Information message

Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.2/5 3,818 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
See on a map
+ 18 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton Environmental certified hotel

  • 9 dedicated meeting rooms for up to 120 guests

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 120 guests

  • 18th Century manor house with original features

  • York railway station is less than 6km away

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowed Paying
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Golf (nearby)
Business services
  • 9 Meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Shipton Road
York
YO30 1XW york
united kingdom

Tel: +4401904225012

Fax: (+)01612342819

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • By plane

    LEEDS BRADFORD At 48.28km / 30 miles

  • By train

    YORK At 5.63km / 3.5 miles

GPS :53.994009, -1.131592

Our accommodation(s)

All bedrooms feature an HD LED TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. Some of our classic rooms are interconnecting, ideal if you are bringing your family. Choose a room in the original 18th-century manor house, or in the new wing, designed in a conte mporary fashion. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. For a treat, our suites have a romantic four-poster bed and a spacious spa bathroom.

Our restaurants and bars

FAIRFIELD BRASSERIE

Type of cuisine: International

Dine at Fairfield Brasserie. Choose from a collection of tasty dishes prepared using fresh ingredients grown in our own herb garden and locally sourced produce. To compliment your meal, choose from our selection of fine wines or a cocktail.

Fairfield Bar

The Fairfield Bar offers a range of wines, beers, spirits, gins, cocktails and soft drinks with helpful and experienced bar staff to ensure that you have everything you need. Light meals are available in the bar allowing you to continue relaxing.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday Closed
  • Tuesday Closed
  • Wednesday Closed
  • Thursday Closed
  • Friday Closed
  • Saturday Closed
  • Sunday Closed

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 9

  • Maximum size: 189

  • Maximum capacity: 180 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 120 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.2/5

3,818 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,503 reviews

No water, no apology

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Marge B. Business - 13/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I didn’t have a good stay I’m afraid. On arrival there was no water in my room to flush the loo or have a bath/shower - no water was coming out the taps. I reported this and received no apology but information about an issue with the tanks that would be fixed soon. This still wasn’t resolved by a few hours later. On departure in the morning the water was back on but a small trickle with low pressure meaning still no shower or bath. I left the hotel after breakfast as I had a meeting to go to - I reported the water issue again in the morning and again received no apology nor compensation offer.

Dear Margaret B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I do apologise about the issues we faced regarding the water; this was completely out of our control and I can assure you that we were working through the night to get it fixed. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards

Welcome Break

Customer review rating 3.5/5

H. Couples - 13/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was clean but very dated. Staff very friendly but we're obviously understaffed as much multi tasking was being undertaken. A pleasant stay but did feel for staff who were trying to do their best in a difficult situation.

Dear Bernie H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards

Excellent location for travelling into York

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Mr C. C. Couples - 13/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The Hotel is nicely located just outside of York centre. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. Condition of the hotel from the outside is very attractive and the inside is well maintained for its age.

Dear carl C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I do apologise about the light fixture on your wall; we will endeavor to get this fixed as a matter of urgency. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards

Friendly accommodating staff

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Linda P. Couples - 13/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good food, comfortable bed. Overall the hotel looks ‘tired’ but the staff made up for yhat

Dear {guest_first_name} P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards

Re scheduled trip

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mr A. M. C. Couples - 12/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Due to Covid we had to cancel visit in June 2020 and rescheduled for September 2021. Cancellation and re booking was an easy process and we were welcomed by lovely lady on reception who explained hotel policies. Room was spotless and breakfast was plentiful. If I was to be picky I would say that the dining room was not big enough to hold all who wanted to eat around 9 am and we did have to wait for a table. Overall 10/10

Dear Linda C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards

Excellent

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Vito P. Friends - 12/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

A pleasant experience

Dear J M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards

Lovely hotel

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Sarah A. T. S. Couples - 11/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was very nice and comfortable.The bedroom we stayed in was very clean but did need a little TLC if I’m being a honest. Unfortunately, as in most of the hospitality sector at the moment the hotel was understaffed. But having said that the staff at the hotel were literally running between all departments and worked long shift patterns! They were always friendly, helpful and on hand too anything you needed and required. I really hope the company appreciates there employees they have, hospitality is hard going. We would definitely choose this hotel again to stay at, the breakfast was particularly good! A huge choice of food and something for everyone!

Dear Tim S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards

Restaurant staff brilliant

Customer review rating 5.0/5

R N. H. Couples - 10/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel very clean rooms where great. The restaurant staff where very knowledgable about my wife’s dietary requirements, the food was wonderful

Dear Robert H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ruslana Yarmolyuk General Manager Mercure York Fairfield Manor

A very impressive looking hotel

Customer review rating 3.0/5

P. Couples - 10/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a very pleasant short break. However l felt very uncomfortable due to the lack of masks worn by any members of staff, and this included restaurant staff.

Dear Don P., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. As with the government guidelines, we cannot enforce staff or guests to wear masks; I do apologise that this made you uncomfortable though. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards

Lovely hotel

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Lesley Couples - 10/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Warm welcome from receptionist easy check in. Great sized room. Loads of choice for breakfast.

