Elements of Byron - MGallery by Sofitel 5 stars

Customer review rating 4.6/5 70 reviews

Elements of Byron - MGallery by Sofitel
See on a map
+ 24 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Modern absolute beachfront resort

  • Free unlimited in-house movies and wifi

  • Free daily morning beachside yoga, guided forest walks

  • Use of poolside cabanas, day beds and exclusive beach lounge

  • Main pavilion with restaurant, bar, sunken poolside fire pit

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 11h00


Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet AccessPaying
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Babysitting on requestPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Airport shuttlePaying
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
  • Babysitting on request
  • Tennis
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 2 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Elements of Byron - MGallery by Sofitel

144 Bayshore Drive
byron bay

Tel: +61266391500

Fax: (+61)2/66858068

Contact email

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 11h00


  • By plane

    BALLINA BYRON At 45km / 27 miles - Shuttle paying

  • By plane

    GOLD COAST AIRPORT At 65km / 40 miles - Shuttle paying

  • By plane

    OOL At 60km / 37 miles - Shuttle paying

  • By train

    ROBINA At 82km / 51 miles

GPS :-28.626037, 153.586967

Our accommodations

The rooms and suites in the MGallery collection of boutique hotels offer modern comfort in an authentic setting. 1 Bedroom Villa is split level living with separate lounge area and breakfast bar, mini bar, bedroom with king bed, work desk, TV, luxurious ensuite with freestanding bath, large wardrobe and elevated timber deck.

Botanica Studio - Wheelchair Accessible

Accessible room
  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 30 / 323 sq ft
  • Views: Garden side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Mini Bar

Our restaurants and bars

Azure Bar & Grill

Type of cuisine: Bistro

There's a cheeky mood as the day progresses and an air of anticipation astasting plates, share platters emerge from the kitchen. Evenings are vibrant and upbeat with a fluid, produce-first approach and an emphasis on shared dining experiences.


  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun


  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun


Non contractual photo

Drift bar serves magnificent seasonal cocktails, local and imported beers, and a wide variety of wines and spirits. Our sunken fire pit, which sits alongside the infinity pool edge, is an intimate gathering place perfect for all occasions.


  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun


  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 2

  • Maximum size: 350

  • Maximum capacity: 450 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 270 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Elements of Byron - MGallery by Sofitel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.6/5

70 reviews


TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5

827 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

Great Family Holiday

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

marksewell2019 Family - 09/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

We travelled as a family with Children for 7 days to Elements. The trip was great and the service and attitude at Elements was superb. The only resort in Byron so close to the beach and town. There was a train to take you to the town,.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Elements of Byron and for your wonderful review. We're glad to hear you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

101bunty Friends getaway - 07/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

Loved the tranquility and ambience of the property.Great breakfast, though a bit pricey.Loved the beach yoga and rainforest walks and the warm pools.It would be nice of the hotel provided at least 2 complimentary shuttles to Byron Bay city centre.

Thank you for your review. Feedback is extremely important to our resort, allowing our team to make continuous improvements to ensure each guest experience meets expectation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon.

Awesome stay at Elements

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

timbo1terrors2017 Couples - 08/06/2019 TripAdvisor review

We had a great stay at elements of Byron, friendly staff, fantastic facilities, beautifully clean and lux accomodation, right on the beautiful beach front by which you can walk up into Byron if you enjoy a good walk along the beach. Being picky our only disappointment was that the Accor membership card is no longer eligible at breakfast, as a result I would say that breakfast at the resort no longer represents good value. But that’s a small gripe and I only mention so other card holders are aware. Overall an excellent stay and we can’t wait to go back.

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Elements of Byron and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Byron weekend

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

Scenic62298838094 Family - 10/04/2019 TripAdvisor review

Beautiful lagoon pool Excellent location Nice food at Azure Child-friendly Excellent morning yoga sessions at a sublime location by the beach Speedy and housekeeping team Patchy service, in keeping with Australian hospitality service industry in general

Elements of Byron

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

GregandJudy9 Couples - 26/03/2019 TripAdvisor review

The relaxed beachside bungalow layout and eco friendly feel was inviting, right on the beachfront looking back down the beach to Byron's hub and Lighthouse in the distance rather than being trapped in Byron, in the thick of things with limited central parking, and visitors moving like lava on busy weekends. If you want to visit Byron's hub from the resort, an easy half hour walk down the beach, or... two minutes to the unique solar rail will have you there in 15 mins. This marvellous blend of solar / battery technology and historic carriage system is ingenious. The staff are great, and the food is fresh and innovative. Having to pay extra for a not so good "barista" coffee, and the water in the dispenser to make tea at breakfast needs to be hotter, minor qualms in an overall relaxing mid week experience.

