a pandemic.

Dear Dave B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Southampton. Please accept my full apology that air cooling system made for you inconveniences. Unfortunately our system need a little bit more time to catch up the right temperature whilst temperature outside is dropping off quite quick. Once again I would like to truly apology and I do hope see you once again in near future. Kind Regards Iwona Kowalczyk Novotel Southampton

Relaxing and convenient stay friendly staff

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

secretlass 03/11/2020 TripAdvisor review

I am a regular here because with novotel you know you're getting quality with convenient location. Friendly staff, delicious breakfast and a swimming pool, whats not to love! The rooms are clean and the mattress is firm and comfortable.

Dear Secretlass, thank you for sharing your kind comments. We are delighted to know that our regulars are happy with our service, and look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Patina Farnham General Manager Novotel Southampton

Unexplainable!

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

Cyril5245 13/10/2020 TripAdvisor review

Having stayed at other Novotel and Ibis properties in other countries was actually shocked at the service I received at Novotel Southampton.The Experience Manager who I had a meeting with to share my disappointment with,should be sent on a training on dealing with customer response !

Dear Cyril, Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am really sorry that our service did not meet your expectations and for the issues experienced. As per your previous communications, 4 of our staff members have been highlighted for their excellent customer service skills. We are also sorry that you did not mention how satisfied you were on your review. We hope that we can have the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel by welcoming you back in the near future. I assure you we will do our best to give you the great customer experience our guests have grown fond of. kind regards, Magdalena Baranowska Front Desk Supervisor Novotel Southampton

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in southampton