Novotel New Plymouth Hobson Hotel 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5 378 reviews
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
See on a map
+ 22 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • New Plymouth's newest hotel, rated 4.5 stars, city location.

  • 85 stylishly appointed rooms and apartments

  • Complimentary high speed WIFI, parking, bikes, gym & sauna

  • Floor to ceiling windows for natural lighting

  • Governors serving regional cuisine featuring local produce

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Babysitting on requestPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • NEW PLYMOUTHPaying
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 8AMPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
  • Sauna
  • Babysitting on request
Business services
  • 2 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Novotel New Plymouth Hobson

Cnr Of Hobson And Leach Streets
4312
new plymouth
new zealand

Tel: +6467699579

Fax: (+64)6/7699072

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • By plane

    NEW PLYMOUTH At 11km / 7 miles - Shuttle paying

GPS :-39.056161, 174.087325

Our accommodations

Spacious, contemporary in design, and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living, perfect for all your needs.

Studio Room with one King Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 23
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Executive Room with one King Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 30
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Executive Room with two Queen Beds.

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 30
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Superior Room with one King Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 30
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Superior One Bedroom Apartment with King Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 45
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Superior Two Bedroom Apartment with two King Beds

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 62
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Our restaurants and bars

GOVERNORS EATERY + BAR

Type of cuisine: Regional

Governors Eatery and Bar focuses on regional cuisine that highlights the best local produce from the Taranaki region. Featuring indoor and outdoor dining areas, it is the perfect place to relax with a meal accompanied by a fine New Zealand wine.

Lunch

11:00 - 15:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

17:30 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

GOVERNORS BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

With its large, street facing windows, the bar is the ideal place to unwind or conduct an informal business meeting over an espresso. Open daily with a wide selection of tantalising snacks and an international selection of beer, wine and spirits.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 2

  • Maximum size: 200

  • Maximum capacity: 250 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 200 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.6/5

3,973 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5

378 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

Good location and rooms

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Chooper Couples - 04/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Happy to have a complimentary upgrade with our accor plus card but not happy when check out staff tried to charge us for it. Breakfast was included in our rate but check out staff wanted to charge us again! Nice room on top floor. Really comfy bed and high standard of cleanliness. Food at restaurant good and love the happy hour.

Kia Ora Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed our wonderful hotel. I apologise about the confusion around the upgrade. It looks like when you made your reservation you booked using your Accor Plus free night. From what I can see you did book the next room category up, our executive room which would have added on $50 as the upgrade fee. Prior to your arrival we had then complimentary upgraded you to a superior room. The upgrade fee on check out that should have been paid for was the $50 fee that you would have agreed to on making the reservation. Again sorry for the confusion, we hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Ngā Mihi Allie Blackwood Front Office Manager

Another pleasant stay

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Allan H. Couples - 03/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Our third visit this year. No welcome note or sweet treats on arrival, a little disappointing. No room upgrade? And a half hour wait for our mains in the restaurant.

Kia Ora Allan Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed our wonderful hotel and had a pleasant stay. I have just had a look and it looks like you were complimentary upgraded to an Executive Room. Hope you enjoyed this. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Ngā Mihi Allie Blackwood Front Office Manager

weel set out and welcoming

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Daniel D. Families - 03/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great stuff.Good to see you replacing PLASTIC with GLASS Probably the highlight to see this happening as i spend time on our waters and see soooo much plastic that we have to start somewhere and you have.Lets hope all others follow. We love staying at your Hotel.Clean ,Vibrant staff and a refreshing place to stay.thanks

Kia Ora Daniel Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed our wonderful hotel and fabulous staff looked after you. Thank you for the appreciation around our efforts with the sustainability, we have made quite a few initiatives this year so its awesome to see people noticing. We think it's the least we can do and slowly but surely we will get there. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Ngā Mihi Allie Blackwood Front Office Manager

2 nights in a cell

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Jan C. P. Business - 02/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very nice professional staff but the room, with the tiny high level window was horrible! Felt like a cell. No free drinking water in the room which was very disappointing. Gym is awful.... really small and claustrophobic. Driving in to hotel is very difficult due to location. However Breakfast was amazing!!!!!! And to reiterate.... staff absolutely wonderful... cleaning staff, reception, restaurant... a credit to you!!!!

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Bob S. Business - 01/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was as I expected modern, staff were attentive, rooms were comfortable

Kia Ora Bob Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed our wonderful hotel and fabulous staff. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Ngā Mihi Allie Blackwood Front Office Manager

Nice hotel let down by overly fussy restaurant

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Simon Business - 30/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Comfortable modern hotel with spacious room and high spec bathroom. Restaurant has very limited options, only one vegetarian dish, and all choices are overly fussy.

Amazing

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Melissa C. Friends - 30/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The shower is amazing. While i enjoy a firmer bed it was still great.

