Information message

Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.2/5 3,614 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
See on a map
+ 9 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton Environmental certified hotel

  • 9 dedicated meeting rooms for up to 120 guests

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 120 guests

  • 18th Century manor house with original features

  • York railway station is less than 6km away

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowed Paying
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Golf (nearby)
Business services
  • 9 Meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Shipton Road
York
YO30 1XW york
united kingdom

Tel: +4401904225012

Fax: (+)01612342819

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • By plane

    LEEDS BRADFORD At 48.28km / 30 miles

  • By train

    YORK At 5.63km / 3.5 miles

GPS :53.994009, -1.131592

Our accommodation(s)

All bedrooms feature an HD LED TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. Some of our classic rooms are interconnecting, ideal if you are bringing your family. Choose a room in the original 18th-century manor house, or in the new wing, designed in a conte mporary fashion. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. For a treat, our suites have a romantic four-poster bed and a spacious spa bathroom.

Our restaurants and bars

FAIRFIELD BRASSERIE

Type of cuisine: International

Dine at Fairfield Brasserie. Choose from a collection of tasty dishes prepared using fresh ingredients grown in our own herb garden and locally sourced produce. To compliment your meal, choose from our selection of fine wines or a cocktail.

Menu (PDF)
  • Monday Closed
  • Tuesday Closed
  • Wednesday Closed
  • Thursday Closed
  • Friday Closed
  • Saturday Closed
  • Sunday Closed

Fairfield Bar

The Fairfield Bar offers a range of wines, beers, spirits, gins, cocktails and soft drinks with helpful and experienced bar staff to ensure that you have everything you need. Light meals are available in the bar allowing you to continue relaxing.

Non contractual photo

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 9

  • Maximum size: 189

  • Maximum capacity: 180 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 120 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.2/5

3,614 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,473 reviews

Good stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Irene M. Couples - 22/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Enjoyed our 2 day break at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel very much.Beautiful hotel in a lovely setting.All hotel staff made us most welcome.Will definitely stay here again.

Dear Irene M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Reception Team

Great location, friendly staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mike B. Couples - 22/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Mercure Fairfield Manor is set in very pleasant and spacious grounds, just 2 minutes drive from the excellent park and ride service into York. Public rooms are spacious and well-appointed, with loads of leather sofas for relaxing in. The greeting at reception was fantastic and we were quickly checked in to our room. We had a classic room which, being in the new wing, was furthest from the road and so extremely quiet. I think the superior rooms are in the old wing of the Manor House which is right next to the busy road - so if you are a light sleeper, you might want to check that out before booking. The bedroom and bathroom are both classic (some might say old-fashioned) in styling but were in excellent condition, very well equipped and spotlessly clean. Our only complaint would be that they have obviously replaced the beds with newer, bigger bases and mattresses that now extend beyond the fixed-to-the-wall headboard and so the bedside lamps protrude from the wall in the wrong place. We banged our heads several times on them! (note to the hotel - Health & Safety issue?) We found all the staff to be incredibly helpful and cheerful - nothing seemed too much trouble. Breakfast was self-serve buffet and was excellent in both quality and range. It certainly sets you up for the day. Unfortunately we couldn't try out the restaurant in the evening as they had no vacancies but the menu looked good, especially the 3-course set menu for £22. We walked 5 minutes down the road to a nearby pub where we had an excellent meal. We would definitely stay here again and are very happy to recommend it.

Dear Michael B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Reception Team

Decent hotel but could do better

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 22/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is clean though the rooms are in need of some modernisation looking worn and dated. Staff were polite and hardworking but they often seemed stretched beyond reasonable duties, particularly at breakfast times where there was clear under-resourcing. I do have sympathy with the industry’s difficulties right now but guests are still paying for a 4 star experience and this seemed more like a 3.

Dear Kevin P., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. It is difficult to run hotel when 7 people have to self isolate and no agency staff available at all. I am so sorry for the discomfort and inconvenience. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Ruslana Yarmolyuk General Manager Mercure York Fairfield Manor

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Belinda H. Friends - 21/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Customer service on arrival was good and with new staff in the restaurant the service was good. Our first evening meal was disappointing their was 13 booked Into the restaurant and they had ran out of fish and chips but the food we reordered was good . Room could do with more tea bags and had to ask for more.

Dear Belinda H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sorry about the experience you had with the dinner, we had an exceptional number of diners for the last 3 days and I fully understand your frustration. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ruslana Yarmolyuk General Manager Mercure York Fairfield Manor

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Hannah Couples - 20/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely food, friendly welcoming staff, clean environment.

Dear Hannah H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ruslana Yarmolyuk General Manager Mercure York Fairfield Manor

Good location

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Robbie H. Couples - 20/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room upgrade ok , bathroom needs updating , food was good

Dear Robbie H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ruslana Yarmolyuk General Manager Mercure York Fairfield Manor

Very well located

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Ian S. Families - 20/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Ideal for Park and Ride into York, staff were very helpful and Covid secure.

Dear Ian S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ruslana Yarmolyuk General Manager Mercure York Fairfield Manor

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Karen W. Couples - 20/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Considering how long the hotel has been closed due to the pandemic they made every effort to make sure our stay a memorable experience.

