Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Hotel 5 stars

Customer review rating 4.5/5 6,792 reviews
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
See on a map
+ 28 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Big-city flair with adventures into nature

  • Pure relaxation in the Seagull Spa

  • Lounge with a view and signature drinks

  • 223 elegant guest rooms and 18 suites

  • 19 light-filled rooms for inspiring event formats

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • Babysitting on requestPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Laundry
  • Boutiques/shopping
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Leisure and activities
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
  • Babysitting on request
  • Golf course 18 holes (Nearby)
  • Boat excursions
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 20 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

Alter Wall 40
20457
hamburg
germany

Tel: +4940369500

Fax: (+49)40/369501000

Contact email

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • S 1 :   S 1 STADTHAUSBRUECKE

  • S 3 :   S 3 Stadthausbruecke

  • U 2 :   U 2 Jungfernstieg

  • U 3 :   U 3 ROEDINGSMARKT

  • By plane

    HAMBURG AIRPORT At 12km / 7.46 miles

  • By car

    CENTRUM At 5km / 3.11 miles

  • By train

    MAIN STATION At 1.5km / 0.93 miles

GPS :53.549443, 9.988246

Our accommodations

The 241 spacious rooms, from Classic to Luxury Suites, have magnificent marble bathrooms, soft dressing gowns, WIFI and 24-hour room service. Some rooms in this first-class accommodation in the center of Hamburg offer views of the canal.

CLASSIC ROOM, 1 Queen Size Bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 19
  • Views: City side, River side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Pillow Menu(...)

SUPERIOR ROOM, 1 King Size Bed, city view

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 28
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Pillow Menu(...)
Accessible room

SUPERIOR ROOM, 1 KING SIZE BED, WITH FLEET VIEW

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 28
  • Views: River side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Pillow Menu(...)

LUXURY ROOM, 1 King Size Bed, canal or city view

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 33
  • Views: River side, City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Pillow Menu(...)

JUNIOR SUITE, 1 King Size Bed, canal or city view

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 43
  • Views: City side, River side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Pillow Menu(...)

PRESTIGE SUITE, KING SIZE BED, SEPARATE LIVING AREA, VIEW OF FLEET OR CITY

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 60
  • Views: City side, River side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Pillow Menu(...)

Opera Suite, king-size bed, living room, dining room, sauna, balcony and canal view

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 157
  • Views: River side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Slippers
  • Pillow Menu(...)

Our restaurants and bars

RISTORANTE TICINO

Type of cuisine: Mediterranean

In the heart of Hamburg, you can experience a culinary journey into Mediterranean cuisine, which has been delightfully interpreted by the Ristorante Ticino through the use of regional produce. For a seamless experience, opt for our "De-Light" menu.

Lunch

12:00 - 15:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

18:00 - 23:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

SEVEN HEADS

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Guests can relax with a drink at the bar or on our unique sun terrace directly on the Alster canal. Be tempted by our contemporary drinks, homemade cocktails, lounge music and club chairs, and then forget the stresses of everyday life.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 20

  • Maximum size: 433

  • Maximum capacity: 400 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 260 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.5/5

6,792 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5

3,127 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

Amazing

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Ralph Friends - 18/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Everything was perfect The staff, the location, the cleanliness, the breakfast... Surely staying here again for my next stay in Hamburg.

Dear Ralph, Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. It is feedback like yours that motivates us as a team to turn the stay of each of our guests into an unforgettable experience. Our team works every day to help shape the perfect stay for our guests in Hamburg and we are pleased that we were able to more than convince you with our service. Moreover, we are glad to hear that you cherished the central location of our hotel and hope you could enjoy all the sightseeing in Hamburg. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and sincerely invite you to follow the news of Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall on Facebook and Instagram. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Sami Business - 18/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stay was pleasant

Dear Sami, thank you so much for your great review. We are more than happy that you were able to enjoy your stay with us at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall to the fullest and our team contributed to an unforgettable hotel experience. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon and sincerely invite you to follow us on Facebook and Instagram. Best regards Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Very good hotel!

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 18/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very good hotel, professional staff, great breakfast! Only the bar was a bit chaotic!

