Information message

21c Museum Hotel Kansas City Hotel 4.5 stars

Customer review rating 4.5/5 230 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

21c Museum Hotel Kansas City
See on a map
+ 12 Services

Hotel extras

  • History Reimagined at 21c Kansas City

  • Contemporary art is the core of 21c.

  • 21c Kansas City is a AAA 4 Diamond property

  • Walking distance from Sprint Center, Kauffman Center, and KC Convention Center.

  • Contemporary art provides the backdrop for events in all of our 6,500 square feet of space.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 16h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowed Paying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Electric car recharging units
  • Laundry
  • Boutiques/shopping
  • Porter
  • Concierge
  • Room for hearing impaired guests
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
  • Massage Paying
  • Bike rack facilities
Business services
  • 6 Meeting room(s)
  • Business centre
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

21c Museum Hotel Kansas City

219 W 9Th St
64105 missouri
united states

Tel: +18164434200

Fax: (+1)8164434201

Check-in from 16h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • By plane

    KC INTERNATIONAL At 29km / 18 miles

  • By train

    UNION STATION KC At 2km / 1 miles

Our accommodation(s)

Room includes sofa seating and table which can double as a dining area or a workstation, and original artwork by Laura Lee Brown. Bathroom includes glass enclosed shower and original sink from the historic Savoy Hotel. 21c amenities - 43 inch HDTV, Malin+Goetz bath amenities, free Wi-Fi, and Nespresso coffee machine.

Our restaurants and bars

The Savoy at 21c

Type of cuisine: Regional

Executive chef Brandon Brumback's menu is an intentional throwback to mid-century modern, American classic cuisine - a contemporary nod to this beloved restaurant's storied past

  • Monday Closed
  • Tuesday Closed
  • Wednesday Closed
  • Thursday Closed
  • Friday Closed
  • Saturday Closed
  • Sunday Closed

THE BAR LOUNGE

The bar + lounge is the perfect place to quench your thirst, entertain important clients or grab a casual bite with friends. Choose from a rotating selection of seasonal cocktails or explore the bottled beer list, including some local favorites.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday -
  • Tuesday -
  • Wednesday -
  • Thursday -
  • Friday -
  • Saturday -
  • Sunday -

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 6

  • Maximum size: 1,804

  • Maximum capacity: 100 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 90 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
21c Museum Hotel Kansas City

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.5/5

230 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5

250 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Great hotel for us!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Kathy P. Couples - 14/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We only stayed one night while attending a Royals game but would have loved to stay longer! Beautiful clean & quiet corner room with good amenities including in-room coffee maker, luxury bedding (comfy mattress), updated bathroom with walk in shower, and makeup mirror. All of the staff we encountered were friendly & helpful. So appreciative of the staff! Checked out the art but didn’t get time to have a cocktail in the bar. Location was great for exploring Union Station, Power and Light District, and River neighborhood. We did use the cable car which is only a few blocks from the hotel with lots of restaurants to choose from. This historic Hotel is a good value.

Very welcoming staff!

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 14/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Loved the renovation and the art! Was surprised bed was not either changed or made up…returning to room with rumpled bedding an unwelcome surprise Would love to have a way to purchase additional Nespresso capsules OR to have been informed that was the coffee system and would have brought our own extras. Do love Nespresso as the coffee system!

Good stay for a volleyball tournament.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Suzan Friends - 14/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel was clean and staff was very friendly. Hardly any amenities. Don't know if it was Covid related or just how they operate. No restaurants near by other than lobby restaurant - very expensive in my opinion. Kansas City has a very limited trolly service and no where near the hotel. No bus service either. Uber drivers were prompt and very friendly and reasonable. Beds were comfortable, although rooms were very cramped. I would stay there again, if someone else was paying. If you like no frills luxury, you will love this hotel.

Great!

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Jean K. Couples - 13/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Service and room was great!

well located, very friendly staff, very comfortable accommodations, wonderful art. an excellent experience.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Toni F. Families - 13/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

excellent

A real gem

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Diana R. Couples - 07/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed two nights; accommodations spacious and modern. Staff gracious. I very much like the concept of displaying contemporary art but the art being curated now is dispiriting, melancholy, even degrading. Art does not need to tell the wretched stories. Perhaps try uplifting and edifying.

