Information message

Novotel Hamilton Tainui Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.4/5 14,502 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Novotel Hamilton Tainui
See on a map
+ 24 Services

Hotel extras

  • River or city view, WIFI, work area, cable TV

  • Relaxed lobby bar, fitness centre, sauna

  • Modern Local Fusion Cuisine with choice of bars, cafés and restaurants nearby

  • Range of versatile conference rooms for effective events

  • ALLSAFE Accredited

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Private indoor parking Paying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • HAMILTON Paying
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Electric car recharging units
  • Laundry
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 2 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
Business services
  • 6 Meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Novotel Hamilton Tainui

7 Alma Street
3204 hamilton
new zealand

Tel: +6478381366

Fax: (+64)7/8381367

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • ANGELSEA ST :  STATE HIGHWAY 1 HAMILTON CENTRAL

  • By plane

    AUCKLAND MANGERE INTL At 130km / 80.79 miles

  • By plane

    HAMILTON At 15km / 9.38 miles - Shuttle paying

  • By plane

    PALMERSTON At 700km / 437.5 miles

  • By train

    FRANKTON RAILWAY STATION At 2km / 1.25 miles

GPS :-37.785992, 175.282622

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious, contemporary in design and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living. Perfect for all your needs.

Superior Room with 1 King size bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 29 / 312 sq ft
  • Views: River side, City View *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products

Superior Room with two double beds

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 29 / 312 sq ft
  • Views: River side, City View *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products

Deluxe Room with 1 king size bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 35 / 377 sq ft

Superior Family Room with 2 double beds

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 35 / 377 sq ft
  • Views: River side, City View *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Bathroom products

Executive Room with 1 king size bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 28 / 301 sq ft
  • Views: River side *

Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV(...)

Executive Room with 2 double beds

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 28 / 301 sq ft
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

RESTAURANT ON ALMA

Type of cuisine: Regional

Restaurant on Alma combines the contemporary fusion of Pacific Rim & European cuisine. With an ambient riverside location, the restaurant is the perfect spot for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Menu (PDF)
  • Monday -
  • Tuesday -
  • Wednesday -
  • Thursday -
  • Friday -
  • Saturday -
  • Sunday -
Lunch

LOBBY BAR

Unwind in the lobby bar with its large windows and peaceful setting, the ideal place to conduct an informal business meeting over an expresso. Open daily with a great range of tantalising snacks and an international selection of beer, wine and spirits

Non contractual photo

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
Lunch

THE BRIDGES CONFERENCE BAR

Bridges Bar can be opened for your own private after function party. Bridges Bar is not open unless pre-arranged.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday
Lunch

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 6

  • Maximum size: 242

  • Maximum capacity: 300 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 180 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Hamilton Tainui

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.4/5

14,502 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,403 reviews

Very noisy room on Victoria Street

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Treena Couples - 08/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall room was okay, carpet was a little dated. Bed was comfortable.

Kia Ora Treena, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate the comments you made and please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered due to street noise. Should we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel, please rest assured you will not be allocated a room that looks over Victoria Street. Once again thank you for the feedback. Kind regards, Marteli Studer Guest and Conference Coordinator Novotel Tainui Hamilton
Customer review rating 4.5/5

Carolyn M. Couples - 08/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Enjoyable stay again. Truly appreciated the free upgrade thanks Accor and Novotel Tainui. The only gripe was a cold buffet breakfast which seems to be a common complaint with Novotel.

Kia Ora Carolyn, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it was great to read you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for bringing your buffet breakfast experience to my attention. I have taken the liberty of escalating your feedback to our Food & Beverage Manager. Once again, thank you for your loyalty to Accor and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Marteli Studer Guest and Conference Coordinator Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Satisfactory

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Jaynie M. Families - 08/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Parking was very difficult. We had 2 vehicles one we tried to park early afternoon and had to leave on the street a few blocks away as not parking available. The 2nd vehicle we tried to park at 8pm, same deal, no carpark. We have young children so this was quite inconvenient. We had a drink downstairs and watched a bit of the rugby, it was cold and we told that the fire could not be turned on as there was no gas. I thought this was odd.

Kia Ora Jaynie, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We very much appreciate the comments you made and I can assure you we are working hard to source additional parking options so that we can provide this service for all of our guests. Once again, thank you for the feedback. Kind regards, Marteli Studer Guest and Conference Coordinator Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Pleasant stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anthony Business - 08/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Experience was good. Rooms were clean clean and well maintained.

Kia Ora Anthony, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We very much appreciate the comments you made and I can assure you these will be of great assistance as we continually look to improve all areas of our operation. Once again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to be of service again in the near future. Kind regards, Marteli Studer Guest and Conference Coordinator Novotel Tainui hamilton

Average

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Kez Families - 08/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Once again let down by this Hotel. We came for a family birthday only made one request and that was to be all near each other. Got there to find one group was put on a completely different floor. Booked at least 3 weeks in advance wasn't told then that this was not possible due to only having 8 rooms of the type we booked, if known we could have changed room type. Tried to book in on line but could only do with 2 rooms so had to ring Hotel to do the 3rd room and wasn't told then that we were separated either. Then we got moved to the same floor into a cheaper room yet they tried to charge me the higher price on checking out. Poor form guys!!

