Hotel Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse 4 estrelas

Classificação clientes Avis (Classificação ALL) 4.2/5 9.600 comentários

Hotel ALLSAFE. Aprovado

Mensagem informativa

+ 18 Serviços

Extras do hotel

  • Áreas comuns em construção

  • Rótulo ALLSAFE pelo Bureau Veritas

  • Idealmente localizado para visitar Paris, a 50 metros das conexões de transporte público.

  • Serviço de alimentação com menu simplificado

  • Estacionamento privado pago, sujeito a disponibilidade. Sem reservas prévias

Este hotel participa do Planet 21 e atua em favor da Hospitalidade Positiva.

Localização do hotel

Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse

257 rue de Vaugirard
75015 paris
frança

Fax: (+33)1/40451010

Check-in a partir das 14h00

Check out até as 12h00

  • Hôtel de Ville:  70 VAUGIRARD - FAVORITES

  • Issy - Frères voisin:  39 VAUGIRARD - FAVORITES

  • Mairie du 18ème - Jules Joffrin:  80 VAUGIRARD - FAVORITES

  • Montsouris - Tombe Issoire:  88 VAUGIRARD - FAVORITES

  • VAUGIRARD:  12 VAUGIRARD

  • De avião

    PARIS ORLY A 16 km / 9,94 milhas

  • De avião

    ROISSY C. DE GAULLE A 31 km / 19,26 milhas

  • De trem

    MONTPARNASSE A 1,5 km / 0,93 milhas

GPS:48.83997, 2.30303

Serviços de hotéis

Check-in a partir das - Check out até as

Em resumo
  • Estacionamento
  • Restaurante
  • Hotel com acesso para cadeira de rodas
  • Ar condicionado
  • Wi-Fi
  • Café da manhã
  • Bar
  • Salas de reunião

Nossas acomodações

Hospitalidade de acordo com o Novotel: sinta-se em casa em qualquer lugar. Pegue um café e ouça suas músicas favoritas ou improvise uma bandeja para apreciar em frente à TV pedindo no serviço de quarto. Alguns quartos e suítes têm vista da Torre Eiffel. Nosso quarto Executive oferece vistas da Torre Eiffel (sob solicitação) com conforto ainda maior e serviços que irão satisfazer os hóspedes mais exigentes.

Suas reuniões e eventos

Nossas salas de reuniões

  • Número de salas de reuniões: 15

  • Tamanho máximo: 355

  • Capacidade máxima: 300 pessoas

  • Capacidade máxima para banquete: 120 pessoas

Saiba mais

Avaliações dos nossos hóspedes para
Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse

Avaliações 100% certificadas de hóspedes que realmente se hospedaram conosco

Saiba mais

Classificação ALL 4.2/5

9.600 comentários

Classificação no TripAdvisor 3.5/5

2.312 comentários

Overall a nice stay

Classificação TripAdvisor 4.0/5

Explorer803562 Family - 22/12/2021 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

Hotel still under construction works, but not at all disturbing The upgrade is nice, though in the rooms it is basically a facelift, rooms are nevertheless correct, but not new, toilets are still dated but upgraded, and the bed was a bit on the soft side. The best of our stay was certainly the kindness of the front desk staff, the attention was simply exquisite. Metro 12 one square away, and in a pleasant residential area in the 15 th arrondisement, close to everything but quiet enough for a pleasant stay.

Dear guest, All the team is thrilled to read your comment following your stay. We are really happy to read that you enjoyed the kidness of our team! Looking forward to welcome you again really soon, Warm regards Emilie - Social Media Manager

Very disappointing

Classificação TripAdvisor 2.0/5

katmS3137PW 16/11/2021 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

Despite being a diamond member of Accor, there were no concessions afforded - not even help with bags. Also I had booked and paid for a suite with a double bed and a separate room with a double sofa bed and instead they had given me a single room without the double sofa (which I had also requested in an email to be made up prior to arrival). They were then saying they do not have it available, even though miraculously up the next day after I complained to the central Accor team. The outside of the hotel is also a construction site and some of the road is blocked with construction machinery. Also none of the usual perks given to diamond members was offered at this hotel. All in all very disappointing and not what I had experienced from other Accor group hotels.

