Novotel Ottawa City Centre Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.3/5 9,278 reviews
Novotel Ottawa City Centre
See on a map
+ 22 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Free WiFi, work space, LCD TV, mini fridge, espresso maker (only in upgraded rooms)

  • Naturally lit indoor pool, gym, sauna

  • 6 flexible rooms for events that work

  • Rideau Shopping Centre (including one of the only Nordstrom in Canada)

  • Across the street from the Shaw Centre , 2 blocks from the Byward Market, 10min to Parliament

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • ParkingPaying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowed
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Laundry
  • Boutiques/shopping
Leisure and activities
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Jacuzzi
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 7 meeting room(s)
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
Information message

Dear Customer, Please be advised that due to annual maintenance and cleaning , the hotel pool and hot tub will be closed from April 8-14, 2019. We apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused and appreciate your understanding. Novotel Ottawa Team

Hotel location

Novotel Ottawa City Centre

33 Nicholas Street
K1N 9M7
ottawa
canada

Tel: +16132303033

Fax: (+1)6137604765

Contact email

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • ACCESS : 

  • By plane

    OTTAWA INTL At 18km / 11.25 miles

  • By car

    NICHOLAS STREET EXIT At 2km / 1.24 miles

  • By train

    OTTAWA VIA RAIL STATION At 7km / 4.35 miles

GPS :45.425818, -75.689128

Our accommodations

Spacious rooms with a King bed or 2 Doubles, en suite bath/shower, complimentary WiFi & HSIA, ergonomic work area, LCD TV with pay movies, laptop size safe, mini fridge, hair dryer, MP3 alarm clock, tea/coffee. Stunning new rooms! 1 King bed or 2 Doubles, en suite shower, free WiFi & HSIA, work area, LCD Smart TV, HDMI & screen mirroring capability, laptop safe, tea/coffee, fridge, bathrobe & slippers, hair dryer, free local calls & bottled water.

Standard Room with 1 King Bed, 210 sqf - 19.5 sqm

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 19
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Standard Room with 1 King Bed, 240 sqf - 22.3 sqm

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 22

Superior Room with 1 King Bed - Single Sofa bed on request and upon availability

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 25

Superior Room with 1 king Bed and 1 Pull-out Sofa - Up to 4 people

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 25
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Superior Room with 2 Double Beds (Dimension: 53"x 80" / 135 x 200cm)

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 25
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Executive Room with 1 King Bed and 1 Pull-out Sofa - Up to 4 people

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 40
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products(...)

Our restaurants and bars

THE ALBION ROOMS RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: Regional

The Albion Rooms Lounge & Dinning is inspired by a farm to table mentality. Our chef uses local produce to create an ever changing menu. The Bar is stocked with local craft beers, a creative selection of wines and exciting house made cocktails.

Lunch

11:00 - 15:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

16:00 - 00:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

ALBION ROOMS LOUNGE

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Only guide dogs are allowed in food and beverage points of sale. Opening hours: 11.00 - 23.00 on Sunday.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 7

  • Maximum size: 167

  • Maximum capacity: 180 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 140 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Ottawa City Centre

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

9,278 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,872 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

Friendly front desk, great location

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Sher Business - 25/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed at the hotel for one night. The receptionist was very friendly. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable but the bedsheet smelled awful. It seemed that the staff did not change it. The breakfast was good. I am not satisfied with the payment for parking. When I booked a room it showed me that parking was included but I had to pay extra for it.

Dear Sherzod E., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback on the service revived during your stay. I will share your comments with the housekeeping team and please be rest assured all sheets are changed for all our new arriving guests. The parking is a 3rd party facility and all guest pay for this service, as you mentioned you had parking included during your time of booking, if you could provide any confirmation on this , as I will be happy to look into this for you. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Raman Virk Front Office Manager

Clean, friendly,great location,

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Families - 24/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was incredible, I would book with your hotel again. Thank you

Dear Troy Jude W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another magnifique journey with us. Sincerely, Raman VIrk Front Office Manager

Well located. Room was adequate

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Business - 21/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was adequate, breakfast was nice. Everyone was very helpful and enabled us to deal with the current situation.

