Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel 4 estrelas

Nota clientes Avis (Classificação ALL) 4.1/5 726 comentários

Hotel aprovado por ALLSAFE

Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Ver em um mapa


Extras do hotel

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton environmental certified hotel

  • Historic building and unrivalled location in central Stratford-upon-Avon

  • Only 5 minutes by taxi from Stratford-upon-Avon rail station, or 15 minutes walk

  • Car park on site, entrance at 7 Sheep Street. Spaces can be reserved for blue badge holders.

  • Meeting rooms which can accommodate up to 75 guests

As nossas opções de alojamento

O hotel tem 78 quartos com nomes distintos, incluindo suites duplas, de 2 camas individuais e júnior, com cama de dossel ou de tamanho king.

Localização do hotel

Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Chapel Street
Reino Unido

  • De avião

    BIRMINGHAM A 24,5 km / 15,22 milhas

  • De avião

    COVENTRY A 33 km / 20,51 milhas

  • De avião

    OXFORD/KIDLINGTON A 84,5 km / 52,51 milhas

  • De comboio

    STRATFORD-UPON-AVON A 1,61 km / 1 milhas

GPS:52.191051, -1.707574

Serviços do hotel

Check-in desde as - Check-out até às

Em resumo
No local
  • Estacionamento
  • Wi-Fi
  • Pequeno-almoço
  • Bar
  • Salas de reunião

Avaliações dos nossos clientes sobre o
Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Garantia de 100% de comentários de hóspedes que ficaram mesmo no nosso hotel

Saber mais

Classificação ALL  4.1/5  726 comentários

Classificação do TripAdvisor  4.0/5  2.538 comentários

Potentially Beautiful - but Tired and in need of Refurbishment

Nota Tripadvisor 3.0/5

christopherd288 Avaliação com certificação TripAdvisor

This is one of the most striking building in Stratford and I have stayed here in the past. The entrance is still ok, but my bedroom (whilst large) was in dire need of refurbishment. To compete with other properties in the town, this is essential. Staff were all lovely - polite, friendly and efficient. The restaurant dinner menu needs update from pub-like style to a 4*hotel. Breakfast was good.

Overnight after theatre

Nota Tripadvisor 4.0/5

drvmercer Avaliação com certificação TripAdvisor

We did not eat at the hotel except breakfast which was very nice. However the staff were Extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. It is situated 150 yards from the theatre. And it is in the centre Stratford-upon-Avon with some excellent shops around. The only thing we found slightly irritating was that the bit where a bit hard in our room. But I did sleep well!

Great staff, great location

Nota Tripadvisor 4.0/5

Durham_Nick Avaliação com certificação TripAdvisor

We’ve stayed many times in this lovely old hotel. It’s fun guessing what could be original Tudor building and what it must have been like all those years ago. Rooms are a decent size and all slightly different. Lovely comfy big beds too. The modern bits are getting a bit tatty in places and could do with some updating, considering the price charged. Frequently no hotel car parking and expensive (£15 per night) when there is any. Should be free to residents or it’s just a way of increasing the price. Superb location close to the town centre yet still quiet.

Great overnight stay

Nota Tripadvisor 5.0/5

Roversbluen Avaliação com certificação TripAdvisor

A great overnight stay , ideal location in the centre of Stratford , Parking easy for us plenty of spaces when we arrived £10 for 24 hours , Room and en suite very clean , Staff very helpful and friendly , Breakfast buffet hot and cold lovely Thankyou

Dear Roversbluen, Thanks very much for for your positive review, as its always great to get top marks. Glad you had a great overnight stay. Thank you also for choosing to stay with us on this occasion and hope you will do so again in the near future. Kind regards Jason General Manager

Great hotel and good location

Nota Tripadvisor 4.0/5

ldspicer Avaliação com certificação TripAdvisor

Arrived early and managed to park in one of the last spaces in the hotel car park. Gabor at reception checked us in straight away (not sure if the ALL membership helped here?). Classic room in Garrick Suite. Huge double aspect room. Thought we'd been given an upgrade. Room is very near to all the great eateries in Sheep Street and close to the river and all the other sights. Really enjoyed our stay

Dear ldspicer, Thank you for your rating and review of your stay with us. Great to see that you had a great experience and liked your room. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and hope you will do so again next time you are in the area. Kind regards Jason General Manager

Weekend Stay

Nota Tripadvisor 5.0/5

slateloose22 Avaliação com certificação TripAdvisor

From arriving (late) to leaving and being pleasantly surprised that the drinks in the room fridge were complimentary, everything was perfect. Staff friendly and helpful, we need a disabled bay and this was organised with a reserved sign on a VERY busy car park. Breakfast was a good selection and well cooked. Great stay and would love to return.

Dear slateloose22, Thanks for rating your stay and posting a review, it always great to get 'top marks'. Great to read that you found everything to be perfect. Thank very much for choosing to stay and i hope you will do so again next time you visit Stratford-upon-Avon. Kind regards Jason General Manager

Another great stay

Nota Tripadvisor 5.0/5

siricat Avaliação com certificação TripAdvisor

This is the third time we have used this hotel. Once again, our room was clean, spacious and well equipped. The staff we came into contact with (reception and at breakfast) were all friendly and helpful. We enjoy occasional trips to this town, and this hotel is our preferred option.