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Our team has done your best to meet your expectations however after two changes of rooms, the result did not suit you even if our team did its best to offer you a new solution. Also, we would like to point out that you were able to take advantage of the welcome drink which is one of the benefits. Finally, our hotel is in the process of finalization of works however the entrance is well accessible and the space on the road is arranged for the pedestrians, that does not obstruct the passage. We hope that you have appreciated the kindness of our staff (and their efficiency), without forgetting the design of our hotel and our beautiful rooftop Ilovlo and our restaurant. See you soon for a Parisian stay, Warm regards, Emilie - Social Media Manager of Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse

My last trip to Paris in Sept 2021

Classificação TripAdvisor 5.0/5

mansourbelhadj Business - 02/10/2021 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

I combined a business trip with a medical check-up in Paris. I stayed a full week at Novotel hotel Vaugirard and the Team took care of me outstandingly. I was pleased by the kindness of Novotel Team, the cleanness of the room, the comfort and above all, the support provided. I recommend this facility as it is well located in Paris and surrounded by many good restaurants and other convenient facilities for travelers.

Dear guest, We would like to thank you a lot for your comment. All the team is thrilled to read that you had a nice stay among us. We are looking foward to welcome you again in our beautiful renovated hotel, Warm regards Emilie - Social Media Manager

Irresponsible Hotel Management & Disappointing Front Desk

Classificação TripAdvisor 2.0/5

C M Couples - 02/01/2020 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

Hotel website did not mention it was under major renovation and would thus create nuisance starting from 9 a.m. including Saturday. Compared to our previous stays at this hotel, front desk staff were very junior though willing to help; however, we encountered a senior staff whose was honestly unfriendly. On-line check out did not speed up the process if you go through the reception as the staff basically had no clue.

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very disappointed to read that you didn't get the information that we are currently under major renovation. Also we are sorry to learn that you didn't feel well welcome by one of our staff member. Rest assured we have taken good note of your comments and handed them to the concerned department for review. We hope to be able to welcome you back for a more pleasant experience in the future. Kindest regards, Emilie, Community Manager of Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse

Business trip for exhibition

Classificação TripAdvisor 5.0/5

Piotr K Business - 17/11/2019 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

Hotel has been recently very well renovated, if fact there are still some activity, but not disturbing. Good location - walking distance to Expo Port de Versailles, the underground station Vaugirard almost in front of the hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean, quiet, bathroom well equipped. Good buffet breakfast.

Thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful feedback. We truly appreciate all of your feedback and we’re excited to welcome you back to Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse. Warm regards, Emilie, Community Manager

Don’t stay in rooms not renovated

Classificação TripAdvisor 2.0/5

courtfaint8 Couples - 26/09/2019 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

WiFi didn’t work, AC didn’t work, vents were so dusty, room wasn’t clean, bed uncomfortable and clogged sink. After going down twice they moved to renovated room which wasn’t anything overly special just what I would of expected to begin with when booking at this price and brand.

Dear, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit. It is immensely disappointing for us to receive such feedback as clearly we failed to meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies regarding your concerns regarding the cleanliness, the bed uncomfortable and the WIFI. Our hotel is under construction and is getting all renovate. This is why you can encounter few technical issues with the WiFi and the AC. Besides I pass information on the team because your comfort is our priority. I hope that you accept our apologies and we would be delighted if you could return to us to allow us the opportunity to show you are ordinarily high standards of service. Best wishes Emilie, Community Manager of Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse

Excellent location, but very short on quality and service mentality of staff

Classificação TripAdvisor 3.0/5

Margaret H Family - 07/07/2019 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

Excellent location. Ask for a room at the back....windows let in road traffic noise on front. So called gourmet bar should be avoided. Cross the road to the Pizzeria. Breakfast staff untrained and sometimes long queues as breakfast soace inadequate.

