ibis Styles Invercargill 3.5 stars

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5 394 reviews

Hotel extras

ibis Styles Invercargill offers business and leisure facilities including Wi-Fi in public areas and rooms, copy / print and fax facilities, direct dial telephone, work desk with chair, off-site gymnasium and in-house movie theatre

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Our accommodation(s)

Warm, welcoming and modern, with a comfortable bed and a practical bathroom, our rooms offer everything you need for an enjoyable stay.

Hotel location

ibis Styles Invercargill

15 Tay Street
New Zealand

GPS:-46.413208, 168.348672

Access and transport

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Car park
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Meeting rooms

2 breakfasts

Non contractual photo

Take advantage of our Flight + Hotel offers


Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

TripAdvisor Rating  3.5/5  394 reviews

Avoid at all costs, just horrid

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

geoffa556 TripAdvisor review

This place is the worst that we've ever been to. We booked an 'apartment', turns it it is just two tiny rooms with small uncomfortable beds, a cramped bathroom and a 'kitchenette' in the entry hall. Just a kettle and microwave, no toaster or grill. We were told to use the communal kitchen, but there was no toaster there either. When we arrived we were given keys to an occupied apartment, thanks be there was no-one there when we walked in. We were booked for 2 nights but left after the first. We have travelled to most parts of the world, easily the worst place we've ever stayed.

Disappointing shabby hotel

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

956duncanl TripAdvisor review

I am a silver Accor member and booked a one bedroom apartment for our one night stay in Invercargill at Ibis Styles. The apartment we were allocated id nothing like the one I booked. My reservation was for a corner unit with a garden and city view. What we got was s unit in the middle of the fourth floor with s view if the roofs beside the hotel The window in the bedroom has a large crack and the one lounge chair is partially broken. As a silver member a free drink is supposed to be part of the booking but none was offered. I would rate this hotel as being equivalent to a back packers. The conviviality room is a soulless shabby space that few would want to use. We have stayed at Ibis Styles in other cities and were happy with our stay but after our stay here I am reconsidering my membership of Accor

A loosely converted prison with cockroaches.

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

GadgetAndy Families - TripAdvisor review

We've travelled the world in Accor hotels and this was the worst we've experienced so far. Its a one star at best. The converted early 20th century prison feels like cell blocks with a lick of paint. Service is appallingly. Nothing has been properly cleaned in years. If you like taps falling apart and pubic hair on towels, you're in luck. Nothing works properly. Broken fans and no air-conditioning with windows barred shut. Cockroaches were our bedfellows and we named one Bob to keep up the mood. He happily feasted on the dirty benches. Beds were horrible to sleep on. Invercargill is best avoided as a stop but this hotel is going to ruin your trip. There's other hotels in town now if you must visit this derrilict town.

What a great little gem

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Coastal21521708277 Families - TripAdvisor review

Good solid accomodation in great location. Friendly and very helpful staff. Stayed over with my adult son in 2 bedroom apartment. Good size bedrooms both with tv and fan. The most comfiest bed I’ve slept in so far on our South Island road trip. Safe car parking for $10 otherwise it’s free on street after 6pm. The only downside was the bathroom verticals needed a very good clean and so does the main air vent in the kitchen, otherwise I was very impressed. When the lounge and gaming areas are open it will be even better.

Go somewhere else

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Gary W Business - TripAdvisor review

Although the rooms were fine, clean and tidy on a Managment level the place is the pits. Having to change rooms due to double booking, key cards not set up for garages, being locked out, due to card being deactivated, without notification. All very disappointing.

Dear Gary W, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to see that you had such a disappointing stay with us and that you have issues having to move rooms, and the problems you had with your card, I will discuss this with the staff so that they will be more careful in the future when making the room keycards.

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Other web-users rate our hotel

  • 259 reviews 8.3/10 Location
  • 371 reviews 4.8/10 Room
  • 167 reviews 6.2/10 Service
  • 7 reviews 7.1/10 WiFi
  • 224 reviews 4.5/10 Comfort
  • 144 reviews 2.6/10 Cleanliness
  • 110 reviews 3.5/10 Amenities
  • 53 reviews 2.2/10 Vibe

Powered by Trustyou