Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Hotel 5 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5 3,110 reviews
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
See on a map
+ 28 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Big-city flair with adventures into nature

  • Pure relaxation in the Seagull Spa

  • Lounge with a view and signature drinks

  • 223 elegant guest rooms and 18 suites

  • 19 light-filled rooms for inspiring event formats

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • Babysitting on requestPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Laundry
  • Boutiques/shopping
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Leisure and activities
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
  • Babysitting on request
  • Golf course 18 holes (Nearby)
  • Boat excursions
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 20 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

Alter Wall 40
20457
hamburg
germany

Tel: +4940369500

Fax: (+49)40/369501000

Contact email

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • S 1 :   S 1 STADTHAUSBRUECKE

  • S 3 :   S 3 Stadthausbruecke

  • U 2 :   U 2 Jungfernstieg

  • U 3 :   U 3 ROEDINGSMARKT

  • By plane

    HAMBURG AIRPORT At 12km / 7.46 miles

  • By car

    CENTRUM At 5km / 3.11 miles

  • By train

    MAIN STATION At 1.5km / 0.93 miles

GPS :53.549443, 9.988246

Our accommodations

The 241 spacious rooms, from Classic to Luxury Suites, have magnificent marble bathrooms, soft dressing gowns, WIFI and 24-hour room service. Some rooms in this first-class accommodation in the center of Hamburg offer views of the canal.

CLASSIC ROOM, 1 Queen Size Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 19
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Pillow Menu(...)

SUPERIOR ROOM, 1 King Size Bed, city view

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 28
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Pillow Menu(...)

SUPERIOR ROOM, 1 KING SIZE BED, WITH FLEET VIEW

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 28
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Pillow Menu(...)

LUXURY ROOM, 1 King Size Bed, canal or city view

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 33
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Pillow Menu(...)

JUNIOR SUITE, 1 King Size Bed, canal or city view

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 43
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Pillow Menu(...)

PRESTIGE SUITE, KING SIZE BED, SEPARATE LIVING AREA, VIEW OF FLEET OR CITY

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 60
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Pillow Menu(...)

Opera Suite, king-size bed, living room, dining room, sauna, balcony and canal view

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 157
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Pillow Menu(...)

Our restaurants and bars

RISTORANTE TICINO

Type of cuisine: Mediterranean

In the heart of Hamburg, you can experience a culinary journey into Mediterranean cuisine, which has been delightfully interpreted by the Ristorante Ticino through the use of regional produce. For a seamless experience, opt for our "De-Light" menu.

Lunch

12:00 - 15:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

18:00 - 23:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

SEVEN HEADS

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Guests can relax with a drink at the bar or on our unique sun terrace directly on the Alster canal. Be tempted by our contemporary drinks, homemade cocktails, lounge music and club chairs, and then forget the stresses of everyday life.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 20

  • Maximum size: 433

  • Maximum capacity: 400 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 260 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.5/5

6,573 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5

3,110 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

Comfortable

Customer review rating 4.5/5

C. S. Business - 22/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Quick check in and check out, extremely helpful staff, neat and tidy rooms, good service.

Dear Mr. S., Thank you very much for your review. Because we are constantly trying to provide the best service possible to all of our guests, we are more than happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon again! Best regards Your Sofitel Hotel Team

Had a comfortable stay as always.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - 21/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I spent 2 Nights on Business. Unfortunately the Spa Area was closed during the days I was there.

Dear guest, Thannk you very much for your positve review. We are sorry to read that you were not able to use our spa area. Apart from that, we are so happy to hear that you had a lovely stay in our centrally located hotel. Our team does whatever it takes to guarantee you a perfect stay with us, so we are more than happy to hear that we could contribute to an overall wonderful stay with us. We hope to see you very soon again! Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

It was fine

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Emil Friends - 21/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

It's a fine hotel and great spa with good location in Hamborg. But had expected more of a 5 star hotel. Broken lamp cover on bathroom Cross machine in exercise room out of order Forgot to put towels in my room after cleaning

Dear Emil, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Seagull Spa area as well as the central location. It’s indeed one of our great perks of staying in the middle of the city and being able to enjoy a quite stay by the water at the same time. Moreover, our team does whatever it takes to guarantee you a perfect stay with us, so we are more than happy to hear that we could contribute to an overall wonderful stay with us. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences regarding your room. Please be assured that this is not up to our standard and we will take the necessary measures to prevent this from happening again! We hope we can welcome you very soon in our hotel. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

very good as expected

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 19/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Service has been good as allways. We are your frequent guests.

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. Our team works every day to help shape the perfect stay for our guests in Hamburg and we are pleased that we were able to more than convince you with our service. We look forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Hamburg and invite you to follow our news from the hotel on Facebook and Instagram. Best regards Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall team

A night´at sofitel

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Kurt S. Couples - 19/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

As allways we had a wonderfull stay at Sofitel Am Alter Wall. T

Dear Mr. S., Thank you very much for your positive review. We are more than happy that you had a fabulous stay at our hotel and were able to enjoy all the services and perks that our hotel has to offer. We hope to see you very soon again! Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team
Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - 17/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very pleasant, really nice hotel and staff.

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are happy that we could meet your expectations and turned your stay with us into an unforgettable experience. We are looking forward to welcome you again in Hamburg. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Beautiful hotel, best service

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Alexis S. Business - 17/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Highly appreciate the friendliness and professionalism of the hotel staff.

Dear Mr. S., Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. It is feedback like yours that motivates us as a team to turn the stay of each of our guests into an unforgettable experience. We look forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Hamburg and invite you to follow our news from the hotel on Facebook and Instagram. Best regards Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall team

overall ok stay, but spa/gym not available and keycards did not work multiple times

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Tobias K. Business - 16/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

- did not know that spa/gym was closed due to renovation - had to change my keycard multiple times given it did not work

A very good stay in an excelent hotel

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - 15/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed for 2 nights on a business trip. Room was spacious and had every thing I required. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Dear guest, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy that our team and service contributed to a wonderful stay in Hamburg. We hope to welcome you soon again! Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Enjoyable comfortable stay with good location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Mr D. Business - 15/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Pleasant comfortable stay in centre of Hamburg with good location and local facilities. Easy cheap access from Airport (train) and to catch local transportation (Rathaus) with after hours relaxation nearby in the local bars and resturants.

Dear Mr. H., Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad to hear that you had a lovely stay in our centrally located hotel. It’s indeed one of our great perks of staying in the middle of the city and being able to enjoy a quite stay by the water at the same time. Moreover, our team does whatever it takes to guarantee you a perfect stay with us, so we are more than happy to hear that we could contribute to an overall wonderful stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and sincerely invite you to follow the news of Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall on Facebook and Instagram. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Closed Spa

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Robert A. Couples - 14/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I placed a order with the main focus at the fantastic spa - we have been at the hotel a few times earlier with great pleasure. But this time we were very sad to find out that the hotel spa was closed - especially when we were not informed by it before arrival. Had we known that the hotel spa was closed, we had not chosen Sofitel. A very sad experience :-(

Dear Robert A., thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Once a year we close our SPA area due to maintenance work. We informed via our homepage ahaead of time and I do apologize that you missed this information. We did offer the complimentary use of another 5 star hotel spa during that period. Thank you for the kind words regarding the Seagull SPA. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Guest Experience Team Sofitel Hamburg

Not bad but dirty rooms

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 12/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Pleasant check in, easy to find room, decent amenities. Weird bathroom window meant other people in the room could see you using the toilet. Also dirty room with poor cleaning

Dear guest, thank you so much for your feedback regarding your experiences during your stay at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. Your described observations definitely do not meet our outstanding standards. We recieve alot of great feedback regarding the cleanliness of our rooms, and we are sorry to hear that you could not make the same experience. We will forward your feedback to the housekeeping department in order to prevent similar situations in the future. We are happy to hear that our reception team and the hotel amenities left a wondeful impression and you were able to enjoy your stay with us overall. We hope that we can welcome you soon again in order to convince you of our individual, outstanding service as it always should be. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Good overall

Customer review rating 4.5/5

David B. Business - 11/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good room and check-in. Gym closed for rebrishment which was just bad luck. Persistent knocking on room door at 8.30am for room cleaning which due to jet lag was annoying!

