Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.7/5 6,114 reviews
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
See on a map
+ 21 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Newly renovated Grade II listed building from 1856

  • Home to the largest ballroom in the city centre

  • Home to the bee-themed Keepers restaurant & bar

  • Central location, within walking-distance of main amenities

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 6 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available
Information message

Unfortunately, due to Government guidelines, our hotel is temporarily closed. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact our customer services for any further information https://all.accor.com/gb/help/co

Hotel location

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Broad Street
BS1 2EL
bristol
united kingdom

Tel: +4401179291645

Fax: (+)01179227619

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    BRISTOL INT At 12.39km / 7.7 miles

  • By train

    TEMPLE MEADS At 1.29km / 0.8 miles

GPS :51.455372, -2.593519

Our accommodations

With 182 spacious and beautifully appointed rooms, stunning suites, leisure and beauty facilities, and eleven elegant function rooms, we are the first choice for tourists and business travellers.

Standard Double Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 0
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Compact Double Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)
Accessible room

Standard Twin Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Privilege Double

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV(...)

Family Room

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Suite

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV(...)

Our restaurants and bars

KEEPERS KITCHEN & BAR

Type of cuisine: International

Eat, drink and unwind, morning, noon and night at Keepers Kitchen & Bar. Soak up the atmosphere and experience a twist on traditional British cuisine with an imaginative menu that also features homegrown honey sourced from a hive on the hotel's roof.

Lunch

12:00 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

12:00 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

KEEPERS

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Chill-out and relax in Keepers bar, enjoy our comfortable seating and variety of working spaces. Our drinks menu features an extensive selection of wines, beers, cocktails, soft drinks, coffees and teas.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 6

  • Maximum size: 632

  • Maximum capacity: 600 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 450 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.7/5

6,114 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

1,023 reviews

Excellent location

Customer review rating 3.7/5

T.g. Families - 17/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great breakfast buffet and the location and look and feel of the hotel is excellent, however a few items added to an overall less than excellent stay: 1) Our family room was very spacious but always at about 18 degrees Celsius due to the tall ceilings and the inability of the air conditioning unit to ever properly heat the room. We all wore socks to bed and never really used the room when not under the covers or fully dressed in jumpers. 2) The room service never cleaned the room after our first night despite us hanging out a sign to do so and asking the front desk at 4pm if they were still going to clean (we were told cleaning goes on until 5 and not to worry). 3) A sign on the fridge indicated free soft drinks, but the fridge was empty for all the 4 days of our stay. 4) On the first night (a Saturday) our entire family was rocked out of beds at 10pm by a piercing fire alarm. While waiting in our pjs downstairs, nobody explained if this was a drill or not and if it was over. When we asked, the front desk attendand said the alarm can go off when someone takes a very hot shower. That explanation made half our family anxious while showering and one member refused to shower for the entire stay.

Dear Thorsten G., Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and inform us of your experiences. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and our great location. I am sorry to hear that there were parts of your stay which were disappointing and I will of course be looking into the cause of them and how we can prevent these from happening in the future. We endeavour to do our very best to ensure that our guests have a relaxing stay where possible. We will certainly look at the air conditioning unit of the room to ensure it is fixed. I thank you for highlighting all parts of your experience to allow us to continue to grow in the service we offer. I would like to reiterate our commitment to high quality standards, and I personally would like to make sure you will experience it during your next stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact me during your next visit. Sincerely, Giuliana

Well located

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Wendy N. Couples - 17/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We used this hotel on a recent trip to Bristol to attend a ballet at the Hippodrome. The location for us was perfect, the theatre being only a short stroll away. Pre theatre dinner was very well cooked although menu was rather dull. Excellent breakfast 10/10 for this. Comfortable bed, nice room, good bathroom. Only niggle was that we should have had two bathrobes and slippers, there were no slippers and only one robe, we tried every number to ask for more but no replies and gave up. Normally this would not have affected our visit at all but unfortunately the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night and we had to vacate our room. This was not the staff’s fault (and we were given free parking the next day as compensation) but our bathrobe suddenly went from being a luxury to a necessity! Overall a very nice hotel which we will use again.

