Novotel London Excel

Novotel London Excel 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.3/5 389 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

See on a map

Description

Hotel extras

  • Minutes' walk to ExCel Exhibition Centre, the O2 Arena, and Canary Wharf

  • 2 DLR stations nearby

  • 5 minutes' drive to London City Airport

  • On-site restaurant and bar with outside terrace

  • Views of the Docklands, O2 Arena, and Canary Wharf

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Hotel location

Novotel London Excel

7 Western Gateway, Royal Victoria Dock
E16 1AA LONDON
United Kingdom

  • BUS 1:  147 CUSTOM H. EXCEL

  • BUS 2:  325 CUSTOM H. EXCEL

  • BUS 3:  241 CUSTOM H. EXCEL

  • BY SUBWAY:  DLR Royal Victoria

  • METR:  DLR Royal Victoria

  • By plane

    LONDON CITY At 1.77km / 1.1 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON CITY AIRPORT At 1.77km / 1.1 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON GATWICK At 70km / 43.5 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON HEATHROW At 37.01km / 23 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON STANSTED AIRPORT At 56km / 34.8 miles

  • By car

    A12,M11,M25 At 0.1km / 0.06 miles

  • By train

    DLR-ROYAL VICTORIA At 0.64km / 0.4 miles

  • By train

    KINGS CROSS At 12.87km / 8 miles

  • By train

    LIVERPOOL STREET At 7.24km / 4.5 miles

  • By train

    LONDON ST PANCRAS At 7.9km / 4.91 miles

  • By train

    WATERLOO STATION At 9.66km / 6 miles

GPS:51.507933906029066, 0.0232424366007321

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

UPPER DECK RESTAURANT

Entertain your palate at Novotel. Enjoy a range of local and international cuisine, simple yet authentic, in a casual setting. Whether you want to eat or simply have a drink, our restaurant has that extra something you can only find at Novotel.

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious, contemporary design and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living. Perfect for all your needs.

Our guest reviews

Our guest reviews for
Novotel London Excel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.3/5  389 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.0/5  2,916 reviews

It's close to Excel and fairly clean and comfortable

Customer review rating 2.0/5

John D. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

I booked this stay through the meeting I was attending at London Excel. I was allowed an early check-in and found the room relatively clean and comfortable, though it was a bit warn with stains on the carpet and some of the USB outlets didn't work. The included breakfast was excellent. The sauna wasn't working, but the steam room (so-called Turkish bath) was working. A Kindle reader disappeared from our room that apparently should have been in the safe. When I inquired at the front desk they said they would check with housekeeping and never did (I asked twice). The front desk also failed to email the receipt to me as I requested. I have seen this hotel on websites for rates much lower than I paid through my meeting, and as a moderate cost hotel it is a reasonable choice. At over $300 per night, not great, and the front desk staff are pleasant but unhelpful.

Good location, lovely staff that make you feel welcome

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Shannon W. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

We have stayed there now a couple of times as it is perfectly located to what we want to do, the staff are friendly and always go out of their way to help. The hotel is well looked after with the rooms being clean and tidy.

Hey Shannon! We were so chuffed to make your stay pleasant, at Novotel our guests are the most important thing ever and when we hear compliments it makes us have butterflies! We know that our future guests would also appreciate the kind words and tips and would appreciate if you could also share some comments on the global travel review site ‘’trip advisor’’. Here is the link; https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g186338-d291617-Reviews-Novotel_London_Excel-London_England.html Thanks again so much and hope you would come back and visit us soon!

OK only for conference but poor hotel service

Customer review rating 1.0/5

S A. Z. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Such poor hotel service that was never experienced in all Novotel hotels around the world - unprofessional: a bunch of people behind the reception desk but all like intern with little experience, having to ask the other staff - impolite: unsatisfactory attitude not reflecting Novotel/Accor standard, neither in person nor on room phone connection - inefficient & complicated: poor coordination and admin with billing, laundry (outsourced), taxi, etc.

Good location for Excel centre and O2

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Drakesy Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Pleasant hotel, friendly staff and well appointed rooms.

We were so chuffed to make your stay pleasant, at Novotel our guests are the most important thing ever and when we hear compliments it makes us have butterflies! We know that our future guests would also appreciate the kind words and tips and would appreciate if you could also share some comments on the global travel review site ‘’trip advisor’’. Here is the link; https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g186338-d291617-Reviews-Novotel_London_Excel-London_England.html Thanks again so much and hope you would come back and visit us soon!

Excellent, friendly service

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Tony C. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Excellent customer service, very friendly and well located hotel. Just what was needed. Topped off by a free drink at the bar and chocolates delivered to the room.

We were so chuffed to make your stay pleasant , at Novotel our guests are the most important thing ever and when we hear compliments it makes us have butterflies! We know that our future guests would also appreciate the kind words and tips and would appreciate if you could also share some comments on the global travel review site ‘’trip advisor’’. Here is the link; https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g186338-d291617-Reviews-Novotel_London_Excel-London_England.html Thanks again so much and hope you would come back and visit us soon!

Closely located to City Airport

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Michiel Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel is closely located to the City Airport and metro line towards the City. Rooms are a bit small and breakfast was crowded and therefore disappointing

Hi Michiel, Thanks so much for your review and your kind words about our team. Firstly I am very sorry to read your breakfast with us was not as smooth as we would hope for all our guests to have, however I am very glad to confirm that our breakfast are now for Novotel guests only and we cannot wait to welcome you back! Thanks again! Warm Regards, Aurelija Revuckaite Guest Experience Manager

Ideal for the Excel

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Adam Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Ideal for the Excel, Novotel quality, and always a friendly staff.

Hey Adam! We were so chuffed to make your stay pleasant, at Novotel our guests are the most important thing ever and when we hear compliments it makes us have butterflies! We know that our future guests would also appreciate the kind words and tips and would appreciate if you could also share some comments on the global travel review site ‘’trip advisor’’. Here is the link; https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g186338-d291617-Reviews-Novotel_London_Excel-London_England.html Thanks again so much and hope you would come back and visit us soon! Warm Regards, Aurelija Revuckaite Guest Experience Manager

Mediocre accommodations, indifferent staff

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Anonymous Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel itself is mediocre at best. Everything is fine enough to be habitable, but I wouldn't consider it nice. There was blood on the ceiling above my bathroom sink, feces on the toilet seat, and multiple stains on the floor when I checked in. My room overlooked a mid-level roof between the two room "towers" that has an odd summoning circle or something on it with blue orbs and burns stumps. It looks very intentional yet no one could tell me what it was. The front desk staff is ambivalent at best and just shrugged when asked questions. At one point I asked for a toothbrush kit because my toothpaste was in my missing luggage, and the reception clerk would not give it to me because I didn't need the toothbrush in the pack, just the toothpaste. It wasn't until I said "fine I'll use the toothbrush too" that they gave it to me. The bar staff is even worse and if you have other options, don't bother. Overall everything was just odd and unfriendly and I would not stay there again, despite it's convenient location to the ExCel event center.

Thanks for your review. It is extremely surprising to read such feedback regarding our Japanese garden located in the courtyard. I wish to assure you that this is purely for decorations and it was also brought to my attention that you have spoken to a member of management regarding this who has assured me that he had clarified the matter for you. However makes us sad that you did not enjoy your stay. Novotel is not your traditional hotel and we definitely do things different. However, Accor has many other brands that may suit your needs better. Thanks again for trying us and we hope you are able to find a Accor hotel that fits perfectly for you, or of course we’d love to see you again Warm Regards, Aurelija Revuckaite Guest Experience Manager

Terrible service and food not great

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Steve M. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

First, I had to move room (although it was nice to have an upgrade) as the bath wouldn't drain. I told the night (general) manager, but he didn't pass the message on to the day staff, so I had to complain again. The breakfast was poor. Not much choice and very limited on many counts (yoghurt, cheese, hot food). The service at the bar was appalling. The 2nd day I waited over 1/2 hour. When someone did arrive (lunchtime) they refused to serve me a drink as they couldn't log into the iPad. Surely you should look after the customer first then sort out your tech side? That same evening they closed the bar early (11pm) as there was an issue with the tech again. They could have solved it by simply adding up manually and using the card reader, but they quite simply couldn't be bothered. It was also the same evening German football fans were staying, so I'm sure they were bitterly disappointed to return to a closed bar. Location for the ExCel as well as London City Airport, DLR and connecting Tube were excellent.

Hi Steve, Thanks for your time to review us. I am glad you enjoyed the views and location worked for you but saddened to read you faced a few issues during your stay. Please rest assured all feedback is taken seriously and i will personally investigate the concerning thoughts you've share in order to rectify and prevent from happening in the future. Thank you again and we hope you give us another try. Warm Regards, Aurelija Revuckaite Guest Experience Manager

Good Stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Serhat T. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall, it was really good. Room was comfortable and breakfast was satisfactory. The only missing bit is that shower gel :-) even though soap and shampoo were available in the bathroom.

We were so chuffed to make your stay pleasant, at Novotel our guests are the most important thing ever and when we hear compliments it makes us have butterflies! We know that our future guests would also appreciate the kind words and tips and would appreciate if you could also share some comments on the global travel review site ‘’trip advisor’’. Here is the link; https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g186338-d291617-Reviews-Novotel_London_Excel-London_England.html Thanks again so much and hope you would come back and visit us soon! Warm Regards, Aurelija Revuckaite Guest Experience Manager

Ok but breakfast service terrible

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Suzi Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Check in was easy enough and desk staff were fine. Hotel room was nice, as expected, aside from strange water/liquid marks all over the toilet wall from top to bottom. It would have been a satisfactory stay, but breakfast service was terrible! There was no-one to greet us at the entrance to the restaurant, or to take our room number, or seat us. We arrived for breakfast at 10am (service ended at 11am), yet there were no pastries out, only one piece of sliced bread for toasting, no apple juice, low on cereal and some hot food items missing! We had to ask staff if they would be refilled, and it took ages for them to do it. At one point there were no plates available and several people waiting for them! Staff really didn't seem to want to be there and there was no urgency. We did complain to a member of staff in the restaurant but didn't really get a response. After staying at the fantastic Novotel in Wembley Park three times in the past month, this stay at Novotel Excel was very disappointing (and more expensive!).

Hi Suzi, Thanks so much for your review and your kind words about our team. Firstly I am very sorry to read your breakfast with us was not as smooth as we would hope for all our guests to have, however I am very glad to confirm that our breakfast are now for Novotel guests only and we cannot wait to welcome you back! Thanks again! Warm Regards, Aurelija Revuckaite Guest Experience Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Farzana Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed for a few nights due to business trip in London. Fairly clean. Could do with looking at the limescale on the taps and shower head and cobwebs and dirt in the vents. I’m really particular with cleanliness. Housekeeping didn’t always refill supplies, such as tissues. Forgot to leave a note to ask. Reception took a while to answer the phone, or perhaps didn’t at all. Lucky to get through. As soon as the bar and restaurant shuts, it’s difficult to get any amenities. I asked for a bottle water in the middle of the night, more than happy to pay, but they didn’t have such facilities available. Limited food choices at the restaurant. However, generally quite clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. A pretty good stay.

Hi Farzana, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am glad to see the location worked for you, however we have missed on points due to lack of availability of the water and our restaurant offering wasn't up to your expectations. I wish to assure you that we take all feedback seriously and I will personally look into the matter why the team was unable to provide you with the bottle of water as this is extremely shocking to read. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again for better experiences. Warm Regards, Aurelija Revuckaite Guest Experience Manager

Room is clean

Customer review rating 4.0/5

C.mmmok Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Room is very nice and clean. Inter connect room made us efficient. But car park always full.

We were so chuffed to make your stay pleasant, at Novotel our guests are the most important thing ever and when we hear compliments it makes us have butterflies! We know that our future guests would also appreciate the kind words and tips and would appreciate if you could also share some comments on the global travel review site ‘’trip advisor’’. Here is the link; https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g186338-d291617-Reviews-Novotel_London_Excel-London_England.html Thanks again so much and hope you would come back and visit us soon! Warm Regards, Aurelija Revuckaite Guest Experience Manager

Great location!

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Juha Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice hotel, great location with good connections to city center!

We were so chuffed to make your stay pleasant, at Novotel our guests are the most important thing ever and when we hear compliments it makes us have butterflies! We know that our future guests would also appreciate the kind words and tips and would appreciate if you could also share some comments on the global travel review site ‘’trip advisor’’. Here is the link; https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g186338-d291617-Reviews-Novotel_London_Excel-London_England.html Thanks again so much and hope you would come back and visit us soon! Warm Regards, Aurelija Revuckaite Guest Experience Manager

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Anonymous Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Location of hotel was great but the level of service leaves a lot to be desired

Not the first-class experience I am used to receiving at this hotel.

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Michael U. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Everything seemingly went wrong from request I made whilst booking to check-in and departure. I will just put it down to bad luck because I really love this hotel, hence regularly choosing it over others.

Excellence

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

juderolfe TripAdvisor review

Booked this hotel after another one close by cancelled a month before our visit. Great welcome and room was ready early. Comfortable beds especially the sofa bed. Excellent selection at breakfast and kitchen willing to do other items. Hotel was busy but not noisy or overcrowded. We will definitely go back again.

Hey juderolfe, On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your most memorable experiences with us during your recent stay at the Novotel London Excel. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests. Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you choose to create more memories here whenever your travels bring you back to London. Kind regards, Aurelija Revuckaite Guest Experience Manager

Not impressed

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

anonymous7171626273 Business - TripAdvisor review

Bed sheets were dirty Very loud noise all night from the bathroom Leaking tap Dirty room No one came to clean the room Recwption staff was very moody . Doesn’t smile . (Not the one who checked us in- b)

Hi anonymous7171626273, Thanks for your comments, sorry to read your stay was not as satisfactory as we would expect all our guests to have. I have investigated this matter and can assure you that we have now found out what this issue was caused by and will not allow this to re-occur in the future, I apologies for the discomfort caused. Please do not hesitate to contact me on aurelija.revuckaite@accor.com if you wish to discuss the matter further. Thanks again, Aurelija Revuckaite Guest Experience Manager

Excellent

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

mariOla1411 TripAdvisor review

Amazing stay, nice, comfortable room. Delicious breakfast.Very friendly and professional service, especially Eliza and Laura makes us feel very welcome. Definitely we’ll be back there and recommend it to everyone.

Hey mariOla1411, So nice of you to write to us. We are glad you enjoyed it all with us and hope to see you back very soon. Warm regards, Aurelija Revuckaite Guest Experience Manager

Mini honeymoon

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

lisahemp TripAdvisor review

Our stay at Novotel London excel was amazing! We was there for a mini honeymoon and the staff went above and beyond to make it special! Can’t thank them enough! They upgraded us to a suite and left lovely personalised messages for us and decorated the room! Hotels in a beautiful location overlooking the docks! Roulette recommend to anyone!

Hey lisahemp, Thanks for all the cool comments. So glad you had a fantastic Accor experience. SEEYOUSOON <3 Aurelija Revuckaite Guest Experience Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in LONDON