The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel

Information message

The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel 5 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.4/5 656 reviews

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • Labeled ALLSAFE

  • Peerless luxury for over a century in a New York City landmark

  • In the center of Manhattan at 5th Avenue and Central Park South

  • Spacious rooms and suites combining opulent décor and premium amenities

  • A selection of elegant meeting facilities including the regal Grand Ballroom

Hotel location

The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel

5th Avenue at Central Park South
10019 NEW YORK
United States

  • By plane

    JOHN F KENNEDY INTL AIRPORT At 32.19km / 20 miles

  • By plane

    LA GUARDIA AIRPORT  At 20.92km / 13 miles

  • By plane

    NEWARK LIBERTY INTL AIRPORT At 35.41km / 22 miles

GPS:40.764268, -73.974155

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Meeting rooms

THE PALM COURT

For over 100 years, The Palm Court has been New York City's iconic destination for Afternoon Tea. The Palm Court is a timelessly elegant setting for breakfast, afternoon tea, evening fare and crafted cocktails.

Our accommodation(s)

From fine fabrics and sumptuous furnishings to timelessly elegant decor and lavish amenities, our 282 spacious accommodations offer unparalleled comfort in New York City's heart. Guests in our inimitable collection of suites enjoy 24-hour butler service. Rooms offer wireless high-speed internet access - flat screen TV - bathroom with beautiful mosaic tiles - writing desk and chair - sitting area - mini bar - iron and ironing board

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.4/5  656 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.5/5  3,285 reviews

pink overload

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Micaela H. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

I read Eloise in 1983, I first visited the Plaza for tea in 1997, in 2010 I learned Betsey Johnson created an Eloise suite in The Plaza and determined one day I would stay there. It was everything described and more. The Plaza definitely lives up to its reputation of service and luxury. I have to compliment you on the suite's bathroom, to quote Robert Preston, "...oh, the bathroom is a religious experience." The Eloise tea was delightful, I was able to invite my boyfriend's sister who remembers attending a tea at The Plaza as a little girl. Mostly I would like to thank the eternal patience of your staff who scheduled, re-scheduled, cancelled, and again scheduled my stay at your establishment. Covid has taken a toll on all of us and your staff made scheduling and staying at The Plaza a wonderful experience. Thank you.

Dear Ms. H., Thank you so much for your kind comments about your stay with us! I am delighted you had such an exceptional experience, and that our team went above and beyond to make sure you had a memorable stay. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back. Warmest Regards, Ted Selogie General Manager

Finesse and thoughtful detail for guest's stay.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Julia K. Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

I loved it. My parents stayed there in the '70s. It is beautifully maintained and beautifully appointed. I loved being able to smell flowers as soon as I walked in. The staff was lovely and warm and kind, not stiff. I had trouble getting an UBER to find me at the hotel and trouble finding a cab willing to go to Hoboken. It took me 7 tries my first night. I realize transportation is not a part of the Plaza. I am mentioning it because it was the only problem I had with my stay. I love the details in the room with guests convenience in mind, the thoughtful touches. The signs/notices were discreet and lovely (for instance, explanation for locking the door to the terrace.) Shower caps and quality toiletries are appreciated. I was surprised that the tissues were rough. I tried a variety of ways to connect with Uber, give an address, designate that it is a hotel. The door men did what they could.

Everything was Lovely

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Ashley Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Special birthday weekend for my Daughter. Everyone was wonderful!

Dear Mrs. C., Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is a pleasure to have welcomed you for your daughter's birthday celebration! Our team delights in ensuring all of our guests enjoy The Plaza's legacy of extraordinary service. I have shared your comments with our colleagues, which no doubt will serve as encouragement and inspiration. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you once again, and wish that the next visit may be as wonderful as the last. Sincerely, Ted Selogie General Manager

The stay was a once in a lifetime magical experience.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Ann M. C. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

I recently stayed the weekend for my niece’s wedding. The stay exceeded all my expectations. The wedding reception was held at the hotel and it was the most beautiful experience- it was truly unforgettable; my memories will last a lifetime...I know my sentiment was shared by so many..