Don’t eat there! Change the chef

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Ann Business - 30/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were great especially the lovely young lady on the front counter. Rooms were nice but the room service food is Really Bad. Cold dry risotto - day one. Day two a block of crumbed deep fried pork Ragu. Who does that? It was really iff as were the veggies. Cold in the middle . Odd flavours. Had an upset stomach for 3 days afterwards. We spoke about it at work and everyone who’s had meals there is of the same opinion. Don’t eat there.

Modern, tasteful, friendly

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Anonymous Friends - 26/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The parking was excellent for a car club get together. A few minor improvements could be made- better quality toilet paper, non synthetic duvet, plunger or capsule coffee machine, and the shower head was already partially blocked up.

Great stay,Friendly staff and well appointted rooms

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Craig E. Business - 26/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent stay,food was fantastic and staff free friendly

A great stay with your friendly staff as the highlight.

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Chris Business - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was very comfortable and clean, the people on the front desk were super friendly as always, and the breakfood food was delicious. A really pleasant stay, thanks.

Mr

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Alan T. Friends - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

We enjoyed our stay except for the meal in the Govenor's bar on the Wednesday 13th. It was not memorable! Fish and chips were only mediocre and had to ask for the chips to be redone without salt as ordered. The chicken salad wasn't pleasant either. We did enjoy the meal on the Sat night with the Morgan group though so maybe different chief's!!

wonderful hotel with a welcoming smile

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Richard M. Families - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

our stay was enjoyable. We were given a walking map by front deck which was fantastic as we didnt really need to find our bearings and could walk out the front door and enjoy the beautiful day. Dinner was presented well though my main was a little underwhelming. Good service and wines on offer.

Extremely friendly and welcoming all staff exemplary.

Customer review rating 4.6/5

I K. Business - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

When ringing to book the restaurant for dinner because of a late arrival was annoyed that there was a private function on and we could not dine in the restaurant. We were however quickly advised room service would retain Accor Plus benefits and, actually given how we were dressed probably a blessing in disguise. Meet and greet at reception was genuinely friendly, asst manager even parked our car for us. Room service was a blast, three courses on a trolley simultaneously, entree to dessert ??? that is a recipe for disaster surely but that food was seriously something else. The cerviche was devine, my pork croquettes and pickles with wasabi sauce the balance was stunning, we were short of a main but that was quickly rectified. In short if I had known what was coming I would have ordered champagne and not two lousy beers. Seriously, hats off to Chef for an innovative, challenging menu that is seriously not standard hotel fare. I will always and have on numerous occasions returned meals that are below par, numerous Novotel meals included, ( one last week on ANZ Business Class was interesting) and in spite of everything 'landing' at once and the intricacies of trying to get two desserts into the bar fridge together, (I can still taste that salted ganache) this was a really surprising meal. Fry bread ??? Breakfast was equally pleasant, { send someone to Novotel Auckland Airport, it's the pits) staff lovely, checkout equally so, just a very impressive performance by the 'whole' team. We will return, and after seven years of Accor membership i have never said that before.

Perfect, lovely room, bed and shower and breakfast outstanding

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Matiu P. Business - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

As above

Best Novotel Experience

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Matthews T. Business - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Novotel New Plymouth certainly is one of the best Novotels in the Asia/Pacific region. A smart and modern hotel with every facility available. The rooms are immaculately serviced and offer all amenities. The dining room has an imaginative and extensive food and wine menu. The staff in all departments are friendly, efficient and professional.

Best in Our Region ...

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

StCecilia22 Business - 24/11/2019 TripAdvisor review

Novotel New Plymouth is certainly the best of the brand I have stayed in throughout the Asia/Pacific region. A modern and smart hotel with every facility. Stylish rooms which are immaculately serviced. A great dining room with imaginative food and drinks menu. Professional and friendly staff in every department.

Kia Ora StCecilia22 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed our wonderful hotel and fabulous staff. We LOVE getting feedback like this and will definitely share with the team, they will be delighted. Thank you again and we'll see you soon! Ngā Mihi Allie Blackwood Front Office Manager
Customer review rating 4.6/5

Anonymous Business - 23/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

All good

Well situated, beautifully furnished - very comfortable bed!!!!

Customer review rating 4.6/5

Maureen M. Couples - 23/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Perfect place to stay, as we have family to catch up with in New Plymouth. New Plymouth is a beautiful city, with lots to offer - gardens, walkways.

Beautifully presented hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

keneaves1 Couples - 23/11/2019 TripAdvisor review

I was surprised to be told the hotel is 4 years old as it still looks brand new. Our room was beautifully presented and clean. The hotel staff were friendly and the restaurant served delicious food. It was a pleasure to stay at such a well managed and maintained hotel. would definitely stay again on our next visit to New Plymouth

Kia Ora keneaves1 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed our wonderful hotel and fabulous staff. We are so lucky to have such a great team, so we are delighted to hear they left such a great impression on you. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Ngā Mihi Allie Blackwood Front Office Manager
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor