The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel 5 stars

Customer review rating 4.4/5 3,704 reviews
The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel
See on a map
+ 19 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

Ultra-luxury hotel on Central Park, featured in over 30 Hollywood films. All suites include 24-hour butler service. The Palm Court, Champagne Bar, Rose Club, Todd English Food Hall, and The Plaza Food Hall offer more than 20 food and beverage options.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet AccessPaying
  • Parking
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • Outdoor playground for children (Nearby)Paying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
Catering
  • 3 restaurant(s)
  • 2 bar(s)
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
  • Massage
  • Outdoor playground for children (Nearby)
  • Golf (Nearby)
  • Tennis (Nearby)
  • Private beach (Nearby)
  • Other sports activities
  • Snow Skiing
Business services
  • 19 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
Information message

During these uncertain times, safety of guests & employees is our top priority. In support of the global effort to halt the spread of COVID-19, we will temporarily close our doors, effective March 27. We'll be back soon! Be safe & take care.

Hotel location

The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel

5th Avenue at Central Park South
10019
new york
united states

Tel: +1212 7593000

Fax: (+1)212 7593001

Contact email

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    JOHN F KENNEDY INTL AIRPORT At 32.19km / 20 miles

  • By plane

    LA GUARDIA AIRPORT  At 20.92km / 13 miles

  • By plane

    NEWARK LIBERTY INTL AIRPORT At 35.41km / 22 miles

GPS :40.764268, -73.974155

Our accommodations

The refined elegance of each spacious guest room and suite is inspired by the Louis XV style of French decor- White Glove Butler service is offered to all Suite guests- In room Ipad connects each guest with a vast array of services-. Rooms offer wireless high-speed internet access - flat screen TV - bathroom with beautiful mosaic tiles - writing desk and chair - sitting area - mini bar - iron and ironing board

Plaza King

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 44
  • Bathrobe

Deluxe King

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 51
  • Bathrobe

Deluxe 2 Queens

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 55
  • Bathrobe

Terrace Room King

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 51
  • Bathrobe

Deluxe King Accessible

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 51
  • Bathrobe

Family Grand Luxe 2 Queens

  • Max. number of persons: 6
  • Area: From 68
  • Bathrobe

Tower Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 51
  • Bathrobe

Edwardian 1 BR Suite King

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 93
  • Bathrobe

Carnegie Partial Park Vw 1BR Ste

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 93
  • Bathrobe

Penthouse 1BR Suite King

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 139
  • Bathrobe

Vanderbilt Fifth Ave 2 BR Suite

  • Max. number of persons: 6
  • Area: From 139
  • Bathrobe

Grand Luxe King Room

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 58
  • Bathrobe

Grand Luxe King Room ADA

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 68
  • Bathrobe

Junior Suite King

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 68
  • Bathrobe

Pulitzer Fifth Ave 1BR Suite King

  • Max. number of persons: 8
  • Area: From 93
  • Bathrobe

Pulitzer Fifth Ave 1 BR Suite ADA

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 93
  • Bathrobe

Eloise 1 BR Suite

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 58
  • Bathrobe

Fitzgerald Suite King

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 65
  • Bathrobe

Grand Penthouse 2 BR Terrace Suite

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 232
  • Bathrobe

Royal Suite 3 BR

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 409
  • Bathrobe

Our restaurants and bars

THE PALM COURT

Type of cuisine: Cafe

For over 100 years, The Palm Court has been New York City's iconic destination for Afternoon Tea. The Palm Court is a timelessly elegant setting for breakfast, afternoon tea, evening fare and crafted cocktails.

THE PLAZA FOOD HALL

Type of cuisine: Regional

The Plaza Food Hall offers a collection of fine food purveyors, as well as counter-style dining options. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Shops include Epicerie Boulud, Payard Patisserie, Vin sur Vingt, Luke's Lobster and many more.

THE TODD ENGLISH FOOD HALL

Type of cuisine: Regional

The Todd English Food Hall is inspired by classic European food halls and offers a wide variety of cuisines, from seafood to pastas to American favorites.

THE CHAMPAGNE BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

The seamless fusion of traditional and modern and a passion for uncompromising service make the new Champagne Bar an experience that is indulgent and truly unforgettable.

ROSE CLUB

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

The Rose Club, embodying the grandeur of The Plaza with a splash of contemporary style and spirit, overlooks the stunning hotel lobby. The menu features an array of signature and classic cocktails, wines, champagnes, and a select epicurean menu.

