Informacja

Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4 gwiazdki

Ocena klientów 4.2/5 Liczba opinii: 11 355

hotel certyfikowany ALLSAFE

Zarezerwuj ten hotel

Pokój  1

Liczba osób
Wiek dzieci

Gwarancja najniższej ceny

Jak to działa?
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Zobacz na mapie
+ 11 Usługi

O hotelu

  • Central location, nearby the Cathedral and Bedford Square

  • Leisure facilities including swimming pool, sauna & jacuzzi

  • Close proximity to popular Princesshay Shopping District

  • The Gate House restaurant features locally-sourced dishes

  • Ideal destination for weddings and private functions

Usługi w hotelu i w okolicy

Zameldowanie od: 14h00

Wymeldowanie do: 12h00

Płatne usługi

Usługi i informacje praktyczne
  • Zameldowanie online
  • Wi-Fi/dostęp do Internetu
  • Parking
  • Dostępność dla osób niepełnosprawnych
  • Hotel z całkowitym zakazem palenia
  • Klimatyzacja
  • Języki, jakimi posługuje się personel hotelu
  • Recepcja otwarta całą dobę
  • Wczesne zameldowanie/Późne wymeldowanie Płatne usługi
  • Pranie chemiczne Płatne usługi
  • Portier
  • Concierge
Rozrywka
  • Basen
  • Centrum fitness
  • Centrum wellness
Gastronomia
  • Śniadanie Płatne usługi
  • Liczba restauracji: 1
  • Liczba barów: 1
  • Obsługa hotelowa
Usługi biznesowe
  • Sale konferencyjne: 9
  • Możliwość kopiowania / wydruku

Lokalizacja hotelu

Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Southernhay East
EX1 1QF exeter
wielka brytania

Tel: +441392412812

Faks: (+44)1392/413549

Zameldowanie od: 14h00

Wymeldowanie do: 12h00

  • Samolotem

    BRISTOL W 108km / 67 mil

  • Samolotem

    EXETER INTERNATIONA W 10,3km / 6,4 mil

  • Samolotem

    PLYMOUTH/ROBOROUGH W 73,5km / 45,67 mil

  • Samochodem

    M5 JUNCTION 29 W 6,6km / 4,1 mil

  • Pociągiem

    EXETER CENTRAL W 0,97km / 0,6 mil

  • Pociągiem

    EXETER ST DAVID'S W 2,3km / 1,43 mil

Pozycja GPS:50.720332, -3.528424

Nasze pokoje

The hotel's 156 bedrooms offer guests a range of accommodation options including classic, privilege, suite, interconnecting and 7 accessible rooms. All bedrooms are non-smoking and have WIFI access, room service & flat-screen TV. Every bedroom is in line with 4-star standards but our rooms also offer particularly inspiring views over the city, including Exeter Cathedral, historic Southernhay and distant glimpses of the Devon countryside.

Classic Double or Twin Guestroom

Dostępne pomieszczenie
  • Maksymalna liczba osób: 2
  • Powierzchnia: Od 18 / 194 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Standard Room with 2 single beds

Dostępne pomieszczenie
  • Maksymalna liczba osób: 2
  • Powierzchnia: Od 18 / 194 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Mercure Privilege Guestroom

  • Maksymalna liczba osób: 2
  • Powierzchnia: Od 18 / 194 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Classic Family Guestroom

Dostępne pomieszczenie
  • Maksymalna liczba osób: 4
  • Powierzchnia: Od 18 / 194 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Accessible Classic Room with 1 double or 2 single beds

Dostępne pomieszczenie
  • Maksymalna liczba osób: 2
  • Powierzchnia: Od 18 / 194 sq ft

Accessible Privilege Room with 1 double

Dostępne pomieszczenie
  • Maksymalna liczba osób: 2
  • Powierzchnia: Od 18 / 194 sq ft

Nasze restauracje i bary

THE GATE HOUSE

Rodzaj serwowanej kuchni: Regionalna

We are currently serving a reduced menu in our bar area between the hours of 18.00-22.00. Our chef welcomes you in our Gate House Restaurant. Guests can enjoy contemporary British cuisine including locally sourced meat and fresh seafood.

