Information message

Novotel Southampton Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.2/5 7,671 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Novotel Southampton
See on a map
+ 9 Services

Hotel extras

  • Central location, with plenty of nearby transport links, 1 km from Red Funnel Ferry Port

  • Leisure facilities, including gym, sauna and heated pool. Work area, Free Wifi, 32-inch TV

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 330 guests

  • Elegant, modern restaurant, relaxed dining, Lavish hot breakfast buffet with pancakes

  • 10 meeting and banquet rooms, capable of holding 500 guests

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Private outdoor parking Paying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowed Paying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 5PM Paying
  • Electric car recharging units
  • Shoe shine machine
  • Currency exchange
Leisure and activities
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Sauna
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 10 Meeting room(s)
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Novotel Southampton

1 West Quay Road
S015 1RA southampton
united kingdom

Tel: +442381072800

Fax: (+44)2380/222158

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • SOUTHAMPTON COACH STATION : 

  • By plane

    EASTLEIGH At 11.26km / 7 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON HEATHROW At 112.64km / 69.99 miles

  • By boat

    RED FUNNEL - TOWN QUAY At 1km / 0.63 miles

  • By car

    M 27 JUNCTION 3 At 4.83km / 3 miles

  • By train

    CENTRAL STATION At 0.4km / 0.25 miles

GPS :50.904846, -1.414687

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious, contemporary in design, and adaptable, the Novotel room is truly a place for living. Perfect for all your needs.

Standard Room with Queen bed + convertible Sofa

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 21 / 226 sq ft
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron

Superior Room with Queen bed + convertible Sofa

Accessible room
  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 21 / 226 sq ft
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron

Executive Room 1 Queen bed + convertible Sofa

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 21 / 226 sq ft
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron

MyRoom by Ady: Cruise and Heritage room.

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 21 / 226 sq ft
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron

MyRoom by Georgiana: Vintage Floral room

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 21 / 226 sq ft
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron

MyRoom by Agnieszka: Forest room

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products
  • Iron

Our restaurants and bars

RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

Enjoy a range of local and international cuisine, simple yet authentic, in a casual setting. Whether you want to eat or simply have a drink, our restaurant has that extra something you can only find at Novotel. Closed down right now, pub is serving food.

BAR

Absorb the lively atmosphere at Novotel. In stylish surroundings, choose from an array of beers, wines and cocktails served by our fun and friendly staff. Our buzzing bar offers the perfect place to enjoy an evening's entertainment or relax and unwind.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 10

  • Maximum size: 504

  • Maximum capacity: 500 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 400 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Southampton

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.2/5

7,671 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,216 reviews

Much required Getaway

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Swiston A. Couples - 17/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

A well located hotel with ease of access to the city centre and the port. Enjoyed the pool session too.

Disappointing!!

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Bhavna Families - 16/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very disappointing experience… 1. On arrival to our room, the bedsheet was dirty…there were brown marks which was visible so not sure how the housekeeper would have missed this or thought this was acceptable? 2. I asked for a spoon for my daughters cake in the room which came but obviously had not been washed as it was dirty! 3. The curtains had a number of holes in them which brought in light when sleeping. 4. The shower door was unsealed so would not close properly which meant water escaped through onto the floor when showering. 5. The sink plug would not open properly which meant the water overflowed. 6. The minibar obviously had not been cleaned as there was spillage in there! 7. I requested for housekeeping to turn down our room whilst we were out. When we got back in the evening, the absolute minimum had been done….our used cups had been thrown away & they removed the used towels which I left on the floor for them, oh and they provided one clean bath towel despite there being 3 of us in the room. Neither beds had not been made which isn’t helpful when you have a very tired 3 year old toddler. I rang up reception who said that he would ask housekeeping to sort our room out but I refused this as it was too late & just cause disruption to our daughter. 8. Breakfast was inconsistent: - Day 1 when we placed our order, they had missed items off the plate or one person had 2 sausages whilst the other only had one on their plate. - Day 2 within minutes of placing our order our food arrived which obviously had not been cooked to order. The toast arrived hard & stone cold so when I asked the waitress to change this, there was no apology & she just walked off with a stern look on her face…like we were wrong to complain! She then came back again with warmish toast & placed it on the table walking off. I then tried my fried egg which was stone cold & hard but I didn’t feel comfortable bringing this to the waitresses attention as she was so rude. The breakfast was obviously pre-made & just sitting there waiting to get served up to customers. Appalling food & appalling service. I feel quite angry about it now just writing this! 9. I brought this to the managers attention Josh when checking out who was very apologetic & gave us a discount. As I explained to him, it’s not about the money, it’s about our overall experience. I really think that the housekeeping staff need retraining & the rude waitress also needs intense training with her customer service skills as she was really rude & unapproachable…nothing like a service with a smile. We certainly don’t recommend this hotel…not worth the money at all!

Good hotel

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Michelle H. Families - 16/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is great. Good location and helpful staff.

Dog hotel!

Customer review rating 1.0/5

Darren H. Couples - 16/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Rooms not clean enough. Every room in hotel is available to dog owners. No thought for people with pet allergies. It's stated it is pet friendly. I accept this, however it normally means certain roos are allocated to dog owners...... Not every hotel room!! An excuse of they charge dog owners extra for cleaning is not good enough. Sure novotel get more money....... But is the room clean? The first one I was given had thick dust over skirting boards I noticed when I was checking for per hair. (my partner as severe allergy to pets) So if they can't be trusted to remove all traces of dust..... So much for the deep clean owingg to pets and also covid 19.

