ibis Carlisle City Centre

ibis Carlisle City Centre 2 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.3/5 915 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • Pets Chargeable £10 per Pet per day

  • Car parking free of charge for hotel guests. Car park: English Gate Plaza South CA1 1NT

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

ibis Carlisle City Centre

Portlands, Botchergate, Car park postcode: CA1 1NT
CA1 1RP CARLISLE
United Kingdom

  • By plane

    GLASGOW AIRPORT At 130km / 80.79 miles

  • By plane

    NEWCASTLE AIRPORT At 100km / 62.14 miles

  • By car

    M6 JUNCTION 42 At 8km / 4.97 miles

  • By car

    M6 JUNCTION 43 At 8km / 4.97 miles

  • By train

    CARLISLE TRAIN STAT At 0.2km / 0.12 miles

  • By train

    LONDRES WATERLOO At 836.78km / 520 miles

GPS:54.890591, -2.92972

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar

FOGG'S Non contractual photo

Feeling peckish? You don't have to leave the hotel: inspired by the spirit of global adventure, the menu at Fogg's is loaded with everyone's favourites from tasty pizzas and salads to fragrant soups and diner-style comfort food.

Our accommodation(s)

Inviting, modern and cosy, with a comfortable bed and a functional bathroom. The ibis room has got everything you need for a pleasant stay. Hotel 100% non smoking

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
ibis Carlisle City Centre

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.3/5  915 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.0/5  1,764 reviews

Well located convenient for everything

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Dennis G. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

First class enjoyed my stay, staff were very good nothing too much for them. Would definitely recommend to my friends.

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Beverley McPherson General Manager

Well located near rail station and city centre

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Peter K. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly, helpful staff, clean room

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Beverley McPherson General Manager

Everything we needed

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Bryan W. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Book a few rooms for our group. Wanted to change the room configuration around and they were very helpful.

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Beverley McPherson General Manager

Great staff but rooms too hot

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Nigel Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly welcome.... typical Ibis room but no air conditioning or "air cooling" in operation so uncomfortable night's sleep.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, please accept my apologies, I will forward this information on to the relevant department . We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Many thanks Beverley McPherson General Manager

Great welcome from friendly staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Andy D. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Very good. Rooms,staff and food very good

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Beverley McPherson General Manager

Excellent as usual while in the vicentity

Customer review rating 5.0/5

B E. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

No fuss or bother, check in before hand and just drop key off in box as you leave, what is there not to like!!! Staff very friendly and amicable not like some we have stayed in, 5 stars for a no fuss stay and you know what you are getting if you bother to read description, you can go the full hog on the amenities which are good or you can use just as a sleepover. Recommend recommend!!

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Beverley McPherson General Manager

Value for money

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Claire Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly helpful staff, clean comfortable bed. Great value for money for an overnight stay.

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Beverley McPherson General Manager

Noisy

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Dawn S. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Asked for a quiet room and was put next to club that was playing music into the early hours. Could not get a breakfast as you no longer take cash won’t be staying again

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, please accept my apologies with regards to the noise, unfortunately this is something that is out of our control, however your comments are very much appreciated and will be forwarded to the local council. Many Thanks Beverley McPherson General Manager

NIce room, good parking, central

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Enjoyed staying here, room good, and the perfect spot for staying in Carlisle, central

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Beverley McPherson General Manager

First Visit

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Mpc Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Great welcome staff, very friendly and informative. Do you proud Not their fault but never liked checking in in a bar Room awful. when I first saw it I went online to find another nearby hotel Not a good sleep- first hotel I have stayed in that had bed base with slats, very noisy Bathroom, awful; facilities awful Breakfast, steamed, awful

Dear MICHAEL C., Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Sincerely, Beverley McPherson General Manager

Very Convenient in City Centre

Customer review rating 4.0/5

David Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

I arrived at 5am as notified in advance. The staff member on duty had not been informed but this was not a problem for me, as the room was ready. The hotel is very convenient for the station. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The whole stay was very comfortable. My only comment is that it is worth using the earplugs provided, as there is a lot of nighttime noise from revellers in the area behind the hotel.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, please accept my apologies the message was not passed onto the night shift, I will forward this information on to the relevant department . We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Many Thanks Beverley McPherson General Manager

Not what ordered or expected.

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Ed M. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

I made a considerable effort to make sure we would have a twin room. At the time of booking online I rang the hotel and asked if I would be given a twin room. I was assured I would be. We arrived at midday and I went to reception to make sure we had been allocated a twin room. Again I was assured we had. When we went back to check in at 3.00 p.m. we were given a family room. Family rooms are inferior to twin bedded rooms in one important respect - they don't have have a table and a chair. A table and chair are so useful and their absence in a family room adds greatly to the inconvenience. We have stayed at Ibis Carlisle many times in the past and enjoyed our stay and posted excellent reviews. In this case we were very disappointed and we won't be visiting again unless we can be guranteed the room we have booked.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Sincerely, Beverley McPherson General Manager

Excellent stay. Location superb but most of all the staff were outstanding

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Dmm Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

The stay was so enjoyable we have rebooked to stay again in June.

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Beverley McPherson General Manager

Great location from train station

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Arrived before check in but plenty of pubs nearby.

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Beverley McPherson General Manager

Bad experience on check in

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Julie M. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

I booked a family room in February for myself & 2 friends. On speaking to the gentleman when I booked I explained this as we were going to a performance. He said it was a busy weekend (30th april) so I booked this at £80. When we arrived we were told it was not policy to allow 3 adults in the room (we are all in our 60's) I was disgusted at this as at no point was I told on booking or I wouldn't of booked with you. The young lad on the desk said it was policy to only have 2 in the room. We were all very upset at this & we asked to speak to a manager but he said noone was available. So I had to pay another £80 for myself. This was a friends trip as I have pointed out below in the (what sort of trip was this) & it wasnt handled very well by the young man on the desk. I would like a full refund of the £80 I had to pay before taking this further. It was disgusting to be treat un this way. Please get back to me asap. Thank you. Julie M..

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, please accept my apologies for any miss understanding. We do not have rooms that accommodate 3 adults and Andrew the team member that made your reservation is very experienced and would have notified you of this if 3 adults were request at this time. Theo the team member that checked you in price matched the second room to accommodate the additional person that arrived with you, this was a £40 discount. Please note the hotel policy is 2 people per room and does not take age into account as we do not discriminate. Kind Regards Beverley McPherson General Manager

Very convenient

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Steve Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Centrally placed and with free parking so very convenient. Breakfast was very good but some of the decor is looking shabby, though clean. One of our rooms had a faulty toilet which meant a move to a twin room during the night, but staff were helpful and sorted a double room for the second night.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, please accept my apologies, I will forward this information on to the relevant department . We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Many Thanks Beverley McPherson General Manager

Good location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Very helpful taff

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Beverley McPherson General Manager

Ideal for a quick trip

Customer review rating 5.0/5

R. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed here while going to a show at the sands centre which is about a 15 minute walk away. Hotel is basic but nice and clean and beds were clean which is always important to me. The staff were really friendly and helpful letting us store our cases before check in. Will definitely stay here again.

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Beverley McPherson General Manager

Excellent stay

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Geoff H Business - TripAdvisor review

A very friendly welcome. No issues. Clean, well appointed room. An agreed 'late check out' worked well. A very acceptable breakfast. Stayed at the Ibis Carlisle on a number of occasions. Always of a high standard with a very good staff .

Thank you for your review

Family visit forced stopover

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

bomber192 TripAdvisor review

I made this booking at short notice the staff were very accomodating and friendly they got us a room with little fuss, And made our stay comfortable with breakfast a real bonus as we had eaten very little the day before.

Thank you for your review, I hope you and your family are well. Kind regards Beverley

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby

Mercure Dumfries Cargenholm House (Opening September 2022)

4 stars

At 47.153 km

See the hotel
All our hotels in CARLISLE