Mercure Penang Beach 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.2/5 864 reviews

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Mercure Penang Beach
See on a map
+ 16 Services

Hotel extras

  • The rooms at Mercure Penang Beach feature breathtaking views of the Andaman Sea.

  • The hotel provides direct access to the beach.

  • Perfect for team building activities, leisure events and open concept weddings.

  • For alternative dining options, room service is available on site

  • Our accommodation is open for guest with 2 doses vaccination up to 14 days.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Private outdoor parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Concierge
Leisure and activities
  • Outdoor unheated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Private beach
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 4 Meeting room(s)

Hotel location

Mercure Penang Beach

505 Jalan Tanjung Bungah
TANJUNG BUNGAH
11200 penang
malaysia

Tel: +6043718888

Fax: (+60)43718802

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    PENANG INT'L At 23km / 14 miles

GPS :5.4638, 100.3019

Our accommodation(s)

Mercure Penang Beach features 220 cosy Non Smoking rooms and a wide variety of room configurations, overlooking the Andaman Sea. Perfect for rest and relaxation.

Our restaurants and bars

The Ombak

Type of cuisine: International

Start the day with a tasty breakfast. Enjoy local Malaysian and International cuisine at The Ombak, which features stunning ocean views. Open for breakfast and lunch. Drive thru menu currently available.

Currently unavailable

M Bar

M Bar provides a relaxing ambiance and magnificent sea view with soothing background music. An ideal escape after a hectic week. Temporarily closed.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 4

  • Maximum size: 532

  • Maximum capacity: 500 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 350 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Penang Beach

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.2/5

864 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,496 reviews

Well located", "Good stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Haffiz Business - 03/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice view and good facility

Dear Mr Haffiz, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Gana Duty Manager

Staycation during MCO

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Js C. Couples - 17/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Certain standards were maintained. Despite low occupancy, hotel should not use stained sheets, especially on pillow cases still. Overall, it offered easy access to the beach. TV channels are quite little.

Dear C. J., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Penang Beach. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Gana Duty Manager

Awesome, fresh, warm, welcoming

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Clarence O. Couples - 16/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

easy, good view, wonderfull stay

Dear CLARENCE o., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Penang Beach. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Gana Duty Manager

great stay , good location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Alex T. Families - 15/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

this beach hotel is easy access to Georgetown, nearby food court can find many great hawker food, especially BBQ fish.

Dear ALEX KAH BOON T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Penang Beach. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Gana Duty Manager

Good

Customer review rating 4.0/5

C. T. K. Business - 14/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Feel comfortable

Dear TEK K. C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Penang Beach. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Gana Duty Manager

great

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Nathan Families - 11/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

good experience.. will like to come again

Dear Brian, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Ryei Soh Assistant Front Office Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Sofea Couples - 07/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

spacious room, with nice amenities. Cafe is located nearby the beach so the view was fascinating. Food was good, and the staffs were all helpful.

Dear Ms Sofea, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Penang Beach. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to see you again soon for another wonderful journey with us. Sincerely, Ryei Soh Assistant Front Office Manager

It was not as per expectation

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Ron Families - 04/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was a last minute booking via agoda. We asked for a smoking floor as the option was there but then we realize once we reach in the hotel there was no smoking floor. The room size was not as expected and the facilities are not clean. The pool was dirty and there were death leaves and also rubbish in pools.

Dear Mr. Meheron, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and apparently in this case, we fell short. We have taken note on the facilities and pool not clean. I will definitely share this with the team for their improvement. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Ryei Soh Assistant Front Office Manager

Could have been better

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Darren Business - 04/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was not as good as the last stay. The sink was stuck n we could hear the next door making love...

Dear Mr. Darren, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and apparently in this case, we fell short. Before your arrival to the hotel, we have called you to ask on your bed preference as you booked for twin bedded. We wanted to upgrade you to suite room but unfortunately all suite room comes in one king bed. Thus, we did not upgrade your room. Apologies for the sink stuck. I have highlighted to engineering team and we have immediately rectify the problem If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Ryei Soh Assistant Front Office Manager
Customer review rating 2.0/5

K T. Solo - 03/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Not worth for the rate.

Dear t., Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and apparently in this case, we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Ryei Soh Assistant Front Office Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Adam I. Families - 01/05/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice view, clean, front desk helpful, good choice for rest

Dear Mr. Adam, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Penang Beach. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to see you again soon for another wonderful journey with us. Sincerely, Ryei Soh Assistant Front Office Manager

Beautiful sea view

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Faliq R. Families - 26/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall the room is ok but the staff services could be improve such as the greeting to the customers and not talking between yourself when customer is already in front of you to check in..the pool services should also be improve..there is no staff at the towel counter. The bed sheet also need to be change regularly not until customer need to tell you then you change.

