Information message

ibis Koeln Messe Hotel

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.3/5 3,790 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

ibis Koeln Messe
See on a map
+ 18 Services

Hotel extras

  • ALL-SAFE certified hotel

  • 5-minute walk to Cologne Fair

  • A la carte restaurant

  • The Lanxess Arena is located opposite the hotel

  • Hotel parking garage

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

ibis Koeln Messe

Bruegelmannstr.1
50679 koeln
germany

Tel: +49221989310

Fax: (+49)221/98931555

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    DUESSELDORF AIRPORT At 60km / 37.29 miles

  • By plane

    FRANKFURT AIRPORT At 175km / 108.75 miles

  • By plane

    KOELN BONN At 14km / 8.7 miles

  • By boat

    KD RHEINSCHIFFAHRT At 2km / 1.24 miles

  • By car

    A3,A4 KOELN MESSE At 0.4km / 0.25 miles

  • By train

    DEUTZ BAHNHOF At 1.5km / 0.93 miles

GPS :50.943354, 6.985846

Hotel services

IBIS KITCHEN

Do you have an appetite for delicious food and enjoy stimulating conversation? Then you will feel right at home in our newly designed ibis kitchen restaurant, where we serve up international and German specialties in a simple atmosphere.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary

  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
Catering services
  • One Restaurant
  • One Bar
  • Breakfast
    • Buffet Additional charge
Accessibility
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
Hotel Services And Equipments
  • Hotel informations
    • 180 rooms
    • No room for people with reduced mobility
    • No family room
    • No connecting room
    • No non-smoking room
    • 5 floors
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • German
    • English
  • Laundry / Valet Services
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Wi-Fi
    • WiFi at the hotel
  • Air conditioning
    • Air Conditioning
  • Reduced mobility Facilities
  • 100% Non Smoking Property
  • Elevator to all floor
  • Check In & Check-out facilities
    • Express check-out
  • Desk equipment available
    • Shoe shine machine
  • Iron
    • Iron at reception
  • Safe deposit box at reception
    • Safe deposit box at reception
Access to property
  • Tiefgarage Additional charge
    • On site
    • 105 parking spaces
    • Private
  • outdoor parking Additional charge
    • Near the property

Our accommodation(s)

The 180 rooms of the ibis Cologne Messe hotel feature Sweet Bed by ibis beds for an unrivalled level of sleeping comfort. With soundproofing, air conditioning, a desk for your office on the go and free WIFI. TV with a wide range of Sky channels.

Our guest reviews for
ibis Koeln Messe

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

3,790 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

832 reviews

Could be better

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Adrianna Business - 25/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

-For a hotel advertised as next to the exhibition center it was surprisingly far from it -Bathroom was not the cleanest -No toiletries, just all-in-one soap/shampoo in a pump bottle -Breakfast was poor and every day the same -Pillows were very uncomfortable and almost disappearing once head touched it

Dear Mrs. J., thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and for taking the time to tell us about your impressions and experiences. We do our utmost to provide you with the best quality of service during each of your stays. Your opinion is therefore of the utmost interest to us. Unfortunately, I had to conclude that you were not completely satisfied with our service and you had booked the hotel with a different set of expectations. They complained about the lack of cleaning quality in the bathroom, they also missed bathroom items and the pillows were too flat for them. Furthermore, they found the way to the fair too far. For the inconvenience with the insufficient cleaning quality during your stay, I apologize in all form and assure you that the lack of cleanliness is not a regular condition at the ibis Hotel Köln Messe. Because of course we are interested in keeping you as a satisfied customer. At ibis, soap/shampoo dispensers are standard; for the sake of the environment, we intentionally avoid small disposable packages. We generally do not have other bouty items in our assortment at ibis in Germany. The distance to the fair entrance east is only 600m and to the entrance north it is 1200m. I have discussed your complaint regarding cleanliness with our cleaning service provider. He will take this as an opportunity to train his cleaners again. Dear Mrs. J., I apologize once again for the inconvenience caused. As a small compensation I would like to book 500 extra points on your ALL member account. You can redeem the points for a value voucher during one of your next stays at an Accor Marlen hotel worldwide, or exchange them for airmail. I would be very happy if you accept my apology and let me credit the points to your account. All I need for this is a positive feedback from you. If you have any further questions or requests, please do not hesitate to contact me and I will be happy to receive your feedback. With GUEST friendly greetings ibis & ibis budget Hotels Köln Messe Gordon Kleebaum Cluster General Manager ibis.com/3733 * ibis.com/7834

Rather complex small hotel but good staff

Customer review rating 2.0/5

H. Business - 24/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Rooms are cleaned every second day that´s not really acceptable. The paid wi-fi is just terrible as it shuts one out despite having paid for 7 days use. One had to sign in every day with a new user name and password despite the 7 day payment.