Dear Wendy N., Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent experience. I am so pleased you had a great time and enjoyed your experience with us. I am sorry to hear you did not have two pair of bathrobes and sleepers in the room and that you had trouble trying to reach the front desk. At Mercure we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Giuliana

Great Stay

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Topher Couples - 15/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed because I/we live 80 miles away from the Bristol Royal Infirmary and I was scheduled for major heart surgery. Unfortunately, on the morning concerned there was a catastrophic equipment failure which meant my operation couldn't go ahead. We went back to the hotel and all our unused time was refunded without question. That is what you call service I have been rescheduled for another attempt at the surgery and you can be sure I will be staying at the Mercure Grand Hotel

Dear Mr H., Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent experience. I am so pleased we have been able to help you. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Giuliana

Well located well run

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Chris Couples - 15/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Pleasant overnight stay despite the evacuation @5am . Much better safe than sorry. Good food and very comfy beds.

Dear Mr s., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Giuliana

ideally situated in centre of town

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Daryl Couples - 15/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

There was unfortunately a fire alarm in the middle of the night during our stay where there was a genuine fire in the SPA, however this did not affect the overall quality of the stay. We were unaware of the cost for the car park and also think there should be a warning about the car park size as anyone with a large vehicle will simply not fit. The overall stay was nice, the staff were friendly and the bar/restaurant was good. the room although has been recently refurbished was the poor element to our stay. It was dusty and the room is clearly never cleaned properly. The bathroom was ok although the shower was cramped and nowhere near powerful enough. The air conditioning was non functional and because the old sash windows did not shut properly the room was freezing. At over £100 per night we had expected a little more. There was confusion on arrival over the booking as when booking we added the breakfast package but was told on arrival we had not paid enough. To the credit of the hotel reception staff they amended the booking so we did not need to pay extra

Dear Daryl c., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have passed your feedback to the housekeeping department and we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Giuliana

Ideal spot in city, central to most things

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Tisms Couples - 15/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

On our arrival we were disappointed with the car park which is dark, shabby, small spaces and a few cars obviously dumped in some places, covered in dirt. Memories of staying at the Grand were of a classy, luxurious hotel set in a beautiful Victorian building. The decor is now very modern, a bit strange with oddly patterned stools and cow hide fur on some chairs and stools. Our room, which was renovated, was very dark olive green everywhere including curtains and was more in an Ikea style. Although clean and fresh, the bedside cabinets were ultra modern, one a bright blue small round table, the other, a fold up wooden table with coloured legs. The doors of the wardrobe were metal crate like and industrial lights. I suppose it suits some people and didn’t really bother us but we preferred the previous style which enhance the high Victorian ceilings and the character of the building. The room was cold and it took a while for the air conditioning to work. It was very noisy and old. The room was at the front of the hotel and was very noisy with traffic and people shouting into the early hours. The corridors were also noisy with guests returning late at night. The towels were thin and grubby so after one use we put them for washing and the next day were better. Staff were all friendly and helpful. We did not eat at the hotel. Overall, as we were out most of the time, it did not spoil our stay but we felt that Mercure would be better renovating the windows, towels and air conditioning rather than modernise the building with Ikea like accessories. We probably would not stay there again.

Dear Stephen S., Thank you for taking the time to rate and comment on your recent stay with us at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. I appreciate you sharing your comment on our refurbished style. Both before and during our refurbishment we worked closely with Upfest Festival artists and have tried to combine inspiration from the city’s independent art scene and the building’s rich historic past to create a classic yet contemporary finish. Furthermore we have asked our maintenance team to have a look at the room in which you stayed. I thank you for highlighting all parts of your experience to allow us to continue to grow in the service we offer. Sincerely, Giuliana

Central location, good atmosphere and parking

Customer review rating 3.7/5

T G. Couples - 14/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel Central for Bristol and amenities, rooms clean and well presented. Food standard was good pleasant friendly staff, added bonus of hotel parking.

