Information message

Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.4/5 357 reviews

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark
See on a map
+ 25 Services

Hotel extras

  • A 25-minute walk from the Volksparkstadion (HSV) and the Barclaycard Arena

  • One child under 16 years can stay in their parents' room free of charge

  • Parking for hotel guests in the car park. Public charger before the hotel.

  • Relax at the Volkspark, VAF sports facility or on a rental bike (May-Oct.).

  • Bus lines 2 & 3 stop right in front of the hotel

Hotel location

Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark

Albert Einstein Ring 2
22761 hamburg

Tel: +4940899520

Fax: (+49)40/89952333

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • BUS :  1 und 2 Bahrenfelder TRB

  • By plane

    HAMBURG FUHLSBUETTEL At 15km / 9.38 miles

  • By plane

    HANNOVER At 150km / 93.75 miles

  • By car

    BAHRENFELD At 2km / 1.25 miles

  • By train

    ALTONA At 4km / 2.5 miles

  • By train

    MAIN STATION At 8km / 5 miles

GPS :53.574836, 9.889451

Hotel services

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary

  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
Catering services
  • One Restaurant
  • One Bar
  • Snack and beverage machine
    • Snack and beverage machine Additional charge
  • Breakfast
    • Buffet Additional charge
  • Room service
    • Cold snacks
    • Hot meals
  • 3 Meeting rooms
  • Business Center
    • Self service business center
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
Hotel Services And Equipments
  • Hotel informations
    • 140 rooms
    • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
    • 76 family rooms
    • 2 connecting rooms
    • 140 non-smoking rooms
    • 6 floors
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • German
    • English
  • Laundry / Valet Services
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Wi-Fi
    • WiFi in the communal areas
    • WiFi at the hotel
  • Air conditioning
    • Air Conditioning
  • Reduced mobility Facilities
  • 100% Non Smoking Property
  • Elevator to all floor
  • Luggage storage
    • Luggage storage
  • Desk equipment available
    • Shoe shine machine
  • Iron
    • Iron at reception
  • Safe deposit box at reception
    • Safe deposit box at reception
Access to property
  • 1x Busparkplatz vor dem Hotel
    • On site
    • One parking space
    • Private
  • Hoteleigene Tiefgarage
    • On site
    • 70 parking spaces
    • Private
    • Parking opened 24/7
  • Hoteleigenes Carport 16x Plätze
    • On site
    • 20 parking spaces
    • Private
  • Shopping mall
  • Services for children
    • Childrens TV Channels
    • Indoor playground for children

Our accommodation(s)

For a comfortable stay at the fully air-conditioned 4-star Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark, we offer 128 Standard Rooms. We also have 12 spacious Privilege Suites available to satisfy greater requirements, which we especially recommend for family stays. One child aged up to 16 years may stay overnight free of charge (including breakfast) in his parents' room. Pets are welcome upon request at a charge of EUR 15/night, depending on availability. All rooms have free WIFI.

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 3

  • Maximum size: 112

  • Maximum capacity: 120 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 65 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.4/5

357 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

843 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021


Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Business - 16/11/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL


Good hotel, great staff, very tasty and varied breakfast

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

594mareke Business - 23/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

A good hotel located outside of Hamburg`s City center. Rooms very spacious, well maintained and very clean. Great, very helpful staff that respects status customers. Very tasty and varied breakfast with a lot of different dishes.

Liebe 594mareke, vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, um uns eine Bewertung zu kommen zu lassen. Es freut mich sehr, dass Sie sich bei uns wohlgefühlt haben und das wir Sie mit unserem guten Standard und Gastfreundschaft überzeugen konnten. Wir hoffen, dass wir Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen dürfen und wünschen Ihnen ein frohes neues Jahr. Herzliche Grüße aus Hamburg Cornelia Spiller Hoteldirektorin

Nice hotel and friendly staff

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Marceld1200 Business - 13/11/2019 TripAdvisor review

Unfortunately I was not recognized as an gold member upon arrival and did not receive the usual benefits. This made me decide to have a nice cold beer and food in an other restaurant in the near vicinity. The hotel is nice and the breakfast was good.

Lieber Marceld1200, herzlichen Dank für Ihre Bewertung und die Zeit, die Sie sich genommen haben, um uns von Ihren Eindrücken zu berichten. Mit Bedauern mussten wir Ihrem Kommentar entnehmen, dass Sie nicht als Goldmitglied anerkannt wurden und wir somit Ihren Ansprüchen an den Hotelaufenthalt nicht entsprachen. Sie können sicher sein, dass wir uns Ihre wertvollen Hinweise zu Herzen nehmen und dazu mit der betroffenen Abteilung im Gespräch waren. Wir haben Ihren Punkt mit den Mitarbeitern bereits eingehend besprochen und werden dafür Sorge tragen, dass sich ähnliche Vorkommnisse in Zukunft nicht wiederholen. Wir würden uns sehr freuen, wenn Sie uns nochmals Gelegenheit geben, Sie von der Qualität unseres Hotels überzeugen zu können und verbleiben mit nochmaligem Dank für Ihre Mühe. Mit herzlichen Grüßen aus Hamburg Cornelia Spiller Hoteldirektorin

Average hotel

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

anassL2499KJ Business - 13/10/2019 TripAdvisor review

No fitness, no pool, far from the city. Average room. Good bad. It does not really deserve four stars. 135 euros for a basic hotel. The team was professional and helpful. The breakfast was good with good choice.

