Mercure Inverness Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.0/5 5,740 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Information message

Mercure Inverness Hotel
See on a map
+ 19 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton Environmental certified hotel

  • Set along the banks of River Ness, in the heart of Old Town

  • In-house bar & restaurant serving authentic local dishes

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 160 guests

  • Central location, within 200 metres from Train Station.

Hotel location

Mercure Inverness Hotel

Church Street
IV1 1QY inverness
united kingdom

Fax: (+44)01613880915

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • INVERNESS:  LONGMAN RD HARBUOR RD

  • By plane

    INVERNESS At 16.09km / 10 miles

  • By train

    INVERNESS At 0.16km / 0.1 miles

GPS:57.478304, -4.226695

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

33 Church Street Brasserie

33 Church Street Bar and Brasserie offers traditional and internationally inspired cuisine, delicious desserts, a selection of fine wines and cocktails to complement your meal. In a relaxed atmosphere for an enjoyable dining experience.

Our accommodation(s)

Pull open the curtains of your classic room and you're greeted with views of the River Ness or the picturesque Old Town. All bedrooms feature an HD LED TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso cof fe machine, newspaper, robe and slippers..

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 2

  • Maximum size: 233

  • Maximum capacity: 300 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 180 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Inverness Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.0/5

5,740 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

494 reviews

Well located only

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Solo - 13/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

very poor wifi signal, ridiculous small sink, no any soap hanger at shower room, only 2 power sockets, heard next door TV voice, door was shaken with big noise when another room door was closing, without any drawer, only one chair. Fault alarm

Excellent stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Joanne Couples - 11/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

I have just returned from a fabulous weekend stay at the Mercure Hotel Inverness. With such difficult times due to Covid restrictions. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Warm friendly greeting at breakfast time and again in the evening. Tastey breakfast, and lovely warm clean rooms. Have already recommended the hotel to friends! And will be booking again!

Staff not friendly and very rude, old tired hotel

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Anonymous Business - 08/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Rude and arrogant staff, very tired hotel and staff not welcoming except couple of staff working at front desk

Dear Amit Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Inverness Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Jason Mcleod Operations Manager

Easy for shopping

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Jim Solo - 06/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly staff, rooms warm and clean

great hotel

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Raegan F. Couples - 05/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was a good experiance, second time staying there. One thing was the heating in the room 421 the radiator would not turn down so we had to sleep with the window wide open and the room was still too very hot so not the best sleep

Central location, friendly staff.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Margaret N. Couples - 04/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Quiet because of restrictions, but glad we came to support hospitality. Evening meal was just perfect. 10 out of 10. Breakfast well thought out for covid rules.

The breakfest is aweful.

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Yen-ting C. Friends - 03/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

We should know the situation that there is only continetal breakfest offered when we purchased it a day before. The choice of food is very limited. On the notice, it said that each person can get one hot food by order. However, no one ever tell us that. I hope it is only my misunderstanding but if that is true it is really bad experience.

Very well located.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Marie A. A. B. Couples - 01/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

The only problem was there was no cooked breakfast as they were left without Chefs at short notice. Apart from that we really enjoyed our stay. The food on our first night was very good and the Staff were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely go back. Marie and Arthur B..

Dear Marie We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Inverness Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Please feel free to leave as a review on Tripadvisor Sincerely, Jason McLeod Operations Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 2.5/5

E Couples - 31/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great stay apart from no chefs therefore no cooked breakfast which was disappointing.

Well lovated

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Sarah F. Friends - 31/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great stay

Dear Sarah We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Inverness Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Please feel free to leave as a review on Tripadvisor Sincerely, Jason McLeod Operations Manager

Terrible experience

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Ad R. Business - 31/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

1. Rude staff. 2. Extreme slow internet throughout the stay which means nothing was done anywhere because couldn't even use phone. 3. Dirty carpet with stones 4. Sticky table 5. No staff to take calls 6. Requested to service room was not done it but left note that room can't be service all the time

Dear Adnan Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Inverness Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Jason McLeod Operations Manager

No food. Grit the car park.

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Wjs Couples - 30/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff were friendly but we were disappointed that there was no food available after checking the precious day. This meant we were exposed to extra risk (RE COVID) by going out which we hadn’t prepared for. The car park was EXTREMELY icy and slippy. It was like an ice rink. My pregnant wife slipped and badly grazed her knee when we went for our car. It’s very dangerous and should have been gritted or a sign placed up I’d be amazed if no one else fell.

