Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel 3 stars

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5 1,161 reviews
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
See on a map
+ 17 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Easy access to Manchester Airport for guests

  • Within walking distance of the picturesque village of Hale

  • On-site bar & restaurant serving international cuisine

  • Transport links for guests visiting Manchester city centre

  • Complimentary leisure facilities with swimming pool

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Manual temperature control
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 5 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Langham Road
Bowdon
Cheshire
WA14 2HT
altrincham
united kingdom

Tel: +441619287121

Fax: (+44)161/9277560

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER At 8.05km / 5 miles

  • By train

    ALTRINCHAM At 3.22km / 2 miles

GPS :53.377657, -2.351504

Our accommodations

87 en suite comfortable, modern bedrooms including singles, twins, doubles and triples. All rooms offer flat screen LCD TV's with Freeview channels, tea and coffee making facilities, trouser press, hairdryer and free WiFi

Standard Room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 12
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Standard Room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 12
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Superior Room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 15
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Superior Room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 15
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Direct dial telephone

Executive Room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 15
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV(...)

Our restaurants and bars

BOWDON RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: Regional

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Dinner

19:00 - 21:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

CAFE BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 5

  • Maximum size: 120

  • Maximum capacity: 120 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 120 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.7/5

1,990 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

1,161 reviews

Satisfied

Customer review rating 3.7/5

J A. P. Families - 02/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good hotel . Passage way to room (103) required painting. Room excellent though unable to turn down heater and the tiles on the bathroom floor were bit poor as there was no shower screen seal to stop water coming through.

Dear JOHN P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Excellent

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Anonymous Business - 01/12/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great Staff and service

Dear SIMON J., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Looks like I owe you a pint for writing such a good review !!!!!!!!! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Ms

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Perveen H. Business - 27/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very disappointing in room quality, my first ever stay at a mecure hotel.

Dear PERVEEN h., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I did however notice you booked a standard room but we also have Superior and Privilege rooms which may better suit your needs if you were considering a future visit. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

a very run down hotel with a sad feeling

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Anonymous Business - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

OK but bed was not comfortable; pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable, room not well appointed with sockets; air conditioning unit looked dangerous with exposed wires; view outside window was a concrete wall! route down to room very 1970s in décor. Was surprised on arrival to find people/staff - not sure which - smoking outside entrances. A very shabby feel to the whole experience.

Dear ANGELA W., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Regrettably there are no immediate plans for a major refurbishment but do have some smaller plans for various improvements through the next few months. Sadly smoking around entrances seems to be a standard these days but agree this is not good first impression but despite our best efforts this does continue. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Room below standard I would have expected

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Mary G. Couples - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Paid to book in early. Only one room available. Time pressure suggested we accept. Perpetual background noise of hotel heating system which was very troubling at night. Heating not working but room temp was acceptable. Bathroom fan not working. Check out kind and efficient price of breakfast taken off our bill. Breakfast was best part of stay.

Dear MARY G., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence but pleased we made an adjustment to you bill by way of compensation. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Booking in was an issue but once that problem was resolved, all was very good

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Liz W. Business - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

I booked two rooms in my name but at the point of booking gave the receptionist the names of guets. I provided the reservation numbers to our guests but upon their arrival at the Hotel, they were told there were no reservations for them. Eventually the Manager was called and reservations found.

Dear ELIZABETH W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Pleased to know that after the initial booking issue things went well. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Lovely way to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Amy F. Couples - 24/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was lovely and the staff were accommodating. The room was hot during the night so had to sleep with the window open, which wasn’t a problem until the morning and you could hear a delivery happening around 7am. The room itself however was lovely and other than the issue with heat, it couldn’t be faulted. Great location, walking distance to both hale and Altrincham.

Dear AMY F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Deliveries should not be made at such an early hour and whilst it is of little consolation to you now I will be taking this up with the offending supplier. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager
Customer review rating 3.7/5

Anne Business - 23/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was okay, the sheets are clean but the toilet can add lotion or slippers to its amenities

Dear ANNE V., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. At this hotel we have standard, superior and privilege rooms, superior and privilege rooms have a larger footprint and privilege rooms come with many extras including robe, slippers, additional toiletries, fridge with complimentary soft drinks, in-room safe and Nespresso coffee machine, Whilst these rooms do carry supplementary charges it may suit your needs better if you are considering any return visits. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager
Customer review rating 3.7/5

Mr A. Couples - 22/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed for one night, bed was comfortable, pool and breakfast great .

Dear CARL A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Tired hotel with lower standards than most Mercure

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Anonymous Business - 19/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Font desk not manned - staff chatting in a back room, single glazed windows that knocked in their frames all night, no room service not even bar snacks after 9pm. Clean decor but v old.

Dear KIRSTIE W., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Sadly there are no immediate plans to replace windows but we are undertaking some smaller projects over the next few months which I hope will help with presentation. Most concerned to learn of your comments about lack of food as this should not be the case and whilst I realise it is of little consolation to you now I will quickly address this. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

heating in room did not work

Customer review rating 3.7/5

D. S. Families - 17/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was a cold weekend. We told reception heating in room and bathroom not working. The person who came to look said it would come on. It didn't. We got a portable heater. We reported the heating again on checking out. Room 56. Arrangement with local taxi firm unsatisfactory. We had to cancel and walk to our destination On arrival the check in person struggled to find our booking. Out local hosts were told we were not booked in. They wanted to leave a gift and couldn't. Not very welcoming

Dear s. D., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager
Customer review rating 3.7/5

Anonymous Solo - 17/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had a very pleasant stay at the Mercure hotel.Only disappointment at breakfast the soft boiled egg was hard boiled.

Dear HELEN L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Will however buy the chef a clock or timer to ensure eggs are cooked to guests preference. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager
Customer review rating 3.7/5

L K. Families - 17/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

fine

Dear LESLIE k., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Overnight Moroccan return

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Sue &. R. Couples - 17/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

First use of Manchester Airport, landed 12mn having booked Bowden to journey home Friday am. Great choice; minutes from airport, night manager extremely helpful in relocating us to ground-floor room. All satisfactory, breakfast adequate and staff very attentive of all needs. Definitely choose again for this scenario; though please note, not ideal if as we did, needing your heavy luggage. Access from car-park to hotel via main entrance or rear involves flights of stairs, no lift to 1st floor but very steep flight of curving stairs, hence need of room relocation.

Dear SUE G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Pleased that the night staff were able to allocate a ground floor room thus avoiding the stairs. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Staff great room good and food lovely

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Jackie E. Families - 29/10/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

We always love staying at this hotel before we fly out for our holidays staff are friendly and rooms a very clean , we always a an evening meal and the food is very nice and great value for money

Dear NICHOLA G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

We enjoyed our stay.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Sue Families - 28/10/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice room, comfortable beds, good bathroom. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. It just needs some refurbishment!

Dear SUSAN W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager
Customer review rating 3.7/5

Adrian B. Families - 28/10/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was ok, but not as good as I expected at all.

Dear ADRIAN B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Whilst there is little of a specific nature within the feedback I can see some areas where scores awarded were low and will work on these to look for ways to improve. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

A quiet hotel in a posh area, the hotel needs quite some maintenance to become posh too

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Peter Business - 25/10/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel has enough free parking. the ground floor is traditional but renovated, the rest of the hotel needs some maintenance too. Executive rooms are of good size, breakfast is traditional but good, dinner was okay, better then expected but still needs some improvement.

Dear PETRUS N., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Sadly there are no current plans for a major refurbishment program but there are a number of smaller projects taking place to improve product and appearance. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager
Customer review rating 3.7/5

Sofia Solo - 20/10/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Really comfortable

Dear SOFIA B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager

Handy

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Anonymous Couples - 14/10/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

This Hotel is perfectly positioned for what we wanted to do.Sadly it is looking a bit dated and needs some money spent on refurbishment.having said that beds are comfortable ,rooms are tidy,staff are all hard working and do their best to make your stay as pleasant as they can.

Dear HAROLD S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Whilst there are no major plans for refurbishment we do have some smaller improvement projects taking place. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Paul Rodgers General Manager
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in altrincham