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your positive review as well as your feedback regarding your experience at our Seven Heads Bar. We are constantly working on improving ourselves and therefor gratefully accept your feedback. Apart from that, we are so happy to hear that you had a lovely stay in our centrally located hotel. Every day our team does its best to ensure our guests can experience the highest quality of service possible. That is why we hope to see you very soon again to delight you with a great experience with us in Hamburg. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Very god, very clean

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Dylan Business - 17/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Bery nice atmosphere. very nice bar. breakfast buffet was very extensive and very tasty.

Dear Dylan, Thank you for your great feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. Many of our guests appreciate the large and fresh selection of different delicacies on our breakfast buffet and we are very happy that you enjoyed them too. Our team works every day to help shape the perfect stay for our guests in Hamburg. We sincerely invite you to follow the news around the hotel on Facebook and Instagram. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

More than expected

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Raul E. Business - 14/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely location and amazing room and spa

Dear Mr. E., Thank you so much for your amazing feedback. We are more than happy that you had a fabulous stay at our hotel and were able to enjoy all the services and perks that our hotel has to offer. Moreover, we are glad to hear that you cherished the central location of our hotel and hope you could enjoy all the sightseeing in Hamburg. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and sincerely invite you to follow the news of Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall on Facebook and Instagram. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

everything

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Danny C. Couples - 13/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

nice hotel, very clean and very good breakfast!

Dear danny c., Thank you for your great feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. Many of our guests appreciate the large and fresh selection of different delicacies on our breakfast buffet and we are very happy that you enjoyed them too. Our team works every day to help shape the perfect stay for our guests in Hamburg. We sincerely invite you to follow the news around the hotel on Facebook and Instagram. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Met our expectations of a good business hotel

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 12/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall good experience.

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We hope to see you soon again. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Lovely, relaxing, quiet stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Eleanor J. Couples - 08/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was lovely, very clean, welcoming, quiet and a relaxing environment. Rooms very quiet! The spa was amazing! We opted for room only and there was plenty of options nearby for breakfast. Brilliantly connected with many transport options within one minute walk. Would definitely return!

Dear Eleanor J., Thank you so much for the great review of our Hotel. We are glad to hear, that you have been impressed by the cleanliness of your room as well as the facilities in our hotel. Our housekeeping team works with passion to contribute to a perfect stay for our guests. We will forward the compliments to the team. For us there is no greater Feedback, than hearing that our guest leave the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall amazed and satisfied. We hope we can welcome you very soon in our hotel again and would like to invite you to follow us on Facebook or Instagram to stay tuned about the latest news from our hotel. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Charming room over the water

Customer review rating 4.5/5

T. Couples - 06/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall great experience, well located in the hart of Hamburg, allowing easy discovery of the touristic places and districts. Close to U and S Bahn. Main option of restaurants and bakeries in the surrounding allowing us to taste Hamburg delicacy. Good services (clean room, welcome reception, umbrellas,...)

Dear T., Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are more than happy that you had a fabulous stay at our hotel and were able to enjoy all the services and perks that our hotel has to offer. Moreover, we are glad to hear that you cherished the central location of our hotel and hope you could enjoy all the sightseeing in Hamburg. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and sincerely invite you to follow the news of Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall on Facebook and Instagram. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Excellent hotel, nice staff, excellent location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Bill Couples - 05/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

This was a return visit because we'd always been very pleased with our previous stays. This visit was just as good.

Dear Bill, Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. It is feedback like yours that motivates us as a team to turn the stay of each of our guests into an unforgettable experience. Our team works every day to help shape the perfect stay for our guests in Hamburg and we are pleased that we were able to more than convince you with our service. We look forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Hamburg and invite you to follow our news from the hotel on Facebook and Instagram. Best regards Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall team

Super evening and night

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Tom Business - 05/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Altijd super in sofitel

Geachte Tom Bedankt voor je positieve feedback We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We hope to see you soon again. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Good, not excellent

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Uys M. Business - 03/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good, however I was unable to use the in room WiFi internet which is essential for business travel. Despite several contacts with front desk to ask for help it was not resolved. The hotel IT gentleman never arrived. My pc has no issues elsewhere accessing hotel WiFi login portals. I stay in hotels upwards of 100 days per year

Dear Uys M., thank you so much for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations at your stay at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. This is definitely not our standard and we hope that we can welcome you soon again in order to convince you of our individual, outstanding service as it always should be. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Fantastic service and very cool room

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Graeme J. Business - 02/02/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent service from the minute I walked in all the way to breakfast the next day.