Dear Mrs. C., Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is a pleasure to have welcomed you for your niece's Wedding! Our team delights in ensuring all of our guests enjoy The Plaza's legacy of extraordinary service. I have shared your comments with our colleagues, which no doubt will serve as encouragement and inspiration. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you once again, and wish that the next visit may be as wonderful as the last. Sincerely, Ted Selogie General Manager

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Leslie K. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

It was a wonderful time. The staff is so very professional and courteous. It was on my bucket list and was a worthwhile experience!

Dear Mrs. Khan, Thank you so much for your kind comments about your stay with us! I am delighted you had such an exceptional experience, and that our team went above and beyond to make sure you had a memorable stay. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back. Warmest Regards, Ted Selogie General Manager

Convenient, great staff

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Anonymous Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Bathroom was beautiful but small. Room was underwhelming for the price. Construction on our floor and a barking dog. Allowing pets is gross.

Dear Mr. G., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Plaza. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At our hotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore, your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address these issues internally and prevent future occurrence. In the meantime, we encourage all of our guests to inform us of any inconveniences during their stay so that this can be rectified in timely manner while on property and turn any unpleasant experience around. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Ted Selogie General Manager

Overall good

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Rs/ny Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Took kids back to NYC for an evening after pandemic. Was a success staying on account of location

Dear Mr. S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ted Selogie General Manager

Media use

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Judith M. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Our tv didn’t work properly the 4 days we were there. We had maintenance come to check and IT come to check but still no answer. I felt like I was being nickeled and dimed …..at such a luxury hotel is not acceptable. I hated trying to get ice……it was aggravating…. The room bar was never restocked…. It was not the experience I expected….. Just FYI

Dear Dr. M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Plaza. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At our hotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore, your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the issues aforementioned and prevent future occurrence. I have personally reached out to each relevant departments for an internal follow up. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Ted Selogie General Manager

Great location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Jeremy B. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was beautiful and started off great with the bellman (Kevin) brought us to the front desk and introduced the three people at the desk. The dinner was less than good with the waiter messing up our order. My room service order for the home alone ice cream was supposed to take an hour and a half to make per the concierge attendant. When we returned to our room and an hour and a half came and went and after two hours I called the front desk and learned it was already attempted to be delivered (before the time I was told) but no one called me to tell me so apparently they were waiting for me to call and complain. Seems like for $2,000 a night they would have either 1) delivered at agreed time or 2) called me with info about delivery prior to agreed time

Dear Mr. B., Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the incident you experienced with the Sundae delivery. Rest assured, this is not typical nor exemplary of The Plaza's service legacy. I have shared your comments with our respective teams so that we may investigate and follow-up internally. On the other hand, it is encouraging to know that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay. Thank you for choosing The Plaza and we hope to be presented with an opportunity to better serve you soon. Sincerely, Ted Selogie General Manager

Worse experience ever

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Gwen C. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Someone believed to be staff accessed my room as I was dressing. Had to call front desk to bring them to their attention. Chose the hotel amongst numerous hotels as we are longstanding Accor members and trust in the service we’ve grown accustom to. Sadly it was our worse experience. Did not receive any birthday amenity and had to call for our welcome amenity as a platinum Accor member. As well, we were asked for size for infant travelling with us so that they could provide a robe. The robe never provided. We also asked numerous times concierge to arrange transport to and from hotel to provide an infant car seat. Although I sought several confirmations that baby had a car seat. Upon our departure, our car didn’t have a car seat. I will certainly will need to reconsider another stay as the hotel stay was extremely disappointing. I have yet to receive communication from manager with further explanation of why a strange man who may be been staff came into my room. I felt violated. Front desk manager did not make me feel safe with her way of a simple note. Regards? Gwen

Dear Mrs. C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please note that this problem was a true exception to our normal practices. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem. All our efforts are concentrated in preventing future occurrences. I understand you have been in contact with our Director of Operations, Justin Milazzo, and have received a full compensation of your stay in the forms of membership points, a $2,300.00 gift card and a refund to your credit card on file for $1,800.00 which will be reflected in your account within the next 5-10 business days, if not received already. I would like to reiterate our commitment to high quality standards, and I personally would like to make sure you will experience it during your next stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont. Please do not hesitate to contact me during your next visit. Sincerely, Ted Selogie General Manager