LOUNGE BAR & TERRACE

We are currently serving a reduced menu in the bar between the hours of 18.30-22.00. The lounge bar and Terrace are open all day, for a drink or for a light meal. 24 hour room service is also available.

Zdjęcie nieumowne

  • Poniedziałek
  • Wtorek
  • Środa
  • Czwartek
  • Piątek
  • Sobota
  • Niedziela

Twoje spotkania i wydarzenia

Nasze sale konferencyjne

  • Liczba sal konferencyjnych: 9

  • Maks. rozmiar: 178 m²

  • Maks. pojemność: 150 osoby

  • Maks. liczba uczestników bankietu: 120 osoby

Więcej informacji

Opinie gości dotyczące hotelu
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

100% potwierdzonych opinii gości, którzy zatrzymali się w naszym hotelu

Dowiedz się więcej

Ocena ALL 4.2/5

Liczba opinii: 11 355

tripadvisor

Ocena TripAdvisor 4.0/5

Liczba opinii: 2 708

Covid stay in Exeter

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 5.0/5

Steve W 07/12/2020 Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

The staff were truly brilliant and went out their way to make a "difficult" time very comfortable. The hotel was spotlessly clean and complying with all Covid restriction rules and guidance. I would also add that the facilities and communal areas looked very good - but of course they were out of commission. I'm a regular user of Mercure for business trips under normal circumstances.

Good afternoon Steve and thank you very much for all of your positive comments. It was encouraging for the team and I to read and thanks again for taking the time. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon I hope. Matt

beds are awful ,

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 3.0/5

19tracy 11/11/2020 Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

myself and wife woke up could hardly move due to bed ,asked other quests and they agreed that they woke up with a terrible back .wasn't told that restaurant wasn't open very disappointing 30th anniversary.

Good evening and thank you for your review. I am most surprised about the beds as this is not something we normally get comments on at all but I am sorry if you were uncomfortable. I am also confused by your comment about the restaurant being shut as we have been open for a few months now? I do hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future though. Matt

An enjoyable nights sleep in a clean and comfortable room

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 4.0/5

Rotmm Business - 30/09/2020 Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

I arrived for a single night stay in the Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel on a Thursday at 2pm, left my car in the attached car park (£15 per night as a hotel guest, payable on departure - reasonable price for a city-centre hotel - make sure you input your reg at reception when you arrive) and check in was quick and efficient, with the now common perspex screens on the reception desk and masks being worn. I had booked a Privilege Room and I may as well get the 2 negatives out at the start. The reason I booked that class of room is because I like a nice shower and there was supposedly a "rainfall" shower. It looked and behaved like a regular shower head to me, though the shower cubicle itself was spacious. The other reason is because I like a decent coffee and these rooms are supposed to have Illy Coffee Machines in them. There wasn't. It was a kettle and a tube of freeze-dried coffee. Later on in the day I did query the latter with reception and they said they had supply issues of the pods from Illy so had removed the machines from the rooms. Unasked I was offered tokens for the bar (which I didn't take) as compensation. which I thought was a nice touch. In the room I had 2 Zoom/Teams meetings booked and the internet quality was certainly good enough for video conferencing. The room itself was very clean and I felt comfortable that the hotel housekeeping staff were doing everything they could to ensure my safety as a guest. The TV is a very old flatscreen and could do with updating, but it worked fine (excepting some dead pixels) and I didn't spend long enough in the room to make much use of it. Other facilities in the room where as expected. Plenty of storage space if I was to stay for a few days. I didn't eat in the hotel in the evening as a very short walk takes you into the centre where there are a number of restaurants, not for breakfast. Checkout was pleasant and speedy, with parking being added onto the payment card. Overall an excellent stay, great customer service and only slightly led down by those issues of being an older hotel that is probably in need of a refurbish, and not being able to make a nice cup of coffee in the room/ Recommended.

Good city centre location

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 3.0/5

steaders51 29/09/2020 Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

Two night stay for short break. Good location being close to city centre. Facilities available during covid-19 and all signs clearly posted about restrictions. Happy to return for another short stay if visiting west country.

Not ready for guests

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 2.0/5

ADandSD 27/08/2020 Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

The hotel was just not ready to accommodate guests on a 4* basis. On arrival the tv remote was missing from the room and even when this was replaced the tv did not work properly. The spa was advertised as being in full working order but the sauna and jacuzzi were both out of order ( not specified as due to coved restrictions). Further to this the only bar was closed at 10pm due allegedly to covid staff shortages, a lack of planning surely. Altogether not what you expect for a 4* hotel despite the current crisis. After all they are happy to continue charging full prices.

It doesn't worth the money you pay

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 2.0/5

Kdixvi Couples - 14/07/2020 Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

We went to spend one night on this hotel, as the location is quite good to explore Exeter. The check-in process was ok. We arrived into the room, and you could see the room was dirty. They haven't removed the bin from the previous person who stayed there and there were stains on the walls from what seemed an orange liquid. I understand that due to Covid-19 they have removed all papers/items not needed from the room to avoid extra cleaning, but they haven't even left a kettle to make a cup of tea or neither a bottle of water was provided at check-in or left on the room. We arrived there after 22:00 and we were driving for hours, so it would have been nice just to have anything to drink. The walls on the room were really thin. I could hear the next door person opening a can late at night, and people speaking. In the morning, housekeeping knocked in our door (and all the ones on the floor) at 08:30 to check if we were still there. I understand they need to check if rooms are empty, but not that early! As no papers are provided, we could not put the “Do not disturb” sign which might have avoid this situation. When I went to pick up the take away breakfast, the table with the bags was a mess. All the bags were mixed and you could see people have been picking and choosing from the bags and touching all of them. If all of the aim of a take away breakfast bag is to avoid cross contamination to avoid the spread of the virus, someone should have controlled that, but nobody was there. I even had to go to reception to ask for a coffee as there was none left, and the hot water provided by them was not even hot anymore (this at 9am!) I was really disappointed with my stay on this hotel, as I do not believe it worth the price you pay for your stay. Also, I understand and support all the Covid19 measures, but when you scan the QR on the mirror and shows you the welcome letter, it doesn't equal to what really happens. For example, it does says you can pre-order breakfast, but that was never offered on check-in. When I was waiting for my coffee I heard another lady complaining at the reception and really upset about the room being really dirty and requesting a change of room. It seems it was not a one off in our room only.

Comfortable Stay

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 4.0/5

John F 24/01/2020 Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

Good reception, comfortable room and a tasty and well served breakfast made this a very pleasant one night stay. We had one problem in the room with the toilet flush that was fixed expediently. Definitely a nice place to stay in an excellent position

New Year Package

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 4.0/5

J3310SAjohn Couples - 04/01/2020 Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

A very poor start to the hotel requiring a room change as the carpets and furniture were of unacceptable quality. A new room was immediately made available but the room 360 should not have been offered to the public until it had been refurbished. the new room, 370 was designated as a "Privilege" room but was essentially re-carpeted, and brought up to the correct standard. At the reception desk, Helen was particularly helpful and should be commended. Otherwise the New Years Package was excellent and the food in particular of a very high standard. On such occasions, car parking is a challenge and I noted several disgruntled customers who could not find a space.

Mislead

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 3.0/5

mrmad58 Couples - 30/12/2019 Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

We booked for 1 night (boxing night) over the phone as we had specific requests to answer before confirming the booking. We asked if there was parking available at the hotel and was told yes, on arrival we were advised that this would cost £12. We asked if there was a full restaurant service on Boxing night as we were inviting as guest to join ud. We were advised that this was not a problem, but on arrival we were advised that only the bar area menu was available. The day prior we received an email inviting us the check in and it asked for a time slot , before 1200, before 1500 etc. We selected before 1500 and arrived at 1300 only to be advised that before 1400 we had to request an early arrival booking. This info did not appear on the email we received. We booked a double room , but there was only sufficient bond wash/shampoo for 1 person. The female serving in the bar on Boxing night was clearly unwell and seemed to need help in sorting out drink orders and operating the till. All in all a very unsatisfactory stay at this location. Martin and Anita

Dear mrmad58 Thank you for your constructive feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel which will be discussed as a team to ensure improvement is made. Unfortunately our on-line check-in system has had a problem which has meant we have not been advised correctly of guests requesting the early arrival. We are in contact with our Accor IT department to get this rectified. Kind regards Craig

Spa and location.

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 4.0/5

robmoore1509 Couples - 27/12/2019 Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

The room was comfortable enough and the bed spacious. Bathroom clean, good shower. It was the spa facilities and location which we booked the hotel for; plus easy parking. Staff were friendly. We had hoped to visit the Christmas fair on the cathedral green but it had already finished. Shops etc. all close by though.

Dear robmoore1509 Thank you for your lovely feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel. I hope we can welcome you back soon Kind regards Craig

Stay in Exeter Mercure Southgate

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 2.0/5

richardsearling Family - 18/12/2019 Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

We were more than disappointed. Given the wrong room, and then when we told reception we ended up in a very shabby "privilege" one with A/C not working, TV remote not working, rattling windows, shabby towels and marks on the walls! Pillows were awful too! Breakfast was also poor versus previous stays here.

Dear richardsearling I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay at the Hotel. I will discuss your comments with the Operations team to ensure that this is improved. Kind regards Craig

VERY cold night

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 3.0/5

davjan2015 Couples - 11/11/2019 Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

Not our best stay at a Mercure. When we got into bed after 11;00 it seemed very cold. Tried to turn on the air-con but failed - did not seem to be working (confirmed by staff in the morning) so decide to make do with extra blankets - none available in room and so had to make do with house coats. Expected some sympathy from recetion in the morning but none available or discount as we did not report fault to reception in the night who could have changed our room - no thanks in our night clothes. THIS came on top of the management refusing to accept part payment of our bill by use of Le club Accor loyaltypoints collected. This was despite making it clear of our wish at time of booking and at check in

Dear davjan2015 I appreciate that we have communicated directly with regards to your feedback. As discussed, our team have been trained with regards to the recent change in the Accor Le Club points to avoid this from occuring again. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Excellent location in Exeter

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 3.0/5

mikemundy2019 Business - 11/11/2019 Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

Having stayed at this hotel on a regular basis, over time I have seen the quality of the service deteriorate. On the last trip the standard of food on offer for breakfast was very poor, and not worth the cost. The bedrooms are due a refit, in particular the quality of the towels are very poor.

Dear mikemundy2019 Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are in the process of carrying out a refreshment of the bedrooms now that the busy summer period is over - I am sure you will be able to see an improvement on your next visit. This also includes the installation of new carpet which will make a massive welcome improvement to the overlook of the Hotel I look forward to welcoming you back soon Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Central Exeter at a bargain price

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 4.0/5

Graham J Couples - 31/10/2019 Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

The Southgate Hotel is very well placed for stepping out to shop, eat or enjoy Exeter's history. It is a modern hotel with facilities such as pool but it just really convienent for seeing Exeter. My wife and I visted to shop and see a show at the Northcott Theatre. The hotel satff wrre very good and although our room was a little tired you could not argue at the price booked on line . We managed to leave phone charger behind and the recepetion staff dealt with it very quickly posting it on to us. We woukld use this hotel again.

Dear Graham J Thanks for your lovely feedback. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that we can welcome you back very soon Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Good - with some reservation

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 4.0/5

William2939 Couples - 11/10/2019 Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

Reception staff excellent and most helpful. Good hotel in prime location. Housekeeping could have been better. No milk provided for tea and even when asked still was not delivered. Had to go down to reception to get some. Extractor fan in bathroom not working but bedroom and bathroom were clean and well made up.

Dear William2939 Thank you for your constructive feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel. It is great to see that you found the service to be excellent and enjoyed our location. I am sorry that there was housekeeping hiccups - I will discuss with the Manager to ensure this is rectified. I hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Weekend away

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 4.0/5

melvin286 Couples - 09/10/2019 Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

Excellent weekend away . Staff helpful and friendly . Towels need to be a better quality . plenty of hot water . Bar staff a bit slow . Very helpful staff . Parking good . Booking easy , check in good .

Dear melvin286 Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. It is great to see that you found the team to be very helpful and enjoyed the check in and plenty of hot water. I am sorry that you were disappointed about the towels. I will discuss with the Head Housekeeper to see how this can be improved. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Biscuits !

