Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel

Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel 3 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.2/5 1,111 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map


Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton Environmental certified hotel

  • 200 meters from Edinburgh Waverley Station. Edinburgh Airport, just 6 miles away.

  • Nearby Edinburgh Castle and Scottish National Gallery

  • Scott's on Princes Street restaurant features local Scottish dishes with a modern twist.

  • Outstanding views of Princes street Gardens and the Old Town

Hotel location

Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel

Princes Street
United Kingdom


  • By plane

    EDINBURGH At 12.87km / 8 miles

  • By train

    EDINBURGH WAVERLEY At 0.32km / 0.2 miles

GPS:55.952573, -3.194425

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Restaurant
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar


Scott's on Princes Street pairs excellent Scottish cuisine with a modern twist alongside warm and welcoming staff. Order afternoon tea with scones and tempting snacks from the lounge menu, or take advantage of room service 24 hours a day.

Our accommodation(s)

All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi and many have views of Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street Gardens. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Upgrad e to a spacious seventh-floor superior room with your own private balcony looking out towards Edinburgh's fortified hilltop castle.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.2/5  1,111 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  3.5/5  3,333 reviews

Tired grubby room

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Nick Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

We have used Accor hotels many times the past and have always enjoyed them. Although a great location the room appeared unchanged for 15 years. Large worn out furniture and bathroom, grubby worn carpet in the room and corridors. A terrible image for a world class company.

Well located but hotel rooms require TLC

Customer review rating 3.0/5

L O. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Good location, nice breakfast and friendly staff. Downside is the hotel needs full makeover, rooms very small and require TLC. Rooms also too hot and cannot turn off towel rail and no air conditioning but fan was provided in cupboard. Only provided with decaff coffee in room and view from back of our hotel room was very disappointing and rather noisy from air con units.

Room 359 .smallest room on 3rd floor,

Customer review rating 2.5/5

W N. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

We’re told on arrival that you did not have a front facing ,but half of 3rd was vacant,

Room not as advertised

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Katy Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

We booked this superior room mainly because of the balcony overlooking Edinburgh Castle - the perfect place for my partner to have breakfast on the morning of his 30th birthday. The room was fine, nothing more, nothing less. It did not match the pictures on the website. The online pictures show a modern room, the room we were given had clearly not decorated for many many years and was very underwhelming. As we didn’t arrive until 9pm and we were only staying one night we decided not to ask for a different room, however we do feel like we were misled by the online images.

Well located

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Carol Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent service from staff

Nice hotel

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Alison M. Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

2 night stay. Great location, friendly staff, beautiful bar and restaurant. Breakfast was perfect with a great selection. Rooms are really in need of an update, cracked sink, wholes in the curtain, furniture cracked and really worn down. This really lets the hotel down.

Enjoyable but noisy

Customer review rating 3.0/5

A. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is well located and the staff were very good. However, every door, conversation and footstep could be heard in our room. The staff did their best to deal with noisy guests in the middle of the night, but the constant deliveries, street musicians and rowdy people in the wee hours disrupted our sleep every night. Not really the hotel's problem, but our room had no ventilation of any kind so we had to keep a window open for fresh air. Our flight was very early on the day we left so the desk staff said the kitchen would prepare a breakfast (which we had already paid for) for our departure. It was disappointing to find out that we had been forgotten; and apple, yogurt and water were provided. At 10 pounds per person, that was an expensive meal. I would probably stay there again, but I would bring earplugs!

Well located with helpful staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Lorraine Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

2 night stay for family celebration in Edinburgh. Strong points are excellent location and helpful and welcoming staff eg reception staff willingly went to find sellotape to finish wrapping wrapping a present when mine ran out. Easy to order taxis at reception. Breakfast is an excellent buffet and v good value at around £11 if ordered in advance by guests or £15 if walk in. Restaurant and bar have amazing views across Princes Garden and to the Castle. Rooms with a view would no doubt have an amazing view - our standard rooms had an an ordinary view on the other side. Rooms were adequate - clean and functional but yes, rather tired. Still, there has to be some compromise in a hotel which is a stone’s throw from the Balmoral Hotel and a third of the price. Shower in son’s room wasn't working but was fixed the next day. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

Well located

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Well located hotel, beautiful reception and restaurant area and good food. Rooms, although clean, were rather shabby and I hope they are up for refurbishment.Staff gave excellent service.

Well located

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Had a great stay, the staff were really friendly and very helpful, the views of Princess gardens and the castle from the room were lovely, there was a good choice for breakfast.

Central to everything.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Margaret Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Comfortable Hotel which perhaps needs an upgrade in the bedrooms.

The Best Location from train & touring.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

J N. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Completely amazed to walk out of Waverley station, cross the street and walk a few feet to hotel. Smoothe check-in, room with awesome view. Lovely hotel restaurant and bar service. Staff is tops! Plenty of restaurants within 3 to 5 min walk. Tour bus around 3 min walk. We will return!

Great location, upgraded to room at top with large balcony,well worth doing

Customer review rating 5.0/5

William Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Once we upgraded to superior room thanks to friendly helpful we were well pleased with view from balcony,room was fantastic with a huge extra size king size bed and buffet breakfast was spot on,,nice two days away

Friendly and comfortable. Excellent food. Excellent quality

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Patricia M. S. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly welcome. Dining room staff pleasant helpful but unobtrusive. Have stayed at this hotel before and will do so again. Highly recommend.

Good location

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Sophie D. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

On booking in we were offered an upgrade, thought brilliant, had a nespresso coffee machine in room , think that was the only benefit, used coffee nachine, but no more pods for our other days staying, room was s little bit tired, but will say breakfast very good.

Fab location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Alayna Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Was a fairly good stay, beds were slightly uncomfortable but Might just be because Im not a fan of firm mattresses. Only thing was road works where happening on the tram lines right outside and the noise woke us up at 12am on our first night. We were never told about any road work as if we were would’ve asked for a room at the other side of hotel to keep noise to a minimum.

Good location

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Ablades Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Room very dated as were hallway but also spotless

Short stay

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

exploratio2022 TripAdvisor review

Edinburgh was brilliant and would go back again. The staff at the hotel were lovely and very helpful. One thing they could change was the building works currently happening at the lower floors. If we knew about it, we wouldn’t of booked at that hotel. Between the hours of 8am and 5pm the drilling was constant.

Dear Exploratio2022, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Mercure Edinburgh Princes Street. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards,

Brilliant location

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

abigailc499 TripAdvisor review

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The location is perfect... a couple of minutes walk from Waverley Station, near so many shops, bars and restaurants and in walking distance of many local landmarks, which is ideal for tourists. Our room was a little dated but perfect for a few nights stay. Our room was located on the third floor facing Princes Street and a wonderful castle view, despite being on the main road - the noise didn't bother us. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Dear Abigailc499, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Mercure Edinburgh Princes Street. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our central location. I am pleased to confirm that we have a refurbishment planned for the end of 2022. We trust you had a safe onward journey and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Edinburgh. Kind regards,

Stunning View

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

mandjsmithson TripAdvisor review

Stayed a short time ago and was put in a poor room overlooking the back of the building. The service on that occasion also wasn't good. This time, we were put in a lovely room at the front of the hotel, overlooking the Scott Monument and Princes Street. The view was amazing. Also, the service on this occasion was much better. Dani on reception was particulary polite and helpful.

Dear mandjsmithson, What a great review and we thank you for it. We are pleased that you enjoyed our fantastic location. I will certainly pass on your comments to the team to let them know what a great job they are doing! Especially Dani, seeing his name on TripAdvisor with such an accolade is a real boost to morale. We certainly hope to look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Edinburgh Kind Regards,

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in EDINBURGH