Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.8/5 5,215 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
See on a map
+ 16 Services

Hotel extras

  • Five fully-equipped meeting rooms for up to 200 guests

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 200 guests

  • Nearby attractions include Winchester Cathedral

  • Enjoy traditional British cuisine at the Wessex restaurant

  • Pet friendly hotel

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • ParkingPaying
  • Reduced mobility facilities
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 5 Meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
Information message

Hotel location

Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel

Paternoster Row
SO23 9LQ winchester
united kingdom

Tel: +441962861611

Fax: (+44)1962/849617

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    BOURNEMOUTH INTERNAT At 59.4km / 36.91 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON HEATHROW At 86.7km / 53.88 miles

  • By plane

    SOUTHAMPTON At 19km / 11.81 miles

  • By train

    WINCHESTER At 1.6km / 0.99 miles

GPS :51.06123, -1.311941

Our accommodation(s)

The hotel offers executive and classic bedrooms, some available with an interconnecting option. All rooms are non-smoking, have WiFi access and 24-hour room service. All bedrooms are equipped with a hair dryer, ironing facilities, flatscreen TV with international channels, complimentary toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities.

Compact Double RoomNon contractual photo

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 10 / 108 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron
  • Direct dial telephone
Single Bed

Our restaurants and bars

WESSEX RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: Bistro

The Wessex Restaurant is closed at the moment

Dinner

18:30 - 21:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

KING'S LOUNGE

Non contractual photo

Limited opening times for foreseeable future

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 5

  • Maximum size: 218

  • Maximum capacity: 200 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 200 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 3.8/5

5,215 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

1,974 reviews

Good Location,

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Chris Business - 04/04/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is situated in a perfect spot for viewing the cathedral, the rooms are dated but clean however the central heating system is really poor, you’ve got two choices either the fan heating or a plug in electric heater, the fan heating doesn’t have a quiet mode so not great for sleeping, the electric heaters aren’t sufficient enough to heat a room alone, some rooms don’t have the fan option (apparently this is a luxury) I don’t want to put this hotel down too much as I will be staying again but they seriously need to update the whole heating system throughout the hotel, a warm comfortable room is the bare minimum any hotel should supply ( it’s not a luxury as was suggested to me) it’s 2021 not 1921. Other than that the staff are pleasant enough. Be aware that the parking is £15 per night but to be fair that is a reflection on the whole area the council must be rubbing their hands.

Central Winchester home from home

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Michelle T. Business - 25/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stay regularly for business in the Mecure Wessex. Beautiful Cathedral View, you could not get more Central. Staff are professional and welcoming. Room with large bed, mini fridge and bath ideal. When open we use the Cathedral facing bar for meetings. It has Starbucks coffee. Parking available if needed too.

Dear Michelle T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and to welcome you to the hotel. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one again. Kind Regards Eric-Enno Snel General Manager

Tired room

Customer review rating 2.0/5

James Business - 14/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Carpets worn through

Dear Martin W., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel General Manager

Adequate

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Mark Solo - 10/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good location, friendly staff though hotel is very tired and in need of refurbishment / modernisation

Dear Mark F., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel General Manager

Rubbish

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Jack B. Business - 02/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Heater didn’t work in my room, smelt horrible. Not stay again.

Dear Mr B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay in the future as when we checked the heather it was working fine. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel General Manager

Location, Location

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Daniel H. Business - 30/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

This hotel is perfectly situated within the city of Winchester. Efficient, functional, with a very comfortable bed, a more than adequate pied a terre in an ancient city.

Worst room to stay in if you want uninterrupted sleep!

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Jack Business - 24/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room 126 is located adjacent to the lift shaft and therefore whenever the lift is used you hear the lift scraping up and down the inside of the shaft. The electric heater on the wall has to be on full power in order to get any benefit on a cold night and because it has no thermostat it gets ridiculously hot while you attempt to sleep. The room in general needs renovating to keep up with standards expected even at a price of £55 a night. Car park and breakfast charges are additional so for around £80 it’s sub standard!

Dear Jac R., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel General Manager

Good stay in the covid circumstances

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Mr G. S. Business - 22/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

This is a very nice hotel but due to covid my use of it was restricted. The room was good and teh food (delivered to the room) good. The covid arrangements were very good. I felt safe.

Dear Graeme S., Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel General Manager

Great service very safe in Covid situation

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Paul T. Families - 16/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Restricted facilities but all was well managed

Dear Paul T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards Eric-Enno Snel General Manager

Great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Kerry K. Business - 16/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were really helpful and friendly

Dear Kerry k., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards Eric-Enno Snel General Manager
Customer review rating 2.0/5

Lesley Business - 11/01/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was advertised as well presented but the rooms were so tired, Ceiling peeling, rusty bins, carpets badly stained, room very cold, phone not working and room not very clean especially with covid. The room access cards were very tempremental. The reception was not manned all time so I waited 25 mins one time. You charge £10 a night for car park that you struggle to park in as pillars so tight. I would not recommend a stay to my work colleagues or friends.

Dear Lesley L., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel General Manager

Great Location, parking and comfort

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Gary B. Business - 24/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We often stay at the Mercure Winchester as it is the best most central place to stay. The price is reasonable too and a great breakfast.

Dear Gary B., Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments and I will discuss this with my team. The team and I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel General Manager

good room for the price and friendly and good service from staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Mrs B. Couples - 23/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

good

Dear David B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards Eric-Enno Snel General Manager

Great central location though rather shabby

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Na Couples - 21/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Not an attractive hotel from the outside, but well located (and with its own parking) just behind Winchester’s Harry Potter-style high street and just a short walk from King Arthur’s Round Table and other sights. Inside is dated and in need of a refurb. Our room, particularly the carpet, had certainly seen better days but it was large and well-equipped, and reassuringly clean. The highlight of this hotel is the staff, who were friendly, helpful and hard-working. Even our dog was given a warm welcome. The very pleasant young chap on reception when we arrived also served our dinner (large portions but rather bland). The cooked breakfast was excellent and the take-away continental components were cleverly packaged. In all, a convenient, friendly place to stay, worth a lick of paint.

Dear Nicola A., Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments and I will discuss this with my team. The team and I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel General Manager

Lovely hotel

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Shirley S. Friends - 20/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely hotel, very comfortable room and right in the center of town next to the gorgeous cathedral. Excellent value for money too. And COVID safe. Highly recommended.

Dear Shirley S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards Eric-Enno Snel General Manager

Good location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Sharon W. Couples - 19/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Perfect location and the staff were very friendly but the rooms need a little TLC, lovely and clean but broken bedside lamps,missing and loose furniture handles and stained chairs and footstool!

Dear Sharon Jean w., Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments and I will discuss this with my team. The team and I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel General Manager

Relaxing Break

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Peter Solo - 17/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The Wessex Mercure has perfect location in heart of historic Winchester. Hotel quiet because of Covid but all staff really friendly & helpful. Was upgraded to a lovely room. Decor in communal areas rather bland.

Dear Peter W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards Eric-Enno Snel General Manager

Location good, convenient,

Customer review rating 4.0/5

R L. Couples - 15/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Clean, welcoming hotel with clear covid guidelines. Spacious room, breakfast did let the hotel down, friendly staff

Dear Paul l., Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments and I will discuss this with my team. The team and I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel General Manager

Great location

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 15/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great location

Dear Karl C., Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments and I will discuss this with my team. The team and I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future. Kind regards, Eric-Enno Snel General Manager

Excellent - fantastic location, clean and tidy room, great view, very warm, friendly and helpful staff.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Rene Couples - 14/12/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We love this hotel with its fantastic location right in the heart of Winchester next to shops and bars and right on the doorstep of the stunning Cathedral. We had a Cathedral view room with a huge picture window and the view was absolutely stunning. Our room was very clean and tidy containing everything we needed. The staff were exceptionally warm, friendly and helpful and took great care to ensure we had all we needed even thoughtfully seating us in the dining room next to the window so we could enjoy our breakfast with the view. The breakfast was lovely witha varied choice of cooked or continental breakfast. We parked at the hotel. We have stayed here before and will do so again and can recommend it.

Dear Irene S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards Eric-Enno Snel General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in winchester