Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 3.6/5 988 reviews

See on a map

Hotel extras

  • Newly renovated Grade II listed building from 1856

  • Home to the largest ballroom in the city centre

  • Home to the bee-themed Keepers restaurant & bar

  • Private Hotel Car Park

  • Within walking-distance of main amenities

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Hotel location

Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel

Broad Street
United Kingdom

GPS:51.455372, -2.593519

Access and transport

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms


Eat, drink and unwind, morning, noon and night at Keepers Kitchen & Bar. Soak up the atmosphere and experience a twist on traditional British cuisine with an imaginative menu that also features homegrown honey sourced from a hive on the hotel's roof.

Our accommodation(s)

With 186 spacious and beautifully appointed rooms, stunning suites and eleven elegant function rooms, we are the first choice for tourists and business travellers.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  3.6/5  988 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  3.5/5  1,357 reviews

Lack of storage in room very strange

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

dupeyabu TripAdvisor review

I have stayed at this hotel three or four times over the last 10 years or so (which I suppose says something). We are now planning another visit in January and starting to think about a hotel in central Bristol. Quite frankly, I don't think the many very negative reviews I have skimmed through are justified, but one of the main issues for me last time was there was almost nowhere to store clothes. Did they actually use a hotel designer to plan the rooms? I can see in other reviews, this often comes up as an issue - and important if you are staying more than a night or two. Also if like me you are an Accor member, it is so frustrating trying to work out how to book on their site, that I've tried twice recently and given up. I got an email from Accor - something about a $40 discount and clicked on the link which took me to the normal booking platform with nothing about this member discount. It is also unclear exactly how you use your points to pay - as far as I understand you can use member points towards the bill but this time and last time we stayed, I couldn't see how to do this. However, you do get a discount if you are a member, so that's at least something. Location was a big thing for us being almost in St Nick's Market and a 5 minute walk from the shopping area - but also now considering one or two other hotels in the area.

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Anonymous Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Good location. Staff good . Room was disappointing.. wallpaper peeling off, paint work awful, general decor v poor

Hi there Peter, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It’s great to know that our location was ideal for your needs but we can see that not everything hit the spot during your stay. Our hotel is set in an historic grade II listed building and whilst we do carry out maintenance works where necessary, we’re sorry if decor wasn’t quite as you were expecting; we’ll be sure to address your comments with the team. Nevertheless, we’re happy to know you received great service from the team and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Bristol. Best wishes, Mahesh, General Manager

Comfortable hotel - not easy to find

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Jacquit Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Comfortable rooms, although upgrade to room was confirmed prior to arrival but never happened Bar closed and we were unable to get a drink on returning from our evening out. Didn't want room service which was all that was offered

Hi Jacqui, Thanks for sharing your opinion with us. While it's great to hear that you appreciated the comfort of your room, we regret that we didn't meet all your expectations. We are sorry to hear of the difficulty you had in finding us, please do not hesitate to contact us for directions or further information on how to locate us, our team would be more than happy to help. The pandemic has affected the entire hospitality industry and due to staff shortages, we do have to close our bar early on some challenging nights. We're very sorry for any inconvenience. Additionally, we wish you had let us know of any concerns you may have had with your room at the time as we would have had our team return immediately to find a solution. Nonetheless, we have noted of your concerns and will take these into review. We hope to see you again soon, for an improved stay. All the best, Mahesh, General Manager

Nice hotel

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

clairesX5379ZZ TripAdvisor review

We stayed in this hotel back in the time when it was called Thistle Grand hotel, so we chose it again for our Holiday in Bristol. The hotel has changed a bit, but it’s still a nice place. The location is perfect for shopping and restaurants. Staff is still friendly and helpful. Our check in was quick and smooth, and the guy (Victor) gave us a really nice room. Breakfast was quite decent as well. We will choose this hotel if we come to Bristol again in the future.

Hi there, Thanks so much for reviewing your stay. It's great to welcome back a guest after all this time and we are thrilled that our location and service still hits the mark for you. We look forward to your next visit. Cheers, Mahesh Jay General Manager

Rude staff

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

FatAl2013 Business - TripAdvisor review

Hotel itself is OK. Lots of carpet stains in the he room but otherwise fine. The issue is the staff who are just rude. I had a problem which the guy did fix but he was dismissive and patronising when a simple apology would have been appropriate. Also, Lift broken for a couple of days with seemingly no interest in whether it was fixed or when.

Hi there, Thanks for the taking the time to share your review. While it's great to learn you were satisfied with our hotel, we're sorry not everything got full marks on this occasion. We're sorry that you felt you didn't receive the friendly and helpful service expected from our team; we'll be sure to look into this. Also, we'd like to apologise that our lift was having maintenance work carried out on it during your stay, and regret any inconvenience caused. Additionally, rest assured we value your feedback, and your remarks have been noted and passed on to the correct department. We hope you'll come back for a better experience in the future. Cheers, Mahesh Jay General manager

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Other web-users rate our hotel

  • 1,612 reviews 9.1/10 Location
  • 2,516 reviews 4.9/10 Room
  • 1,645 reviews 7.4/10 Service
  • 26 reviews 7.5/10 WiFi
  • 1,337 reviews 3.8/10 Comfort
  • 965 reviews 3.8/10 Cleanliness
  • 766 reviews 4.4/10 Amenities
  • 686 reviews 5.1/10 Breakfast

Powered by Trustyou

All our hotels in BRISTOL