Dear Terry G., Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent experience. I am so pleased you had a great time and enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Giuliana

Had to leave and stay elsewhere

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Molly E. Couples - 14/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were very rude. We were dissatisfied with the first room we were given as it was supposed to be a privileged room, however, when we got up there, the view was straight onto another building (brick wall) and the air condition unit was right outside if our window and extremely loud even with the window closed. The room was also tatty and extremely dirty- such as the television remote which was extremely filthy, greasy and dusty. The mini fridge did not work as well. We then got moved rooms but were not put into a privileged room despite paying extra for it. Once again, the room was very dirty and there was damage to the room. After this, we requested our money back and moved hotel. The woman that was dealing with us was extremely rude and had no manners. However, the manager that then dealt with us was very helpful and had no arguments with giving us our money back. However, this was meant to be a special weekend and we wasted 2 hours trying to sort out a nice room for us to stay in.

Dear Molly E., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please note that this problem was a true exception to our normal practices. I would like to reiterate our commitment to high quality standards, and I personally would like to make sure you will experience it during your next stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you ever wish to visit us in the future. Sincerely, Giuliana

Excellent location, pleasant hotel, good staff

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Colin R. Couples - 14/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

why only 6/10? It would have been 4/10 but for the response of the staff. A knocking noise like a door or window banging in the wind kept us awake until 4am. A call to reception produced a promise to investigate, then a visit to our room and finally - 30-60 minutes later - an end to the noise. The car parking charge was waived, a decent gesture. Otherwise , breakfast a little disappointing - some ´hot’ items barely warm which I find is a common feature of buffet food. Still like the hotel but our brief stay could have been better !

Dear Colin r., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Thank you for your feedback in regards to the breakfast this has been passed onto our restaurant manager. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Giuliana

Misinformed disaster!

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Sarah Families - 14/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed Xmas day and the stay was ruined by misinformation given by staff at a sister hotel. We booked on the day and he assured us there was open air parking for my large van! He also told me to pack my kids swimming gear as there's a pool we can use. We arrived to find out there was no parking for me and the pool had been closed for over a week! My kids were so disappointed and on Xmas day too! On street parking was available for 3 hours only and not outside the hotel, which was fine Xmas day as I knew parking officers wouldn't be around but it meant in the morning I had to drag 3 kids out to move (as im a single parent) the van and we had to leave earlier than intended! It totally ruined our Xmas treat!! When I complained to the manager of this hotel he was very dismissive and although he issued a refund, I felt he didn't really listen to or acknowledge the fact that our Xmas was ruined by the stress of this!

Dear Sarah T., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please note that this problem was a true exception to our normal practices. I would like to reiterate our commitment to high quality standards, and I personally would like to make sure you will experience it during your next stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Mercure. Please do not hesitate to contact me during your next visit. Sincerely, Giuliana

Great location

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Dave P. Couples - 14/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good quality room

Dear David P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Giuliana

Worst experience ever

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Colin M. Couples - 14/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We have stayed in Acor hotels all over Europe and this was by far the worst. The room was dark with 5 lights with no bulbs. Not good in a disabled room. The disabled toilet was freezing and the toilet seat loose. We booked a double and got a twin and the parking charges should be made clear when booking

Dear Colin M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please note that this problem was a true exception to our normal practices. Rest assured that we have asked our maintenance team to have a look at the room in which you stayed. I would like to reiterate our commitment to high quality standards, and I personally would like to make sure you will experience it during your next stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Mercure. Please do not hesitate to contact me during your next visit. Sincerely, Giuliana

Friendly staff

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Andy M. Couples - 14/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff were very helpful and made our stay enjoyable. We did find the prices in the bar a bit expensive and it felt the bar was aimed more towards corporate users. However we again found the bar staff both friendly and welcoming.