Dear Robn, Thanks for your great review its always nice to get top marks, even more so from a guest who has stayed with us for the third time. Thank you for choosing to return and for you positive comments in regard to your stay and the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you the next time you visit Stratford-upon-Avon. Kind regards Jason General Manager

Not as expected for room rate

Nota Tripadvisor 1.0/5

jackie54ellis Avaliação com certificação TripAdvisor

Really disappointed with the standards in the bedroom. Broken lampshades. Mould on grouting joints in the bath. Wallpaper was peeling off. Furniture was dusty. Really not worth the money they charged.

Dear jackie54ellis, I am sorry that your stay was not as you expected and you felt that you did not receive value for money. That is certainly not our aim and sorry that I did not have the opportunity to apologise in person. Kind regards Jason Mayglothling General Manager

It was Ok

Nota Tripadvisor 3.0/5

quiltingdreams Avaliação com certificação TripAdvisor

firstly the good points - the staff were lovely and very helpful, the hotel is situated in the centre of Stratford Upon Avon and there are restaurants/pubs/cafe's within easy walking. The Royal Shakespeare theatre and other local attractions are again in easy walking distance, which is brilliant. bad points the hotel felt a bit grubby and unloved. Our room whilst a good size looked like it needed a refresh. breakfast was OK, but not what I would have expected from 4 stars I accept that we have been through challenging times and that normally the hotel maybe of a higher standard in "normal " times.

Dear quiltingdreams, Thanks for taking time to rate and review your stay. It was great to read that the positives were the team and the location, we are very fortunate in those respects. We are working hard to return to "normal" as soon as we can. i do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future. Kind regards Jason General Manager

Great hotel, well situated

Nota Tripadvisor 5.0/5

pcmaxwell Avaliação com certificação TripAdvisor

Great hotel and very well situated in the centre of Stratford upon Avon. It was our first visit but we will definitely be back again. The only small issue was the size of the car park, so would recommend checking in early. Apart from that minor detail we had a lovely stay.

Never Again

Nota Tripadvisor 2.0/5

TGuruStocktononTees Avaliação com certificação TripAdvisor

On arriving at the hotel one is met with signs stating, masks are to be worn in all public spaces, respect distance between our team and other guests, no handshaking and no groups of more than 6. All in the name of COVID. Due to our early arrival our room was not available. it should be noted at this juncture that when booking this hotel I was quite specific that parking was require, however when I arrived at the hotel there was only 1 parking space available and had I not arrived at 1300 there would have been no parking space available, it was apparent that spaces could be prebooked but I was never made aware of this. I asked if I could leave my car in the car park which was OK’d so I paid for the parking £15 per night. The young lady on reception was polite and professional, however when we returned 3 hours later the receptionist (male) was officious and was not friendly. During checkin he stated offhandedly that the rooms would not be serviced and that we had to book our time slot for breakfast. When questioned about this he stated that it was to ensure social distancing. We were given a second floor room, the access to which was up a very narrow and steep staircase and even though my wife and I are elderly there was no offer to assist with our baggage. The room was as we expected for an old building, however the bathroom was a disgrace with mould around the bath top and on the tiles. Later that evening when we went to use the bathroom and closed the roller blind on the window we were shocked to see that it was covered in crushed insects and dirty splash marks At breakfast there was no social distancing and the majority of the staff were not wearing masks, it was quite obvious that the breakfast slots and not servicing the rooms was more about minimising the staff to save costs than social distancing and Covid-19. The staff at breakfast were polite and the service and food was good. On the afternoon of the second day we called reception for more tea and milk, their response was come to reception and collect them, we challenged this and after some discussion the receptionist agreed to have them brought to our room. Over an hour later the tea and milk had not arrived so we called reception again and finally the tea and milk was delivered. I would recommend this hotel and certainly will not be staying again.

hugely disappointing

Nota Tripadvisor 2.0/5

jawdate Avaliação com certificação TripAdvisor

excellent location, quaint hotel with beautiful features, however extremely tired and need urgent updating. Dirt and dust present throughout the hotel. highlighting the extremely low standards of cleanliness through out the hotel. Asked for a room service at 1030am returned at 4pm and this has not taken place. reception advised that arrival take priority than requests. When room service took place, dirty towels still in the bath, not replaced, dirty cups from the morning still present, no other cleaning took place apart from the bed cover been put in place. I Have photo evidence if requested the only helpful reception staff (lady) sorry forgot her name, was very helpful and apologetic and brought back towels, cups etc. .Room service is non existent, just dreadful, rooms are extremely tired and feels grabby. We booked the prestige!!! for the price we would preferred staying at the premier inn instead. breakfast not worth the money with very unhappy staff working very hard, no managers to be seen. reception staff( except the lovely lady), not attentive and looked very unhelpful and unwelcoming. there appears to be issues with the operation of this hotel which is disappointing for the high price paid. this hotel has a great potential if managed effectively and efficiently. We are regular visitors to this area and we will not be returning to this hotel. Sorry

August in Stratford-upon-Avon

Nota Tripadvisor 5.0/5

richardhammond1951 Avaliação com certificação TripAdvisor

Lovely oldie worldie hotel. All the staff were extremely friendly and the breakfast was excellent. Situated close to the centre of Stratford. Walking distance from the train station and all of the tourist attractions.

a little tired

Nota Tripadvisor 3.0/5

jm21rees Avaliação com certificação TripAdvisor

we have stayed here before. This time the room we stayed in was very clean but a little tired. The car park was full when we arrived and finding the multi-storey park wasn't easy. Staff were efficient if a little disinterested in their customers.

Dear jm21rees, Thank for your review and for staying with us again. Glad that you found your room to be very clean. Our car park does fill very quickly, but the NCP is close by. I do hope you will choose to stay with us again soon. Kind regards Jason General Manager

10th Wedding Anniversary stay.

Nota Tripadvisor 4.0/5

Martyn W Avaliação com certificação TripAdvisor

Lovely characterful hotel in the heart of Stratford Upon Avon. All staff were very good, however the receptionist gets a special mention as he was exceptional. The buffet breakfast was very good and well stocked. The bar prices are reasonable. Did not have an evening meal in the hotel. The standard room was a good size. If you are driving pre-book a parking space as the car park is small, however it was £15 a day. Would have given 5 stars but for two things which hopefully will be sorted by a planned refurbishment in October 2021. The room was tired looking and the shower had very low water pressure. The biggest question is would I stay in this hotel again? Definitely Yes.

Dear Martyn W, Thank you for taking time to review your stay and I am pleased to read that it was such a positive experience. Thank you for choosing to spend your 10th Anniversary with us and very much hope that you will return again at some point in the future. We are still awaiting for further details in regard to commencement of a refurbishment. Kind regards Jason General Manager

Great location

Nota Tripadvisor 5.0/5

188mrg Avaliação com certificação TripAdvisor

Hotel is in the heart of Stratford. We felt welcomed from Check in to check out. Staff were friendly and attentive, dealing well with a couple of guests who had over indulged at the racing. Would recommend to any one. Only negative was I felt the parking is overpriced at £15 per night.

This is NOT a 4* hotel.

Nota Tripadvisor 3.0/5

johngibson2021 Avaliação com certificação TripAdvisor

We were apparently in a "refurbished" room, yet it was tired and dirty, there was mould all over the shower screen and a half inch gap with the bath that meant flooding each shower, the aircon and fan in the room did not work (so we had to make do with a little fan, not effective and took up one of the few plugs in the room). We were misled by a 4* rating. And by Accor who gave it 8+/10 .

Remarkable in the circumstances!

Nota Tripadvisor 4.0/5

J7605CSmarks Avaliação com certificação TripAdvisor

I stayed for two nights at The Shakespeare Mercure Hotel recently. I have stayed there previously under more normal times but I wanted to record how well the Hotel responded given the prevailing COVID-19 lockdown restrictions. I have rated 4 as not all of the facilities, restaurant eyc were available but the limited staff on hand did a magnificent job and were most helpful.

Dear Mark S, Thank you very much for taking a few moments to post your review following your two night stay earlier this month. I am so pleased we were able to make you comfortable. Due to the restrictions in place during this period, we have to close the restaurant and bar, however as you were able to experience we provide full breakfast, menu options and drinks via room service. Thanks for your kind words in regard to the team. We look forward to being able to welcome you back again under different circumstances. Thank you for booking directly with us and feel free to contact me on to do so again. Kind regards Jason Mayglothling General Manager

Lovely place to stay

Nota Tripadvisor 3.0/5

Brendan K Avaliação com certificação TripAdvisor

Great location, plenty to see and do, not great for shopping as all main shops are out of town, plenty of places to eat, town it very clean only one problem is, they start cleaning toe streets at 6am.

Dear Brendan, Thanks for taking time to review your stay and visit to Stratford-upon-Avon. I am glad that you think that we are a lovely place to stay, but sorry that you were disturbed by the street sweeper on this occasion. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Jason Mayglothling General Manager

Very disappointing

Nota Tripadvisor 3.0/5

Lesley M Avaliação com certificação TripAdvisor

Stayed in a suite, carpet was filthy as were all surfaces, cobwebs on all windows. Marco Pierre Whites restaurant was closed and the garden next to the bar was overgrown and filthy. Was served curdled milk at breakfast. Would never stay here again.

Dear Lesley M, Thank your for your review and for contacting our customer services department giving me the opportunity to contact you directly in regard to your stay. Kind regards Jason Mayglothling General Manager

Os 20 comentários mais recentes

Em parceria com TripAdvisor

Os nossos outros estabelecimentos nas proximidades

Todos os nossos hotéis em STRATFORD UPON AVON