Thank you for your review. Feedback is extremely important to our resort, allowing our team to make continuous improvements to ensure each guest experience meets expectation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon.

Wonderful spot

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

sarahpC4471OW Family - 23/03/2019 TripAdvisor review

Very clean and lots of great amenities! Staff is very friendly. Will definitely return should we ever return to down under :) Pool is very clean and a great place to relax. This property has its own access to the beach and the grounds have lots to do! My son enjoyed the giant chess board and playing Bocce ball.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Elements of Byron and for your wonderful review. We're glad to hear you had a great stay.

Perfect location. Peaceful quality place to stay.

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

J8406XDtraceyl Family - 06/07/2018 TripAdvisor review

From the moment you arrive the attitude and service is well above expectations. As you walk into the villa it has a wonderful modern and stylish appeal set amongst the natural environment. The luxurious bed is amazing. Food at the restaurant is also quality and rounds out a perfect place for any holiday. Our only regret is we couldn’t stay longer!

Thank you for your review. We are happy you had a fantastic time while on vacation at Elements of Byron. We hope to see you again soon.

Byron Bay stopover

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

K3166UTrickh Business - 05/05/2018 TripAdvisor review

Overpriced try hard place to stay that is ‘sort of in Byron’ but you need to get a taxi to actually be in Byron. You pay premium $ to sleep in what is basically a mobile home on stumps. Suggest there are plenty of better places to stay that are actually in Byron!

Thank you for reviewing Elements of Byron, our sincerest apologies your experience fell below expectation. Our luxury villas are beautifully designed for intimacy and convenience, whilst also being ecofriendly. A short stroll from reception will take guests to North Beach station where they can catch the Byron Bay train into the centre of town and back again, adding convenience to their day.

Serenity in the madness

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

Christopher R Couples - 09/02/2018 TripAdvisor review

We had stayed in Byron Bay recently, only closer to the centre of town. Even though out of school holidays we found the town area overrun with people. The peak times of the day were useless to travel in a car anywhere near town, even driving to and from. Staying at Elements - this was all avoided. If you can be independent for a few days and maybe walk into the town centre, if necessity has it, along the beachfront - then this is the place to be. This is a relaxing slightly remote area to the north of Byron centre, where you have access to the bush walks and beach without having to drive. The layout and construction of the walks is fantastic, putting you in a bash scenario within seconds of leaving your room if you wish. The facilities are fabulous, and as an middle aged couple we actually enjoyed the main pool with its vastness. The room was nicely decorated, quite open, balanced and thought out. We had a studio - Lagoon Edge Villa. This was nice in that we had access to the laundry which was a great (free) facility to have when traveling. The walk to the pool(s) or main pavilion also quite easy, and then a little further to the beach. The gym was not too bad but with 4 or more people we found it difficult to maneuver, not bad technology based equipment though. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and the quality was great. We were happy with our selection and possible options. Most people should find more than one to their liking. Wouldn't say it was as good as the Sofitel on the Gold Coast where we had stayed prior but very happy we stayed and ate here. This is quiet and peaceful for the most part. The staff all doing their part to make your stay feel seamless. High on the list to visit again.

Thank you for taking the time to review Elements of Byron. Our staff are an asset to our resort with every effort made to ensure guests are looked after from the moment they check-in to the moment they check-out, feeling fully rested from their stay. We hope to see you again.

Great property, friendly staff, I would recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to relax and unwind.

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

351denices Family - 01/02/2018 TripAdvisor review

From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and provided a great overview of the resort and its facilities. The Villa was the perfect size for us and was close to the beachfront and pool. There was a great selection of food by the pool and in the restaurants. We will definitely be going back!

Thank you for taking the time to review Elements of Byron. We hope to see you back at the resort soon for a relaxing vacation.