Dear Graeme J., Thank you so much for your great feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. It is feedback like yours that motivates us as a team to turn the stay of each of our guests into an unforgettable experience. Our team works every day to help shape the perfect stay for our guests in Hamburg and we are pleased that we were able to more than convince you with our service. We look forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Hamburg and invite you to follow our news from the hotel on Facebook and Instagram. Best regards Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall team

Very nice time

Customer review rating 4.5/5

M. Business - 29/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice time due to comfortable bedroom & Swimming pool, Hammam, sona

Dear Mr. M., Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. One of our main focus points regarding our room amenities is indeed the bed and bedding set. That’s why we are very happy about the fact that our exclusive MyBed concept turned your night to magnificent sleeping experience. We are also happy to hear that your experience with our Seagull Spa area was marvellous. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and sincerely invite you to follow the news of Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall on Facebook and Instagram. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Overall nice hotel but the room was not what I expected

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Ma… Business - 28/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Especially the SPA is lovely but the rooms are rather old and not what I expect from a 5 star hotel

Dear ma…, thank you so much for your positive review regarding our Spa. Whether in the steam bath, the sauna, our fitness area or our canyon pool, our guests love staying at the Seagull Spa and we are very happy to hear that you as well had a great time during your visit. In order to guarantee our guest the perfect stay at Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall, there is nothing more important for our than your direct feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your recent stay hasn’t completely met your expectations. We hope that we can welcome you soon again in order to convince you of our individual, outstanding service as it always should be. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Very good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Patrick Business - 28/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I enjoyed the breakfast and the pool area

Dear Patrick, Thank you for your great feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall. Many of our guests appreciate the large and fresh selection of different delicacies on our breakfast buffet and we are very happy that you enjoyed them too. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our Seagull Spa area. Our team works every day to help shape the perfect stay for our guests in Hamburg. We sincerely invite you to follow the news around the hotel on Facebook and Instagram. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Overall satisfactory, but not great.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Gorazd Solo - 24/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

My two day stay was pleasant and the quality of everything was quite high. I guess the athmospere was a bit soless and the staff a bit robotic. Great spa.

Dear Gorazd, thank you so much for your positive review as well as your feedback regarding your experience with our staff. We are constantly working on improving ourselves and therefor gratefully accept your feedback. Apart from that, we are so happy to hear that you had a lovely stay in our centrally located hotel. We are especially happy to hear that you enjoyed our relaxing spa area to the fullest. We hope we can welcome you again very soon in our hotel and turn your pleasent stay into an unforgettable one. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Satisfied after the change of my room

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Mrs D. I. Business - 23/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

When I arrived at 20:30, I discovered that my room had no bath and there was no large duvet/cover on my bed (only the 2 small ones). I requested to have another room with a bath and a large duvet, at the very beginning, it has been rejected because the hotel was fully booked. But, I insisted and finally I got another room with a large duvet. It's not the first time that I have the kind of issues, in December, I got the same problem with the duvet.

Dear Mrs. I., Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you once again decided to stay with us. At the same time, we are sorry that we could not meet your expectations this time. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences regarding your room. Apart from that, we are so happy to hear that you had a lovely stay in our centrally located hotel. Our team does whatever it takes to guarantee you a perfect stay with us, so we are more than happy to hear that we could contribute to an overall wonderful stay with us. We are excited to welcome you back to Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall soon. Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team

Comfortable

Customer review rating 4.5/5

C. S. Business - 22/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Quick check in and check out, extremely helpful staff, neat and tidy rooms, good service.

Dear Mr. S., Thank you very much for your review. Because we are constantly trying to provide the best service possible to all of our guests, we are more than happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon again! Best regards Your Sofitel Hotel Team

Had a comfortable stay as always.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - 21/01/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I spent 2 Nights on Business. Unfortunately the Spa Area was closed during the days I was there.

Dear guest, Thannk you very much for your positve review. We are sorry to read that you were not able to use our spa area. Apart from that, we are so happy to hear that you had a lovely stay in our centrally located hotel. Our team does whatever it takes to guarantee you a perfect stay with us, so we are more than happy to hear that we could contribute to an overall wonderful stay with us. We hope to see you very soon again! Best regards, Your Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall Team
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in hamburg