Decent hotel, not family oriented.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

J. G. Families - 06/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Was here for a volleyball tournament. Not an ideal place for budget minded family. Was chosen for us by Travel Source. No access to a microwave and front desk provided no suggestions for travel back to airport other than look up options on KC Airport web page. Would have been nice to have a recommendation that was known to be reliable since we were from out of town visitors.

Hello J.G, Thank you for leaving us some comments about your stay with us during the tournament! First of all, I hope the tournament went well for your team! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! I do apologize however that there were some issues you experienced. I will use this as training for the team so we can ensure our guests are receiving the best possible experience. We hope to see you back again! Thank you, Alexa B, Front Office Manager

Uneven staff

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Business - 05/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Consistently interacted with great staff and NOT great staff…that’s not good enough. Two members at the front desk were not helpful or good to work with.

Good Morning, Thank you for your survey, we appreciate your feedback! We do apologize that you stay experience seems to have been uneven. We truly wish to offer exceptional experiences and we were clearly off the mark. I will personally investigate this issue and ensure it is solved for the future. We hope that you will return in the future for a truly excellent stay. Thank you, Alexa B, Front Office Manager

Wonderful Hotel

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Serena Friends - 04/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Everyone from the hotel staff to the hotel restaurant staff were super friendly. This renovated hotel was clean and and well done. Highly recommend the KC location. I had not heard of them booked through a travel site so glad I did.

Hello Serena, We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay, and are humbled by your wonderful comments regarding our staffing team. I will be sure to share those comments with everyone so we can continue to offer excellent service to our guests. We hope you will visit again soon! Thank you, Alexa B, Front Office Manager
Customer review rating 5.0/5

Joy M. Couples - 01/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely space and excellent staff. We really enjoyed our stay.

Hello Joy, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you return again in the future! Thank you, Alexa B, Front Office Manager

Customer Service is A1

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Veronica M. B. Couples - 30/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Well the first room was very spooky. Weird noises that kept getting louder and more unusual. Rumbling sound that vibrated the floor. We called the front desk and maintenance came up. Stayed a bit until it happened again. Front desk upgraded us and moved us. Thank God! Otherwise we couldn't have stayed. The room was so nice and the front desk ladies were amazing. Maintenance too. Beds not comfy but because of the customer service we will return. We made the best of a spooky situation and enjoyed the rest of our stay.

Hello Veronica, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a survey! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, though we apologize for the spooky first night! I will have our engineering team check out the noises you described so we can identify the problem for future guests! It's great to see that our Front Desk team was able to turn around the spooky start to a fun, memorable experience. We hope to see you return and we promise, no more scary rooms! Thank you, Alexa B, Front Office Manager

Would have given a 10 but see below.

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Amy S. Couples - 30/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were quoted $248 and were charged $385. Would you please explain.

Hello Amy, Thank you for your survey, we appreciate your feedback. I see that you had some billing issues with your stay, and I do apologize for any confusion. I double checked your billing and it looks like your final charge (which was just the room rate and tax) was $285.81. The additional $100 is only an authorization, and should be released from your card. Please let me know directly if that did not happen, I would be happy to be of further assistance. Thank you, Alexa B, Front Office Manager

Love the people and the location!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Robin E. B. Families - 29/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

This was our third visit to KC's 21C. We love that you are able to maintain the same group of employees at the front desk. We just love Mikaela (sp??) and Randi! They always make us feel like we want to be there and give us ideas on things to do to make our weekend getaways enjoyable. We love the idea of having a bar, a restaurant, and a museum all in one location when we have family with us. This give everyone something to do when we are at the hotel.

Hello Robin and Adam! We are so glad that you have continued to enjoy visiting our property, and that Mikala and Randi were able to ensure that you had yet another fun, memorable visit. We can't wait to see you again! Thank you, Alexa B, Front Office Manager
Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Families - 28/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was very nice. Wish we were there longer

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope that you will return soon!
Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 22/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was a bit underwhelmed by the experience. When we checked in they gave us the wrong room key and it took 3 elevator trips up and down for them to solve the issue. The bed was uncomfortable, there is not even a true duvet on the bed it is just two loose sheets underneath and on top of a very cheap bedding. The smoke detector flashes extremely bright light at night every 10 seconds and makes it impossible to sleep. The house keepers never came to our room (we were out by 9 AM and back at 4), so we called down for towels. We waited over an hour and didn't receive any so I had to go down myself and ask again and wait again. The mobile TV remote does not work at ALL, and you can't use the normal TV remote so basically no TV inthe room. Nothing insane, I was just expecting a more sophisticated experience from a 21C hotel. I would not stay again. Oh, and they double charged me for the room. I still need to call about that.