Dear Wil Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Inverness Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Unfortunately you were unable to get food as our kitchen team were having to self isolate as per government guidelines sadly there was not a lot we could do about that I'm afraid. However i understand your frustrations. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Jason McLeod

Good location

Customer review rating 3.5/5

John Business - 30/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room a little tired and no clear windows to see out of. Parking extra was a surprise

Dear John We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Inverness Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jason McLeod

Well located

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Lesley Couples - 30/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Bedroom too hot, uncomfortable to sleep and toilet seat broken but no one on check out to report it to

Dear Lesley We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Inverness Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jason McLeod

Good central location.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

John D. Couples - 28/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Enjoyed our stay again. We would like to see towel rails in the bathroom to enable us to reuse, as only a hook behind door. There is a heated towel rail but it is placed high on the wall to the side of the toilet. An extra chair in the bedroom would be appreciated. If two people having coffee for example, one person has to sit on bed. Otherwise room facilities excellent.

The manager made check in and my stay in general really awkward.

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Anonymous Business - 23/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Poor, I've stayed before and always enjoyed it. On this occasion I was told that I would have to provide a card or would not be checked in, my company had already provided card details for payment and a food/drink allowance.

It was fine

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Stevie Business - 22/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good points Reception and bar area very nice Bad Points Room very small and dark. Shower water pressure was terrible. There was another shower head with good water pressure but it was only mounted 3ft up the wall so that would be handy if u want to wash … a dog? Shelf beside bed broken and wobbly and decor in bathroom was pretty hideous. Think you guys could definitely be thinking of some sort of refurb works. Pretty glad it was my company the footed the bill and not me

Not the greatest stay

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

MartinW219 03/12/2021 TripAdvisor review

I booked into a privilege room in Mercure Inverness and fail to see the privilege sidecar it. I was given the first floor Riverside room and to be honest cannot see how you can offer this as advertised. The view from the window is completely spoilt by the rooftop with all the ducting. The window could not be opened as it was sealed shut, so could not get any fresh air into the room. I then was awoken at 2.30 in the morning as the temperature in the room was 25c. When I complained the next day I was told that the aircon in the room was broken and instead of pumping out cool air it was in fact pumping out hot air. So I had a room with no opening window and broken aircon. All they offered me was a fan which was now blowing around 25c air. What was more insulting was that reception told me I was taking it personally! Well, when you cant sleep because of the heat and you can't open a window for fresh air and you have paid extra, then yes it does feel personal. I use Mercure a lot in my business travel and to be honest I have had problems with about 3 out of the last 4 Mercure hotels that I use regularly with the heating/aircon. I am seriously reconsidering my use of Mercure.

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Inverness Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future Kind Regards Fraser Peterkin

Great Hotel in great location, pity the restaurants so poor.

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

bigbobski 02/12/2021 TripAdvisor review

Arrived on Sat27/11 after a 22 hour power cut at our home. The very nice receptionist allowed us entry early to our room when I explained this. Room was very nice and modern and we found the bed very comfortable. The hotel is situated right in middle of Inverness and very handy for nightlife and shops. Would recommend you book riverside rooms as they are quieter than the ones looking onto Main Street. Now the downside. When we booked, part of the deal was dinner included on one night. We sat down to dinner on the Saturday. Menu wasn’t very exciting burgers, pizzas and a couple of other things and that was that. I decided to try the fish and chips. First time I’ve ever been served a very dark brown Almost black fish. It tasted as good as it looked. I left half of it as it was like chewing rubber. The wife had tagliatelle carbonara which was passable. When we ordered the fish we told the waiter we would order a sweet later ( our dinner deal allowed us up to £22 each) still waiting for the waiter or indeed any staff to return for our order. But to be honest after the first course we were glad to get out of there. We weren’t looking forward to our breakfast but we’re pleasantly surprised that it was quite nice, everything you could need, continental and a nice selection of hot food and drink. There is parking at the hotel which costs £6 per day. On checking out and paying our bill another very nice receptionist set this aside for us due to not getting good value for our dinner. Again a very nice gesture. Would we stay here again. Yes, despite poor restaurant and service Therein, nice hotel in great location, nice reception staff, with good breakfast, but wouldn’t eat dinner here, plenty of good restaurants nearby.

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Inverness Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future Kind Regards Fraser Peterkin

Ideal City centre Hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

CeriC2 15/11/2021 TripAdvisor review

Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay. Our riverside room was spotless and spacious. The bar area was really nice and welcoming. Must mention the breakfast, great and plenty of choice. All the staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly. Would certainly return to this Hotel.

Dear Guest We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Inverness Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback. I will share your comments with the team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards Fraser Peterkin

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor