Information message

Novotel Hamilton Tainui Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.4/5 13,959 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Novotel Hamilton Tainui
See on a map
+ 24 Services

Hotel extras

  • River or city view, WIFI, work area, cable TV

  • Relaxed lobby bar, fitness centre, sauna

  • Modern Local Fusion Cuisine with choice of bars, cafés and restaurants nearby

  • Range of versatile conference rooms for effective events

  • ALLSAFE Accredited

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Private indoor parkingPaying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • HAMILTONPaying
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Electric car recharging units
  • Laundry
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 2 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
Business services
  • 6 Meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Novotel Hamilton Tainui

7 Alma Street
3204 hamilton
new zealand

Tel: +6478381366

Fax: (+64)7/8381367

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • ANGELSEA ST :  STATE HIGHWAY 1 HAMILTON CENTRAL

  • By plane

    AUCKLAND MANGERE INTL At 130km / 80.79 miles

  • By plane

    HAMILTON At 15km / 9.38 miles - Shuttle paying

  • By plane

    PALMERSTON At 700km / 437.5 miles

  • By train

    FRANKTON RAILWAY STATION At 2km / 1.25 miles

GPS :-37.785992, 175.282622

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious, contemporary in design and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living. Perfect for all your needs.

Superior Room with 1 King size bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 29 / 312 sq ft
  • Views: River side, City View *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products

Superior Room with two double beds

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 29 / 312 sq ft
  • Views: River side, City View *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products

Deluxe Room with 1 king size bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 35 / 377 sq ft

Superior Family Room with 2 double beds

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 35 / 377 sq ft
  • Views: River side, City View *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products

Executive Room with 1 king size bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 28 / 301 sq ft
  • Views: River side *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV(...)

Executive Room with 2 double beds

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 28 / 301 sq ft
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

RESTAURANT ON ALMA

Type of cuisine: Regional

Restaurant on Alma combines the contemporary fusion of Pacific Rim & European cuisine. With an ambient riverside location, the restaurant is the perfect spot for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Menu (PDF)

Lunch

11:00 - 17:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

18:00 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

LOBBY BAR

Non contractual photo

Unwind in the lobby bar with its large windows and peaceful setting, the ideal place to conduct an informal business meeting over an expresso. Open daily with a great range of tantalising snacks and an international selection of beer, wine and spirits

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

THE BRIDGES CONFERENCE BAR

Non contractual photo

Bridges Bar can be opened for your own private after function party. Bridges Bar is not open unless pre-arranged.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 6

  • Maximum size: 242

  • Maximum capacity: 300 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 180 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Hamilton Tainui

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.4/5

13,959 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,486 reviews

Loved it

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Marise Couples - 18/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed in one of the rooms in the new extension overlooking the river and we loved it. Staff were friendly and welcoming. The only downside was trying to find a carpark in Skycity as it was a Friday night, but we did discover 'Eat Burger' as a result. Delicious!

Dear Marise H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton

An enjoyable stay because of the very friendly/helpfulstaff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Michael Business - 18/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff were very helpful in the conference center, and in the accomodations/restaurant (Shannon) service. The reception was excellent especially Catlin and Nicki

Dear Michael H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Basic, with a few frustrations.

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Scotnz Couples - 18/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was 'fine'. Nothing special. The bed was on wheels, and easily moved when going to sit down, or nudged. There were only 2 power points that worked. The only one beside a mirror wasn't working, so blow drying hair was hard! The other socket was on ground level and the cable length of the hairdryer didn't reach to head height, so i had to kneel, without a mirror, and hope for the best! The lighting isn't nice in the room. There is no option to turn the AC off, so not the best if you're a light sleeper, as even on the lowest fan setting, it's still quite noisy. Blackout blinds are good, and the room was quiet as we weren't above the main street. Walk in shower was nice, with fair water pressure.

Dear Jamie R., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I do apologise you were unable to turn the air conditioning off, please note it can be turned off but I will agree, the thermostats aren't the most user friendly. I have noted the power-points are not all working. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Great place to stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Nicole Friends - 18/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great place to stay, friendly people and perfect location. The beds were super cumfy, great shower, tv, had the basics for a nights stay. The breakfast buffet was one of the best ive ever had. Only things that i marked down for were we had to ring up for the Wifi password (normally theres a note already in the room), and had to pay for parking. There were no free spots so had to pay $22 for the skycity parking. Possibly hand out a small parking voucher for guests as there is not much available.

Dear Gary B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton
Customer review rating 4.0/5

Catherine S. Business - 17/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The stay was okay - until I checked out and someone has put a Heineken beer on my room (or staff have written the room number down wrong). I am not allowed to purchase alcohol when I am away for work so I did not do this. I did order a room service meal (consisted of a bowl of fries) on Tuesday, 13 April, so either it has been written wrong or someone has done something they should not have. It certainly was not me. And then I have received a further invoice for this. Very disappointing.

Overall satisfa6

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Kate Business - 17/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excelkent checkin process Fast response and action to queries Fantastic breakfast -best hotel breakfast I've had Pleasant well trained hospitality staff Very comfortable beds and pillows Well appointed rooms Great bathroom -room 308

Dear Katharin K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Well located

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Leighton P. Friends - 17/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Pleasant stay

Dear Leighton P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Great location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Bridget N. Families - 17/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great location, light bright lobby,great staff interaction, good valet service, Tidy rooms

Dear Peter N., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you for your feedback around check in. In future feel free to check in online to save time upon arrival. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Great service, restaurant superb, the best bed ever.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Robert A. M. C. Couples - 17/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

See above

Dear Robert and Margaret C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Well located, clean and comfortable.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Nicola B. Families - 17/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We felt the hotel had a welcoming vibe. We liked the cleanliness of the place, the bed was extremely comfortable and the linen crisp and clean. It was appreciated as my Mum had just been discharged from hospital and felt cacooned. Overall we were happy with the food selection (Although the lunch menu portion sizes could have been smaller as I hate wasting food) however, I went downstairs and ordered a cheese toastie and chips from the bar and asked if room service could deliver it which they eventually did but everything was cold (Nothing worse than cold cheese and chips) In regards to staff they were all friendly and helpful, couldn't fault them.

Dear Nicola B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton
Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Business - 17/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Disappointed not to get a valet car park on my first nights stay even though I had booked one

Dear Jamal H., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Please note we do not take any bookings for parking. I will ensure Orbit travel is informed of this, I do apologise if you were told otherwise but we are not in a position to be reserving car parking as we have extremely limited car parking. We maintain a first in first serve policy. I do apologise for the inconvenience this has caused in your past stays. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Good central located hotel

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Tony Business - 17/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Despite having my Accor details on file, I was disappointed with the room and no car parking.

Dear Tony Darryl H., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I am so sorry that your gold membership was not recognised for the guaranteed car parking we offer our gold and above members. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton

The hotel lacks basic room requirements for business travellers. The bathroom has no shower caps or ammenities i would expect. There is no alcohol for purchase in the rooms, nor even a cookie to have with coffee.

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Anonymous Business - 16/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

As above. A very ordinary hotel which could do a great deal more to improve customer service.

Dear Jacquelyn M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Please note in keeping with ALLSafe guidelines we have removed all minibars in keeping with new industry standards. Please note minibars and all amenities you mentioned below are available on request. All bathroom amenities are complimentary. Room service is still available 24 hours a day and an extensive beverage menu is available via this menu. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Another great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Tom Couples - 16/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room had been booked and paid by Sky City Hamilton. I phoned reservations on the Monday before to request valet parking and they tied the booking to my Accor Card, which was much appreciated. On arrival Deano gave me a parking ticket and proceeded to park my car, great service. The gorl at reception had every thing ready to sign in once again great customer service, much appreciated.

Dear Tom A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Anniversary

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

KIA K 14/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

Anniversary with my wife and spent the weekend in Hamilton . The unit was very spacious and was nice and clean . Ordered room service , was disappointed with the food as it didn't seem it be very fresh The staff were very helpful and front desk was very efficient when booking in and arriving Enjoyed the quick exit on the Sunday morning when leaving , thank you

Well worth the experience

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

paeakau 11/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

The services we experienced (at reception, at room service, at the bar and at breakfast were very professional, warm and welcoming. The room (overlooking the panoramic view of the Waikato River) was very comfortable with the standard amenities - air conditioning and heating; tea, coffee, hot chocolate, sugar milk, an iron and ironing board, a box of tissues, shampoo, conditioning, show gel, body lotion and a hair dryer available. The best was having a nice room to stay in. The least liked was having to check out!

Amazing

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

687val 02/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

Always stay here when in Hamilton it is in town so plenty of shops and restaurants. Staff are always friendly and the rooms are great.Breakfast is great and Poppy is amazing makes a great coffee. Good selection for breakfast

What's the point of accor membership

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

GoPlaces23980661374 Business - 01/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

I spend the summer travelling NZ and stay at a lot of Accor hotels as a result. I have accumulated points to attain Platinum status yet I consistently been forgotten about and not provided any benefits. It's disappointing as I find the service across the Accor Novotel's incredibly inconsistent and it is frustrating when people I travel with receive benefits and I don't and when I question it I'm told they don't have my number which I have registered numerous times before and they still don't acknowledge the points I have accumulated. So I ask you, what is the point?

Long weekend away

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

59paulj 25/03/2021 TripAdvisor review

We love staying at this hotel, it is so central to most locations (we even took a taxi to Hoyts cinema at the base) The staff are excellent and so helpful from the Concierge, Front desk, restaurant staff and the most important the ladies that clean the rooms they are all fantastic. we had a room in the new section and these are beautiful . we will be back soon, have to support local Accor hotels

Kia Ora 59paulj, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback which I am sure will serve as a great motivation for the team here at the hotel. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Regards, Novotel Tainui Hamilton.

Great location, good staff.

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

RandalF26 Business - 15/03/2021 TripAdvisor review

This is our go-to place to stay in Hamilton. The location is great and the staff has always been great. There are four good restaurants across the street, and there is a shopping district just up the block and across the street.

Kia Ora RandalF26, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed our location, we love being right in the heart of Hamilton with so many great eateries and retail shops around for our guests to enjoy. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon. Regards, Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in hamilton