Aparthotel Adagio Porte de Versailles

Aparthotel Adagio Porte de Versailles 4 gwiazdki

Ocena klientów (Ocena ALL) 4.1/5 Liczba opinii: 437

Zobacz na mapie

Opis

O hotelu

  • Obok Paryskiego centrum wystawowego

  • Sala konferencyjna i stanowisko biznesowe

  • Blisko do parku wodnego Aquaboulevard

  • Prywatny parking zadaszony

  • Całodobowa recepcja

Ten hotel uczestniczy w programie Planet 21 i działa na rzecz Positive Hospitality.

hotel certyfikowany ALLSAFE

Lokalizacja hotelu

Aparthotel Adagio Porte de Versailles

16 rue Eliane Jeannin Garreau
92130 ISSY LES MOULINEAUX
Francja

  • BUS:  39/80 PORTE VERSAILLES

  • METRO 12:  12 PORTE VERSAILLES

  • METRO 8:  8 BALARD

  • PORTE DE VERSAILLES:  12

  • PORTE D'ISSY:  T2

  • TRAMWAY T2:  T2 PORTE D'ISSY

  • TRAMWAY T3:  T3 DESNOUETTES

  • Samolotem

    PARIS ORLY W 15km / 9,32 mil

  • Samolotem

    ROISSY CDG W 35km / 21,75 mil

  • Pociągiem

    GARE MONTPARNASSE W 4,5km / 2,8 mil

Pozycja GPS:48.831451, 2.281439

Usługi hotelowe

Zameldowanie od: - Wymeldowanie do:

Podsumowanie
Na miejscu
  • Parking
  • Podjazd dla wózków
  • Wi-Fi
  • Śniadanie
  • Sale konferencyjne

Śniadanie

Nasze pokoje

Opinie naszych gości

Opinie naszych gości

100% potwierdzonych opinii gości, którzy zatrzymali się w naszym hotelu

Dowiedz się więcej

Ocena ALL  4.1/5  Liczba opinii: 437

Ocena TripAdvisor  3.0/5  Liczba opinii: 515

Shabby and run down

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 1.0/5

Izziomelis Rodziny - Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

From outside the aparthotel looks very nice, it is easily reachable with public transport. In the hall area there were some sofas, a ping pong table and a table soccer table (good). First doubt came during check in, no membership benefit, when the employee answered two customer complaints in what looked like a well rehearsed "sorry for the inconvenience story"; he did not even bother to note the requests (two mainteinance issues in the rooms). The rooms were adequately spacious, but looked like a perfect example of "deferred maintenance" (the trick managers and contractors use to squeeze money out of a terminating contract by avoiding anything execept really urgent repairs). -The carpets were in a bad need of washing all over the hotel, even with vacuuming small things reamined trapped in the fur -A mainteinance panel on the side of the bathtub was missing, exposing all the unfinished (and dirty) interior, reported to the concierge, got the same story of the check in - most of the furnishings showed evident signs of wear and tear, and / or needed repairs - whatever was not in an easy reach (lets say within a "two minute per room" cleaning time) was not cleaned (eg for the bathroom: spiderwebs, mould on the ceiling and betwwen tiles, behind the glass bathub screen, bathub all scratched out, frames with traces of rust and warped....) - the kitchen area was cleaner (evidently not used by everyone), but the kitchen surfaces were marred by heated pots, i think since a long time Definitely not going again there, and most definitely not up to a well known hotel chain standard. (Inspectors, where are you?)

Dear Customer, thank you for your very detailed comment. I'm really sorry that you do not appreciate your stay. Renovations will be done soon. Your sincerely. Murielle BONNOT / Manager

Good, Clean, Friendly staff and generally very convenient and value for money

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 4.0/5

Sam S Rodziny - Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

Very happy with our accommodation and location. Air conditioning in the room was very good and useful. Location was good and easy access to public transport. I would book again and recommend for the same price.

Dear Sam, thank you for your nice comment. Hoping see you soon. Your sincerely. Murielle BONNOT / Manager

Bad Customer Service

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 1.0/5

LoveTravel365790 Rodziny - Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

If they do not offer air conditioning, and they should clarify that. In my case, there was no air conditioning but they did not tell me that was broken. They gave me a dirty fan first, and after I complained they gave me another one.

Dear Customer, thank you for your comment. We have NO A/C it's clearly written on web sites, only a cooling ventilation. Your sincerely. Murielle BONNOT / Manager

Even for free, is not woth.

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 1.0/5

Robert P Pobyt służbowy - Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

Dirty, not just the disgusting carpet that stank like faeces, but also the bed sheets that had mysterious yellow spots. Attendance from the reception staff of the worst I've ever seen in my life. Not to mention that they were under construction and we could barely walk in the corridors to access our apartment. Shower running wrong and beds super small. We spent 6 days there and once the room was clean although we were paying over € 100 per day (without breakfast included) I would not recommend anyone to stay in this dump.

Dear Robert, I'm really sorry for the inconvenience you enhance. Your sincerely. Murielle BONNOT / Manager

A bit over priced considering where it is

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 3.0/5

Frances E Friends getaway - Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

3 groups of friends including a couple of kids meeting in Paris took 2 apartments. On the good side having a kitchen was convenient and it was nice to breakfast together and we cooked at home one night. It was also very quiet except that there was a demonstration with loud speakers going on by the neighbouring radio station but you can't blame them for that and it was only during the day. If it had been cheap we probably would have rated it quite well but it wasn't particularly cheap. On the bad side the whole place had been put together very cheaply and shoddily by 'Kevin the teenager' but more importantly although we found a good bakery about 15 minutes walk away, it was a pretty dystopian neighbourhood and not really very convenient for anything. We had booked to have breakfast and when we realised we were not going to use that were unable to have that refunded despite telling them in advance. The booking system on the internet was very clunky so they my husband and I (in a bedsit apartment) down as one person and an email concerning this weeks in advance received no response and had clearly not been registered when we arrived. Though the staff were pleasant enough there was frequently noone on the desk and when there was they could take no responsibility. Getting the heating fixed took quite some time which, with Brazilians including a sick kid and winter temperatures was less than ideal but it was then done and effectively.

Dear Customer, thank you for taking time sharing your impressions about your stay. I'm really sorry that you were disappointed with le localisation and the internet site. The tramway is at 2 minutes by feet and the subway 8. You have little shop around the Aparthotel opened till 10 PM every days. Do not hesitate to ask the Front Desk during your stay, to get more information about the surroudings. Your sincerely. Murielle BONNOT / Manager

Partner: TripAdvisor

Inne nasze placówki w pobliżu

ISSY LES MOULINEAUX - wszystkie nasze hotele