Novotel New Plymouth Hobson Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.6/5 4,163 reviews
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
See on a map
+ 22 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • New Plymouth's newest hotel, rated 4.5 stars, city location.

  • 85 stylishly appointed rooms and apartments

  • Complimentary high speed WIFI, parking, bikes, gym & sauna

  • Floor to ceiling windows for natural lighting

  • Governors serving regional cuisine featuring local produce

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Babysitting on requestPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • NEW PLYMOUTHPaying
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 8AMPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
  • Sauna
  • Babysitting on request
Business services
  • 2 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Novotel New Plymouth Hobson

Cnr Of Hobson And Leach Streets
4312
new plymouth
new zealand

Tel: +6467699579

Fax: (+64)6/7699072

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • By plane

    NEW PLYMOUTH At 11km / 7 miles - Shuttle paying

GPS :-39.056161, 174.087325

Our accommodations

Spacious, contemporary in design, and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living, perfect for all your needs.

Accessible room

Studio Room with one King Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 23
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)
Accessible room

Executive Room with one King Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 30
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)
Accessible room

Executive Room with two Queen Beds.

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 30
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Superior Room with one King Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 30
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Superior One Bedroom Apartment with King Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 45
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Superior Two Bedroom Apartment with two King Beds

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 62
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Our restaurants and bars

GOVERNORS EATERY + BAR

Type of cuisine: Regional

Governors Eatery and Bar focuses on regional cuisine that highlights the best local produce from the Taranaki region. Featuring indoor and outdoor dining areas, it is the perfect place to relax with a meal accompanied by a fine New Zealand wine.

Lunch

11:00 - 15:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

17:30 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

GOVERNORS BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

With its large, street facing windows, the bar is the ideal place to unwind or conduct an informal business meeting over an espresso. Open daily with a wide selection of tantalising snacks and an international selection of beer, wine and spirits.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 2

  • Maximum size: 200

  • Maximum capacity: 250 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 200 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.6/5

4,163 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5

391 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

Great Hotel

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Kylie Couples - 14/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were really impressed with this hotel... good sized rooms, comfortable beds, individual room air conditioning etc.

Kia Ora Jason, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel New Plymouth . It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are glad your stay met your expectation. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcome you at our place in the near future. Sincerely, Vaughn D'Souza Front Office Manager Novotel New Plymouth Phone: +6… Email: fo…

Somewhat disappointed

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Ed Couples - 13/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Wine bottle in corridor for three days Curtains in room didn't completely cover window, allowing street light in at night Restaurant very disappointing, Disappointing that toiletries contained sodium lauryl sulfate.

Great.

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Neil A. M. S. Couples - 13/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

On arrival at reception staff were very pleaseant and welcoming. Accommodation lovely.

Kia Ora Maureen, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel New Plymouth. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are glad your stay met your expectation and our staff took care of you & your family throughout your stay. I will share your encouraging words with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcome you & your family at our place in the near future. Sincerely, Vaughn D'Souza Front Office Manager Novotel New Plymouth Phone: +6… Email: fo…

Professional & extremely friendly staff

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Raewyn, A. Families - 11/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff were amazing, accommodated our every need. Very informative, friendly and understanding as had elderly mother with us in a wheelchair. Food was beautiful & service excellent. Housekeeping staff very helpful & polite. Good location.

Kia Ora Raewyn, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel New Plymouth . we are glad your stay met your expectation and our staff took care off you & your family throughout your stay. I will share your encouraging words with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we loo forward to welcome you & your family back at our place in the near future. Sincerely, Vaughn D'Souza Front Office Manager Novotel New Plymouth Phone: +6… Email: fo…

Great situation

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Garry A. Couples - 10/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

A little nose we could hear the children in the next room who woke us early.we were a bit disappointed that we were unable to use our accor card on waitangi day so no reward.we have stayed at many others who offer free water an other services but the free parking and free drink was great

Kia Ora Garry, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us, at the Novotel New Plymouth. Terribly sorry about the noise issue; I believe we had family staying next door to you at the time. I am glad to know however that you didn't let this affect your stay. I understand that it was your first stay with us and I hope it will be the first of many - that you give us the opportunity to push higher and further with each visit. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Vaughn D'Souza Front Office Manager Novotel New Plymouth Phone: +6… Email: fo…
Customer review rating 4.6/5

Stephen N. Business - 10/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff and service excellent as per usual, with a really nice touch of welcome back card with lollies after the festive season.