Dear Mercure Guest, we thank you very much for taking the time to write to us after your stay. Unfortunately, your expectations have not met our services, but we would like to thank you for your comment. I am very pleased that especially my team and the breakfast you could convince positive. We would be glad if we could welcome you again. Best regards from Hamburg Cornelia Spiller Hotel Director

not worth the price

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

franziskaduck Solo travel - 14/08/2019 TripAdvisor review

Staff was really nice and gave me an other room as soon as possible when I told them that there was water leaking in my bathroom. Unfortunately the new room was positioned right next to a very loud street. I did not have breakfast at the hotel, but I assume that 20€ is way too much... There were a few dirty spots in my room (Curtains, Mirror,..) and the armchair looked very much used. But the bed was really comfy and the size of the room was nice.

Dear franziskaduck, Thank you very much for your evaluation and the time you have taken to tell us about your impressions. With regret we have read, what inconvenience you have experienced in our room. I am sorry that you could not enjoy your stay with us 100%. We do our best at all times to meet a high standard of hygiene. We have already informed our housekeeper about this and initiated appropriate measures. I regret these incidents very much, as this of course is not up to our standard and I would be very happy if you would give us another opportunity to convince you of our good standard. Greetings from Hamburg Cornelia Spiller Hotel Director

Extremely satisfactory

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

gabriellasilvano2 Family - 14/08/2019 TripAdvisor review

We felt welcome at the reception, and the room was simply wonderful: wide and furbished with every possible kind of facility: slippers and bathrobe included. Very good service at the restaurant, the dinner delicious and not expensive

Love gabriellasilvano2, Thank you very much for your time, which you have taken to get us a rating. We are very pleased that you have felt comfortable with us. It is important to us that you feel valued and it is a great compliment for us that we were able to convey this to you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again and wish you a nice day. With warm greetings from Hamburg Cornelia Spiller Hotel Director

Did the job perfectly

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

JBP242 Friends getaway - 09/07/2019 TripAdvisor review

We needed a hotel that was good and not too expensive for one night near Hamburg - and Mercure am Volkspark delivered just that. Really good rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast and a nice bar for a night cab - everything in classic Mercure quality. You know what you get - and it is very good quality. Only one very small potential improvement - the schnitzel was to the small side. Otherwise the restaurant was great too.

Dear JBPat Thazos, Thank you for letting us come to your assessment after your stay. We are very pleased that you could enjoy your stay in a relaxed atmosphere and that we could convince you of our good service and hospitality. We thank you for your criticism, because only then we have the opportunity to optimize ourselves. We would be very happy if we greet you again you can and wish you a nice day. Greetings from Hamburg Cornelia Spiller Hotel Director

Very Good

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Jair E Couples - 08/07/2019 TripAdvisor review

Having stayed in several hotels in the Hamburg area I can say this is certainly the nicest we have used. The staff are very polite and friendly and the hotel is very clean. We only used the restaurant for breakfast but this was of a high standard.

Dear JairE, Thank you very much for your time, which you have taken to get us a rating. We are very pleased that you have felt comfortable with us. It is very important to us that you feel valued and it is a great compliment for us that we were able to convey this to you during your stays. We look forward to welcoming you again and wish you a nice day. Greetings from Hamburg Cornelia Spiller Hotel Director

Good hotel with bad receptionists!

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Robert B Couples - 24/04/2019 TripAdvisor review

No understanding of the receptionists for basic requirements; I was waked up at arrival day just because they needed again the already given credit card data; I had to pay 10€/day extra for the second person in the room because I forgot to do it at the first time of booking (even being an Accor member); even if the hotel was not completely booked at our arrival time we didn't received a room for an earlier check-in, even if we required it as we arrived after an 8 hours exhausting trip. Hotel is not bad but the attitude of some receptionists is unacceptable and ruined the stay!

Dear Robert B, We thank you very much for taking the time to write to us after your stay. I have regretfully read that the services provided did not meet your expectations. I apologize for the inconvenience caused. With reference to the 2nd person, it is right that we charge a surcharge of € 10.00 per day (be it in advance or on the spot). Unfortunately, I also have to inform you that we were booked out the night before and therefore we could not provide the room until around 1:00 pm. Mercure hotels strive to provide you with the best possible service every time you stay. Therefore, your opinion is of the utmost interest to us. Thanks again for your comments. We hope to regain your confidence in one of your next nights, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards from Hamburg Cornelia Spiller Hotel Director

Good Price Quality Relation

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Maps61377519951 Couples - 10/04/2019 TripAdvisor review

The Barclaycard Arena can be reached by foot. The Hotel is nice, clean and calm. We did not order Breakfast because it is too expensive. The city center needs to be reached by car. There are not many options for lunch/dinner arround the Hotel.