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read you very much enjoyed your time with us, speially our location. We have fed back to our Food & Beverage Team for the breakfast and the Gourmet Bar so that they are able to look into this. Pleae, feel free to contact us : h1978@accor.com. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Paris. Kind regards, Carole-Anne, Community Manager at Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse

Nice and spacious rooms

Classificação TripAdvisor 5.0/5

EdLeano Business - 05/06/2019 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

Big rooms and not that much expensive compared to those cheaper hotels with very small rooms/small beds and with no lifts (thus you have to carry your heavy luggage all the way up to your room). Worth spending a few extra bucks for a better room, comfy bed and excellent service. Nice location too, with Tour Eiffel just a stone throw away, and lots of restos to choose from nearby (including Pizza Hut and KFC!!!)

Dear Ed, Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very happy you enjoyed your time at Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse. It was a real pleasure to welcome you and we do appreciate your generous words as well recommendation ! We're thrilled to read that you enjoyed a memorable experience in particular thanks to the comfort of our rooms and our location, so close to the restaurants and famous sites like Eiffel Tower ! I will take great pride in sharing your wonderful feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you soon ! Warm regards, Carole-Anne, Community Manager at Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse

1st Time in Paris

Classificação TripAdvisor 4.0/5

Nokia_Girl Friends getaway - 14/03/2019 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

Novotel Vaugirard is in a good location..outside there'a a police station and just less than a minute away is the metro. Check in was fast and the front desk staff were all friendly and accommodating. We got a free upgrade to executive room which is bigger than what we booked and includes sofa bed and complimentary snacks and sodas in its mini bar. Unfortunately, 1st time to stay in a novotel without complimentary tooth brush & toothpaste (good thing we brought our own) and we were only given 1 pair of slippers. Being accorplus members we were able to enjoy welcome drinks by the bar at the lobby..love their red wine.. we walked to the eiffel tower that 1st night and it was around 30 minutes walk from the hotel.

Not good experience.

Classificação TripAdvisor 2.0/5

Thomas T Family - 14/01/2019 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

We booked 2 rooms for 4 adults and 1 child. Rooms had cigarette smoking odour and extra bed was not made. The gym is really hard to find and had to use separate lift. Paris was one of our European trip early destinations, with limited internet and roaming mobile. The reservation team called and email us constantly asking us credit card details to be fill in the form... for some remaining balances that we asked many times during checking out. After finished the trip, we filled in the form although not very comfortable to send credit card details via email, no other choices.As a member and frequently booking with Accor and Novotels, this particular occasion is not a very pleasant experience at all.

Dear Thomas, Many thanks for tzking the time to write a comments which helps us to improve your next stay. We are so sorry for the odour of the room. For information, the hotel will be soon renovated with amazing new room. Please feel free to contact us about your booking by email, we want to help you to make it easier for the next time. h1978-FO@accor.com. We hope to welcome you very back soon again, Warm regards, Carole-Anne, Community Manager at Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse

There are not more Taxis in Paris

Classificação TripAdvisor 4.0/5

j0sericard0 Business - 19/11/2018 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

I had problem to book a taxi, but the service desk tried to help me. There are not many taxis available in Paris at this time. I took 45 minutes to get a taxi from the Hotel to the office. The Hotel could implement a partnership with a Taxi service.

Paris - Family Stay

Classificação TripAdvisor 3.0/5

Wessex Family - 01/09/2018 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

This Hotel is situated in a quieter part of Paris but close to a Metro stop that allows good and easy connections to the main tourist attractions of the city. Staff were polite and friendly while the breakfast choice was good and plenty of it. Rooms were clean, tidy and functional. The hotel does need some TLC in places as it is starting to show its age. Our one issue was that we all found the beds a bit soft and uncomfortable. The roof top bar has great views but photo's are misleading because it is just a single row of tables and is often full. However we spent most of our time away from the Hotel enjoying the sights and sounds of Paris in an enjoyable family break.