Kia Ora Keryn, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is disappointing to read your comments and we sincerely apologize that we were unable to deliver a seamless experience. There is no excuse from our perspective we just need to be better across all areas of the guest journey. We cannot undo what has happened but we will certainly learn from your feedback and as a gesture of our sincerity to put things right, we would like to credit your loyalty account with 4000 courtesy points and hope that you will give us an opportunity to show you the level of service we can deliver at some stage in the future. Kind regards, Marteli Studer Guest and Conference Coordinator Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Good room

Customer review rating 4.0/5

. Couples - 08/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Parking was non existent, the only option was valet, which was full so had to find our own parking. Room was good, clean, tidy and plenty of room for a Hotel room. Bar service at night was a little ropey and the initial interaction at Breakfast the following morning was slightly shambolic with the Maitre D telling us to "take a seat if you can find one". Breakfast options however were plentiful.

Kia Ora Simon, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We very much appreciate the comments you made and I can assure you we are working hard to source additional parking options so that we can provide this service for all of our guests. it was disappointing to read your comments regarding the experiences you had in the restaurant. Please accept our sincere apologies and rest assured we will work harder moving forward to ensure we are meeting all our guest expectations. Once again thank you for the feedback and we hope to be of service again in the near future Kind regards, Marteli Studer Guest and Conference Coordinator Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Easy, smooth and non stressful

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Trina Families - 07/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly, very clean, very comfortable, and absolutely delicious food. It was our second time we have stayed here and it certainly won’t be our last. Thanks so much.

Dear Trina & Warren J., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Another good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Mark D. Business - 07/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great service again

Dear Mark D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thanks for your feedback around ways we can add value for our higher tier guests. I will be sure to take this feedback on board. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton
Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Business - 07/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

A few maintenance issues, faucet tap wouldn't stay on and toilet paper kept falling off toilet roll holder. Other than that pretty good, although I would like for the in room menu to be larger

Kia Ora Rachel, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay with us. Thank you for bringing to our attention the issues you encountered in your room during your stay, please rest assured I have already informed our maintenance team who have rectified them. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to be of service again in the near future. Kind Regards, Marteli Studer Guest and Conference Coordinator Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Quarantine Free Business Trip to NZ

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Merrick M. Business - 07/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I spent almost 2 weeks at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui while travelling in NZ visiting clients with my SRANZ colleagues after a 15month hiatus due to COVID-19. The Novotel Hamilton Tainui was the perfect location to base myself for this trip and I'll stay again on future visits. Great amenities and the staff without exception were fantastic.

Dear Merrick M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Lovely service and food.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Bani Families - 07/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was comfortable. Loved having the gym and spa. Really relaxing stay in the hotel and enjoyed the riverside walkway. Food was yummy!

Dear Anahera K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Good central location.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Andrew Business - 07/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We always fell welcome and the staff are always pleasant.

Dear Andrew H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton
Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Families - 07/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Positive Marcia and Safira? The house keeping ladies were amazing, once they knew we had 4 kids, they made sure we had enough towels, soaps, milk and hot for the kids and would check in to see if we needed any more milk and anything else. Honestly loved how accommodating they were and the kids (funny enough) would be happy to see them. Even the Indian gentleman that was on Thursday early morning between 6-7:30 was great. Very accommodating. Negative It would be great if someone had showed us the ins and outs as a courtesy and what service they offer and where things are. We sort of had to explore and were abit clueless e.g with where our room was and were just directed with hand gesture to go to the elevator. This was a trip for a church conference down in Hamilton. I found out about the hotel through Google search

Dear Richard & Jayne S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton
Customer review rating 5.0/5

Emma Families - 07/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Welcoming, very comfortable, excellent service,delicious Dining In menu,proximity to everything local. Great architecture and plantings.

Dear Emma T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Well located, clean, friendly people

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Stacey Business - 07/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great

Kia Ora Stacey, Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It was great to read you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Marteli Studer Guest and Conference Coordinator Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Clean and comfortable

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Helen W. Families - 07/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff were friendly and helpful. They made checking in easy. The room was clean and the beds very comfortable

Dear Helen W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Hamilton Tainui. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I have sent a memo to Novotel Rotorua Lakeside to ensure they follow up with you as a priority regarding your stay. Should you not hear back from them please do let me know so I can escalate this on your behalf. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Grayson Croasdale Front Office Manager Novotel Tainui Hamilton

Anniversary

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

KIA K 14/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

Anniversary with my wife and spent the weekend in Hamilton . The unit was very spacious and was nice and clean . Ordered room service , was disappointed with the food as it didn't seem it be very fresh The staff were very helpful and front desk was very efficient when booking in and arriving Enjoyed the quick exit on the Sunday morning when leaving , thank you

Well worth the experience

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

paeakau 11/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

The services we experienced (at reception, at room service, at the bar and at breakfast were very professional, warm and welcoming. The room (overlooking the panoramic view of the Waikato River) was very comfortable with the standard amenities - air conditioning and heating; tea, coffee, hot chocolate, sugar milk, an iron and ironing board, a box of tissues, shampoo, conditioning, show gel, body lotion and a hair dryer available. The best was having a nice room to stay in. The least liked was having to check out!

Amazing

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

687val 02/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

Always stay here when in Hamilton it is in town so plenty of shops and restaurants. Staff are always friendly and the rooms are great.Breakfast is great and Poppy is amazing makes a great coffee. Good selection for breakfast

What's the point of accor membership

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

GoPlaces23980661374 Business - 01/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

I spend the summer travelling NZ and stay at a lot of Accor hotels as a result. I have accumulated points to attain Platinum status yet I consistently been forgotten about and not provided any benefits. It's disappointing as I find the service across the Accor Novotel's incredibly inconsistent and it is frustrating when people I travel with receive benefits and I don't and when I question it I'm told they don't have my number which I have registered numerous times before and they still don't acknowledge the points I have accumulated. So I ask you, what is the point?

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in hamilton