Kia ora Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and your continued support. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable experience. It is always nice to receive positive feedback, especially from our loyal Accor Plus guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly if we can be of any assistance in the future. Ngā mihi, Jayesh Bala General Manager Novotel New Plymouth Phone: +6… Email: gm…

Great central location

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Phil Families - 10/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Situated within walking distance of the central city and beaches the tidy clean well appointed rooms are relaxing and full of the necessities for a comfortable stay

Kia ora Philip, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable experience. It is always nice to receive positive feedback, especially from our loyal Accor Plus guests. I have also shared your kind words with Hayley from our reception team. Hayley has only been with us for short time, but she is certainly doing a great job. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly if we can be of any assistance in the future. Ngā mihi, Jayesh Bala General Manager Novotel New Plymouth Phone: +6… Email: gm…

Outstanding team.

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Jon W. Families - 09/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Part of a wedding that was off-site, bride and bridal party stayed prior to the wedding and on the wedding night.

Kia Ora Jon, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel New Plymouth . It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I heard the wedding went very successfully. We congratulate you & your family from the Novotel New Plymouth Team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you soon on your next visit. Sincerely, Vaughn D'Souza Front Office Manager Novotel New Plymouth Phone: +6… Email: fo…

Great place to stay

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Anonymous Families - 09/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Just needed an overnight before staying with family and this was the perfect spot.. Greeted with a welcome drink and the breakfast was excellent

Kia ora Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable experience. It is always nice to receive positive feedback, especially from our loyal Accor Plus guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly if we can be of any assistance in the future. Ngā mihi, Jayesh Bala General Manager Novotel New Plymouth Phone: +6… Email: gm…

Helpful staff

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Anonymous Couples - 08/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Our online booking was cancelled (not by us). We were told could use our accor discount for food but then when eaten we couldn't due to holiday. Online menu different to what we got at restaurant. We got a free breakfast to compensate us which was a nice gesture but hard scrambled eggs tough bacon and a few other things not what you expect at hotel buffets. We were also told our bill had been prepaid but 1 day after we left we were charged (we haven't checked our credit card bill yet to make sure). Staff everywhere were great

Kia Ora Lesley, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us, at the Novotel New Plymouth. I'd like to start by apologizing for the myriad of issues that went wrong during your stay, from your arrival, to the misinformation about the Accor dining benefits on a public holiday, right down to your experience with breakfast. I am comforted however, to know that your experience with the staff was positive and that they were active in helping as and when they could. It is very unusual for us to have so many things to have gone wrong in pattern that it did and I know my apology may only go a short way to make up for it however I would like to reassure you that all of the individual incidences have been looked into and will be certain not to be repeated. I understand that you have stayed with us in the past, Leslie and I do hope you will allow us to make up for this stay on your next visit. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you again. Sincerely, Vaughn D'Souza Front Office Manager Novotel New Plymouth Phone: +6… Email: fo…

Made to feel welcome by all staff

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Chris B. Business - 07/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I appreciated the upgrade as an Accor member. The staff were welcoming and friendly

Kia Ora Chris, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel New Plymouth . It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your encouraging feedback with our team. We are glad you enjoyed your room upgrade as an Accor member. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to see you soon. Sincerely, Vaughn D'Souza Front Office Manager Novotel New Plymouth Phone: +6… Email: fo…

Clean, smart and up-market

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Barry W. Friends - 07/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were friendly, happy to help in any way possible. Quite room away from traffic noise.

Kia Ora Barry, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel New Plymouth. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I'm glad you had a great experience with hotel and staff, all the throughout the hotel. The staff are really great and we are luck to have them. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit Sincerely, Vaughn D'Souza Front Office Manager Novotel New Plymouth Phone: +6… Email: fo…

Clean, comfortable room. Close proximity to amenities. Friendly staff

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Beulah Couples - 06/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Welcoming front office staff., clean, comfortable rooms a few personal touches enabled us to enjoy our time in New Plymouth.

Kia ora Beulah, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and sharing your kind words. I have shared your comments widely and I know our front office and housekeeping teams in particular will be happy. If we can be of any assistance in the future, please feel free to get in touch with me directly. Have a good weekend ahead. Ngā mihi, Jayesh Bala General Manager Novotel New Plymouth Phone: +6… Email: gm…
Customer review rating 4.6/5

J F. Couples - 06/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was really clean and comfortable Restaurant staff do not listen to you and was very disappointed with our food. You quote healthy eating but when I asked for low fat dressing there was none

Dear Jacqueline F., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience and review our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and room, I am sorry that your restaurant experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and I will be talking to both the restaurant and kitchen staff to determine why we didnt quite meet the mark on this occassion. Again, we appreciate your sharing your experience. Kind Regards, SARAH CROSSLEY Marketing / F&B Manager NOVOTEL NEW PLYMOUTH Cnr Hobson & Leach Streets, PO Box 8142, NEW PLYMOUTH 4342, NEW ZEALAND Phone : +6… fb…

Average

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Pauline P. Business - 06/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Most things were fine except the room had an odour of sweat and there were two flies in the room. Also the TV reception was not consistant and kept droping out

Kia Ora Pauline, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us, at the Novotel New Plymouth. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I understand we have had you stay with us a few times in the past before and hope this has been the first experience that has fallen short of your expectations. Rest assured that this is in no way the norm and I can guarantee that this was a one-off - our television reception is generally great and uninterrupted. I can imagine how bothersome having flies in the room can be. Please do give us a call at reception next time and they will be happy to assist. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is we look forward to you next visit. Sincerely, Vaughn D'Souza Front Office Manager Novotel New Plymouth Phone: +6… Email: fo…

Great Stay

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Emma Couples - 04/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Polite Staff, clean room. Everything was excellent

Kia ora Emma, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and share your kind words. It is always nice to receive positive feedback, especially from our loyal Accor members. If we can be of any assistance in the future, please feel free to get in touch with me directly. Enjoy the weekend ahead. Sincerely, Jayesh Bala General Manager Novotel New Plymouth Phone: +6… Email: gm…

Close to town.

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Anonymous Couples - 03/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I felt for the money we paid, our stay was really average. Shower was good bed was comfortable but I have stayed in cheaper motels/hotels and been just as or more comfortable. Room was very small. Customer service at the front desk couldn't be faulted. I wouldn't stay again and probably wouldn't recommend.

Kia ora Donna, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel New Plymouth. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am sorry to hear that you are unlikely to stay with us in the future. However if you do decide to give us a second chance, please feel free to get in touch with me directly. I would be delighted to personally assist you and ensure you are well looked after. Thank you once again. Ngā mihi, Jayesh Bala General Manager Novotel New Plymouth Phone: +6… Email: gm…

difficult driveway location

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Jc Business - 03/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was clean and tidy. Good overall presentation. Governors breakfast selection was disappointing.

Dear Jeff C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel New Plymouth. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your room. We are continuously striving to cater to all guests and provide great quality and a varied selection for breakfast, so its disappointing to hear you didn't enjoy our breakfast selection. If you have any further feedback in relation to our offerings, please do not hesitate to contact me directly so we can endeavor to improve this for any future stays. Again, we appreciate your sharing your concerns. Kind Regards, SARAH CROSSLEY Marketing / F&B Manager Phone : +6… fb…

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Patricia Business - 03/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The rooms were tidy and stylish. Bed was super comfortable. Food was tasty. No complaints- highly recommend!

Kia ora Patricia, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for sharing your kind words about Governors Eatery + Bar. I have shared this with all the team, especially our hard working Chefs. Ngā mihi, Jayesh Bala General Manager Novotel New Plymouth Phone: +6… Email: gm…

Looked After

Customer review rating 4.6/5

P S. Business - 02/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great location, great rooms

Kia ora Paul, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and loyalty to Accor. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable and comfortable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Ngā mihi, Jayesh Bala General Manager Novotel New Plymouth Phone: +6… Email: gm…
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor