Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel 3 stars

Customer review rating 3.7/5 1,454 reviews
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
See on a map
+ 15 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • 16th century manor house with original features

  • The Priory Restaurant features regional dishes

  • Picturesque location, with lakeside views

  • 4 dedicated meeting rooms accommodating up to 100 guests

  • Ironbridge Gorge Museum located nearby

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 6 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel

Castlefields Way
Madeley
Shropshire
TF7 5DW
telford
united kingdom

Tel: +441952680068

Fax: (+44)1952/684275

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    BIRMINGHAM At 71.77km / 44.6 miles

  • By train

    TELFORD At 7.56km / 4.7 miles

GPS :52.643017, -2.45141

Our accommodations

"All rooms are individual in character and feature En-suite bath and shower, Flatscreen TV with Freeview Channels, Hairdryer, Trouser press, Complimentary tea and coffee making facilities,FREE Wi-Fi"

Standard Room with 1 single bed

  • Max. number of persons: 1
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Standard Room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Standard Room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Standard Family Room

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Superior Double Room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Our restaurants and bars

THE PRIORY

Type of cuisine: Regional

Restaurant boasts an open-fire and high ceilings and offers table d'hôte menu for dinner.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

LAKESIDE BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 6

  • Maximum size: 245

  • Maximum capacity: 250 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 175 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.7/5

1,454 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

1,441 reviews

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Anonymous Families - 10/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were fantastic, and cdnt do enough for you room was large, but lights didn’t all work and there was no glass over the main light.

Excellent Hotel

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Jeff B. J. Couples - 05/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

A very warm welcome from the moment we arrived. The staff were very friendly especially Abbie, she was excellent. She helped us out with any concerns we had straight away. The only downsides were the spiral stairs and the mattress was way too soft but we will definitely stay again.

Dear JEFF BARKER J., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback about the staff, especially abbie, I will share your comments with her. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nina Dicken General Manager

Beautiful

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Kay S. Families - 04/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely country house hotel in a great setting.Good restaurant the evening meal was excellent. the breakfast looked good but was not very warm. But overall a stunning location will definitely be back.

Dear KAY s., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nina Dicken General Manager

Delightful building, appalling management

Customer review rating 3.7/5

R. Business - 04/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The building itself is charming, but from the heavily potholed drive to the empty reception, the whole place needs some TLC. There was no hot water throughout our stay but to be fair on checkout I was refunded the (very reasonable) price of the room. The (very overpriced) food in the restaurant was laughable, but the waitress was charming and the room itself is beautiful. Is this place really run by a major hotel chain? The staff were all very friendly and did their best, but what on Earth are the management up to?

Dear SELWYN R., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will be speaking to reception to find out what they were doing upon the time you were checking in, unfortunately receptionist do sometimes have jobs that mean they have to leave the desk to go and do, so I apologise for the service part of your check in was not up to 5* standard. I am happy to hear you were refunded for the issues you had when checking out with Atlanta. I hope this does not stop you from staying with us in the future and hopefully next time we can exceed a 5* review. Sincerely, Nina Dicken General Manager

underwhelmed

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Mr U. Business - 03/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

a very strange experience, hotel is in need of investment

Dear NEIL M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. The hotel has had abit of refurbishment done last year and will be carried on throughout this year. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Mercure. Please do not hesitate to contact me during your next visit. Sincerely, Nina Dicken General Manager

Relaxing stay

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Sarah Couples - 03/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely overnight stay for my husband's birthday. I emailed the hotel for a room in the main hotel & this is what I got. Got a great price for dinner, bed & breakfast.

Dear SARAH I., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am very happy to hear that the receptionist fulfilled your request of a room within the main hotel. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nina Dicken General Manager

Good Value

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

jasonelord 30/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

Good value on the Accor website, only stayed 1 night room only. Staff were helpful, room was spacious, location is okay if you are driving. Online check-in and check-out was seamless. Overall a pleasanr experience.

Dear jasonelord, I would like to thank you for leaving us a 4* review. I am very happy to hear all the staff were helpful during your stay with us at Madeley Court. I will pass your comments about online check in and out with our Reception Manager. Your feedback is important to us and we use this to improve our service. Kind Regards Nina Dicken General Manager

Comfortable and clean room. Friendly staff.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Derek P. Business - 29/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly staff from reception through to checkout. Very simple process for booking and check in.

Dear DEREK P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nina Dicken General Manager

Disappointing

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Lynn B. Business - 29/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The breakfast was lovely. I appreciate that I only paid just under £60 for my one night stay on Monday night and therefore knew my room would not look like the ones on your website. However, after a sleepless night due to a generator/ noisy heating system buzzing away, holes in the sheets on my bed, cracked bathroom tiles, peeling paint, broken bin, dodgy mixertap shower system which was difficult to reach under the eaves and meant that when you dared to stand up with the shower head, the pipe knocked the cold tap off and I burnt myself, I was struggling to remain positive. As I was only staying from 9pm to 9.10am the following day, I didn't request a change but did share my thoughts on checking out. The reply was ' I'm sorry to hear that'. As I needed to get away, I left and didn't pursue any further.

Dear LYNN b., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will most certainly go and look in room 15 as I have not been made aware of the issues you have raised within your complaint - I will also speak to the receptionist that checked you out, as I hate seeing guests leave unhappy. Some of our older rooms are being refurbished in the quitter months. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Sincerely, Nina Dicken General Manager

Great value

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Andy H. Business - 28/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

A very impressive building and hotel albeit the new section of the hotel was a bit 'tired' and could have done with a good clean / decoration. Having said that my room was clean and spacious (room 31). The highlight of the stay was the breakfast the service received from the staff member. The breakfast was the best full english I've had in a hotel chain. This was further enhanced by the member of staff on duty that morning (might have been Linda?) who was simply magnificent. She added a 'can't do enough' attitude and pre-empted our every need. Excellent.

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Leah Couples - 26/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely spacious room only fault was limescale on the shower head.

Dear LEAH W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nina Dicken General Manager

Adequate

Customer review rating 3.7/5

George W. Families - 26/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Our reservation was for a superior room. But this had been allocated to somebody else, which we only found out afterwards. Reception ordered taxi for us. Taxi arrived but we were in bar and nobody came looking for us and we were none the wiser. After half hour we then had to reorder but late for family party.

Dear G W., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I have looked at your reservation and can see you stayed in room 22, this is one of our superior rooms and one of the newer rooms. I will speak to reception about the taxi issue, sometimes if they don't do a call back or come into the hotel receptionist won't know that the taxi is waiting outside. Sincerely, Nina Dicken General Manager

Cosy stay

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Lin Couples - 20/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Helpful staff, amazing old place

Dear LIN R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nina Dicken General Manager

Excellent

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Michelle H. Couples - 19/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent

Dear Mr and mrs G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I Look forward to welcoming you back in the future Sincerely, Nina Dicken general Manager

Not good enough

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Ali Business - 18/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Couldn’t easily book multiple rooms so-called central team clearly outside of uk - which is fine but they couldn’t understand my simple request for 3 rooms of different durations without multiple repeating - not ok! It took over 20 mins to book the 3 rooms so not best customer experience to start with. My perception of Mercure chain after staying in this hotel is a budget business that looks for the cheapest staff/ service provision and doesn’t train to deliver good service. Boiler broke 1st morning. Returned after a run and reception knew - these things happen - BUT no proactive suggestions - i had to suggest they found me another room with hot water which they then did. And moved me for next 2 nights to much better room. However this sums it up - inexperienced front of house with little initiative left to run the show. 3rd night returned late from client meeting at 10.45 having not eaten couldn’t rustle anything up - asked for cheese and biscuits - no not even a sandwich. Don’t need a chef to assemble some cheese and biscuits! Attention to detail poor - menus have plastic folders that are dirty and bent up inside - cost pence to replace - but clearly lack of ownership and leadership to things they should be on top of. Food not great - big portions but nothing properly seasoned, risotto masses of cream added - 2 of us left almost all of our bit no-one enquired why. Missed opportunities to learn and improve. Shared view of people I spoke to who live in Telford was this is not a great hotel and they don’t recommend. Such a shame as beautiful building, nice bar and both women who served breakfast were really helpful and nice. Nothing awful but a big chain should be on top these basics if they want a sustainable business. Was cheap but to be honest that’s all it is worth - but a few small changes and investing in front of house training, helping staff to pre-empt problems and guest requests and how to positively react etc would make a massive difference. I am a business transformation consultant- and this is free advice for the type of thing that my clients pay a lot of money for - I hope you take note of it!

Lovely room and warm welcome.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Margaret D. Couples - 16/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Comfortable. Nice room

Dear MARGARET D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nina Dicken General Manager

Some parts very good, others disappointing.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Alison Couples - 15/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were disappointed with the room which was very tired. The armchair was tatty. The bathroom was very tired. There was mildew in the shower and the shower curtain was long overdue a wash. The towels were very small and obviously very old. We had to accept this room as it had the only accessible shower. We had very good service from two of your staff members particularly - Leslie at breakfast service who went above and beyond to help us and Farah at dinner who made the evenings a success. We have to say that the meal we had on Friday night was very good. However, the Saturday night meal was NOT AT ALL GOOD. The food was badly presented and one dish was frankly almost inedible, (overcooked fish and arid mashed potatoes). We understand there were different chefs preparing the meals on different nights. We cannot fault the other staff at all.

Dear ALISON F., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will have looked in room 42 and the arm chair has been removed and replace with a new one, same with the shower curtain( Thank you for bringing this to my attention). Due to Plant 21 our towels are no longer allowed to be bleached white, so they can look abit old looking but they are clean. I will pass your mentioned onto Lesley and Farah for the service you received and I will also be speaking to the chef on the Saturday night as for the standard to the cooking as this is not what I accept. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Nina Dicken General Manager

Food was great, room was ok, bathroom - really tired!

Customer review rating 3.7/5

T M. Business - 15/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The experience was good. Pleasant staff, confortable bed, warm room, great food. nit picking but the bathtubs could really do with updating. although they are clean - it just does not come across very well. Also would have been great to have a shower screen/curtain.

Dear BEN M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I will be looking into Gables bathroom and see were we can improve the bathroom. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nina Dicken General Manager

Quaint Country House Hotel

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

Gostrawberry Family - 15/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

Food was acceptable, service was fun but slow and a bit overpowering at breakfast but overall a good stay. Comfortable beds. Nice bar area to chat with family and friends. Nothing too much trouble for reception staff.

Dear Gostrawberry, I would like to thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. I am happy to hear that our bed was comfortable and you enjoyed our bar area. I will pass your compliments to reception about their services. I will look into the service side of things as to why its slow. Kind Regards Nina Dicken General Manager

Enjoyable

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Kaz Couples - 08/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent staff Efficient check in Just short on supplies at bar for New Year’s Eve

Dear KAREN D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Unfortunately due to the company we use for Liquor was closed over Christmas and New year. So our Liquor stock did get quite low, I am very glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Nina Dicken General Manger
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in telford