Delightfully enjoying nature in luxury

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

jenniferM3236SB Friends getaway - 18/12/2017 TripAdvisor review

Very dissapointed with the menu. There are no options for vegans. It was my birthday and we had to go into town to eat. No options in Cafe, restaurant or pool bar ( except for smoothies!). Given the location, the mission of the resort and hotel rating, a little consideration for the conscious eaters would be appreciated.

Fantastic Resort, Great Location, Excellent Restaurant

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

Aidan F Couples - 18/11/2017 TripAdvisor review

We loved our stay at Elements as a mini moon post our wedding. We stayed 3 days, 2 nights. Accor silver member. Staff were friendly. The rooms and facilities were excellent. The restaurant was amazing and very accommodating for my wife with GF options. The only downside was that we tried to book in for massages etc at the day spa only to be told that there was no availability for the 3 days! We were looking forward to relaxing during our stay and getting a massage however this did not eventuate.

The Best by far.

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

Adsuz Couples - 30/10/2017 TripAdvisor review

It's not often that a hotel is better in real life than its brochure but Elements in Byron Bay far exceeded our expectations. Check in and check out is seemless with amazing staff all over the resort. Our bungalow was spotless and perfectly positioned for privacy. The pools are amazing with fantastic cabanas and lounges hanging over them, a great place to retreat to when the wind picks up on the beach. The fire pit was a great place for pre dinner drinks. We didn't eat in the restaurants so have no idea of the food. Overall one of the best places Ive stayed in a long time. The perfect chill out resort.

Dear Adsuz Thanks for writing your review here, I'm so pleased everything met your high standards. We hope you come back again soon to enjoy our new adults only pool with a swim-up bar! Our architect and designers have been working hard to create a space for you to chill-out, I'm glad you enjoyed it so far, there is so much more to come. Warm regard from Byron Bay, Rochelle Ferris Guest Relations Manager

Elements of Byron

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

Brent P Family - 16/10/2017 TripAdvisor review

We were in Byron for a Wedding, Very disappointing check in experience, a number of issues on check in with my room type and Accor status, fantastic hotel, location, facilities and accommodation,when next travelling to this area we would certainly consider staying again

Hello Brent P Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here on TripAdvisor, and taking the time to talk to me over the phone about your experience checking in. We value our Accor members visiting us here at Elements of Byron Resort and Spa. Your opinion and expectations are important to us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Warm Regards from Byron Bay Rochelle Ferris Guest Relations Manager Elements of Byron Resort and Spa

Fantastic stay in an amazing resort

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

T9007GTmartinh Couples - 15/10/2017 TripAdvisor review

We were travelling up from Sydney (moving to the Sunshine Coast). This was the final stop over and after a horrible hotel experience in Coffs Harbour this was the most welcome surprise. The resort is just beautiful with amazing faciltities and modern comfortable villas. We ate dinner in the restaurant and discussed how much we liked the place. So much so that I took a trip to reception and extended our stay an extra night. The reception staff were so helpful. A fantastic place, we will be back!

Dear Martin H, I'm so glad to hear that you stopover was a welcome surprise for you on your journey up the east coast. With so many accommodation options to choose from we thank you for choosing Elements of Byron and hope to see you again on your return. I'll pass your compliments on to the front office staff and management. Travel safely, we look forward to seeing you, Rochelle Ferris

Great family break

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

Stephen B Family - 09/10/2017 TripAdvisor review

We spent five nights at Elements and enjoyed every moment. Staff were excellent as was the food at Graze. There were sufficient activities on one rainy day to keep the children entertained. It will be good when the train can take you to Byron to avoid the traffic/parking problems. Great pool and well thought out beach club.

Hi Stephen Thank you for your fabulous feedback, I'm so glad you enjoyed our stay. Our design team has worked hard to create a choice of spaces for you to relax in either with the kids or without. We hope you found them all, a few were opened just before you arrived. Come back soon. Warm regards from Byron Bay Rochelle Ferris Guest Relations Manager

Amazing resort

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

dazz70 Couples - 11/09/2017 TripAdvisor review

We recently stayed here for 2 nights. The resort is located in a very quiet area and it is a short walk to the beach and a spectacular pool. It is a long but nice walk in to the township (around 50 minutes) but there is always Uber which we used on the way back and there is a soon to be opened train service which is around a 5 minute walk from the hotel. All the staff at the resort were super friendly and the restaurants had great food at a good price. We cannot wait to go back again !!