Dear Mr. H., thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and for taking the time to tell us about your impressions and experiences. We do our utmost to provide you with the best quality of service during each of your stays. Your opinion is therefore of the utmost interest to us. I am very sorry that you did not feel 100% comfortable in our hotel and that you had booked the room in the ibis Hotel Köln Messe with a different expectation. The rooms have an ibis standard size of 16.4 sqm including the wet room and are equipped with all ibis standards in terms of furnishings, including the "Sweet bed by ibis" sleeping comfort. The 2 day cleaning regime is due to the Corona Protection Ordinance in North Rhine Westphalia, which is set up by the state government. However, we were very pleased with your positive feedback about our guest-oriented authentic hotel team. As a small concession, I would like to book 500 Courtesy Points on their ALL member account. They can redeem the points for a value voucher at one of their next stays at any of the 30 Accor hotel brands or exchange them for airmail. All I need for the implementation is your written consent. I would be very happy if you accept my apology and let me book them the points. Accordingly, I gladly await their positive feedback and wish you a continued successful rest of the week! With GUEST friendly greetings ibis & ibis budget Hotels Köln Messe Gordon Kleebaum Cluster General Manager www.ibis.com/3744 - www.ibis.com/7834

Good location for Koln Messe

Customer review rating 3.5/5

D. T. Business - 18/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Pleasant , no problems

Disaster Service - 0,5 STAR HOTEL

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

521jakubt Business - 16/11/2021 TripAdvisor review

Really an “experience” to visit ibis Cologne Messe. I am using Accor for over 10 years all over the World but I can’t remember of such a bad hotel. Been here before … always been bad but this time it is simply to much for me. As a platinum member I would expect someone to have a room waiting - not in this hotel. Welcome drink? No one bothered to issue the voucher … had to ask. Seems all my nice Accor membership benefits are not working here. Maybe I am to demanding. The rooms it’s self are old but let’s say the standard is OK. Not perfectly clean… but seen worst. Expecting water in the room? Forget it! You can buy one at the lobby however don’t forget your wallet with you - have to pay, no chance to put it on the room without pre-authorization. Unfortunately most of the time only one person at the lobby so it will take an hour to do. Breakfast next morning … oh don’t forget to be there 1h before or you will not find anything to eat… seriously one of the worst breakfast… I think some ibis budget have a better one. Jesus!; Add food when It is finished ! Second day was a bit better, but be sure that 1min after 10:00 they will remove everything and even lock the coffee machine :) if you were lucky you got the coffee before from one of the two working machines. Leaving the room for the entire day … hoping someone will clean it? Take the garbage, replace the towel ? Nah…. Cleaning is every second day (COVID? nah?)… sorry - do it yourself. Kindly asked at the reception to bring a new towel since I left them on the floor hopping for replacement plus to put some soap in the dispenser … since it wasn’t there from the first moment ...result of my request?;for the towel I had to go down again after 3h and get it my self. Soap …. Maybe next time. On the second day I came back at 16:00… by that time still no one bothered to clean the room. After asking AGAINaround 18 while I left for 1h someone exchanged the towels and put the soap. Wow ! Great; would be even better if they would take the garbage from a full bin in the room. Bed linen folded? Forget it…Now I save the best for the end; once you manage to buy the water and get it to the room you will find out there is no glass. Not even a plastic one in the bathroom. So I went back to the bar and kindly asked for the glass. The answer from a lady was “no” … took me a while to understand what I was told … however I managed to continue the discussion asking why not? …. I was replied “because the guests steal them” :D OK..

Noisy, close to Cologne exhibition center but far from everything else

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Stephan Business - 12/11/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very disturbing elevator noise in the room

air conditioning issue

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Anonymous Business - 21/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

There was no air conditioning through the stay. It was hit in the room. After so many complaints attended came and open the lock on the window. Not the service what is expected from Accor.

Change to the worst

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Zsolt Business - 16/09/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We travel a lot and only stay in the Accor chain wherever possible as usually conditions are good, no bad surprises. Our experience with this particular hotel was not so good. - although the hotel is located near the koln messe, dedicated to international fairs, the hotel staff speeks no English. This is unusual... - the room was noisy all night, probably bue to a utility cabinet or elevator shaft located nearby - the bathrooom (and naturally the whole room) had a strong sewer/public toilet smell that persisted throughout our stay - the design of the bathroom entrance is unusual and not well thought. The whole bathroom is elevated about 10cm compared to the level of the room and there is an extra elevation ftom the inside too so it is guaranteed that especially at night you will bang you toes untill you get used to this. Not a big deal but something that the designer/engineer did not thought thrue. The room was decently clean and the bed super comfortable as in every Ibis we ever stayed. Althoug we are pleased with the Accor experience, you can see and feel that a lot of the hotels are getting outdated and overused. Hope this gets fixed in the foreseeable future.

very poor

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Peter P. Couples - 23/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very rude, receptionist, 38 minute to sign in, was bumped off because I was getting my vaccination proof, A disabled room with towels from a third world quality, many more complaints I WILL never again visit this Hotel

Clean & comfort

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

PDorin 09/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

Very clean IBIS hotel, relatively close to the downtown of the city - a nice walk - with a safe parking place. The COVID measures are in place as well. The hotel's staff been very supportive so for sure I'll stay here next time.