Dear Mercure guest, Thank you for visiting us and sending us a review. We are pleased that our hotel with the cleanliness left a positive impression and could convince. Too bad that we could not convince you with our breakfast offer. We would be pleased if you next Hamburg with the public transport inquire and look forward to welcoming you back to us. Best regards from Hamburg Cornelia Spiller Hotel Director

More needed

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Nick Business - 29/10/2018 Confirmed reviews ALL

Key issues: lift waiting time extremely long. No fridge/freezers in rooms, not even ice machines on any floors. Gym and pool out of order for “years” now. Breakfast far too expensive at €18.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Cornelia Spiller General Manager/ Hoteldirektorin

Review with harsh comments

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

akselpoulstrup Business - 07/10/2018 TripAdvisor review

* Severe problems sorting out the invoice.* Prices are not transparent. When I came back, I learned that my college (Asbjørn Busk) had paid less for a single room from Sunday September 30th to Monday October 1st - and I am member of the Accor club and should have the best prices..* Glass door in the shower was defect and resulted in a flooded floor.* Breakfast table was short of quite a lot of items already at 9 o'clock .

Lacking essentials

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Nick I. Business - 23/08/2018 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed here several times due to location. Rooms need a fridge/freezer and/or ice machines on each floor. Shower in bath should be better as water is sprayed everywhere and the floors are flooded. Elevator far too slow when calling to other than ground floor/reception taking sometime more than 2 minutes to arrive at first floor - off peak times. Breakfast ridiculously expensive at €18 and then there is often a queue for coffee. Meal menu very limited. Stairs not easy to find.

Great hotel not far from City Centre

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Chris50259 Friends getaway - 14/08/2018 TripAdvisor review

We chose this hotel as parking was free and it was not far from the City Centre. Very friendly and helpful staff and good quality rooms. Had an excellent restaurant at fair prices. Would stay here again.

Dear Mercure guest, We thank you for visiting us in August and for taking the time to give us a rating. We are pleased that you could enjoy your stay with us in a relaxed atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you back to us and wish you a nice day. Greetings from Hamburg Cornelia Spiller Hotel Director

Standard 4 star hotel not able to provide basic service

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Alain C. Business - 27/07/2018 Confirmed reviews ALL

Since leisure offers like sauna and pool are our basic requirements when choosing a hotel, I would have expected to be informed at the time of our booking that those features are NOT available. An additional service included the possibility to be provided with an iron and an iron board. When asking for it, it took 1 hour to only get the response that no irons and iron boards were available. No other solution was provided. Very dissatisfying if one has to attend a very formal meeting with a shirt which is crumbled.... The housekeeping entering the room at 09.00 am on a Sunday, TWICE! Very rigid NON-out-of-the-box thinking of staff which prevents a satisfying customer experience. For an internationally operating hotel chain an absolute no-go to remain competitive.

Our last stay in Hamburg

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

clausnielsen2018 Family - 11/05/2018 TripAdvisor review

We stayed for a long weekend at the Mercure Hotel in Hamburg by the Volkspark. Very well located, easy to access highways and easy to get to the center and stil out of the party area. Parking below in the garage was a big plus. Breakfast was very good. Very nice staff. The only thing we could complain about would be the sleeping sofa that folds out. Not very comfortable and we had to take turns due to how hard it was. That we have seen better at other hotels. Overall a very good experience and we would surely come back, next time we stay in Hamburg.

Good Hotel

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Ann Friends - 25/04/2018 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was easy to find and the room was very nice and clean. Unfortunate the breakfast was to expensive, so we didn't order that.

Nice hotel, close to work

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Marjan S. Business - 28/01/2018 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was a nice experience, I always choose this hotel when travelling on a business trip. It is really close to work.

Dear Mr. Stojanowski, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Cornelia Spiller General Manager/ Hoteldirektorin


TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Srini R Family - 13/01/2018 TripAdvisor review

this place can be improved significantly. it is not a good idea to take your family of two adults and one child.. the room sizes are small.. as a gold member i was not upgraded but i was provided with a lettter that states as a gold member you are eligible for n upgrade..

Very helpful staff

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

izabelak2018 Friends getaway - 01/01/2018 TripAdvisor review

I requested for a room with two single beds, and even though at the beginning it looked impossible, the hotel surprised me with meeting my earlier request. I was also checked in earlier that the standard hours. The meals for a dinner in the restaurant were also great!

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in hamburg