Hi Darren Thank you for your feedback, sound like you had a great stay which is exactly what we're aiming for. It is a bit of a walk along the beach to town, but during peak periods we run a free shuttle bus for our guests three times a day to town and back. We can't wait for the train to start either! Thanks again and see you again soon. Warm regards from Byron Bay Rochelle Ferris Guest Relations Manager

Beautiful place

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

Terry P Couples - 10/09/2017 TripAdvisor review

Friendly and courteous staff. Great stand alone rooms in the bush. Amazing pool. Only downside was That as an Accor member was promised free upgrade subject to availability. Unlucky me. None available on a Thursday night. Apparently two weddings. Amazingly though I could have still booked the upgraded room online at 4pm that day. Second time this has happened. Mmmmmmm????

Hello Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback of your stay. We value our Accor members patronage and welcome you at every opportunity. Our resort is very popular and unfortunately yes, sometimes we are so heavily booked that we occasionally cannot offer free upgrades. September is a very busy wedding month at Elements with our spectacular ocean views from Heart of the Bay, I'm sorry you were disappointed on this occasion. We hope to have you back again soon. Thanks again for your feedback, warm regards from Byron Bay Rochelle Ferris Guest Relations Manager

We wished we were clearly informed that we were getting the 'disabled option' studio room!

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

rodzambo Couples - 09/09/2017 TripAdvisor review

We fell in love with this resort for so many reasons the first time we stayed in its Botanica Villa previously! Hence it was never a question to revisit this place the second time around. However, we wanted to checkout its studio villa this time around. Perhaps it was my mistake to expect every villa to have bathtub, as I was totally disappointment when I realised that I couldn't have a bath after a long stressful week from work. Something I was so looking forward to do. But to add further grief on that disappointment, we unexpectedly got the 'disabled option' studio villa! Which, I kid you not, really felt like we were in the hospital! Not only the shower/toilet area is specifically designed for guests with disability, but all the fittings were so cheap and nasty that the amount we pay for that studio villa really was not worth-it! Nonetheless, we felt beyond disappointed. This resort should notify their guests the exact room or villa descriptions they get. As it really does makes a huge difference when you get a villa that's designed for guests with disability, when you don't have any. Specially when the layout of its studio villa shown in its website is totally different, and in that website also states that 'Disabled option available'! Yes, it's an option! We 'could' come back to this resort if we had to, as apart from the last experience we had, everything else is great. I guess we just had to make sure that we get the right type of villa. But because of being badly informed about the room or the lack of it, it somehow affected our decision to consider that. Hence we started considering other resorts around the area. My rates/feedback on all aspects of this resort is purely base on this review and on our last visit or stay at this resort.

Dear Rodzambo Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your last stay at Elements. I'm so sorry to read that your accommodation didn't meet your expectations this time around. Since your last stay we have released some new villas designs which may be of particular interest to you. To make it even easier to view the villa types and designs, we have also released a new app, free for download from your favourite app store, just search for "Elements of Byron." I hope these tools help better inform you of your accommodation choices with us in the future. When you're next booking, phone the resort directly on +61 2 6639 1500 to talk directly to our reservation consultants and avoid disappointment. Thanks again for taking the time to help us improve our resort, we do appreciate it. Warm regards from Byron Bay Rochelle Ferris Guest Relations Manager


TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

Flyawaybunny Family - 05/09/2017 TripAdvisor review

Elements is a beautiful place, immaculate grounds and gardens, very helpful and friendly staff, the pool is huge and beautiful, with many sun beds with either sun or shade to relax in. The resort has everything, the breakfast was so fresh and too quality. The rooms were so well designed with heaps of storage spaces and so visually appealing that u instantly relax. We love elements and will definitely be back!

Dear Flyawaybunny Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your feedback here, we really appreciate it. We're so happy you had the amazing experience we hoped for you. Please come back again soon and test out our new two bedroom luxury villas and new pool area! Warm regards from Byron Bay Rochelle Ferris Guest Relations Manager
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor