Information message

ibis budget Marseille Vieux Port 2 stars

Customer review rating 4.0/5 8,496 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Accor Live Limitless

Not participating hotel

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I do not earn points

  • I cannot use my points

  • I do not benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

ibis budget Marseille Vieux Port
See on a map
+ 12 Services

Hotel extras

  • Friendly and modern

  • 5 minutes on foot from the Old Port and Metro

  • Right in the heart of Marseille

  • Lively neighborhood with restaurants

  • 24-hour reception - free high-speed WIFI

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 13h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air Conditioning
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Shoe shine machine
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Snack & beverage machinePaying
Business services
  • 3 Meeting room(s)

Hotel location

ibis budget Marseille Vieux Port

46 rue Sainte
13001 marseille
france

Tel: +33892680582

Fax: (+33)4/91549575

Check-in from 13h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    MARSEILLE PROVENCE At 26km / 16.16 miles

GPS :43.292195, 5.373801

Our accommodation(s)

DOUBLE - Room with a large bed for 2 people

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: City View, Courtyard View *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet

TRIPLE - Room with a large bed and a bunk bed

Accessible room
  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Views: City View, Courtyard View *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Business Desk

TWIN - Room with twin beds.

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Views: City View, Courtyard View *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

LA CAPITAINERIE

Non contractual photo

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 3

  • Maximum size: 86

  • Maximum capacity: 50 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
ibis budget Marseille Vieux Port

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.0/5

8,496 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

1,720 reviews

perfect location, great hotel, amazing team

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Vincent Solo - 15/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Location could not be better to explore Marseille. And the teams were all very attentive and considerate, delivering a level of service many 5-star hotels should get inspired from. Thank you, and keep it up!!

Dear Vincent, Thank you for such a positive review of your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our prime location. Your kind comments about our team's courteous and professional service encourage us to continue with our efforts to make every stay here a memorable one for our guests. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future. Many thanks again, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Great location.

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Anonymous Solo - 02/03/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Ok stay for a great location but do not expect much. For a non-smoking hotel, the corridors and room smell like an ashtray. No fresh air. No door for the shower. Weakest wifi. No bins except for one small one. Towels did not smell fresh. Fire alarm went off for way too long after claiming it was a false alarm? Hostels do better for the same price.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your mention of our convenient location. However, we regret you found our standards did not meet your expectations. Our team are always available to deal with any concerns you may have, so please don't hesitate to reach out when necessary so that we can do our best to find a solution. We certainly hope that we can welcome you back. Best regards, Stéphane Mojica, Manager
Customer review rating 1.0/5

Helene Solo - 28/02/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Chambre globalement sale. Bruit en permanence.

Chère Helene, Merci d'avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de votre expérience chez nous. Nous avons pris bonne note de vos remarques et sommes désolés de savoir que votre séjour parmi nous n'a pas été à la hauteur de vos attentes. Veuillez nous excuser pour les désagréments mentionnés. N'hésitez pas à nous alerter sur place en cas de nuisances afin que nous puissions y remédier au plus vite. Votre confort passe avant tout. Nous ne manquerons pas de transmettre votre opinion au service de nettoyage. L'hygiène est un point auquel nous accordons beaucoup d'importance. Nous espérons avoir l’opportunité de vous accueillir de nouveau afin de changer votre perception. Bien à vous, Stéphane Mojica, Directeur

Cancellation policy during a pandemic is disgraceful

Customer review rating 0.5/5

M C. Couples - 07/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We didn’t actually go. Our flights were cancelled due to the pandemic and given that we wouldn’t be given a voucher, we had to book a new date which we obviously couldn’t do because no one knows when things will be back to normal we just didn’t go and didn’t say anything about it. We have experience of this with your hotel as an earlier trip was cancelled and we’ve been told we have to pay the difference for the new dates in April which still may not even happen.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We understand your frustration and disappointment and also that changes are ongoing and unforeseeable due to COVID-19. The safety and wellbeing of our guests is a top priority for Accor and we have implemented new cancellation/modification policies to provide our guests with increased flexibility. Please contact us to discuss the options we can offer you. We do hope to welcome you in the future. Best wishes, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Well located. but very poor product.

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Karl Business - 04/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The Check-in process was smooth. The room and corridor were dirty. Hair everywhere, dirty linen in the corridor. AC was very noisy. Parking was not available. No telephone in the room. I completely understand that this is a budget hotel, however, there is a minimum a guest should expect if you are trying to build loyalty.

Dear Karl, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we are pleased you appreciated our location, we are sorry about the issues you encountered. We regret that our high standards were not met and this will be reviewed with housekeeping, please don't hesitate to bring these matters to our attention during your stay so that we may take corrective action, as is also the case with any disturbance form our air conditioning system. We have a parking lot with a limited number of places, subject to availability and on a first come first served basis and we regret if this was already full upon your arrival. Some street parking is possible and the 'Estienne d'Orves' public car park is nearby, our team can provide you with more details if needed. We have found at present that most guests prefer to use their own phones with the incorporated technology that allows them to contact us when needed and therefore a phone is no longer a necessity. We hope that we may have the chance to welcome you back for a more pleasant experience in the future. Kind regards, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Very well located

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Natalia Business - 29/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

All good, Perfect air condition, quiet and clean. No regrets!!

pas terrible

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Patrice L. Couples - 26/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

hotel miteux

Great location, especially for the price

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 18/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Ibis hotels are consistent - you always know what what you’re paying for. Apart from the fantastic location of Hotel Ibis Marseille Vieux Port, I would particularly commend this Ibis for the excellent service and welcome.

Dear guest, Thank you for such positive feedback. We appreciate your recognition of our team's excellent service. This is our highest reward and inspires our team members to continue with their efforts to uphold our high standards. We hope that you will visit us again in the future. All the best, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Great location but average services

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Rima Solo - 31/07/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is very well located at the heart of Marseilles, but at my arrival the electrical store behind the window was not working (there was no light in the room because I could not open it). These issues were later fixed though. The provided towels were wet the first day and they were not changed everyday, I had to ask for new ones more than once.

Well located BUT...

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Mathilde Couples - 27/07/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Well located but not so good general state. The shower was broken so every time we took one we were putting water all around the bathroom. Do not count on the parking if you have a big car (apparently a break is a big car...) + you have to pay for the parking, which wasn't mentioned. Good for a two-nights stand but not more.

Dear Mathilde, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We are very pleased to know that our location was convenient for you. Please accept our apologies for any issues with the shower and we will look into this immediately. Please don't hesitate to bring such matters to our attention while on-site so that we may take immediate action. Included in the booking confirmation is a message informing our guests that our car park is very small, is on a first-come, first-served basis with a cost 11 euros per car per night and can only be used for small cars; it is not suitable for 4x4, estate cars or similar. A public car park can be found nearby if needed and our team can help with directions. It would be a pleasure to see you again in the future. Best regards, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Well located

Customer review rating 2.5/5

B. Couples - 18/07/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is well located, the staff is very welcoming and friendly. The room is clean but noisy and too small for two persons. Globally the trip was good.

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is great to hear that you appreciated our convenient location. We are sorry that we were not able to meet all of your expectations and apologise for any inconvenience. Feedback from our guests is important to us, as it gives us an opportunity to make improvements in the future. We do have rooms overlooking the courtyard which may suit you better on your next visit, so please don't hesitate to let us know your preferences. It would be a pleasure to see you again in the future. Best regards, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

air conditioner not working

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Ricardo M. Families - 16/07/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Air conditioner was not working and it was very difficult to sleep. the Baby crib was not set, and I had to do it by my self

Dear Ricardo, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We regret to read that your visit did not meet all your expectations. Our reception team is available 24/7 and we would have been very happy to have assisted with adjusting the controls or found a solution. We have implemented new measures for the well-being of our guests as well as our team members and making up the cot is something left to our guests, however, please request help if needed. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Very poor experience

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Marie Business - 15/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was not clean (bathroom and bedroom), with a very strange smell in the air. The bed was terrific. I know Ibis Budget and the services usually delivered, I will never come again in this one.

Dear Marie, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We work hard to provide all our guests with a pleasant experience and It is disappointing to hear that your recent stay with us fell short of your expectations. We regret you did not inform us of these concerns while on-site so that we could have taken immediate action. Please accept our apologies and rest assured that we have addressed these issues with the concerned team members. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Kind regards, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

next to the port

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

jolha2016 Friends getaway - 27/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

good location, next to the port and restaurants, there is a SPAR shop 3 minutes away, budget rooms but there is everything you need, towels changed every day,there is a renovation at the moment so there are people working outside and it is a bit noisy

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay overall and appreciated our location as well as our well-equipped rooms. We are, however, sorry for any disturbance caused by the works currently taking place outdoors; please do not hesitate to inform our team of any issues or concerns during your stay so that our team can provide an immediate solution. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Excellent location, poor amenities

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

NikosZo Family - 07/08/2019 TripAdvisor review

The location is excellent, just next to Vieux Port. Breakfast is decent, classical Ibis Budget.Rooms are quite tiny and basic. Small corridors that give a breathless perception. Not recommended for staying more than 1-2 nights.

Dear Nikoszo, Thank you for your review. Thank you for mentioning our prime location, It is rewarding to know that you were pleased in this regard. We are however sorry to hear that the size of your room was not to your liking. Our team members are always available to assist with room selection. We are otherwise pleased that you enjoyed our tasty breakfast, a great way to start the day. We hope to welcome you again. Best wishes, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Overbooking or lack of evidence?

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Mladen S Couples - 27/06/2019 TripAdvisor review

My overall rating could be 4 points or even 4-5, if an accident at the reception would not happen upon my arrival. I booked a room in hotel Ibis Budget Marseille Vieux Port far in advance: for my stay in June I booked in September. I always book the largest available room, if the room price is the same for all rooms (what in fact is a case with Ibis mostly). Consequently I booked a triple room (a room with a large bed and a bunk bed). I did an early check-in in advance online and I received a confirmation letter from the hotel reception that my room will be available from 12:00 on the day of arrival. Here my story of "pros and cons" begins. I came to the hotel early, relying on the kind message from the hotel reception: “The check n is at 12 am of course if we have a room available we can do the early check in”. Of course, the room was not available yet. I left my luggage in a cellar where you pay 2,00€ for lockers, and I decided to come back at 12 a.m., what was a promised time for check-in. When I came back at 12:00 a.m., my room was still not available yet. During the time I was waiting, a man from the reception offered me free hot chocolate. During my waiting I asked several times if my room is ready – answer was: not yet. At 1:40 p.m. I asked to talk with hotel manager – he was out and not available. Finally we agreed on “double room” for one night and one free breakfast for compensation. When I entered the room, it was a great disappointment. I did not expect a lot of a budget hotel, but I would expect comparable standards with Ibis budget hotels in the other countries. The room at the 2nd Floor was small, barely place for double bed, no place to put the things on (except two plastic chairs), only a little window under the roof, air-condition (of course) not working, shower not working, anyway you can not stand under the shower. Disaster. Further on I insisted to get a room I paid for. In the evening the receptionist promised me to get my room next evening. And – it happened. I got a room at the 3rd Floor, which I booked in September last year. The room was as expected, and air-condition was working! About hotel’s reception: teams are very different: a couple upon my arrival on Wednesday, June 19, was a disaster. Afternoon team was efficient, kind and communicative. It is a pity that I could not catch the manager of hotel – it must be a managerial issue that you do not get a room you pay for it, on time. Overbooking or managerial fault?

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to post feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are sorry that your recent stay at our hotel didn't meet all your expectations. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, I do extend it with all sincerity. However, it is stipulated on our website that check-in is at 13h00. If you had received an email inviting you to turn up at 12h00, would you kindly forward this to me at ibisbudgetmarseillevieuxport@gmail.com. All our confirmation e-mails should be written for 13h00 so this will need to be investigated. Please be assured that this situation was not due to overbooking, but please do not hesitate to contact me further by private email. I look forward to hearing from you. Best regards, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Marseille

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

thesmillies Solo travel - 31/05/2019 TripAdvisor review

The hotel is in a great location minutes walk from the port and numerous restaurants and bars. Although in a busy location the room has double glazing and air conditioning. The room is basic but has all the essentials and is clean. Breakfast is very good with a variety of hot and cold elements. Happy to stay again.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at the Hotel Ibis budget Marseille Vieux Port. We are indeed located at the centre of Marseille's historic Opera district to be so close to the local bars and restaurants. A message of satisfaction from a recent guest is always a reward and incentive for our team members to continue with their efforts to uphold our high standards. It’s great to know we were able to tempt your taste buds with the wide selection on offer on our breakfast buffet. It is always rewarding for us to welcome a returning guest. Thank you for choosing us again. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Great Stay

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

MCoz74 Couples - 09/05/2019 TripAdvisor review

My wife and I were visiting friends and had previously stayed at another Ibis budget in Marseille. This one is much better; in location, cleanliness, comfort and service. For a hotel on a budget, this is one of the best we have stayed in and would highly recommend the hotel and Maseille to anyone.

Dear MCoz74, Thank you for reviewing your stay at Ibis budget Marseille Vieux Port. We are so pleased you had a delightful experience and found our service exceeded expectations. Your satisfaction is our top priority, thank you for a great recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

value for money

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

lacroma Couples - 17/04/2019 TripAdvisor review

great location near the old port, in the heart of the main bars and restaurants area, standard and clean rooms, basic breakfast, but service is average, with almost noone speaking english. anyway, value for money

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are proud of our beautiful hotel near the scenic Vieux-Port de Marseille harbor and we are very pleased to hear that you found our convenient location at the centre of Marseille's historic Opera district to be so close to the local bars and restaurants. We thank you for your kind comments in regard to our clean, comfortable guest rooms; It is always pleasing to know that we made your stay comfortable. Please note that all of our staff do speak English and some Spanish. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Air conditioning broke down for thhe entire stay

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Nabeela U Friends getaway - 03/04/2019 TripAdvisor review

Unfortunately the air conditioning broke down and was not fixed for the 3 nights we were there. The first night we tried to make do with an open window however the hotel is on a semi busy street and loud noises kept us awake. We requested a fan on night 2 and we were given a water based fan (the room only gets as cool as the water you add to the fan and so we were waking every few hours to replace the warmed water). We gave up on night 3 and unfortunately felt very sleep deprived. On asking management for help or advice on any alternatives to taxi transfers to the airport we were brushed off. The breakfast is very basic and not replenished quick enough for the number of people attending. All in all definitely a budget stay.

Dear Nabeela, Thank you for your candid feedback. We are very sorry that you had a less than pleasant experience with us. We work hard to ensure the comfort and satisfaction of every guest, and in this case we apparently fell short. Still, we thank you for notifying us of the difficulties you experienced, as it is an opportunity for us to question ourselves and to look for ways to improve our services. Despite this, we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you for a much better stay in the future. Kind Regards Stéphane Mojica, Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in marseille