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 19

  • Maximum size: 446

  • Maximum capacity: 500 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 500 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.4/5

3,704 reviews

A great get-away

Customer review rating 4.4/5

John I. H. Families - 21/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

two minor hiccups: the heating in the main suite was not working, and the first repair person sent to fix the issue was rude and did not fix the problem. It was the second repair person the following morning who was able to fix the problem. Second (and VERY minor) hiccup: misunderstanding that when I asked for the butler to bring coke zero and lemons, the room service was sent instead - I thought room service was the butler, and asked where the coke zero was.. end result was that room service AND the butler BOTH brought the coke zeros (and I was charged for both). No big deal, as we ended up drinking them anyway, but the misunderstanding could have been avoided with a little better explanation... These hiccups notwithstanding, the rooms were spacious, comfortable, clean. The butler service was terrific. In fact, besides the one repair person, all the other Plaza employees that we encountered were pleasant and helpful, most going out of their way to see to our comfort. The room service menu, service and food were very good. The one issue I had (a lobster tail forgotten from my salad) was immediately remedied. We had occasion to go to the lounge area near the concierge desk, and our experience there was wonderful... excellent appetizers, beverages, and service. I also visited the gift shop, and that too was a great experience. Very helpful staff there. The concierge staff was pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable in my dealings with them.

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Families - 14/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is beautiful. Check in was great.

Perfect stay.

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Leo Couples - 13/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Our stay at the Plaza Hotel was amazing. It was a home away from home.

Dear Dr. S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Michael Weinstein Assistant Director of Front Office

F. Scott Fitzgerald Suite

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Cidney G. Couples - 11/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

One night only without the kids for a change. We took this opportunity to try the F Scott Fitzgerald suite that we had always wanted to experience. Because it is just easier with the children, we usually stay in the van about sweet. But there are so many other wonderful sweets we’d love to try in the hotel. So this was our chance. The room seemed very worn and tired. It was not what we expected. There was a huge fresh red wine spill on the rug in the sitting area in the middle of the room. Also one of the light fixtures in the bathroom was broken half off. Overall things just felt a little more “worn” than we’re used to from the hotel. We did notify housekeeping about the stain on the rug, and they clearly tried to steam clean while we were out at a show. It helped a little and we appreciated the effort. We absolutely love the idea and the specialness of the room, but think it’s possibly time for a refresh.

Nice

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Eileen K. Families - 11/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was my daughter’s bday celebration and I mentioned that when booking, expecting there to be an arrangement or special treat of some kind upon ENTERING our room but it appeared after the fact...only when I mentioned it to our bellhop...a bit of a let down, to be honest.

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.4/5

As… Families - 10/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

This is our second time staying in the Plaza! What a wonderful hotel.

Dear Mrs. F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we wish that your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous two! Sincerely, Michael Weinstein Assistant Director of Front Office

Worst Hotel Stay Ever

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Heather F. Business - 10/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We chose to stay at the Plaza versus the other hotels we are normally stay at in the city for this visit. When I come to the city I am usually in meetings from very early in the morning till early evening. I return to my hotel after grabbing dinner, prepared to sleep, only to find out that the Plaza Hotel has rented the penthouse next to mine for a party. So instead of going to sleep there is club music and lots of loud women in my ear. When I call the front desk I am told that they apologize but there is nothing they can do as the PR team rented the room without their knowledge and I’ll just have to deal with for another hour or so. They offered me a $300 credit for the inconvenience. I have never been so abhorrently treated at a what is supposed to be a luxury hotel in my entire life. $300 is slap in the face compared to the sleep I am currently without. I just wanted management to be aware of the horrible choices your staff are making that are costing you high paying customers. I will never again stay in one of your properties if this is how business is conducted.

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.4/5

B. Business - 08/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Love the area.

Dear Mrs. B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Michael Weinstein Assistant Director of Front Office
Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Couples - 08/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent dervice

Dear Dr. R., We very much appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share your rating with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Michael Weinstein Assistant Director of Front Office

Perfect Location

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Couples - 07/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff was friendly and polite. With classic interior and luxury, I felt I was at the heart of nyc.

Dear Mr. L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Michael Weinstein Assistant Director of Front Office

Beautiful Break

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Wendy A. Solo - 06/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Just one disappointment - Computer system went down and I was unable to order Room Service for Breakfast. I think Guests should have been advised of the problem with a note slipped under the door as I wasted so much time trying to get through to Room Service which continually answered with a message asking me to hold as they were dealing with other guests. I finally got dressed and went to the restaurant for breakfast only to find out there was only a small buffet available - most of it wasn’t suitable for my vegetarian diet and because it was a set price, it was very expensive for just fruit and yoghurt and coffee which is all I ate.