Dear Andy M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. I am so pleased you had a great time and enjoyed your experience with us. I thank you for highlighting all parts of your experience to allow us to continue to grow in the service we offer. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Giuliana

Room ( sorry, storage room ) dreadful in short.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Steve B. Solo - 13/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel generally good , staff very good , but room was probably the worst hotel room I've ever stayed in ( and I'm 68) !! £150+ for a night - unbelievable.

Dear Steve B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am glad you found the hotel and the staff good. I had a look into your booking and I can see you booked a compact double room. I apologise if the room was not what you expected. Please contact me directly if you wish to stay again with us and I will be happy to assist with your booking. Sincerely, Giuliana

Worst Accor I have stayed in

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

Bigcolsam 03/03/2020 TripAdvisor review

We booked a disabled double room and got a twin. The room was very dark with bulbs missing in 5 of the lights and two not working. This was not good for someone with disabilities. The bathroom was freezing cold and the disabled toilet seat was loose. It also needs to be more clear that there is a charge for parking. I have stayed in Accor hotels all over Europe and this was by far the worst

Expected more

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

paulO6148TL 27/02/2020 TripAdvisor review

Our stay was to celebrate my wife’s 40th birthday, as we stayed one of your hotels around my birthday & were treated to a room upgrade & even a little cake. Sadly, no such treatment for my wife, our room was ok but after having a shower we could not find a hairdryer in the room, I asked at reception & they said they would bring one up. We waited to 20 minutes, but one did not arrive, so I headed down to reception, on my way I met a very helpful maid that gave me a hairdryer from a room nearby. When we returned to our room from a night out & put our daughter to bed in the pull-out sofa, we found that the bed was so uncomfortable that it was unusable. As it was late, we asked reception for a second duvet to sleep on. This is not what we expected with a family room. Also, the main bed was very uncomfortable.

Dear Paul, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry to read of your experience and that you felt we did not provide, unfortunately it is not always possible to upgrade all of our guests and we do indeed offer many possible upgrades for all of guests should they wish to add these to their bookings. I am sorry the hairdryer was not in your room, perhaps it was missed in one of the draws, I will certainly be discussing with our team the delivery of our promises. I am sorry that the beds are uncomfortable, we offer a wide variety of mattress toppers that should further enhance our offer should you require a softer experience.

Poor stay

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Sean M. Families - 23/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The rooms are very basic at the hotel for the price you are paying. The room we were in we found had a leak from the roof. After being checked in for a few hours and after returning from dinner we found it. We had to be moved rooms but sadly only one other room free which was already closed as it had no air con according to staff. A great shame and not at all what I had expected from a 4 star hotel and for £121

Dear Sean M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mandy

Overall good if parts were clunky

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

Charles E 23/02/2020 TripAdvisor review

Check-in was smooth but adding an extra night was not straightforward. The first room was compact - so much so that you could not open one of the two cupboards as the bed was in the way. The electronic door key failed three times. After bringing all this to the attention of Reception we were moved (free upgrade) to a bigger room. That was kind. The bed was not quite as new as in the first room but very wide. Sleeping was easier in the second room as the first was above a perpetually spinning bank of air conditioning fans. Cleanliness in the communal areas was excellent. The bath however could have been cleaned more vigorously for comfort. Shower provision was good. Breakfast (buffet style) was excellent for quantity and choice. Only the scrambled eggs were past their best when we went down - in the serving tray too long, we felt. The location right in the heart of the city is excellent. Parking is straightforward and felt secure. The value of the first night was excellent. Night 2 was significantly dearer.

Well located but with issues

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Family N. Families - 22/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Well located, very good breakfast but rooms dark and issues with water leaks

Dear Prue N., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mandy

Good location, nicely decorated, freezing room!

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Anonymous Couples - 21/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very satisfied until we returned to our room following a night out - absolutely freezing. We could/should have informed night porter, which was pointed out to us when we checked out. However would have expected this basic requirement without having to ask for it.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in bristol