Dear Wessex, Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us and the others travelers. We are so glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us specially thanks to our breakfast and our rooms. For information, our rooftop bar, the Lounge Bar View, has 2 terraces to enjoy the view of the Eiffel Tower (not just 1 little). It's a great cocktails bar on the 7th floor ! We hope to welcome you very back soon again, Warm regards, Carole-Anne, Community Manager at Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse

Nice place, good location, excellent staff - can be better though !

Classificação TripAdvisor 4.0/5

Hrishikesh P Family - 27/08/2018 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

Firstly I must say all the staff at the hotel are excellent, everyone is nice & welcoming. I would like to especially make mention of Kristof (I hope I have spelt his name correctly) who was extremely helpful to us. Hotel is at excellent location; just few Km from Eiffel tower and right in front of Vaugirard metro station. There is a super view of tower from the 7th floor bar. Rooms are nice and comfortable with good access from the elevator. My only complain about hotel is breakfast. I think it was really poor and had absolutely no imagination in it ! Same old things every day. In fact on more than 1 day, they ran out of basic thing like bread ! Common how can you run out of bread when you are in middle of city like Paris ! Other than breakfast, I liked the stay at Novotel.

Dear Hrishikesh, Many thanks for your comments, we are so glad to read our stay met all your expectations specially thanks our staff ! I've shared your feedback with the managers to improve your next stay with us, your satisfaction is our priority. We are so sorry about the issue during your breakfast, your comments about it has been reported to the Food & Bevrage Manager. We hope to welcome you very back soon again, Warm regards, Carole-Anne, Community Manager at Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse

Average hotel with poor service

Classificação TripAdvisor 3.0/5

Shakeel K Family - 26/08/2018 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

The rooms were not comfortable and very hot. The air con was not working and even after 2 days of follow up no one bothered to come and attend and had to go down and make it load and clear in front of the other guests to make my request heard and then it was finally attended and said that there is blockage and can be fixed only after a day. The overall staff appearance throughout the stay was unwelcoming as never saw them smiling and had biased approach based on nationalities. Would never come back.

Dear Shakeel, We are so sad to read your comments about us. Please, feel free to contact us directly about your stay in order to improve it : h1978-FO1@accor.com. We hope you will accept our apologies about the AC, the technical department is present to help you during your stay. We are so surprised to read our staff is "based on nationalities" because our team of the reception or restaurant is from various origins (spanish, english, maghreb...). To make you feel welcome is our priority. We look forward for your answer. Warm regards, Carole-Anne, Community Manager at Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse

elevators did not work, had to take stairs from 6th floor, room AC not work had to leave window open street noise

Classificação TripAdvisor 1.0/5

amiryazdanniyaz Family - 03/08/2018 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

you need to reimburse us (at least partially) as we had to put up with no elevator no AC. If this was an American operation would be reimbursed and would receive an apology. every morning for breakfast we had to take six flights of stairs. Room too hot, no working AC.

Trip2

Classificação TripAdvisor 3.0/5

danny r Couples - 22/07/2018 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

First impression good,nice checking in pleasant lobby temperature,but rooms in another world.we as couple received just one voucher for free drink,another Novotel last year give voucher for two.Just don't understand Accor policy in this matter maybe is time to start discussion on one of the social network and find out the story.I asked for two but was refused that why I am rating this property one number lower.thanks

Dear guest, We are so sorry to read you were so disapointed about Accor policy. We can only give one voucher to the cardholder Accorhotels club. Some hotels give voucher for two, but it is not in line with the conditions imposed by AccorHotels, and creates discontent for hotels that respect this rule. We fully understand your disappointment, please accept our apologies. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed our amazing view on the Eiffel Tower on the 7th floor at the Lounge Bar View. We hope to welcome you very back soon again, Warm regards, Carole-Anne, Community Manager at Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse

Terrible experience

Classificação TripAdvisor 2.0/5

willtravel44 Couples - 28/05/2018 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

So, we checked in after 30 hours of travelling, and there was a terrible smell of sewerage in the room. I complained and they said they knew what it was and would fix it. Came back hours later and the smell was worse, seriously worse. We had to wrap clothing around our face to walk in. Complained again and were given different rooms for that night. Next day, same thing. they kept promising it would be fixed, but it wasn't. The last time we complained they sprayed so much air freshner that I ended up having an asthma attack. The first one in 3 years. There was obviously a serious problem, but they seemed to just try and ignore it till the very end. This was not a vague smell but a gagging terrible one. They kept telling us to give it some time and it would clear. Rubbish !!! In the end we asked to be moved to another hotel as they had no spare rooms the same as we had booked. To their credit they did this and refunded us 100 Euro for the issue. A really bad start to our week in Paris.

Dear guest, We are so sorry about your bad experience. We very wished help you but we apologize for changing your hotel. We understand your reaction, and we hope you will accept our apologizes. Your satisfaction is our priority, so we were very disapointed for you. I hope that you accept our apologies and we would be delighted if you could return to us to allow us the opportunity to show you are ordinarily high standards of service. Best wishes, Carole-Anne, Community Manager at Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse

Lee

Classificação TripAdvisor 4.0/5

c00k72018 Family - 23/05/2018 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

Service from personnel excellent, food good, even if the building and interior are beginning to look a bit tired. The location near to Métro station a definite plus. we would use the hotel again if we were back in Paris.

Dear Lee, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read that our hotel met all your expectations from the staff and the food, to the location ! The hotel will be renovated in few months to welcome you in a modern and new area ! I would like to thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Carole-Anne, Community Manager at Novotel Paris Vaugirard

Novotel Paris April 2018

Classificação TripAdvisor 2.0/5

JBernerZ Couples - 03/05/2018 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

The location of the hotel is good, close to shopping area and metro station. The cleanness and facility of hotel room is bad, for example foot of toilet seat is broken, water tap in bathtub is broken and fell. The breakfast is super boring and guests need to stay in a queue to cook their own eggs. The breakfast cafe ES area is also strang, like a school cafe. The personnel are not good at English and distant.

Dear guest, Thank you for your comments. We are so sad to read your feedback and to learn the hotel didn't meet all your expectations from the cleanliness to the breakfast. Your comments have been reported to the different managers to improve your next stay with us. For information, the hotel will be renovated in 2019 to welcome you in a new and modern hotel to make your experience unique. We are sorry for the waiting during de breakfast, the hotel was full this week-end ! You can brunch on sunday on the 7st floor at Lounge Bar View, our new rooftop bar with a panoramic view of the Eiffel Tower! We hope to welcome you very back soon again, Warm regards, Carole-Anne, Community Manager

3 nights in Paris

Classificação TripAdvisor 4.0/5

raybeez2018 Family - 08/02/2018 Avaliação certificada TripAdvisor

Very good localization, close to the metro station, 25 minutes walk to Eiffel Tour. Hotel is not new, but rooms are OK. The bathroom and toilet should be renovated. Rich breakfast, different types of bread, cereals, fruit, cold cuts, pancakes, cookies etc.

Dear guest, Many thanks for your comments ! It's very pleasant to read you enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel met all your expectations ! We hope you enjoyed the amazing view from our rooftop (7th floor). We hope you felt welcome at Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse ! We are impatient to welcome you very back soon, Warm regards, Carole-Anne, Community Manager at Novotel Paris Vaugirard Montparnasse

Nossas mais recentes avaliações de 20

Em parceria com o TripAdvisor

Nossos outros hotéis nas proximidades

Todos os nossos hotéis em paris