Sails in the Desert - A member of Pullman Hotels 5 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 4,765 reviews

Sails in the Desert - A member of Pullman Hotels - Image 1
Sails in the Desert - A member of Pullman Hotels - Image 2
Sails in the Desert - A member of Pullman Hotels - Image 3
Sails in the Desert - A member of Pullman Hotels - Image 4


ALLSAFE approved hotel

Hotel extras

  • The premier 5-star hotel among Australia's Ayers Rock Resorts

  • Free entertainment programme with Indigenous activities

  • After a day touring the outback, relax in the Red Ochre Spa

  • 24-hour reception and free WiFi.

  • After a day of exploring Uluru, cool off with a swim or a refreshing drink at the hotel pool.

Our accommodation(s)


Superior Room

  • 4 persons
  • 36 / 387 sq ft
  • Bedding 1 x King size bed(s)

Hotel location

Sails in the Desert - A member of Pullman Hotels

Yulara Drive, Ayers Rock

GPS:-25.24326, 130.984797

Access and transport

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

On site
  • Swimming pool
  • Shuttle
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms


Ilkari takes its name from the local Pitjantjatjara word for sky. Ilkari establishes its dining philosophy in the natural flavours of the finest produce available under the Australian sun. This reward comes to life with live cooking stations.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

TripAdvisor Rating  4.0/5  4,765 reviews

Certificate of excellence 2023

Fabulous Resort

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Jenny B TripAdvisor review

Fabulous resort. Friendly helpful staff, gorgeous grounds, excellent accommodation and delicious food - what more could you want? An experience to remember. The guided tours are definitely recommended.

Definitely the best place to stay in Uluru

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

878sarahc TripAdvisor review

Brilliant from start to finish. From the airport pick up, welcome drink, spacious room, perfect location. Great place for relaxing and knowing nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Highly recommend staying here.

Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to be able to welcome you back one day soon!

Not nearly as bad as we were expecting; in fact pretty good at least in a top suite

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

649ic Families - TripAdvisor review

We spent a night here on the way to Longitude 131 as we wanted to not be caught with a big loss in case our flight here was cancelled or delayed. We were expecting a pretty crappy hotel but it was better than that, at least in the top suites. We had a deluxe suite with a connecting room (rooms 263 and 267). It had several terraces, a really nice bathroom and living room and the bedroom was decent. The connecting twin room was fine as well. Everything had been recently renovated. The TV's never worked; something with the satellite. People occasionally answered the telephones. Good AC and water. The grounds are pretty and look like a typical kibbutz guesthouse. The swimming pool was unheated and quite cold. The dinner and breakfast buffets were a pleasant surprise; they were really good. There is no gym here -- a big disappointment because a place like this certainly could support one. The hotel offers a courtesy shuttle from the airport, which is about a ten minute ride. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from a small town square with shopping, art gallery, supermarket and various amusements such as a theater with hourly programs during the day, but for some reason the lunch cafe and ice cream kiosk close at 2pm and the ticketing office opens at 10, which makes no sense to people going on day trips that need a ticketing office in the morning and a cafe or a treat when they return. There is an overlook for nice views of the Rock at sunset and we went to the evening drone show which was meh. It probably makes more sense if you are "high" when you watch it because none of us understood its exceedingly slow story line. I wouldn't want to spend more than a day or two here because I think you'd go bonkers with boredom after a day of the buffets and no gym, but for what it is as a stopover, it was fine. It's also fine if this is the place you are going to use as a base for exploring the area.

A place you MUST stay

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

57lesley2015 TripAdvisor review

OMG a must when you visit Uluru. Stayed in a terrace room and the space in side and the outdoor area was amazing. Very comfortable beds, a toilet problem was rectified at lightening speed. The buffet breakfast was so plentiful and scrumptious. Short walk to shops for any necessities. When we arrived we were greeted with a small drink and towel to freshen up before we had even checked in! When we departed via coach to Alice Springs, our baggage was looked after and we did not have to worry about anything. Would not choose anywhere else if I came here again.

Thank you for your enthusiastic review! We're thrilled to hear that you had an amazing stay in one of our terrace rooms and that you found the space both inside and outside to be wonderful. It's great to know that you had a comfortable stay with us, and we're glad that any issues were promptly resolved. Our buffet breakfast and the short walk to nearby shops seemed to have added to your enjoyable stay. We're delighted that you appreciated our warm welcome and the assistance with your baggage upon departure. We look forward to hosting you again if you return to Uluru in the future.

Well worth it!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

carinkle TripAdvisor review

Lovely hotel, all staff are professional, knowledgeable, and friendly. The food at both restaurant and bar is very good and the specialty drinks were a treat with native ingredients starring. Transport was spot on. Completely satisfied with everything about the stay. Hope to return soon and stay longer

Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to be able to welcome you back one day soon!

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Other web-users rate our hotel

  • 129 reviews 8.8/10 Location
  • 247 reviews 8.4/10 Room
  • 259 reviews 8/10 Service
  • 9 reviews 2.9/10 WiFi
  • 170 reviews 7.6/10 Food
  • 98 reviews 8.8/10 Comfort
  • 93 reviews 4.1/10 Value
  • 81 reviews 7.6/10 Cleanliness

Powered by Trustyou

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in Yulara