Dear Karen W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ruslana Yarmolyuk General Manager Mercure York Fairfield Manor

Lovely hotel, rooms very comfortable

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Mrs M. Families - 19/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a lovely short break at this hotel, staff very friendly, rooms comfortable, good location. Only one critism and that would be not great service at the bar. It would be ideal to have a bell, as we waited on each occasion to get served, as the staff wasn’t there.

Dear Shirley m., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. May I take this opportunity to apologise for the wait in the bar, I will discuss this issue with the team and hopefully we can prevent this happen again. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ruslana Yarmolyuk General Manager Mercure York Fairfield Manor

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

E. Couples - 18/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

A good visit to a lovely hotel.

Hi Blair E., You most amazing customer - come and stay again Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ruslana Yarmolyuk General Manager Mercure York Fairfield Manor

Lovely setting

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Pat L. Couples - 14/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely, clean hotel, nice food, friendly staff.

Dear Patricia L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Reception Team

Very average stay, poor value for money

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Barry C. Couples - 14/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Positive aspects - bed comfortable, ample car parking available. Poor aspects - lack of service. Every day had to call at reception to ask for towels, toilet roll, soaps etc as no housekeeping service provided. Initially told NO housekeeping service, to later be told was only on request! Customer service standards varied; reception & breakfast staff friendly and approachable. Bar staff untrained and making offensive & insensitive jokes in public. Tables often left with dirty glasses & cups for hours on end while staff just walked past. Table service never offered. Overall, very poor value for money & has left a very poor impression of the brand.

Dear Barry C., Thank you for your review, we would like to take the time to apologise that your stay was not up to our usual standard. I have sent you an email regarding your issues. Thank you The Reception Team

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Les P. Couples - 14/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great stay great food great staff only one matter on arrival there were lots of flies on window sill in bedroom (415) we asked at reception in the morning if they could get them removed unfortunately this wasn’t done when ringing reception after being out all day …we were told unfortunately housekeeping had finished for the day ..we do understand the complexity of staff and cleaning of rooms during Covid but would have thought this simple request could have been done ..we did inform reception we would be out in York all day.

Dear Leslie p., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. However we apologise that the issue you brought up about your room was not dealt with in a timely manner. We hope that we can welcome you back soon. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. Sincerely, Reception Team

Conveniently located

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Tina Friends - 08/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed for one night. The room was comfortable and staff were all pleasant.

Dear Christine S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback even though you have to wait little longer for the room to be ready. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ruslana Yarmolyuk General Manager Mercure York Fairfield Manor

Good stay, lovely hotel

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Lauren Couples - 06/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely hotel, staff all friendly, polite and helpful. Location not too bad as just outside centre of York for exploring. Breakfast was excellent and tasty. Hotel clean just a little tired in room in some areas but nothing drastic! Overall really enjoyed and would return.

Dear Lauren A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ruslana Yarmolyuk General Manager Mercure York Fairfield Manor

Lovely grounds, friendly staff.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Julie H. Families - 05/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

From the moment we checked in to leaving we found the staff were so accommodating, friendly and professional. The communal areas were lovely and very spacious and well furnished. Our room was spacious, clean and the bed was so comfortable. The furnishings are looking tired but this did not spoil our stay. We will definitely stay again. We ate supper and had breakfasts which were all excellent.

Dear Julie H., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. We are happy to know that you had a brilliant time with us but also sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the dated state of the room. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Ruslana Yarmolyuk General Manager Mercure York Fairfield Manor

Great location, lovely grounds

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Families - 05/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed for a wedding close by with other guests. It was the first day opening after lockdown and all things considering, we were well looked after.

Dear Janice B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ruslana Yarmolyuk General Manager Mercure York Fairfield Manor

A Stay

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Steve Couples - 05/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hall outside room 201 needs serious attention to the squeaky floor ... Too noisy stay at the hotel because of a wedding party. Wouldn't pick this hotel to stay at again.

Dear Steven M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Ruslana Yarmolyuk General Manager Mercure York Fairfield Manor

Great location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Andy R. Couples - 28/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Our stay coincided with the shut down of all pubs and resteraunts on the Friday evening. The staff were obviously shaken by the news but continued in a proffesional and friendly manor and we were so reassured by them. The hotel had barely ten guests staying but still there was a nice atmosphere. Food was fantastic and service faultless. You should be very proud of the staff here!

Hello Andy, I am very proud of the team as we continue to look after our guests the best we possible can. stay safe and we will see you again soon kind regards Mike Sweeting General Manager Mercure York

Veery comfortable

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

chris281854 Couples - 18/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

All very nice for the three day stay. Comfortable rooms, good size, good bathroom, window that can open, good breakfast and restaurant. Wifi good and reliable. Out of town but not a problem. Local buses to/from York across the road, park and ride 10 minute walk away and a good pub and carvery 5 minutes walk away. Taxis prompt. Any problems? No, staff and services were all excellent.

Dear Chris281854, Thank you for the kind review, we are all pleased you had a lovely 3 days with us. It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback about our guests having a comfortable stay and we delivered what we should do. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future kind regards and Happy Christmas Mike and the Team

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in york