Dear Mr. Faliq, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Penang Beach. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. It was nice speaking to you on the other day and I would like to apologize on behalf of front desk team for not being able to serve you well which caused an unpleasant check in experience. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Meanwhile, thank you for your good commendation on our rooms and hand sanitizer. Meanwhile, sorry for not making known that the mask is available for guest upon request. We are also in progress on hiring more staff to assist for the luggage request. We appreciate you sharing your concerns and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future. Sincerely, Ryei Soh Assistant Front Office Manager

Not a pleasant stay

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Anonymous Families - 26/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Kettle was dirty with stains, cutlery tray was dusty, coffee table was dirty with some kind of creamy stains, pillow stinks with sour smelling. The beach was the highlight of the stay but too bad, it was filled with trash the next morning with plastic bottles and polystyrene all over the place. Manager's service could be better and flexible. Requested for a free upgrade upon check in and it's fine that we were told that upgrade was with payment. Could have at least arrange for a seaview room for us unless all the seaview rooms for our type of room were fully booked. Otherwise, we really don't know why it couldn't be done and what it will cost you to let us have a pleasant stay. Won't recommend to others.

Comfortable Stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Ada.a Friends - 26/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was a great stay. Clean, comfy and cozy. Breakfast was huge in portion and tasty.

Dear Ms. Ada A., Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Penang Beach. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to see you again soon for another wonderful journey with us. Sincerely, Ryei Soh Assistant Front Office Manager

Not up to accor standard

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

OnAir47578261621 06/01/2021 TripAdvisor review

As a platinum member, i felt not very good in this 2nights trip. and there got couple of feedback i hope it can be improved next. 1. Long waiting 2 hours for check in 2. 1st night didnt upgrade my room 3. No hightea and happy hour be covered 4. No welcome fruit be prepared. 5, No welcome letter or services related note 6. Room didn't clean well(oil and grease can be found on the floor) 7.soundproof very poor (can hear baby cry at the midnight)

Dear OnAir47578261621, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Penang Beach. We’re so sorry that your experience did not match your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and we are gutted when we did not meet up to your expectations. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, we will use the feedback to make us better and to ensure this does not happen again. Last but not least, it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Ryei Soh Assistant Front Office Manager

Mercure Penang Beach

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

sfmah2021 04/01/2021 TripAdvisor review

we like this place, is very nice place and cleanliness, will stay again with my family and friend ..................... if got give together with breakfast is better...................... when come out from hotel can straight face at sea..nice

Dear Sfmah2021, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Ryei Soh Assistant Front Office Manager

6 Hours to Check in

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

TommyOoi 02/01/2021 TripAdvisor review

Arrived at 2pm but could only check in at 8pm. Waited at sofa for 6 hours with no help from staff nor courtesy update from them. Every hour require to follow up on the room ourselves. Didnt even bother to do damage control or compensation

Dear Tommy Ooi, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Penang Beach. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer. Therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate you sharing your concerns and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future. Sincerely, Ryei Soh Assistant Front Office Manager

Mercure Penang Beach

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

sgymlim 30/12/2020 TripAdvisor review

Unsatisfied, overall below my expectations. Breakfast: except the coffee, everything else was quite pathetic and simple. Not even have fried eggs or omelette. Not worth the value. Rooms: late cleaning (not sure if it was even cleaned at all), Either forget to provide clean towels or toiletries, so have to ask for it every day (I wonder how the housekeeping was trained). Front desk: appeared to be new because the staff were not sure about my booking details, and cannot answer simple questions about Reward points. Hotel: was very surprised that this hotel not allowed to use reward points to pay for example additional food expenses. Appeared that the hotel is under-staff and overwhelm with high occupancy.

Dear sgymlim, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Penang Beach. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer. Therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that with new management, we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate you sharing your concerns and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future. Sincerely, Ryei Soh Assistant Front Office Manager

Worst ever stay for family holiday

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

meng189 27/12/2020 TripAdvisor review

If you thinking of having a good family holiday at this hotel, please think twice. It is the worst ever hotel I never stay in before with Accors hotel group. The room is not ready even I arrived at 3:45pm at the hotel and the room only available after 4pm, the second room only ready after 5pm, I thought the check in time is at 3pm? During the stay, my room cards were not function after I was back from a day trip in Penang on my second day stay about 6pm, I need to ask the housekeeper to open the room for my exhausted kids and I need to go to reception to change the keycards. When enter the rooms, only one of the rooms were cleaned and I need to go to reception to ask them to clean my other room, when complained to reception about this, they told me they were not enough staff, I was so disappointed, they not even said sorry for it just came out with all the excuses. I don’t think this should be the answer from and hospitality business and if they are not ready to be one, please leave. There also not enough parking for this hotel, they prioritize the function guest and reserved the parking fir them, they not care for the in house paid guest. I was asked to park my car at the next door building and pay for the parking myself. I think the hotel need to overhaul if they still want to be in the hospitality business.

Dear Meng189, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Penang Beach. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer. Therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that with new management, we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate you sharing your concerns and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future. Sincerely, Ryei Soh Assistant Front Office Manager

Spacious room for family stay

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Wong_pn 25/12/2020 TripAdvisor review

We booked the room with small living area and kitchen which is spacious enough for us. Location is good with a beach behind the hotel. Parking are limited and at time we have to park at condominium next to it with charges. Overall stay is quite comfy but not worth to pay for breakfast. Breakfast is quite terrible, with selection of noodles or nasi lemak. Other choices are limited. Not sure if there is some minor work ongoing, the room above us had the knocking sound in the afternoon 2 days on the row. We feedback to the front desk the first day but 2nd day still the same. Quite annoying indeed as you can't even take a nap.

Dear Wong_pn, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Ryei Soh Assistant Front Office Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in penang