Castle Hotel Windsor - MGallery 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.4/5 7,796 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Castle Hotel Windsor - MGallery
See on a map
+ 9 Services

Hotel extras

  • An ALLSAFE Clifton Environmental certified hotel.

  • World-famous Windsor Castle sits directly opposite the hotel

  • 16th century building with original features

  • Events space capable of accommodating 260 guests

  • Wedding facilities onsite, with dedicated wedding planner

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking Paying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing Paying
  • Porter
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Boat excursions
Business services
  • 11 Meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Business center with support staff
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Castle Hotel Windsor - MGallery

18 High Street
SL4 1LER windsor
united kingdom

Tel: +4401753851577

Fax: (+44)01753856930

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    LONDON CITY At 75.8km / 47.1 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON GATWICK At 77.2km / 47.97 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON HEATHROW At 19.3km / 11.99 miles

  • By train

    WINDSOR At 0.01km / 0.01 miles

GPS :51.481717, -0.607413

Our accommodation(s)

Our 108 bedrooms follow the Georgian elegance of the hotel. Each one has been beautifully decorated with a refined take on contemporary design, and guests can stretch out on delightful beds covered in the finest Egyptian cotton. Complimentary accessories, such as luxury Lanvin toiletries and fluffy bathrobess are provided so that guests can truly relax.

CLASSIC ROOM, 1 Single Size Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 1
  • Area: From 15 / 161 sq ft
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Automatic wake up call

Our restaurants and bars

Leaf at The Castle

Type of cuisine: Other cooking style

Offering creative cuisine that showcases the finest locally sourced produce, Leaf's menus have been crafted to make every dining occasion a memorable feast. We serve Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner and our Terrace is open for alfresco drinking and dining.

Menu (PDF) Cocktail menu (PDF)
  • Monday -
  • Tuesday -
  • Wednesday -
  • Thursday -
  • Friday -
  • Saturday -
  • Sunday -

HOTEL BAR

With simple, elegant and inviting decor, the Leaf at the Castle Bar creates an ambient atmosphere with contemporary lighting. The intriguing artwork brings the rich history the Castle Hotel to life. We offer a wide selection of wines & cocktails.

Menu (PDF)

Non contractual photo

  • Monday -
  • Tuesday -
  • Wednesday -
  • Thursday -
  • Friday -
  • Saturday -
  • Sunday -

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 11

  • Maximum size: 316

  • Maximum capacity: 400 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 300 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Castle Hotel Windsor - MGallery

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.4/5

7,796 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,343 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Excellent hotel and staff, fantastic stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Nina Solo - 30/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were excellent - really helpful and accommodating. The hotel and the room itself was great - comfortable bed and excellent facilities. The Leaf restaurant was brilliant - I ate there both nights and the food was of a really high standard.

Well located and comfortable bed

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Lynda P. Families - 30/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Polite staff and a clean room. However, the toiletries were for one person only and there were two of us sharing the room. The food was below par and service was very slow. I appreciate you may have been short staffed due to the times being as they are, but we could have been warned. We would have gone elsewhere. We only just made it in time to the theatre. In the morning, not only was the service slow, but the coffee pot had no coffee in it and the breakfast was luke warm.

Excellent location - satisfactory room

Customer review rating 4.0/5

S N. Families - 30/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were excellent and very helpful. The room did look tired and I was a little disappointed with decor. It felt tired and wasn’t as cleaned as I had expected or modern as the photos suggested.

Room 111 is small with a tiny bathroom

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

andyb52017 30/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

We’ve stayed at this hotel before and enjoyed our stay. However this time we were given room 111 which was tiny, more suited for a single person. The toilet and sink were tiny like in a shoe cupboard and it was impossible to wash your face in the sink without the water going all over the floor.

Room fine, dinner good, breakfast ok

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 29/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel side was all good. Clean, conformable room. The restaurant was more mixed. Dinner pre theatre was fine, but not great. Breakfast the next day wasn't all that good, to be honest. The toast was cold, as were the beans. Sausage wasn't great quality. Service was a bit slow and it seemed busier than the staff were able to cope with. I assumed new staff following covid and perhaps difficulties recruiting. Nothing that would stop us coming back. The theatre package was great value for money.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your room and other aspects of your stay, nevertheless, we are sorry that the service in our restaurant was not of the high standard we usually provide and regret that we did not know of your concerns at the time so that we could have taken the appropriate action. Please accept our apologies; as you mention part of this is due to the current challenging situation and we are working hard to ensure our standards are that expected. We would be delighted to welcome you back for an improved visit. Best regards, Sam Goss, General Manager

Perfect location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

John Couples - 29/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely hotel reception. We were quite disappointed to be located in the separate building in the carpark. Although the room was as described, we felt that we were (like a poor relation) put away from the main hotel and did not feel like we were part of the hotel experience.

Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It is nice to know that you found our location in the centre of Windsor to be convenient for your needs. We are, however, sorry to read that you were not fully satisfied during your stay and regret that you had not made us aware of your concern. Our hotel is divided into three buildings: the park wing, the main building, and the castle mews. It is possible to request the main building during booking and we encourage guests to inform us during their stay if they find their room is not suitable as we will do our best to accommodate your preference, depending on availbility. We do hope to welcome you back in the future for an improved stay. Best wishes, Sam Goss, General Manager

Good position for everything.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Simon.staffordshire Couples - 28/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Location was excellent.... Room was OK but the view was of the bins.

Dear Simon, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that our location was ideal for your needs; an excellent starting point for exploring the Windsor area and discovering its rich history. We have different views available depending on the category of the room chosen; our team is happy to assist with room selection when booking or change the category of your room during your stay if one becomes available. We do hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Sam Goss, General Manager

Fab location, lovely room, friendly staff and great bar!

Customer review rating 4.5/5

P M. Families - 28/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Efficient check in service, helpful and friendly staff and lovely bar. Great personal touches, from reserved car parking, fruit platter in room, to staff accommodating specific breakfast requests. Overall a lovely stay, will definitely recommend and come back!

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience. Your kind words about the friendly and professional service you received from our team members are much appreciated. Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Sam Goss, General Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Families - 27/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was lovely and clean. Sadly the breakfast was not of the standard I would have expected (bread scrambled eggs revoltingly) no continuity on portions ( first morning 3 sausages on plate 2nd morning 1 sausage, boys ordered wheetabix one got 1 the other got 2!) our breakfast took over an hour from start to finish with the wheatabix taking 45 mins to arrive.

Dear Guest, We are grateful to you for taking the time to review your visit to our hotel. It is wonderful to know that our location was ideal for your requirements. We regret that you felt your dining experience fell short of your expectations and rest assured that this information has been passed on to be addressed. Please do contact me directly at sa… if there is any other feedback that would allow us to improve our guest experience. We would be delighted to welcome you back for another stay. Kind regards, Sam Goss, General Manager

Very well located.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

John L. Friends - 27/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent location in central Windsor near the Castle. Could have done with an extra person on reception for a busy Saturday evening check-in.

Dear John, We appreciate your taking the time to review your visit to our hotel. It is a pleasure to know that you found our location was perfect for your requirements. However, we regret that you felt the service provided by our reception team on this occasion was not up to the usual high standard we set ourselves and we apologise for any inconvenience. We have taken your feedback into consideration. We hope that you will return to stay with us in the future. Kind regards, Sam Goss, General Manager

Amazing location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

K. Y. Couples - 27/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We have Been staying at the Castle Hotel regularly since the early 1980’s and look forward to spending another few days there later this year, need I say more.

Dear Mr Y., Thank you for this review of your time at our hotel. It is a real pleasure to welcome back such loyal guests as yourselves and to know we have continued to deliver excellent service. We have, nevertheless, taken note of your comment in your guest satisfaction survey and will be addressing this issue with our manager. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Sam Goss, General Manager

Windsor

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Anonymous Business - 27/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Fabulous hotel, location and friendly staff 10/10. Room allocated via Hotel.com was 1/10. It was a first time experience that went really sour as I was hoping to have a view of Windsor from the room. I was prepared to pay extra even as a VIP GOLD guest. Everything aside, it was a fabulous hotel IF you get a room with a view to magnificent Windsor.

Dear Guest, We are grateful to you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are delighted to hear that your overall experience met your expectations and that our team took such excellent care of you. however, we regret that your room fell short of your expectations, we do have different views available that depend on the category of the room booked; our team are happy to assist with room selection when booking or arrange another room, depending on availability and we can only assume that regrettably we were fully booked during your stay. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Sam Goss, General Manager

well located - well looked after following terrible first night

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Families - 27/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

THE HOTEL WAS EXCELLENT BUT OUR FIRST NIGHT WAS IN A SINGLE ROOM WHEN WE BOOKED A DOUBLE - THE STAFF TOLD US THERE WERE NO OTHER ROOMS AND WE SUFFERED A BAD NIGHT ON A SINGLE BED . WE SPOKE WITH BRUNO THE NEXT MORNING AND HE COULD NOT HAVE BEEN MORE APOLOGETIC OR HELPFUL - HE WAS EXCELLENT IN DEALING WITH OUR ISSUE . BIG THANKS TO HIM

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to our hotel. We are glad to know that you found our location to your liking and that Bruno apologised for your first night with us and dealt with the situation immediately. We will certainly pass on your kind comments to him. We do hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Sam Goss, General Manager

AMAZING

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Solo - 26/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Polite staff , clean, beautiful location

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. We aim to make every experience with us a memorable one, so it is very rewarding to receive a message of satisfaction from a recent guest. It is an incentive for our team members to continue with their efforts to uphold our high standards. We look forward to welcoming you back for another excellent experience with us. Kind regards, Sam Goss, General Manager

Nice but service is a lot to be desired

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Simon B. Families - 26/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

This is a very nice hotel. It's not cheap though and whilst the staff were friendly when engaged, there was a lack of attentiveness and responsibility to the needs of the patrons. When I went to the bar for a drink I sat down at a table but I waited 10 mins and in the end I had to get up and ask for service and even then it took a couple of minutes for someone to take my order. When we went to the dining room for dinner we were seated by our host but we were not given a menu. After 20 minutes we actually had to ask if we were getting a drink and menu even though people around us were on to their first course (time was an issue as it was a pre-performance dinner). Lastly at breakfast we were seated at our table. Again we waited 10-15 minutes, no one came and again I had to ask for a waiter to take our order. I had no issues with the room at all but the service let it down. I wouldn't go back.

Dear Simon, We are grateful for the time taken to share your review of your stay at our hotel. Thank you also for completing our guest survey. We are sincerely sorry about the delays in service that you experienced and we would like to offer you our full apologies. We have noted your comments that will be very valuable to us as we look for ways to improve our guest experience. Please do contact me directly at sa… with any further feedback you would like to provide. We do hope that you will return for an improved experience in the future. Kind regards, Sam Goss, General Manager

Castle Hotel

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

lesleybaker789 26/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

A lovely room but the food was awful and some of the service was poor. The food was bland, tasteless and expensive. It was the worst hotel food I have ever tasted. It wasn't the fault of the staff but probably what the hotel bought in bulk. Awful

Dear lesley, Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are pleased that you found our accommodation was comfortable and to your liking. However, we regret that your dining experience was not fully satisfying and this will be shared with our managers to be addressed. Please do contact me directly at sam.goss@accor.com with any more feedback you would like to provide. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future for an improved experience. Best regards, Sam Goss, General Manager

Nice hotel but lacking in areas

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Adam I 20/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

I stayed at the Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection for 2 nights with my wife and daughter. The hotel was easy to find and park. The reception staff were amazing and very friendly. The room was smaller than expected and looked a little tired in places. The mini fridge did not work meaning that the drinks were warm. When we arrived we had enough towels for all 3 of us but when the room was cleaned they took them away leaving just 2 towels. We ordered room service on the second night and for 3 main meals and 2 desserts we were given just 2 knifes and 2 forks. In a morning for breakfast the staff looked miserable. We were given cereal without out milk and had to ask if we could have some. For a nice hotel that cost £200 per night it really needs to up its game. Location for Windsor castle and legoland was great.

Dear Adam, Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are pleased that your found our location ideal for your family, but we regret that your overall experience fell short of expectations. We have a selection of room types and our reception team will always try to facilitate a room change if requested, subject to availability. If notified of any issues at the time we would seek to resolve them immediately. We have noted all your feedback and will use it to make improvements to our guest service. We hope that you will consider returning to stay with us in future. Kindest regards, Sam Goss, General Manager

Break in Windsor with friends

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

grayjac 31/10/2020 TripAdvisor review

Could not fault the hotel whatsoever room was very nice, good shower but hot water took a long time to arrive to the taps, location was absolutely perfect and the breakfast was very good we would recommend this 100%

Dear grayjac, Thank you so much for your lovely review of Castle Hotel Windsor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your break in Windsor with your friends. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel and thank you very much for the recommendation. We hope you return to Windsor soon for another fantastic stay with us. Kind regards, Penn Rooms Division Manager

Lovely location and great hotel

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

John T 30/10/2020 TripAdvisor review

Lovely location and great hotel - nice rooms with balcony, didn't matter that they overlooked the car park. Staff very friendly and efficient (especially Bruno on reception). Breakfast service was best under Covid that we have experienced so far - Good choice, and served in stages! Car parking is expensive, but so is any alternative nearby.

Dear John T, Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to read that Bruno provide you with friendly and efficient service , I will share your comments with him and our team. I am sure that your feedback will serve as motivation as we strive to continuously improve the quality of services. Is great to see that you felt safe and enjoyed breakfast service, as Covid procedures are very important to us, and well being of our guest is crucial. Once again, thank you for your comments and we looking forward to welcome you back at Castle Hotel Windsor. Kind regards, Karolina Wrona-Ciecko

Centrally located

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Sorrento06 28/10/2020 TripAdvisor review

This hotel is situated on the high street 2 minutes walk from the Castle and in the shopping area. Lovely local restaurants a short walk. River Thames Very close ideal for a boat trip. Breakfast was good. Staff good. Restaurant is a franchise and is OK. Rooms We had a superior .. OK carpets stained and dirty shower room very small.Toilet never stopped running and very little hot water at any time of day or night. Would I recommend sadly no.

Dear Sorrento06, Thank you for providing us with some valuable feedback. Our location is in fact very popular among guests, so we are glad you were happy with this aspect of the hotel. I am sorry to read that your room did not meet your expectations, and that the cleanliness of the room was not to a high standard. This is obviously not the quality we endeavour to deliver our guests, and I have ensured that your comments have been passed on to our housekeeping department to avoid this type of issue in the future. I will be sure to address the issue of toilet and hot water and make sure we find a solution to that problem , as we are currently looking into ways that we can better improve upon our facilities. Thank you again for sharing your experience, I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to stay again in the future, and restore your faith in the Castle Hotel Windsor . Kind regards, Karolina Wrona-Ciecko

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in windsor