Dear Mr. B., We are very sorry to hear that your recent stay hasn’t completely met your expectations. We are constantly working on improving ourselves and therefor gratefully accept your feedback. Our team does whatever it takes to guarantee you a perfect stay with us, so we are more than happy to hear that we could contribute to an overall wonderful stay with us. We hope we can welcome you again very soon in our hotel and would like to invite you to follow us on Facebook or Instagram to stay tuned about the latest news from our hotel. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Very pleasant short stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Darragh Couples - 10/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Asked for early check-in. Turned up even earlier than planned and room was ready. Lovely room,very pleasant staff. A very good experience.

Dear Mr Darragh, Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding our rooms and hotel staff. Every day we do our best to ensure our guests can experience the highest quality of service possible. That’s why we hope to see you very soon again to delight you with another unforgettable experience with us in Hamburg. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

A smooth and enjoyable stay!

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Kenneth G. Couples - 10/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Smooth and professional check-in, excellent loyalty recognition, comfortable room, prime location, perfect service in the bar and a great breakfast. Happy to return to this hotel anytime soon! Thank you!

Dear Mr G., Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are more than happy that you had a fabulous stay at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall and were able to enjoy all the services and perks that our hotel has to offer. We are excited to welcome you back to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall soon and sincerely invite you to follow us on Facebook and Instagram. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

It’s very much abort the people!

Customer review rating 4.5/5

F. S. Couples - 09/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Fine location, effective check-in [Had made it webwise) clean and rather small room because of the furniture. Very good breakfast, nice bar and above all a very good staff this time. It seems impossible to get a room with 2 sep. beds, only double beds offered. Never comes to grip with the stupid window from room to bathroom, weird. BUT, - your good staff make the difference.

Kære S., Tak for din positive feedback. It is feedback like yours that motivates us as a team to turn the stay of each of our guests into an unforgettable experience. Our team works every day to help shape the perfect stay for our guests in Hamburg and we are pleased that we were able to more than convince you with our service. To optimize your next stay you are welcome to inform our housekeeping stafft regarding the window, so it can be taken care of. We look forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Hamburg and invite you to follow our news from the hotel on Facebook and Instagram. Best regards Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall team

Had to change room, no amenities...

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Janus T. M. Couples - 07/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed in 4203. We are not complainers at all, but simply had to. The room had hair in the bed, there were only partly the amenities and then there were like these stains on the carpet. We did however change room which were nice. Although, some of the TV channels did not work and we had to wait to get seated for the breakfast. Staff was really nice though.

Not the quality I expected for a Sofitel.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Dario A. G. Couples - 05/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

1. I did an Internet reservation on your own web page, when i arrived to do the check in at your hotel I found out that the kind of room i had chosen wasn't available (according to the manager of the hotel that kind of room didn't exist !!??) Staff not very kind. 2. I tried to go to the spa and it was full! No option to use any of the services. 3. Bar not comfortable, small, closed, no views to the "alter wall" winter (that is right next to it). 4. Queu in the morning to have breakfast (15 min waiting to get in the restaurant on Dec the 28th) 5. I decided to book Sofitel again after a incredible experience last summer at Sofitel Siem Riep in Cambodia. Big deception with Sofitel Hamburg. I already have another reservation for February at Sofitel Bogotá through booking.com, I am rethinking that reservation after Hamburg's experience.

Dear Dario Agudelo G., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Front Office Team Sofitel Hamburg
Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 05/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Gut

Sehr geehrter Gast, vielen Dank für Ihre positive Rückmeldung. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass wir Ihre Erwartungen erfüllen konnten und heißen Sie bei Ihrem nächsten Aufenthalt in Hamburg wieder bei uns recht herzlich willkommen. Mit freundlichen Grüßen Ihr Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team
Customer review rating 4.5/5

Fayez Couples - 04/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Pros: The room was well designed and nice. Location is outstanding and very convenient. Cons: Dirty carpet with too many old dirt spots. One of the heaters in the room does not work and couldn't be fixed.

Dear Fayes , Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are more than happy that you had a fabulous stay at our hotel and were able to enjoy all the services and perks that our hotel has to offer. Moreover, we are glad to hear that you cherished the central location of our hotel and hope you could enjoy all the sightseeing in Hamburg. We are very sorry to hear that your recent stay hasn’t completely met your expectations. We hope that we can welcome you soon again in order to convince you of our individual, outstanding service as it always should be. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in hamburg