Good hard product, atrocious service.

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Michael C. Friends - 06/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We really enjoyed the facility itself. The room was comfortable and well appointed. However, the customer service we received was atrocious and far below what we've come to expect from Fairmont properties. Despite being suite guests we were never once acknowledged or introduced to our butler, the room service was terrible and fouled up or delayed every order we made. What was most inexcusable was a staff members knock on our door at 1 a.m. trying to remedy a mistake in room service solely the fault of the hotel. It was simply unacceptable.

Wonderful Hotel

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Michele Couples - 06/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The Plaza Fairmont was wonderful. Location was great, staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel has exquisite charmed and extremely clean. Thank you for the great experience

Dear Mrs. P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Michael Weinstein Assistant Director of Front Office

Great Service

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Tina F. Solo - 06/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Everyone, From Kevin who greets you with a smile, to Rapha at concierge is so helpful and accommodating. I always enjoy my stay. Look forward to my next visit!

Dear Ms. F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Kevin and Rapha are gems and I will share your comments with our team to ensure they are recognized. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Michael Weinstein Assistant Director of Front Office

Amazing as always

Customer review rating 4.4/5

John M. Families - 05/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

There is no other place we stay in NYC and we try to visit about 10-15 nights per year.

Dear Mr. M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Michael Weinstein Assistant Director of Front Office
Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Families - 01/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

My only problem was my inability to book on the Fairmont website. I was directed to call the ACCOR reservation center.

Dear Mr. K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, although we sincerely apologize for the difficulty booking on our website. We believe this was due to a one-time system upgrade that took place within the window you attempted to book online. I will share your comments with our team and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Michael Weinstein Assistant Director of Front Office

Always have a good time at the Plaza.

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Michelle C. Families - 31/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I come to the Plaza at least once each year on my birthday. Recently I've been staying with my adult granddaughter in a Carnegie Suite. I always give her the bedroom as I want her to have that experience. Unfortunately, I have found the convertible sofa to be impossible for sleeping. I've slept on other convertibles successfully, but either the condition (old) or general quality of the ones in the suites are really bad. I did get a rollaway on the 2nd night and that worked out, but I think these should be complimentary or something should be done about the convertible. If you are going to provide them, they should be usable. Having said this, the Plaza is my favorite place in NYC to go to stay or get a drink or a quick meal. I have been a New Yorker all my life and I have a particular affection for the property - I hate to see any attention to detail overlooked. Thanks for the opportunity to give my input.

Dear Ms. C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, and I understand your concerns regarding the sofa beds. Your feedback has been shared with the appropriate teams for internal follow-up so that we may evaluate any opportunity for improvement. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Michael Weinstein Assistant Director of Front Office

Good stay!

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Rajiv K. Families - 31/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was A great experience. The service was great. The food was excellent. We celebrated our anniversary here. Hotel is located right next to central park.

Dear Mr. K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Michael Weinstein Assistant Director of Front Office

DIANA D T. VP

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Families - 30/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

VERY NICE ROOM AND ACCOMODATIONS WE DID FEEL THAT HOUSEKEEPING COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER DISAPPOINTED THAT YOUR DOWNSTAIRS RESTAURANT WASN'T OPEN BUT WOULD RECCCOMEND YOUR FACILITY

Dear Ms. T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel. While we are glad to know that your overall stay was pleasant, it is disheartening to learn that your experience with housekeeping fell short. Please know this is not typical nor indicative of our service culture and I am truly sorry for the impact it had on your stay. Rest assured, your feedback has been shared with our team for internal folllow-up. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Michael Weinstein Assistant Director of Front Office

Location, location, location!

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Ilana S. Families - 28/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was traveling with my 5-year-old daughter. We only had 48 hours in NYC this trip so I knew a central location would be important. We were able to walk to the Met and Rockefeller Center, and simply cross the street to visit the Central Park Zoo and carousel. We are many meals at the Plaza Food Hall right downstairs and also enjoyed a leisurely meal at the hotel's Palm Court restaurant. The service and amenities at the hotel were top notch and the rooms are beautiful. My daughter said it was a dream come true, and I agree!

Dear Ms. S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the The Plaza - A Fairmont Managed Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Michael Weinstein Assistant Director of Front Office
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in new york