THE PLAZA REPRESENTS THE BEST OF OUTSTANDING SERVICE AND FACILITIES EVEN IN TRYING TIMES

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Charles A. W. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

THE PLAZA IS A FANTASTIC LUXURY HOTEL, GREAT LOCATION AND IMPECCABLE SERVICE BY THE PERSONNEL. L

Dear Mr. W., Thank you so much for your kind comments about your stay with us! I am delighted you had such an exceptional experience, and that our team went above and beyond to make sure you had a memorable stay. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back. Warmest Regards, Ted Selogie General Manager

Fantastic staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Fergus H. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Everything was naturally up to par but the way the treated my fiancé’s birthday was most special. We were allowed early check in, and approached the desk to find our room had been upgraded and a bottle of champagne was chilling in our room. All the other fabulous amenities from the smell of the fresh flowers magnificent French bathroom could not stand up to the respect, kindness, and professionalism we were shown. The hotel is beautiful and ticks every box but I will always remember the Plaza staff making my fiancé’s birthday so special. Thank you

Dear Mr. H., Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is a pleasure to have welcomed you for your fiance's Birthday celebration! Our team delights in ensuring all of our guests enjoy The Plaza's legacy of extraordinary service. I have shared your comments with our colleagues, which no doubt will serve as encouragement and inspiration. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you once again, and wish that the next visit may be as wonderful as the last. Sincerely, Ted Selogie General Manager

Always love the Plaza!

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Kay F. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

A taste of old, elegant NYC! Big beautiful rooms and courteous staff one of my favorite places. The reason The Plaza did not get a 10 is because afternoon tea at Palm Court which is usually wonderful was, unfortunately, served by a waiter who was surly, abrupt & had poor social skills. Has never heard of the word “thank you!” I kept being polite and saying thank you. Definitely not up to Plaza standards

Dear Ms. L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. On the other hand, I apologize on behalf of the Team for the poor service received at our Palm Court. Rest assured that I will follow up with the respective team member to avoid future occurrence. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ted Selogie General Manager

perfect weekend getaway

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Charles A. S. I. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

staff was awesome! Food in the lobby was great. room service was great.

Dear Mr. Stewart I., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ted Selogie General Manager

Above and Beyond

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Becky Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff at Plaza went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. They were very friendly with the kids and remembered their names each time we came through the lobby. The concierge, Rodman, gave wonderful recommendations for restaurants and was able to make us hard to get reservations at the the last minute. I was very impressed with our stay and will definitely stay at The Plaza again.

Dear Mrs. B., Thank you so much for your kind comments about your stay with us! I am delighted you had such an exceptional experience, and that our team went above and beyond to make sure you had a memorable stay. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back. Warmest Regards, Ted Selogie General Manager

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Outstanding stay at The Plaza for Easter weekend to celebrate my daughter’s birthday. The hotel staff, facilities, service, and dining were all superb. We’ve stayed at many of the world’s finest hotels and none surpass The Plaza. It is still THE place to stay in NYC.

Dear Mr. W., Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is a pleasure to have welcomed you for your daughter's Birthday celebration! Our team delights in ensuring all of our guests enjoy The Plaza's legacy of extraordinary service. I have shared your comments with our colleagues, which no doubt will serve as encouragement and inspiration. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you once again, and wish that the next visit may be as wonderful as the last. Sincerely, Ted Selogie General Manager

Classic hotel, good location.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Cal Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

The location of the hotel is very good for visiting most Manhattan attractions and still close to a few good restaurants. The hotel itself is obviously a classic and is mostly very nice. The rooms were large and comfortable and service was excellent throughout our stay, the carpets and chairs in the rooms are showing their age though. Also the food at the Palm Court and Champagne Bar is decent, but I don't think it justifies the prices.

Dear Mr. L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ted Selogie General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby

Sofitel New York

4 stars

At 1.162 km

See the hotel
All our hotels in NEW YORK