Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel & Spa

Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 3.9/5 611 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • On-site leisure facilities including an 18-metre pool

  • Fully-functioning gym, sauna, steam room and more

  • Guests enjoy 20% discount on spa treatments

  • Conference and meeting rooms seating 700 guests

  • Within walking distance to the iconic Millennium Stadium

Hotel location

Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel & Spa

24 26 Newport Road
CF24 0DD CARDIFF
United Kingdom

  • By plane

    BRISTOL At 75.3km / 46.79 miles

  • By plane

    CARDIFF At 25.3km / 15.72 miles

  • By plane

    SWANSEA At 88km / 54.69 miles

  • By train

    CARDIFF CENTRAL At 1.8km / 1.12 miles

GPS:51.483986, -3.167448

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

URBAN BAR & KITCHEN

The First Floor Restaurant at Mercure Holland House has developed an enviable reputation for style, ambience and culinary excellence since it opened. The menu provides a varied and irresistible range of modern cuisine, all served with style.

Our accommodation(s)

The hotel's 172 bedrooms offer guests a range of accommodation options including executive rooms, spacious suites, interconnecting rooms and enhanced accessibility. Each room features a range of facilities such as air conditioning, WiFi and satellite TV. All bedrooms are in line with 4-star standards but some suites offer particularly inspiring views over the city, designed with panoramic windows so guests can enjoy and absorb every detail.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel & Spa

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  3.9/5  611 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.0/5  3,451 reviews

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Amy H. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Our air con in the room wasn’t working so we rang down and got moved straight away which was great good stay and location

Good stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Maz Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice polite friendly helpful staff , housekeeping very good keeping the room nice

Good location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Bearwords Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

This was a first time stay. Great location and quiet despite being on a major road. Friendly staff. Well appointed rooms although slightly dated.

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Kerri Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Window glass broken. Shower curtain !!!! Like uni showers !

Great location

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Patsy C. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Great stay. Busy as there were large events on but staff were great. Just a shame we couldn’t use the car park.

Well Located

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anon Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Another pleasant stay at this hotel.I have been a regular for many years now. The loyalty scheme has been very beneficial.

Excellent hotel and facilities and Location

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

I1046PGmartinm Business - TripAdvisor review

The hotel is ideally situated walking distance into the centre. The facilities are great with a gym , pool sauna etc. The staff (Laura was amazing this stay) are helpful and always happy to help out with recommendations etc. A great place to stay in Cardiff

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is always great to read when someone has enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. With Regards, Mercure Cardiff HH Team

Well located great facilities fab stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

A. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

All staff were helpful great service extremely clean comfortable stay

Dear Belcher A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Cardiff Holland House. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Mercure Cardiff Holland House Team

Excellent Stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mike J. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Having previously booked a " Superior " room as a treat for my better half, decided on this occasion to book a " Privilege" room, Wow just WOW the views over Cardiff were excellent

Dear Michael J., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

A great stay experience

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mark A. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

My wife and I were staying to celebrate my 60th birthday. We were returning after having had good experience in this hotel last year. The celebration was for a birthday and we were well and truly spoiled and looked after by the staff who went above and beyond their duty.

Dear Mark A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel & Spa. It is always great to read when someone has enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Mercure Cardiff HH Team

Great hotel

Customer review rating 4.0/5

June M. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Fabulous hotel Central to Cardiff Efficient check in and check out Good spa facilities Good room very clean Good food an drinks

Dear June m., Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is always great to read when someone has enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. With Regards, Mercure Cardiff HH Team

Small details that need to be addressed

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Cher S. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Room not ready at 4pm! Had to keeping checking if it was done, was dispointed as it was a treat for my. Mumand we were waiting to use the spa. The room had no heating only cold setting on conditiong, emailed the hotel beforehand about breakfast and dinner info, and never had a reply. Others also waiting for rooms at 4pm! Underwhelming experience

Dear Cheryl s., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. With Regards, Mercure Cardiff HH Team

Great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Michael V. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Very very happy

Dear Michael v., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is always great to read when someone has enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. With Regards, Mercure Cardiff HH Team

Well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Glenda J. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Disappointed i was advised my room would be ready for 2 pm as we had a meal booked for 16.30 and had to get across town we had also been traveling over 3 hrs our room was not made available u til 15 .40 leaving no time to shower or anything i asked if i could pay for a early checkin but was advised that i was unable to do so

Dear Glenda J., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel & Spa. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment that your room was not ready as per your requested early check in request. We do always try to accommodate these requests however due to some reasons sometimes beyond our control this is not always possible. It is great to read that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon With Regards, Mercure Cardiff HH Team

Lovely Stay - Central but quiet enough to sleep.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Jimbosh H. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Very welcoming upon check-in. Dave (night manager) happily brought up extra sheets with a smile. Room was spacious and clean with lovely views. Only criticism was the undercooked scrambled egg and sausage (food poisoning material if there’s any) that was served to our room with a £5 tray charge. However, After speaking to reception, I was refunded for the breakfast and tray charge.

Adequate and well located for where we needed to be visiting

Customer review rating 3.5/5

John M. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Satisfactory for 1 night stay but extractor not working in bathroom and broken plug in wash hand basin.

Dear John M., Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I can assure you that I will take all of your feedback on board and share with the team so that we can make the necessary improvements. I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future. With Regards, Mercure Cardiff HH Team

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Large and clean room

Dear Cheuk Kai C., Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is always great to read when someone has enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. With Regards, Mercure Cardiff HH Team

Good and Bad

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Martin R. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were very good and nice clean hotel with a good breakfast, We were in the presidential suite and the room was ok. The main issue we had was the room was not soundproofed and all we could hear all night was the lifts going up and down so we had a poor nights sleep. I did not bother complaining as wow and behold the phone was conveniently not working??? I'm sure the management know about this issue and choose not to do anything about it. So as far as I'm concerned i have to say the management have chose not to deal with this issue and continue to put paying customers into rooms knowing full well that they are noisy and basically happy to take your money and not give a damn if you don't have a good nights sleep.

Dear Martin R., Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a survey following your recent stay at The Savoy. At Mercure Holland House we all take great pride in providing our guests with the highest standards of service, therefore I am very sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion; please allow me to express my sincere apologies. Your feedback is very important to us and I wish to assure you that we take all comments seriously and we will address these issues accordingly. Although we may not always enjoy receiving negative feedback, it certainly allows us to continuously review the services we provide and help us to concentrate our training efforts where needed to build the confidence and skills of our colleagues. Once again, please accept my sincere apologies and we hope to have the opportunity of warmly welcome you again to Mercure Cardiff in the near future. Yours sincerely, Steph James

Worth the money.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Lorraine W. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel well located. Staff friendly and helpful. Room was contemporary and clean. Great amenities. The panoramic view was great. The only pro we had was the mini bar wasn't refilled the next day. We had to ask twice for it to be done. Other than that the hotel was great. Would stay again and recommend.

Dear lorraine W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel & Spa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Lovely, relaxing stay!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Charmaine J TripAdvisor review

We came for the Spa Reviver package for my partners birthday. It felt like I'd paid a lot more than I actually did! The room was huge, the spa was lovely, staff were friendly, professional and accommodating and the leisure facilities were nice too. They even left a little sweet treat and happy birthday message in the room. The 3 course meal was good for what I paid (included in the package). We would definitely stay again. We felt really happy and relaxed after our visit 😊

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is always great to read when someone has enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. With Regards, Mercure Cardiff HH Team

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in CARDIFF