Dear Nathan S., We very much appreciate your comments and scores regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Raman Virk

Good and helpful staff, but hotel not as good as when I stayed last time.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Joan M. Solo - 20/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Paid for breakfast and smoked salmon wasn't there. Hot items were lukewarm, and not much there. Toilet paper reminded me of very cheap British toilet paper not type for an expensive hotel. Very strong scented soap, shampoo with not unscented alternative. Most places ask people to be scent free - should definitely have these. Washed my hands and could smell that for hours, was concerned that it would be an issue for a friend I had dinner with.

Dear Joan M., Firstly, thank you for being a loyal member to the Accor group of hotels. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback on thee service and I will share your comments with our team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We have just purchased new toiletries for all guest rooms and the bathroom paper is more ozone friendly. We appreciate your comments on these items, as guest feedback is ever so important for us. I have made comments on your future reservation to have a scent free room. Joan, we thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely, Raman Virk

Well located

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Rl Families - 19/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I can't really say much about our experience as we only stayed 1 night. I paid for 3 days. We left on Sunday and I had a friend drop off the keys on Monday. Due to the virus developments, our daughter had move out of Ottawa U dorm etc. We decided not to stay till Tuesday as we planned. Dealing with several kids, I didn't have time to see if there was any rebate or refund.

Dear Rae L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback on your stay. We are sorry to hear you had to leave in such a hurry due to the Covid 19. I see you reservation was pre-paid at time of booking, we are flexible in emending bookings due to this if you had told us on the day you checked out, allowing us to re sell your room, However I am sure that you will visit us in the future and please book directly with myself to be able to offer you the best price available do to this stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience, stay safe and we look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Raman Virk

Great staff

Customer review rating 4.3/5

David G. Business - 18/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

This experience was amazing, the two people working the front desk around 8pm on march 15th were awesome friendly down to earth. I travel for business weekly and the service was awesome. I went to my room right after a fun conversation to prepare for a meeting out. When i came down the girl helped me find the best restaurant close by. Later in the evening around 11:30pm an older gentleman was working the front desk. I asked him where i could buy some water. He instantly went to a back room and brought me a bottle. This was a once ever experience. Usually hotels charge for water bottles. Great service great price. I will be back, thank you!!

Dear Mr g., What a great review. Thank you for your amazing comments! It has given me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Novotel Ottawa and we are so proud that you felt our team were friendly and welcoming and looked after you during your time with us. Hospitality is at the heart of everything we do and it is always very rewarding when guests take the time to give us such great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travel plans include The Novotel Ottawa! Sincerely, Achref Sassi

Well located, professional staff

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Sarah Business - 18/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was well accommodated by your staff who helped me work through some confusion among my travelling partners. I felt secure in the knowledge that they could be relied upon to be professional and accommodating.

Dear Mrs K., Many thanks for your wonderful feedback for The Novotel Ottawa and your kind words in relation to our hospitality and the service of our team. It gives us much happiness as it does you knowing that we are able to deliver upon all wishes. We always strive for excellence and we thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Achref Sassi

thin walls, tiny bathroom

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Dr D. I. Business - 17/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were terrific, lots to improve on - example? On the 6th floor in a King bed "superior" room, we could hear everything from the two adjoining rooms. in main lobby, trying to use the computers to print boarding passes at night, no space to put documents on, no seat, so dark I could barely see my documents. To use the toilet, door had to be shut, very tiny bathroom.

Dear Don I., Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. Don, we work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short due to these issues you encountered. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Raman Virk

Not bad but party on our floor.. no sleep

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Susan J. Families - 17/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was real good in the end after they moved us to a suite on floor 2 as party on floor 4 kept us awake all night. Someone should stand at door to keep the homeless out of lobby.

Dear Susan j., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, stay safe and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely, Raman Virk

Good Stay

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Joanne Families - 16/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

After having to change rooms because our keys didnt work twice :-( the stay was nice. Was there for only a night because my son had to go to the open house at Ottawa Law so it was close and convenient.

Dear Joanne I., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. So sorry for having to make you come to the front desk to re programmer your key , however, It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback on the service. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Raman Virk

It is apparent that you take client service seriously.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Business - 14/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

see above. All personnel was very friendly. I appreciated the follow-up phone call from front desk. Also front desk was very helpful in making a copy of a document that I need for my hearing (hearing held at Hotel) for no charge. Much appreciated!

Dear Mr W., What a great review. Thank you for your amazing comments! It has given me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Novotel Ottawa and we are so proud that you felt our team were friendly and welcoming and looked after you during your time with us. Hospitality is at the heart of everything we do and it is always very rewarding when guests take the time to give us such great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travel plans include The Novotel Ottawa! Sincerely, Achref Sassi

Great location, clean, good gym.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Christina S. Business - 13/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

wonderful.

Dear Mrs S., Dear Mrs Simpson, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are very glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay between us due to the location, gym and the cleanliness of the hotel. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Achref Sassi

clean rooms

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Paul L. Business - 13/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

i enjoyed the stay here. I had called ahead of time to see if I can be upgraded to a room with a separate bedroom or larger suite. someone said they will call me back but no one did. by the time I had arrived in Ottawa all rooms were full and I did not get a chance to get an upgrade that I would have paid for. I had my son with me and he is more comfortable sleeping early when he cannot see me so he had a challenge sleeping. I was booked for 3 days and ended up checking out early and cancelling my last night.

Dear Paul L., We very much appreciate your comments and scores regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback as I apologies your not receiving a call back form the hotel for your room requirements. Our suites do not have separate sleeping areas as they are open plan however are bigger in size. I see they had allocated you room 320, which is a larger room. Mr L., we will share your comments with our team, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Raman Virk

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Dereje Couples - 13/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

we have stayed at this hotel many times and the High Quality of service and attention to detail Remains. The Staffs is amazing the Room have been clean and Comfortable. God Bless!

Dear Mr G., What a great review. Thank you for your amazing comments! It has given me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Novotel Ottawa and we are so proud that you felt our team were friendly and welcoming and looked after you during your time with us. Hospitality is at the heart of everything we do and it is always very rewarding when guests take the time to give us such great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travel plans include The Novotel Ottawa! Sincerely, Achref Sassi

Well done. Great hotel.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Jennifer N. Business - 12/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was given the wrong room at first but once that was fixed, the experience was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. In fact one of my son's entered the elevator ahead of me and the staff helped to wait with him till I arrived.

Dear Mrs N., Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Novotel Ottawa. It is a delight to learn that you have had an enjoyable and comfortable experience during your stay and that the staff was able to help you have a great stay with us. Our guest's satisfaction is always our first priority. We look forward to welcoming you the near future. Sincerely, Achref Sassi

Good Stay

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Business - 11/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The best thing about your hotel is the location. It was very convenient for me to get to the Mall, which is right across from your hotel. Another thing is you have good restaurant in-house, which saved me time and effort finding a place to eat.

Dear Mrs N., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are very glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay due to the convenient location of the hotel and the nice food in our Albion rooms restaurant. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Achref Sassi

Well located, Nice hotel and very helpful staff.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Ineak I. Business - 10/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I enjoyed my stay. I was glad for the location because I could walk to the mall. The rooms are nice. Any questions I had, the staff were very helpful.

Dear Ms I., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay due to the ideal location of the hotel and that the staff were welcoming and friendly. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Achref Sassi

Well located. Friendly staff. Comfortable, clean rooms, dining area and lobby space.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Krista Business - 09/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed at the Novotel for three nights in February 2020. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The location was incredible. The meals at were delicious. Rooms were always clean. Overall very comfortable and would recommend and stay here again.

Dear Ms M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay due to the ideal location of the hotel and that the staff were welcoming and friendly. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant and compfortable as the previous one. Sincerely, Achref Sassi
Customer review rating 4.3/5

Alek Business - 09/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very nice personel in the hotel. I wanted to print some documents and the personel was very kind and helped me to do it.

Dear Mr K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Achref Sassi

Well located

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Min Friends - 08/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

It is located just beside Byward Market, CF Rideau center and parliament hill. There is underground indoor parking also if you drive. There is a small swimming pool and small Jacuzzi inside at 5th floor. The staff is friendly.

Dear Mr Z., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay due to the ideal location of the hotel and that the staff were welcoming and friendly. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Achref Sassi
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in ottawa