信息短信

巴黎意大利广场美居酒店 4 星

客户意见评级 4.4/5 2,300 评论

安心悦界(ALLSAFE)认可酒店

预订此酒店
1

保证最优惠房价

怎么运行的?
巴黎意大利广场美居酒店
在地图上看
+ 18 服务

酒店其他优惠

  • 我们提供优质的服务和团队,照顾您的健康。

  • 酒店设计别致,客房宽敞。

  • 尊享房,部分房间可欣赏埃菲尔铁塔景观。

  • 一间会议室和一间小休闲区,适合小聚。

  • 方便到达主要火车站和旅游景点。

酒店参加 Planet 21 计划,积极推动酒店业可持续发展。

酒店及周边服务

从 14h00 办理登记入住手续

从 12h00 办理退房手续

付费服务

服务和实用信息
  • 网上办理入住手续
  • WIFI/互联网连接
  • 泊车 付费服务
  • 残疾人士的便利设施
  • 全禁烟宾馆
  • 使用空调
  • 机场巴士 付费服务
  • 酒店使用的语言
  • 接待处全天候开放
  • 提前入住/延迟退房 付费服务
  • 洗衣房
  • 礼品店/报亭
餐饮
  • 早餐 付费服务
  • 1 酒吧
  • 客房服务
商务服务
  • 1 会议室
  • 配有客服人员的商务中心
  • 提供复印/打印服务

酒店位置

巴黎意大利广场美居酒店

25 boulevard Auguste Blanqui
75013 巴黎
法国

电话: +33145808223

传真: (+33)1/45814584

从 14h00 办理登记入住手续

从 12h00 办理退房手续

  • GARE DE LYON-LAPLACE :  57 PLACE D'ITALIE

  • GARE DU NORD-KREMLIN BICETRE :  47 PLACE D'ITALIE

  • GARE ST LAZARE-PORTE D'IVRY :  83 PLACE D'ITALIE

  • CORVISART :  6 CORVISART

  • PLACE D'ITALIE :  5, 6 ou 7 PLACE D'ITALIE

  • AEROPORT CDG-AEROPORT ORLY :  RER B DENFERT

  • MARNE LA VALLEE-POISSY :  RER A GARE DE LYON

  • MASSY ARGENTEUIL :  RER C GARE AUSTERLITZ

  • 乘飞机

    PARIS ORLY 达到 15公里 / 9.38 英里 - 班车服务 付费

  • 乘飞机

    PARIS ROISSY CHARLES DE GAULLE 达到 30公里 / 18.64 英里 - 班车服务 付费

  • 乘汽车

    AUTOROUTE A1-A3 达到 10公里 / 6.25 英里

  • 乘汽车

    AUTOROUTE A4 达到 3公里 / 1.88 英里

  • 乘汽车

    AUTOROUTE A6 达到 2公里 / 1.24 英里

  • 乘火车

    PARIS AUSTERLITZ 达到 1公里 / 0.62 英里

  • 乘火车

    PARIS BERCY 达到 1公里 / 0.62 英里

  • 乘火车

    PARIS LYON 达到 3公里 / 1.86 英里

  • 乘火车

    PARIS MONTPARNASSE 1 ET 2 达到 2公里 / 1.24 英里

GPS :48.830305, 2.352828

我们的客房

我们提供各种房型供您选择:标准类型,带有高雅精致装饰的宽敞客房;高级类型,可欣赏埃菲尔铁塔和先贤祠,同时享受各种服务。

酒店餐厅和酒吧

BAR TENDANCE

快来和同事、朋友或家人分享一杯特别的饮料,在我们的小休闲区放松一下,享受宁静的社交时光。

非合约照片

  • 周一 -
  • 周二 -
  • 周三 -
  • 周四 -
  • 周五 -
  • 周六 -
  • 周日 -

您的会议和活动

我们的会议室

  • 会议室数量:1

  • 最大面积:60 平方米

  • 最大容量:25 个人

了解更多信息


巴黎意大利广场美居酒店 的客人评论

来自 100% 认证入住过我们酒店客人的评论

发现更多

ALL 评级 4.4/5

2,300 评论

TripAdvisor 评级 4.0/5

334 评论

2021 TripAdvisor 卓越认证
卓越奖 2021

Stay marred by administrative error

Tripadvisor 评级 4.0/5

Silvasan Business - 23/10/2019 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

I stayed one night and I booked on the Accor website as a Accor Club memeber. The booking was prepaid as it was at a rate that was only available if pre-paid. On checking out I was told that they had not received confirmation that I had paid. I showed my booking confirmation and pointed out that if I hadn't made a valid pre-payment the booking would not have been confirmed. However, I was asked to open my banking app to show that I had made the payment and the Receptionist took a mobile photo of the screen of my phone. I found all this frustrating and unnecessary, especially as I have been an Accor Club member for many years and this has never happened before. I am awaiting a response from Accor/Mercure.

Dear Silvasan, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hôtel Mercure Paris Place d'Italie. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Due to a technical problem with Accor internet payment plateform, we didn't receive the payment concerning your booking at time, even if you did it succesfully by your side. Unfortunately, our collegue at the reception couldn't know how to check this information and asked you to verify in your bank account first, to be sure to not have to ask you to pay twice. Your feedback is very important to us. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Best regards, Lidia LUPELLI - Deputy manager

满意

客户意见评级 4.0/5

Yy 商务住宿 - 25/06/2019 所有已确认评论

总得来说还不错,早饭的选择能更多些这就更好了。

Dear Mister Y., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hôtel Mercure Paris Place d'Italie. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Anna BIDOLI Hotel Manager

No Feel Welcome For Accor Member

Tripadvisor 评级 3.0/5

ayaross Couples - 23/04/2019 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

As a non-member guest, the breakfast should be improved comparing with other accor hotels in Europe. There a few choice for breakfast. As a platinum member of accor, nomarlly, we've the rights to ask for a late check-out. Actually, we asked for late check-out in the first time (in the day of check-in), the answer was "You should come back in the morning". The second time I came back for late check-out, The answer was "Late check-out at 5 PM costs at 60 Euro". Then I asked what about free of charge, the answer was 1.30 PM late check-out. Frankly, the accor hotels I've been stayed They were all no costs for late check-out. One more thing, we've got welcome drink voucher as member, then we redeemed it. The staff gave us one drink, even we're couple. Then, I asked for another, The staff told me everywhere in France giving only drink. Can anyone tell us? Is it true? We went to many countries, we've got 2 drinks everywhere!!! The staff face was really not welcome for us. One more thing, we've got welcome drink voucher as member, then we reedemed it. The staff gave us one drink, even we're couple. Then, I asked for another, The staff told me everywhere in France giving only one drink. Can anyone tell us? Is it true? We went to many countries, we've got 2 drinks everywhere!!! The staff face was really not welcome for us. On the other hand, the time we left, the staffs were really friendly 'n helpful. That's all about this hotel. Personally, I would say "No 2nd time to stay here"

一次愉悦的体验

客户意见评级 4.5/5

Marshall M. 情侣住宿 - 14/02/2019 所有已确认评论

舒适、干净、整洁,交通方便。

Monsieur M. Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire; I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comments with all the team here. We would be very grateful if you share on Tripadvisor your customer experience in our hotel on the following link : https://bit.ly/2lrs8gL We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Alison BENOIT
客户意见评级 3.0/5

阿. 情侣住宿 - 22/10/2018 所有已确认评论

酒店位置尚可,主要是需求没有定位精准!

Dear Mister L., Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hôtel Mercure Paris Place d'Italie. I am sorry that you did not appreciate your stay between us; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We try to provide a good service to all our guests, so your feedback is very important to us in order to improuve. We hope to restore your confidance during your next stay in Paris. Kind regards, Anna BIDOLI Hotel Manager

交通便捷,房間舒適,員工親切

客户意见评级 4.5/5

C. C. H. 家庭住宿 - 16/08/2018 所有已确认评论

這是本月第二次住宿此飯店。8月2日住了3天,在巴黎自助遊,之後參加了local tour去南法,反回巴黎時再續住一晚。櫃檯人員Ellison 居然還記得我們,也注意的我們上次的入住時房間的需求,做了貼心的安排。讓我們有賓至如歸的感覺。謝謝他的熱情服務。

Dear CHIEN H. C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are happy to read that our hotel met your expectations. We would be very grateful if you share on Tripadvisor your customer experience in our hotel on the following link : https://bit.ly/2lrs8gL We hope to see you soon, in Mercure Paris Place d'Italie. Best regards, Alison BENOIT

舒適

客户意见评级 4.5/5

Caroline 家庭住宿 - 06/08/2018 所有已确认评论

地點好,交通方便,櫃檯接待人員親切友善。

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire; I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comments with all the team here. We would be very grateful if you share on Tripadvisor your customer experience in our hotel on the following link : https://bit.ly/2lrs8gL We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Alison BENOIT

还不错

客户意见评级 4.0/5

Yuning L. 商务住宿 - 13/09/2017 所有已确认评论

总体还不错,房间有点小。但整洁干净 酒店门前有停车位很方便

Dear Yuning L. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are happy to read that our hotel met your expectations. Please, accept our apologizes about the wifi, we transfer your comment at the technician's team. We would be very grateful if you share on Tripadvisor your customer experience in our hotel on the following link : https://www.tripadvisor.fr/Hotel_Review-g187147-d197560-Reviews-Mercure_Paris_Place_d_Italie-Paris_Ile_de_France.html We hope to see you soon, in Mercure Paris Place d'Italie. Best regards, Alison Benoit

乾淨舒適地段極佳

客户意见评级 4.5/5

Cristoforo 家庭住宿 - 09/09/2017 所有已确认评论

每週二四日門口都有早市值得一逛

Dear TSUNG-HUA H., Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire; I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comments with all the team here. We would be very grateful if you share on Tripadvisor your customer experience in our hotel on the following link : https://www.tripadvisor.fr/Hotel_Review-g187147-d197560-Reviews-Mercure_Paris_Place_d_Italie-Paris_Ile_de_France.html We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Alison Benoit

Good hotel, good location, great room

Tripadvisor 评级 4.0/5

Kaatj_e1977 Couples - 08/09/2017 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

Stayed in the Privilige room with views of the city and Eiffel tower which I would really recommend (got a 30% discount though, normal rates are quite high). Hotel and room are very clean, breakfast was excellent (even at 9.50 am there was plenty of choice) and the bed was possibly the best we ever slept in at a hotel. Would stay here again!

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your beautiful review! We are really happy that you have appreciated your stay at the Mercure Paris Place d'Italie and our "Chambre Privilège" with the beautiful view on the Eiffel Tower that they have! We hope to welcome you very soon for your next stay in Paris. Kind regards, Anna BIDOLI Hotel Manager

Decent enough

Tripadvisor 评级 4.0/5

Dinglejohn Couples - 02/09/2017 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

Stayed here last weekend. Checked in online, so keycard was waiting for me. Privilege room small but clean. Same with bathroom. Great shower. Bed comfy, pillows just about ok. As a Accor gold member I was disappointed the welcome drink didn't extend to my wife. Stopped in countless hotels throughout the Accor group and this is the first time this has happened. Staff unhelpful when I bought this to there attention. The result being, instead of having a few drinks at the bar, we only had one in there all weekend and took our € elsewhere. Bar area itself very small and and not really welcoming. All in all a decent hotel.

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review about the Mercure Paris Place d'Italie. As a loyal member of Accorhotels, we were happy to upgrade you complimentary in one of our privilege room. We hope you enjoyed the confort and the facilities of this room. We are sorry about the welcome drink, the Accor policy says that we only give one welcome drink to the member of the card and not to the person who is coming with him. We only apply this policy and are surprised that some other Hotels do in different way. We hope to welcome you back for your next Paris trip Kind regards, Anna Bidoli Hotel Manager

a little disappointed at this 4 stars hotel

Tripadvisor 评级 3.0/5

upperfarm Couples - 02/04/2017 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

The location is excellent - very close to metro stops. The room is tiny, dark but clean. We were at the 2nd floor close to the stairs. We could hear people going ups and downs on the stairs, especially at night time. I think the hotel rated as 4 stars is a little misleading. It should be more like 3 stars or less.

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are happy that you could appreciate the location of the Mercure Paris Place d'Italie: near to the metro station Place d'Italie, you can reach directly all the important highlights of Paris. The hotel has been classified 4 stars by the French Tourism Ministery and the size of the rooms meets the standards required for Paris. For your next stay, we suggest you to book a privilege room, which is bigger and brighter and, they are located on the top floor, you can also enjoy a mervellous view of Paris and the Eiffel Tower. We hope to welcome you very soon, Kind regards, Anna BIDOLI Hotel Manager

It's OK.

Tripadvisor 评级 3.0/5

KukanaKid Business - 24/03/2017 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

I initially booked 2 nights but was not really impressed with the quality of the room. Compared to other Mercure properties, I felt that this was a little bit dated and it was not my most favorite part of town. I had a coworker staying in near the Pantheon and decided to book my second night at their hotel.

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review. We are sorry to read that you had shortened your stay at the Mercure Paris Place d'Italie, because you didn't appreciate the room. Our hôtels has been recently renoveted and we propose three room's styles. For your next stay, don't hesitate to ask for a contemporary room: we are sure that you will enjoy your stay! Hope to welcome you very soon, Kind regards, Anna BIDOLI Hotel Manager
客户意见评级 5.0/5

匿名 家庭住宿 - 22/01/2017 所有已确认评论

帮客户订的房间,客户很满意。

Quick 1 Night in Paris

Tripadvisor 评级 5.0/5

Deneen c Friends getaway - 08/12/2016 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

The hotel was conveniently located. The check in was easy and room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean. The beds were comfy. We awoke to a lovely farmer's market on Sunday morning outside the hotel. There were lots of different stalls selling cheese, produce, meats, bread, seafood, lots of neat things.

Dear Guest, What a pleasure to read your comment: thank you very much! We are really happy that you could appreciate our renovated rooms, our cosy beds and the cleaness of the hotel, and also the local market in front of us. We do our maximum to make our clients the most comfortable in their room and the location of our Hotel is a great source of hidden treasure ! We are looking forward to hosting you again, Best Regards, Anna BIDOLI Hotel Manager
客户意见评级 4.0/5

匿名 商务住宿 - 03/11/2016 所有已确认评论

酒店比较整洁,安静,但房间偏小。

Overnight Stay

Tripadvisor 评级 4.0/5

yuanfuat_chin Business - 24/02/2016 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

The advertised availability of airport shuttle at the website of this hotel is incorrect. Imagine my disappointment when the reception told me this service is actually not available. This is one of the main reason I choose booked this hotel online. I am surprised this information is not updated given Mercure is a reputable hotel.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. We are very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced relating to the Airport Shuttle. Indeed, the hotel does provide Shuttle Service, but it is by an external Company and it should be booked in advance, according to their availability. On our website, you can see that this service is paying. We regret the incident left you with an unfavorable impression of the Hotel and hope to have a future opportunity to regain your confidence. Please be assured that our guests’ satisfaction is our priority. Sincerely, Anna BIDOLI

Nice hotel with rude staff

Tripadvisor 评级 3.0/5

Gabbe82 Couples - 24/02/2016 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

We had made a booking for 2 people. When the confirmation arrived the booking was for only one person so we called the hotel and sorted everything out and they confirmed that the booking was for two and that breakfast was included. Upon arrival they however demanded that we paid for one more breakfast and for one more person's city tax even though this should have been included. Upon showing them their written confirmation and being handled rudley we didn't have to pay for the second breakfast. We could however hear the woman in charge shouting from the office in the back of the reception that we were tricking the hotel and that we only deserved one breakfast that we could share. We were not supposed to understand this since it was said in french to the man helping us. Very unprofessional behavior. Other than that a nice hotel with nice rooms. The AC did not work very well. Wifi was good. Location is in a nice area with a mall close by and a cozy french market just outside the door. Takes a while on the tube to reach main destinations.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Mercure Paris Place d’Italie. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. When you called the hotel, you were said there was no problem to modify the booking because all our rooms are suitable for 2 persons. However, the receptionist didn’t mention that there was a supplement to pay. We regret that you were misinformed and apologize for the inconvenience. I think that there was a linguistic misunderstanding. I never said that you had to share a breakfast, but that in a package B&B, there is a supplement of half price for the 2nd breakfast. And it’s what I was checking in our system and saying to the receptionist. After that, I came personally to explain that to you. However, we tried to do our best to handle this situation, and we hoped that we were satisfied with the solution. Anyway we are happy to know that you have appreciated your room and the hotel’s location. Indeed, the neighborhood is quite calm but has a lot of shopping facilities and restaurants, and it is very well served by public transportation. We hope to have you as a return guest soon, and are confident your next experience will be more in keeping with your expectations. Sincerely, Anna BIDOLI

我们最新的 20 评论

合作伙伴包含 TripAdvisor

我们位于周边的其他酒店

我们位于 巴黎 的所有酒店