Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.5/5 9,827 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery
See on a map
+ 17 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton Environmental certified hotel

  • Enjoy Afternoon Tea in the hotel's prestigious Tea Room

  • Four-poster beds and en-suite facilities available

  • Grade I listed building with original features

  • Central location with plenty of nearby transport links

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing Paying
  • Porter
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 2 Meeting room(s)
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery

QUEEN SQUARE
BA1 2HH bath
united kingdom

Tel: +441225424105

Fax: (+44)1225/319715

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • NATIONAL EXPRESS :  BATH SPA

  • By plane

    BRISTOL At 30.7km / 19.08 miles

  • By plane

    CARDIFF At 106.5km / 66.18 miles

  • By plane

    SOUTHAMPTON At 105.9km / 65.81 miles

  • By train

    BATH SPA At 0.8km / 0.5 miles

GPS :51.383003, -2.363429

Our accommodation(s)

All rooms are en-suite, equipped with LCD TV, WI-FI, hairdryers and iron with ironing boards

Our restaurants and bars

Boho Marché

Type of cuisine: Mediterranean

Whether you're ready for a lazy brunch, spice up your lunch, or make dinner a real occasion, Boho Marché restaurant, bar and lounge packs a culinary punch with oodles of design flair. Breakfast is served and an all-day menu and cocktails 12-9 pm.

LOUNGE & BAR

To satisfy your appetite, delicious offerings are provided by the hotel kitchen at a moment's notice, served in the Lounge and Bar. Produce is sourced locally to create fresh salads, speciality sandwiches,freshly baked cakes and buns and generous platter

Menu (PDF)

Non contractual photo

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 2

  • Maximum size: 132

  • Maximum capacity: 60 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 24 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.5/5

9,827 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5

3,175 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

over priced and underwhelmed

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Steve Families - 21/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was dusty and small in size , bar had ran out of gin and tonic, we had to have breakfast before 8 in the restaurant or after 8 in our room, not what I would expect for 385 for one nights stay

Great central location

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Susan Couples - 21/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel was pleasant and in a perfect location for sightseeing. However we were not completely satisfied with the breakfast arrangements as we could not get in until 10.15 on two days owing to a large coach party taking the earlier times. On our final D. the breakfast arrangement changed from table service to buffet service for hot food. The Dinner menu was not to everyone's liking as having a strong Moroccan theme.

Well located. Underwhelming room. No view!

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Teresa S. Families - 21/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was musty, the window was dirty and it looked out on the carpark, which from 7am onwards was filled with delivery vehicles and people delivering catering supplies, recycling bottles etc.. to the point that we had to dress with the curtains drawn! This was a special trip for my Mum and we asked to be re-located, but were told... that after a whole day of looking, that the hotel was full and they could only find a double room of a lesser standard. We subsequently found out that all the twin rooms were located in the newer part of the hotel at the back with no views. It would seem that these rooms were seen as less important to provide a choice, bearing in mind we paid over £300 a night, I found this surprising. I also would have expected at least some of the double rooms to potentially have beds that could be separated? In addition, on the Saturday morning, we were not offered the a la carte breakfast menu (that was included within out b&b) price. The team felt like it lacked senior management, although I was told that the receptionist was the Manager (when I asked), it certainly didn't feel like I was talking to the Manager or that she cared about my issues. We absolutely loved Bath , but would be very cautious about staying at this hotel again, although the location and the potential was great.

Excellent stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Sandy P. Friends - 21/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very well located to walk the beautiful streets of Bath. Staff were extremely helpful. The garden terrace was slightly disappointing as you looked out into the car park. Maybe some hedging would help

Well located

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Sara Couples - 21/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very helpful staff especially Leroy on the front desk, look after him, treat him well, he is an asset you do not want to lose.

Excellent location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Conrad I. Families - 21/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Cousy Hotel and friendly/professional stuff

Disappointing

Customer review rating 2.5/5

F. Friends - 21/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Our rooms were really stuffy, smelt musty, mouldy bathroom and the windows didn’t open. Breakfast was quite challenging. We saw someone with Avocado and poached eggs on toast. We asked to have but we’re told it wasn’t available to us even though we had breakfast included in our rate. Then we were told it was just for vegetarians, we were so we’re finally allowed it but clearly it was a problem. The next date we received a menu with breakfast, and it was on the menu. It could be a beautiful hotel but everything quite oppressive, probably because our superior double rooms felt quite grim.

Lovely rooms

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Euan D. Couples - 21/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

OK until someone emptied a bottle bin at 7.30 am on a Sunday morning right outside our room in the carpark (we had a lovely view of a carpark from the ground floor). I was also offered an upgrade which I took up - and then was informed it couldn't be done when I arrived which was disappointing

Well located good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 20/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Visiting bath for royal crescent and Roman baths and various other sites. This was a good site very comfortable

Very well located hotel

Customer review rating 3.5/5

John Couples - 20/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Positives - Excellent location. Nice room with comfortable bed. Excellent decor in hotel public areas. Very welcoming and attentive staff. Clean and nicely decorated hallways Negatives - No chest of drawers in room for clothes storage. Very expensive parking Evening meal menu was very poor -far too artisan with so many ingredients which we had never heard of and which were truly awful - such as Mooli.. Chef needs removing ! Coffee was served in cafetière but appeared to be instant coffee. No grounds present

Our return to Bath

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Ken P. Couples - 19/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very enjoyable second visit to the Bath Francis Hotel. Welcoming and cheerful staff. Good breakfast and dinner

Good location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

C. R. Couples - 19/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel is in a good location. The decor was beautiful however some furniture in the room was tired and appeared broken. Boho Marche was a disappointment, food was not up to standard

I had a good and enjoyable stay.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Mrs R. O. Families - 19/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Unfortunately the dining quality in the evening has deteriorated by comparison to Brasserie Blanc.

Central hotel

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

976lynnd1 19/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

Lovely hotel within 5 mins walk of many attractions. Lots of restaurants in the area. Restaurant on site was good. Coffee shops for breakfast near the Abbey are 5 mins away. Lovely being opposite the park Square but quite noisy if you are on that side. I rate it highly for all aspects except price as £240 per night not including any food is awful.

Dear guest Thank you so much for your great reviews, we are so happy that you had a fantastic stay and look forward to you returning Kind regards Steven

Well located good stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Martin C. Couples - 17/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is situated perfectly in walking distance of most of the places you visit Bath to see. It’s a lovely period hotel with large bedrooms. The only thing that was disappointing was the breakfast. We had the usual full English, the bacon was burnt, a tiny slice of tomato, and the whole plate didn’t look good. The juice was diluted and cost £4.50 extra. The coffee was also diluted and tasteless.

Excellent facilities, poor services

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Martha V 15/09/2021 TripAdvisor review

It is a marvellous hotel with beautiful rooms and public areas but very poor housekeeping services, to the extent that I felt it was not value for money. In 6 days towels and bed linen were only changed once -after I asked- and room cleaning was kept to a bare minimum. It is a pity for such a hotel in such price range.

Dear guest Thankyou for your feedback, in the letter we provide guests on check in we allow you to tell us when you want your room cleaned. this offers flexibility for the guest. Team francis
Customer review rating 3.5/5

Therese C. Families - 13/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Firstly I must say the staff were all charming and very helpful. However I am VERY surprised that there are rooms in the hotel which have windows painted shut, and though the breakfast was delicious the coffee was horrid.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Business - 13/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good room. Everything worked.

Pleasant experience

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Elzabeth B. Friends - 13/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall a good stay.When we arrived there was some con fusion which could have been avoidedif someone had appeared to have overall control. But after that everything was good with a lovely room and particularly well designed bathroom and shower.The breakfast was excellent and I would especially commend the gentleman who appeared to hold everything togther.!

Great short stay in Bath

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Gaelle S. Couples - 12/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Spent 1 night during Summer BH weekend. Location is perfect, staff very nice & available. Small negative point is the noise in the room, which was a communicating one (though not from the same party). And a nespresso machine mentioned in the confirmation and none in the room.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in bath