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 3.0/5

HuntleyPalmer Couples - 27/08/2019 Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

The checkin was impersonal with no eye contact and no pleasantries akin to the self service option at a Premier Inn. While checking in, a guest returns to the front desk to inform them that the room he has been given already has someone in it. We have booked a 'privilege' room but the fridge is not stocked with water or soft drinks, there are no slippers, the bath robes look used and there are no biscuits. Down to the bar for some R&R. Lucky for us, although is a Monday, there is a wedding reception and the bar and foyer has become a childrens playground. No R&R for us. Next morning we go down for breakfast. For some reason tea and coffee are dispensed by a waiter from a jug, so you get it it how it is, in my case stewed. The waiter departs before offering milk. We have to find someone to get us some. We also marvel at how many slices of bread you can get from a loaf. Return to our room after a day of sightseeing. The fridge has been stocked, some fizzy water and two small bottles of coke. Sadly there is no bottle opener in the room which leads me to suspect that is the reason for all the chips in the furniture. Still no biscuits. For our second breakfast, we upgrade and visit the Weatherspoons just around the corner. The flat white coffee and a breakfast tea confirms we made the right choice. Return to our room after a train ride to Paignton but.... Still no biscuits. Check out day and on route to reception we are stopped by a guest who asks us if we can try to open her door with our key. We cant but she then explains that someone came into her room during the night. So, in the three days we were there we twice witnessed the consequence of the front desk giving access to occupied rooms. That, requires some serious management attention. Check out was a good experience (maybe you were glad to see us depart ?) sadly spoilt by spending five minutes trying to get out of the car park. As we drive home we discuss the absence of biscuits and sadly conclude the accountants have won.

Dear HuntleyPalmer Thank you for your constructive comments about your recent stay at the Hotel. Whilst I cannot comment about the other guest's situations you describe, I am sorry that you were disappointed that there were no biscuits in the room and the fact that you found that it was an accountant decision. Biscuits are not actually a set standard in Mercure and not one of the set features that is provided in our Hotels. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the drinks in the mini fridge and will definately speak to the team with regards to the refreshments served with breakfast. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Best place to stay in central exeter

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 4.0/5

Louise B Couples - 25/08/2019 Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

Central location with parking provided. Easy access to local restaurants and shops. If you book and prepay using your accord points please check your bill though as this is the second time we have had to go back and get a refund as the points credit wasn’t applied so extra cash was taken

Dear Louise B Thank you for your great feedback with regards to your recent stay at the Hotel. We are all delighted to see that we are the best place to stay in Exeter! I am sorry that there was an issue with your Le Club Accor points - I will discuss your comments with the Front Office Manager as we should automatically be able to process the credit of the points during your check-out process. I do look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Excellent stay in beautiful Exeter

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 5.0/5

Dawn B Family - 21/08/2019 Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

My daughter and I stay here regularly for our annual girlie weekend. It's a top notch hotel, scrupulously clean with charming, welcoming staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are quiet, even on the ground floor. In my mind there's no need to look anywhere else.

Dear Dawn B, Thank you for your lovely feedback about your recent weekend with us. It is great to get such comments from regular guests and I am pleased that you enjoined your stay. I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Mid week break

Ocena na stronie TripAdvisor 2.0/5

debbie6sanctuary Couples - 19/08/2019 Opinia zatwierdzona w TripAdvisor

I’m afraid as much as I want to like this hotel, we have stayed several times now, and given it a fair chance but it lets itself down. They can’t seem to get breakfast right. On our last visit we didn’t get our ordered poached eggs and thought it was a one off. But it happened again. The rooms are tired, our room had a bag over the smoke detector and smelt of smoke? The staff are friendly and the location of the Southgate is great for central Exeter.

Dear debbie6sanctuary Thank you for your feedback - please accept my apologies with regards to the issues you had. I am disappointed that we were not able to meet your basic needs of poached eggs - and particular this was a repeat occurrence. I will discuss your comments with the Operations Manager so that he can personally ensure we get this basic right in the future. Kind regards Craig Findleton

Najnowsze opinie: 20

Partner: TripAdvisor

Inne nasze hotele w pobliżu

exeter - wszystkie nasze hotele