Hello Natalie, Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us, we appreciate all your feedback. I do apologize for the clear multiple issues you had with your stay, we missed the mark in providing you a comfortable, seamless experience. I will forward the issues you experienced with the bedding and the remote to our Housekeeping and Engineering departments, as these are definitely issues that need to be resolved. I apologize again that it affected your stay and we will investigate as quickly as possible. I did double check the billing on the reservation, and it looks accurate! Please feel free to reach out to me directly at ab… with any further questions or comments. We again apologize that you had such an underwhelming stay, and we truly hope that you will return in the future so we can treat you to a proper experience. Thank you, Alexa B, Front Office Manager
Customer review rating 0.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 20/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Our room was ok at best, the bathroom tile appeared moldy and the sink was full of rust. The first night, our room reset (unbeknownst to us) and we woke up at 5 a.m. sweating due to no air conditioning. We complained the next morning and they did fix it, but of a two night stay, it made it pretty miserable. Housekeeping knocked around 9 am and we were not quite out of the room for the day. They never returned. We came back around 4:30 pm to get cleaned up - happy to find the AC was working but disappointed that no one had come to straighten up, empty the trash etc... We had to call down to get towels and some waters, but no one offered to come clean up and they only gave us the bare minumum on towels. At this point, we sort of gave up and just finished our stay and went home in the morning. We would not stay here again.

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey about your stay, we appreciate your feedback. We deeply apologize for the issues that you experiences, we clearly missed the mark in several aspects of your stay that caused you to not enjoy the stay. I have sent all of the problems with the room you were in listed below directly to our Director of Engineering and Housekeeping, so we can thoroughly investigate and ensure it does not happen again in the future. We do truly hope that you will return and give us the chance to show you that your stay was a fluke, and that we can offer our guests unique, relaxing experiences. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at ab… with any questions or comments. Thank you, Alexa B, Front Office Manager

Beautiful Hotel with Wonderful Restaurant

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Amy M. Business - 19/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We usually avoid restaurants inside hotels but the one here blew us away. When we first saw how small the menu was, we might've gone elsewhere, but we were just too tired after traveling. Thank goodness we stuck it out. It was wonderful. TRY IT. In addition, the service at the hotel turned out to be great. The first night we were there, I was about to take a bath when I realized there was no stopper. We called the front desk and in minutes a super handy guy was there and within probably 15 minutes, it was all fixed up. They didn't act like I was asking for something crazy or bothering someone, which I really appreciated. Wonderful hotel, great location, and cool art that makes you think. What's not to love about this hotel? 10 out of 10 would stay again!

Hello Amy, Thank you so much for your survey and below comments, we love to read about guest experiences at our property. It is so fantastic to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you gave our restaurant The Savoy a try. I usually agree with you on hotel restaurants, but ours is truly a unique spot to enjoy a cocktail and meal. While I am sorry that you had an issue with the tub, I am glad that our team was able to get your issue remedied quickly! It was a pleasure hosting you during your trip, and we hope that you will return again the next time you pass through Kansas City! Thank you, Alexa B, Front Office Manager

I love your hotel and I've never had a bad experience there. Everyone is so friendly and kind and helpful I wish everybody could experience experience I experienced when I'm there. I can't wait to come again. Wonderful wonderful wonderful Hotel. Thank you

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Business - 18/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The best experience and good night sleep and wonderful art I recommend this hotel to everyone. Everyone is so kind thoughtful and the art is great!

Hello! Thank you so much for your survey, we are so humbled by all your wonderful comments! It is truly our pleasure to be able to host you on your frequent trips to Kansas City, so it is great to see that you have been getting fun experiences as well. We can't wait for your return! Thank you, Alexa B, Front Office Manager

Wonderful Hotel

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Robin R Family - 28/09/2019 TripAdvisor review

My whole family enjoyed our stay. Hotel was clean, modern, and the staff was great. Would wholeheartedly stay here again and would recommend to anyone. Easy check in and check out, valet was great, and the room clean and nicely furnished

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. Your feedback means the world to us. Please consider staying with us again the next time you are in Kansas City.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor