伦敦北部沃特福德亨顿公园美居酒店 4 星

客户意见评级 3.5/5 1,042 评论

安心悦界(ALLSAFE)认可酒店

预订此酒店
1

保证最优惠房价

怎么运行的?
+ 9 服务

酒店其他优惠

  • Six function rooms for up to 700 people, ideal for events

  • In-house bar & restaurant serving authentic local dishes

  • 22 acres of landscaped gardens and woodlands

  • Complimentary parking with 350 spaces on-site

  • Feeling stressed? Relax and have a swim in our indoor heated swimming pool.

酒店及周边服务

从 14h00 办理登记入住手续

从 12h00 办理退房手续

付费服务

服务和实用信息
  • 网上办理入住手续
  • WIFI/互联网连接
  • 泊车
  • 残疾人士的便利设施
  • 全禁烟宾馆
  • 使用空调
  • 接待处全天候开放
  • 干洗/熨烫 付费服务
  • 行李员
休闲和活动
  • 游泳池
餐饮
  • 早餐 付费服务
  • 1 餐厅
  • 1 酒吧
  • 客房服务
商务服务
  • 7 会议室
  • 提供复印/打印服务

酒店位置

伦敦北部沃特福德亨顿公园美居酒店

Essex Lane
WD4 8PN 沃特福德
英国

电话: +441923277700

传真: (+44)1923/224808

从 14h00 办理登记入住手续

从 12h00 办理退房手续

  • MULLANYS BUSES :  318

  • 乘飞机

    LONDON HEATHROW 达到 31.22公里 / 19.4 英里

  • 乘飞机

    LONDON HEATHROW 达到 31.22公里 / 19.4 英里

  • 乘火车

    WATFORD JUNCTION 达到 6.76公里 / 4.2 英里

GPS :51.693192, -0.425027

我们的客房

现代风格的双卧室房,带套间浴室,可收看 Freeview 频道的电视、吹风机、电话、熨斗和熨衣板、茶和咖啡器具、免费停车位和免费无线网络 - 可供 2 位成人入住

酒店餐厅和酒吧

COURTYARD RESTAURANT

No matter what the occasion, The Courtyard Restaurant at Hunton Park, Hertfordshire is the ideal gathering spot.

非合约照片

THE BAR

酒吧坐享休闲氛围,您可在结束繁忙的一天后,叫上朋友和家人,来此品尝饮料

非合约照片

您的会议和活动

我们的会议室

  • 会议室数量:7

  • 最大面积:800 平方米

  • 最大容量:700 个人

  • 最大宴会容量:500 个人

了解更多信息


伦敦北部沃特福德亨顿公园美居酒店 的客人评论

来自 100% 认证入住过我们酒店客人的评论

发现更多

ALL 评级 3.5/5

1,042 评论

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor 评级 3.5/5

1,202 评论

Dont book

Tripadvisor 评级 1.0/5

Peter G 20/07/2021 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

We were due to stay for a birthday but the event was cancelled. We still intended to stay and contacted the hotel for a food menu, never bothered getting back to us so we cancelled. Had too wait nearly a month for the refund. Hotel didnt take calls and 3 calls to customer services whonwerent that helpful. Hotel then claimed not to have bank details for refund. Now they ask for a review of my stay when we cancelled drinks of incompetence.

A great stay again for my Harry Potter trip.

Tripadvisor 评级 5.0/5

candida284 12/12/2020 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

This time I travelled by myself and went to Harry Potter. I was pleased to note that there are more staff at reception and they are very easy to locate if needed. I had a room upgrade which was a wonderful suprise. My one night stay was great and my room was clean,warm and comfortable. We had to wait in a cold corridor before we could be seated in the dining room for breakfast as there were no staff present. Another guest went to reception to inform them of this and then the waitress appeared from the kitchen and seated us. I still miss the bufffet breakfast, but I didnt have to wait too long for my breakfast to arrive. I enjoy walking around the grounds of the hotel and a great hotel to stay for visitng Harry Potter.

Many thanks for your fantastic review. I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed such a great stay. We do hope to be able to return to a full buffet breakfast offering in the New Year once restrictions are lifted but I am pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy all of the usual full English options plated from the kitchen and that this was delivered promptly. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hunton Park very soon. Best Regards, Ian

A lovely stay after being in lockdown in South Wales.

Tripadvisor 评级 5.0/5

candida284 12/08/2020 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

We booked to visit Harry Potter and to celebrate my granddaughters 11th birthday. Sadly H/P was closed, we still came up for the break as we really enjoy the hotel and grounds.The hotel was well stocked with masks and hand sanitizer. Two negative points, It was hard to find the staff, I had to stop some men in the corridor to ask if they were staff, as the bar area lacked staff plus reception staff were sometimes non existent.. The food served in the bar area was excellent and huge portions and service was prompt and well presented and very tasty. The breakfast wasnt the same, no buffet, very poor choice on the menu, this was a shame, we loved the old buffet breakfast., which always had an amazing choice. But otherwise a lovely stay, lovely room, we had the pool to ourselves. All staff were very helpful and very polite at all times. We are now back on 29/30th as Harry Potter reopens and we look forward to our hotel return. Plus I was unlucky in my request for one of our two favourite rooms, I think we have been coming to the hotel either from 2013 or 2014.

Many thanks for your review and thank you for being a loyal advocate of Hunton Park for such a long time! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and our beautiful ground so much. I do apologise that you found it hard to find staff during your stay. In the current situation we have had to adapt our breakfast service from a buffet to a plated service and this has seen us revert to individually wrapped continental items with all of the usual offer for a cooked breakfast. We will certainly continue to review our offer as the situation evolves and would hope to be able to reinstate a buffet breakfast at some point in the future. Thank you for your comments in regards to the team, it will be a pleasure to share this with them. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Ian

Good service but poor room

Tripadvisor 评级 2.0/5

Alan b Business - 10/07/2020 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

Stayed after only two days of reopening. Quite eery as I didn't see another guest. Service excellent given the circumstances however I have been overcharged and cannot get a response from the hotel. The room was good however the mattress on the bed was shocking. You could feel the wooden slats of the base. Sad as it let down the room which was not cheap.

Not as good as last year

Tripadvisor 评级 3.0/5

DKingCool 19/02/2020 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

You can always tell how good a hotel really is when you get there to find you are sharing the hotel with a large wedding party. This happened on or visit. We did not have a problem with the noise (don't mind people enjoying themselves). However, the overall service was not as good as our previous visit (exactly a year before). One example - We asked in the afternoon for a taxi to be booked for 7pm. When no taxi arrived the girl on reception she then booked again which made us late for our reservation - she made up a story about the lines from the taxi rank to the taxi's being down. When we questioned the taxi driver he said this was nonsense and they had not received our booking.

Lacking

Tripadvisor 评级 2.0/5

I7410AZsteve 05/02/2020 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

The staff were very hard working and attentive against the odds.Bad management and lack of training and generally lack of staff was obvious .The room had no heating .we were moved to a larger room to house the 3rd bed we had booked as the room wasn’t big enough also with no heating and told the next night we would have to move back to the small room which we refused to do.i had to dry the family when we went swimming under the changing room hair dryer because the towels we were promised didn’t arrive. Reception didnt answer the phone because they were constantly being used elsewhere in the hotel covering multiple roles which was unfair for them. Great food great staff serious management issues .

Warner Bros visit

Tripadvisor 评级 5.0/5

Colin O 26/01/2020 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

Excellent position only a couple of miles from the Harry Potter studio tour. Driving was around 2 miles but you could walk it, about 1.5miles along a footpath according to the map. Did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on their food. Twin room and bathroom were both clean and tidy with tea and coffee making facilities.

nice people...shame about the cleanliness

Tripadvisor 评级 4.0/5

MRussell52 22/01/2020 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

Great people - however the level of attention to detail was not good we arrived in our room to find tobacco on the window sill, part of an opened sandwich in the fridge! and the towel rail in the bathroom did not work - we asked for a Manager to come to the room - she was not great! however cleaned the room and took the sandwich BUT then told us that the towel rail was on a timer and would come on later in the day - It did not and subsequently when we looked it had not been working because the wire had been cut so it will never work until that is fixed!

Xmas Stay

Tripadvisor 评级 3.0/5

petercN801RW Couples - 29/12/2019 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

Checked in online requested ground floor room. Car park is the opposite side of hotel to reception. Collected our key walked back to other side of hotel near the car park to find room allocated was up 3 small flights of stairs. Walked back to reception Alex was very helpful and changed our room to 1a Back to other side of hotel again to ground floor room entered opened wardrobe door and it came of its hinges. Phoned reception and maintenance man came and put it back on. Room was very small with only a few inches between the bed and the wall and the desk and chair at the foot of bed. Having mobility issues this could have been dangerous. Back to reception again and we were given a larger room nearer to the entrance and car park. Alex at reception was extremely helpful and gave us a voucher for a welcome drink for our inconvenience. However all rooms we saw are tired and in need of TLC.

Dear petercN801RW Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I apologise about the inconvenience experienced during your time at the hotel but thank you for recognising Alex for the way that he dealt with the situation. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. All the best Rob

Disinterested Staff Chaotic Checkin, Poor Standard of Room Very Noisy

Tripadvisor 评级 1.0/5

notreadytogo Couples - 07/12/2019 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

Arrived to chaos at checkin, had checked in online, but site demanded I check in again and pay again despite showing them payment online so had to reclaim a double payment, Room did not match description was dirty and noisy, Generally a nasty place to stay,

Dear notreadytogo, Than you for your review on your recent stay at the hotel. I am disappointed to see that your time with us was to to level that you or I would expect for you to have. Your comments have been discussed with the team and I apologise that this occurred for you. I do hope that we would be able to restore your faith in us in the future. All the best, Rob

A Step Back In Time...But A Beautiful and Modern Hotel

Tripadvisor 评级 5.0/5

Jill4499 Couples - 11/10/2019 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

A step back in time, but a beautiful modern hotel....everything about this hotel is upmarket...the staff are wonderful and the General Manager takes the time out of his busy day to make sure you are comfortable and enjoying yourself. Thank you very much for making our stay so memorable. Our room was quiet and relaxing...the bed was very comfortable and the pillows gave us a good nights sleep. Breakfast was delicious. I highly recommend a stay at the Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel

Dear Jill, It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Alex

Horrible experience.

Tripadvisor 评级 1.0/5

lisadilbone Family - 27/08/2019 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

Our daughter chose this hotel for her wedding venue. The receptions manager, Jessica, made this the worst hotel experience we have ever had in over 32 years of travel. She was very unprofessional and unfriendly. We had to change rooms 3 times in the first 18 hours due to being assigned the wrong size room initially. We rented the largest room they offer which is a superior double in the barn block which is said to accommodate a family of 3 and offers upgrades over the classic room. We were first checked into a room with a double bed. Obviously not a room to hold 2 adults and a child. There was no floor space for a roll away. We were then moved to a second room with space to add a roll away. The next morning Jessica told us the room we were changed to was available for our entire 4 night stay so we were fine to unpack. Two hours later, after unpacking, Jessica stopped us outside to tell us our room was promised to someone else and we would have to pack again and they would move our luggage to a third room. When we arrived back at the hotel the new room had not been assigned and luggage had not been moved as Jessica stated it would be. We spoke with Jessica again and was assigned a room and left to move everything to the third room ourselves. Not once did she offer an apology, let alone any type of credit, for all the inconvenience of moving rooms 3 times. Our oldest daughter arrived later in the day with her family of 3 to check in for the same type room we booked for ourselves. Jessica assigned her to a room in the economy block of the hotel and tried to pass it off for the superior barn block which we paid $40 more per night for her to have. Only when we saw her room and asked for the manager was it acknowledged as an incorrect room and changed to the upgraded superior room we paid for. Tom, the hotel manager was of assistance and moved our daughter to the correct room we paid for. However, the correct room should have been assigned upon check in and not only when we asked for it. We had the absolute worst experience with Jessica and her unprofessional, dishonest and unapologetic attitude. The families of both sides of bride and groom had numerous issues with checking in. Jessica required one of the families who rented three rooms, to pay for each room on a different credit card. None of us had ever heard of this policy before. The hotel itself is very economically equipped with small rooms and poor carpeting throughout the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hunton Park Hotel I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please note that this problem was a true exception to our normal practices. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem. All our efforts are concentrated in preventing future occurrences. I would like to reiterate our commitment to high quality standards, and I personally would like to make sure you will experience it during your next stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Hunton Park. Please do not hesitate to contact me during your next visit. Sincerely, Mercure Hunton Park

Average

Tripadvisor 评级 3.0/5

Stephen E Business - 12/08/2019 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

Problem when checking in, even though I had checked in on-line. This made no difference to the process as a colleague who had not used the online service did not have slower process than I did. We both took nearly 20 minutes to login. Problem checking out could not print the invoice & said they would send onto me. They did not I had to phone up the next day & request this. As a platinum member I am supposed to get a room upgrade if there was capacity, I did not & the hotel was far from full?

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mercure Hunton Park

Overnight Stay

Tripadvisor 评级 4.0/5

Elizabeth B Couples - 30/07/2019 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

We had visited the Game Fair at Hatfield House and chose this hotel as it was nearby. Our room was comfortable and quiet and overlooked beautiful parkland. The only disappointment was the dinner menu which was really basic.

Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Mercure Hunton Park

Beautiful Hotel

Tripadvisor 评级 4.0/5

Behuja Family - 25/06/2019 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

Nice hotel in a wonderful park, very close to the Harry Potter studios,staff extremely friendly,beautiful rooms . Breakfast was disappointing. Loveless bar with a nice snacks.But nevertheless we really enjoyed our stay

Dear Behuja, Thank you kindly for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Hunton Park. I will be sure to share your feedback with my team, especially my F&B Manager to ensure your experiences are not a reoccurrence. Once again thank you for your feedback Kind regards Leigh

Another magical stay.

Tripadvisor 评级 5.0/5

candida284 Family - 05/06/2019 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

My granddaughter and I have stayed at Hunton Park Hotel for the past 5 years and are never disappointed. We always stay in the Superior Barn Block and have the same room on each stay.The staff are very friendly and helpful, the food at the breakfast buffet and at the Bar is very good,cleanliness and comfort of the room enhance our top quality sleep,great atmosphere of the hotel and the grounds are fabulous for children to play in,the location to Harry Potter studio are excellent. This is our No.1 hotel to stay. There is a play park just next to the hotel which my granddaughter enjoys as well, plus the small swimming pool within the hotel is very enjoyable and we make the most of each stay.

Dear Candida284, Thank you for leaving such kind comments regarding your stay with us. I am pleased to read that we are making your stay magical each and every time you visit. I will be sure to share this with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Leigh

Probably the Worst Mecure in Britan

Tripadvisor 评级 1.0/5

Trail38396927763 Business - 22/04/2019 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

Hole in the bedroom Cieling Hole in the back of the bathroom door. 20 mins to check in after i checked in on line. Dinner served with chips that were still frozen in the middle At check out printer didnot work so no bill and was told by receptionist I would of been better off chosing a hotel down the road. If only she had told me before i checked in !!!!!

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hunton Park Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Please note that this problem was a true exception to our normal practices. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem. All our efforts are concentrated in preventing future occurrences. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mercure Hunton Park

Gorgeous hotel

Tripadvisor 评级 5.0/5

Paula P Family - 18/04/2019 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

Stayed here recently with my 9 year old son as we were visiting the Warner bros Harry Potter tour. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The drive up to the hotel is grand with a gravelled entrance to the hotel reception which has an amazing chandelier and is full of period features. The lady on reception was so welcoming and helpful. My son was given an Easter egg too. Our room was situated a walk down the corridor, past the bar and restaurant in the barn block. The room was spacious and immaculately clean, the cleaner even left a card letting us know what the weather would be like. The room was spacious enough for two people. A wardrobe is provided with iron and ironing board and tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was large with a walk in shower, bowl basin and marble tops. Gorgeous. The shower was so powerful and after a day walking around London it felt like I was having a gentle massage on my back. The restaurant is small but the menu is well priced and the food is very good. You also have the option to eat in the bar area which has a mezzanine area to sit in should you wish. The bar and restaurant staff were all lovely, young, friendly and professional throughout. Breakfast is nice. Although would be good to see more choice, as in vegetarian options. More fruit choice would be good too. I have to say the hotel is absolutely gorgeous, with little areas where you can relax on a chesterfield sofas and the gardens its set in are beautiful. A trip to London is only 20 minutes away on the train from King's Langley Station. With a railcard it cost us £18 return for a day trip to London and this ticket could be used on the tube too. A single ticket, with a railcard, cost us £11. Train goes to Euston and has a couple of stops on the way. Watford Junction is on the way with an big shopping centre. Euston Station is a few minutes walk away from all the sites in London. My only niggle with this hotel is the pool area is very run down and could do with a refurb. The hotel is so beautiful so I was a bit taken aback at the pool area. The pool itself is lovely but the walls and floors need a good overhaul. Would be nice to have a jacuzzi in there instead of the plant area they have. It just spoils such a gorgeous hotel. So we only went once. Also it is only open at certain times to guests and not at all in a Tuesday. Seems such a pity. The changing rooms could also do with a overhaul. But this aside this is a beautiful hotel and the staff are amazing

Dear Paula, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hunton Park Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Alex

Deceiving

Tripadvisor 评级 3.0/5

cadmore Family - 23/02/2019 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

If you think you’re booking this beautiful big. Ountry manor hotel, you’re very wrong! There are no rooms in the big house. The small rooms are all in a block next to the house. The rooms have no baths, only showers. I showed my daughter a picture of the hotel before we arrived, to say she was disappointed when she saw the block of rooms was an understatement.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hunton Park Hotel I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please note that this problem was a true exception to our normal practices. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem. All our efforts are concentrated in preventing future occurrences. I would like to reiterate our commitment to high quality standards, and I personally would like to make sure you will experience it during your next stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Hunton Park. Please do not hesitate to contact me during your next visit. Sincerely, Mercure Hunton Park

A Bitter Disappointment!

Tripadvisor 评级 2.0/5

BillyAsh Couples - 19/02/2019 经 TripAdvisor 认证的评论

I have never stayed in a Mercure Hotel so was looking forward to the experience. The pre-visit information all certainly indicated that to the fact that it was going to be a wonderful stay. Sadly this was not the case. I note with interest that the post visit email states 'Your Satisfaction is our Priority' - Lets hope so. On arrival I was greeted with advice that the hotel WIFI and therefore the accounting system was not working which meant that drinks, meals and any other extras would need to be signed for. I was very disappointed that the WIFI was not available for the duration of my stay but suppose as it is advertised as being 'Free' rather than included in the cost of the room the fact that it did not work for the duration is not considered a failure of service. There was a welcoming, modern bar laid out over several floors. Sadly the service in the bar did not encourage it's use. On 5 of my 6 visits to the bar there was only one occasion where I did not have to go hunting staff. This usually ended in a trip to reception who almost disbelievingly either said 'is there no one there?' (yes of course there is I just fancied a walk to reception!) or 'There should be someone there' (Well, I didn't think it was self service!). Reception then went on a game of 'hunt the bar tender'. A pager might have been handy but I presume with the nationwide WIFI outage it probably would not have worked! Breakfast left a lot to be desired. The food, which clearly had been standing on the hotplate for some time, was at the best, unsightly, at the worst inedible. Baked beans had a thick skin over them, scrambled egg was completely dried out around the edges, fried eggs rubbery and bacon like leather. This was not helped by the fact that the Tea and coffee facilities were not working (WIFI Again?) although, in fairness, staff were available to supply hot drinks. But the worst part of the breakfast experience, by far, was the state of the servery. There was dropped food and crumbs all across the top of the servery and 'Dead' pieces of toast surrounded the toaster. Even though staff came in several times to clear tables and potter around they seemed oblivious to the state of the servery. I do note that a payment has been taken from my account without the promised invoice being sent for me to verify. My opinion this hotel is so focussed on it's use as a conference/training/wedding venue it has forgotten about it's hotel customers and the service they are entitled to expect.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hunton Park Hotel I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please note that this problem was a true exception to our normal practices. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem. All our efforts are concentrated in preventing future occurrences. I would like to reiterate our commitment to high quality standards, and I personally would like to make sure you will experience it during your next stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Hunton Park. Please do not hesitate to contact me during your next visit. Sincerely, Mercure Hunton Park

我们最新的 20 评论

合作伙伴包含 TripAdvisor

我们位于周边的其他酒店

我们位于 沃特福德 的所有酒店