Dear lesley w., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ruslana Yarmolyuk General Manager Mercure York Fairfield Manor

Very good stay.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Bill Couples - 08/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel food was excellent, staff were very friendly, room was comfortable.

Dear Bill S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Ruslana Yarmolyuk General Manager Mercure York Fairfield Manor

Well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Fiona H. Couples - 08/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Enjoyed our stay, food was great, especially breakfast. 2 issues- 1. Was not told at check in that we had to book room cleaning service 2. Internet was very poor and in this day and age everyone requires good internet.

Hello Fiona, Thank you for leaving us a review of your recent stay with us. We are so glad to see that you enjoyed the food whilst you were with us, we will definitely pass this on to our kitchen team! We are sorry that you were unaware of our current housekeeping arrangements, we do try to make sure we inform every guest of this however we apologise that we did not inform you on this occasion. In regard to the internet, we are sorry that you found it was not up to the standard that you would have expected whilst staying with us. We will log this with our supplier in order to try and rectify this. Kind regards

Great to be back!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

lorrainer673 08/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

My husband and i stayed at the Fairfield Manor last weekend on their offer 2nts B&B with dinner on the first night. We were frequent visitors prior to Covid 19. Really enjoyed our stay, clean well appointed rooms and well organised hotel. Nice to see some familiar faces still there welcoming and friendly as usual both on the reception and also in the restaurant. Nice to be acknowledged when staying regularly. Will definitely be going again. Thanks everyone.

Dear Lorrainer673, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We really appreciate your loyalty. Looking forward to welcome you back here soon. Kind regards Ruslana Yarmolyuk

Good location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Brian S. Couples - 07/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff which are any companies greatest assets were terrific. The hotel could do with a little TLC But all in all. Absolutely no complaints.

Dear Brian S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards

Great experience

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Lorraine R. Couples - 07/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were frequent visitors to the hotel prior to Covid starting and were glad to be back. The hotel was well organised as usual, clean and welcoming. Its nice to see some of the same faces in the hotel. The staff are always lovely, Caitlan on reception and Andy & Wendy in the restaurant to mention a few. Nice to be acknowledged as you walk in. Remembered from our previous visits. Housekeeping is good, its there is if you need anything as usual. A nice relaxing experience. Good food, good company. Lovely weekend. Thankyou to everyone. See you again.

Dear Lorraine R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards

Reunion

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anthony S. Friends - 07/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a great stay and the two people who looked after us were brilliant. Both Beth and the great Bex made the reunion special.

Dear Anthony s., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards

Short break

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

johnmorgan1952 06/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

Disappointed that a request of either an upgrade to an executive room or at least making the twin room up to a double wasn’t successful. Bar prices quite expensive and slight confusion over dinner allowance, but overall ok.

Dear johnmorgan1952, Thank you for posting your feedback. I am very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectation. Our upgrade only can be offered if we have rooms of certain type, the same apply with to twin room set up. Twin cannot be made as a double but we have many zip and link beds which can be made to people request. I assuming that you stayed with us on the busy night when all rooms was booked and we have no where to move you too. I am very sorry again that you had an inconvenient stay with us. Kind regards Ruslana

A very positive experience

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Mark S 01/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

We booked this hotel as my wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and we wanted to visit York. Although a couple of miles away from the City centre, it was easy enough to get a taxi into town and back. I haven't been to York for a very long time and had forgotten how wonderful it is, so much character and history and plenty to do. Some fab restaurants and pubs too..... Anyway, Anna on reception was excellent and the hotel team really went to town in makiing our stay very special: a happy anniversary card welcomed us when we got to our upgraded suite and the room had been 'garnished' to make it feel special - and it was. The restaurant needs updating and to be given more charcater but the food at dinner and breakfast was very good. The catering team were attentive and professional. A most enjoyable stay.

Dear Mark S, Thank you for taking the time writing your positive review. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and great time in York. We are looking forward to welcome you back here soon. Kind regards Ruslana Yarmolyuk

Never Pay for an Early Arrival (because it won't happen)

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

Lvorl 24/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

My room was not ready despite me paying for an earlyarrival. I was told nothing could be done,however, eventually a lesser room was found - too late to enable me to make an appointment that afternoon. the room I got was next to the lift and a fire door which made a loud noise each time it was closed.Consequently sleeping was difficult.

Dear Lvorl, Thank you for taking the time posting your feedback here. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectation. If we have ready rooms available at a time of your arrival, we would of accommodate your request. Our check out time is 11am and many guests staying until last minutes, therefore rooms only be cleaned after 11am. We are sorry about the inconvenience it caused. Kind regards Ruslana Yarmolyuk

Mercure York

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

j0hnseym0ur 21/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

Hotel staff were excellent, all very helpful. Restaurant food was nice and a good menu, breakfast was standard buffet, hot and plentiful. Hotel is nice but the rooms and bathroom are very dated. Could do with a bit of a refurb. Would stay again

Hello j0hnseym0ur, thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to see you had a good stay with us. I will definitely pass the message on to the team so they know that their hard work is paying off. Looking forward to hopefully seeing you again soon! Kind regards

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in york