Dear guest, On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you very much for your comments about your stay in our hotel. We are very pleased with your words of praise. Your satisfaction is the best reward for me and my colleagues, who work day after day to provide you with impeccable service. I would especially like to thank you for your kind feedback about me. We hope to welcome you again soon. With best regards from Cologne Mr. Gera Klauser - Front Office Supervisor

Hotel locked in the night for no reason

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Amélie Couples - 03/08/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

My partner went out and came back at the hotel at 5am, where he found the main entrance door locked. He was unable to access the patio in which his room card should normally be used. He spent 30mins trying to get in before giving up and calling me downstairs. As I opened the door, the clerk who was on night shift came out to see what was happening: so that means, there was someone whose job it is to open the doors but who just didn't do it. The clerk did not offer a word of apology. This is unacceptable - nowhere it is written that the hotel closes at night.

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay with us. We are very sorry that you had such inconveniences with us. Of course, such a thing should not be. We have already taken all measures to sensitize our employees in this sense - do not hesitate to contact us on site, so that we can quickly remedy the situation. It is very important to us to satisfy you again. We would therefore be very pleased to welcome you again in the future. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

decent price but Room could do with a few small amenities

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Solo - 24/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Had some trouble checking in at first due to needing a negative test. I had checked beforehand (on einreiseanmeldung.de) and on the day of traveling there were no extra measures for traveling from NL. So I was surprised to hear this on arrival. I understand that rules may rapidly change in these times but when questioning the receptionist on when did the aforementioned go into effect I couldn't get a coherent answer unfortunately. Got there in the end via a negative test around the corner. The room is descent but could do with stuff like tissue boxes and in days of mobile phones the power socket would preferably a bit closer to the bed. Other than that the room is decent for what you pay and the hotel is well situated for those traveling by car.

no sleep

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Anonymous Business - 05/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The Elevator was too loud, i wasn't able to sleep until 01:30am and was awake at 06:00am

Perfect for a business stop-over

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Stephan Business - 19/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was surprised that the rooms were so large, clean and well designed. The hotel does a lot to keep people safe from CORONA and their team is friendly.

Good room, Covid-19 system in place.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

G L. Couples - 13/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Breakfast not great - only eggs available proved to be hard-boiled, and cold

Great City, comfy Hotel

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Andrii201 Friends getaway - 02/07/2019 TripAdvisor review

quiet city, clean room, fast service, excellent staff, great breakfast, cozy accommodation, great value for money, nearby transport communication, easy to reach to any around cities, cozy bedroom, clean linen

Ibis, Cologne

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Maureen E Couples - 25/04/2019 TripAdvisor review

This is a very nice hotel , friendly staff etc.I found the bar menu very limited & on the second night the restuarant was closed for maintenance leaving little choice, there had been no information regarding this when we went out. As the hotel is situated on the right side of the river there is nothing in the locality, for elderly people it meant taking a taxi to go out.

Problems with elevator!

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

RudolfK204 Business - 09/10/2018 TripAdvisor review

Everything was fine, but the elevator key is a desaster. Nearly evertime was a problem to unlook the elevator. Also they had to change the key, but it didnt get better. They should think about changing something!

Great stay at nice hotel good value for money!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

MirkaAW Couples - 02/08/2018 TripAdvisor review

Nice and friendly staff. Nice smiles and good communication, all of them very helpful and willing to do their best. Clean room, comfy beds. Bathroom ok. Aircondition a bit loud but well functioning. Nearby to the city center. Quiet and peaceful area. Overall a good stay!

Perfect stay for a busy weekend in beautiful Cologne!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Rodolfo C Solo travel - 15/07/2018 TripAdvisor review

This hotel is near to the Messe (Exposition Center) of Cologne and some 3/4 km from the center but it is easily reachable with the metro and great location for its price. Perfect for busy weekend as the CSD Pride weekend.

Nice place to be for Business stay

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

erich75015 Business - 18/06/2018 TripAdvisor review

Very nice location, Breakfast in the standard of IBIS quality, so you will find what you like. Bed are very confortable and new. Just a remark, TV is too small, better to watch TV program on my smartphone if I am in bed.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in koeln