Excellent stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Sue Friends - 16/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

My stay in the Southampton Hotel was excellent, I would certainly stay again if needing somewhere in Southampton. The staff on reception when I arrived were extremely friendly and helpful - as they were thorughout my stay, even looking up directions for me and ordering a taxi. The only thing I would say was that at check -in about 5pm on a Friday it was busy. I was lucky and got in just before a lot of others so although I had about a 10min wait by the time I was served the queue was out of the door, so maybe extra staff need to be on at certain times. Room and indeed hotel seemed very clean and comfortable.

Disappointed and let down

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Marc D. Families - 15/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I stayed with you with my 4-year old son and the main reason we picked the hotel was because of the pool. I've looked back over the confirmation and pre-arrival emails and can't see where it tells me I needed to pre-book a slot for this and by the time we arrived all slots were taken. Your colleague on reception was lovely and it wasn't her fault and by that point nothing could be done so pointless creating a fuss for something that can't be changed. She recommended a local pool however that was also at full capacity. On booking I asked about parking and any charges - I got no reply and was a bit shocked to be asked for £10 to park when I arrived - again by this point no choice but to go with it! The quality of the food and speed of service at breakfast was far short of any acceptable standard - bacon covered in white fat, a cold fried egg, cold toast with no butter and a sausage that was so hard it could have doubled as a torpedo. The room was comfortable enough but the lack of air con made it warm through the night.

Ok stay

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Ronald R. Families - 15/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Never knew when booking that the pool had to be booked there was no notification you had to so we missed out. The breakfast was awful booked for 8.30 didn't get seated until 9am when we had to choose what we wanted at desk before seating. Then we had a 30 minute wait for our food which was only 4 breakfasts. The staff were rude when we asked how much longer we had to wait. My partner was ignored when he asked. Considering we had our 3 yr old daughter with us the food wasn't worth the wait as we were wanting to get to peppa pig world for 10am. The beds were comfortable and the rooms clean.

Not great

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Terry F. Families - 15/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We wasnt happy with how dirty the room was we had ants in the bed we didnt appreciate this for the room we stayed in we have never experianced this before… we have stayed at novotel for many times and havnt had this happen before i wuld like some sort of refund back from it as im not happy bout this.. other than this was ok

Well located near Paultons Park

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Tina Families - 15/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Our stay was great and staff were very helpful. The only downside of this hotel is that they do not have air conditioning in the rooms so we had to request a fan.

Good location

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Andrew C. Couples - 14/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Found the room dated ,having stayed at the Coldra court in the same week . Yours rooms need some work dust in room and cup marks . Hall way the doors are marked

Well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Business T. Business - 14/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Cons: well located, newly decorated rooms, clean, firm bed, nice pool and gym, friendly reception staff Pros: paper cups, very small towels, dirty windows, no aircon in rooms and window opening limited

Excellent service

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Margaret Couples - 14/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were given a warm and friendly welcome at reception. It was explained that, due to Covid, the room would not be serviced daily, unless requested, but if we needed anything we just had to ask. When we requested extra toiletries we were given them at the reception. The service in the breakfast dining room was exceptional. Francesco and Aga could not have been more helpful. We were staying for three nights and I explained I had to have a gluten free diet, so I was provided with gluten free bread. On the second morning the chef came out and apologised profusely, because I couldn't have my bread toasted. They usually had a special toaster, which was kept for gluten free bread, but it had been used for normal bread and he said it would be dangerous to use it, for my bread, so he was going out to buy a toaster that day. The next day I had my bread toasted. We felt nothing was too much trouble for the delightful staff at this hotel.

Good location and comfort

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Mr P. W. Couples - 14/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

In one word excellent

Good location, nice room

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Rachel Families - 14/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was ideal for 1 night. The pool to ourselves was amazing

Good location knowledgeable and helpful staff

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Keith Families - 13/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good stay only gripe was that no air con and the rooms were very hot.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Gemma R. Families - 12/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Thank you for the happy birthday in our room for the twins birthday, booking the swimming was great and the gentleman who checked us in was lovely. Hotel was clean and tidy. Maybe slightly short staffed. Room was very hot but requested a tan and one was brought up.

Well Located, but tired hotel

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Mike Families - 12/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was greeted by a very helpful member of front desk staff, and checked in without issue after being moved from the ibis budget that I had originally booked. That is where the good bits end unfortunately. I had received no notice that my reservation had been moved to this hotel, when I got to the room, a single sofabed had been setup for my 10 month old to sleep in. I requested the bed be put away so we could use our own travel cot, which the staff did do, but the reception staff member I spoke with made it sound like a chore rather than the polite response I would have expected. The room itself was reasonably clean, but there were the following issues.. Room was too warm, with no working air con. Mirror had a crack in it. Used facemask was still in the room from previous guest behind the sofabed. Tea / Coffee etc was in a clear bag which had spilt sugar in it. Overall the room served its purpose for a one night stay, and as I had been upgraded from the ibis budget, I did not complain to reception staff as it was only a one night stay. I would advise looking at alternative hotels in Southampton if staying for more than one night.

Great location

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Teresa L. Families - 11/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The reason we chose this hotel was for the location being very close to the New forest also they allowed dogs to stay in your room .but being a dog friendly hotel dogs was only allowed in the lobby and the room no where else so for this is wasn't really dog friendly enough . I asked if we could sit in the bar to have breakfast away from the main restaurant and was told no the dog has to stay in our room . For an extra £10 a night to keep the dog on our room I would gave expected a bit more friendlyness. Breakfast : you have to tick of a sheet of breakfast items you want but I wouldn't bother as they never got it right always mixed.our orders up and breakfast came 1 hour later and still mixed up our orders. But the location was great . Rooms pretty decent and looking shower bathroom rooms .

Essential Business traveller

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

jamesashton019 Business - 18/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

Arrived at a booked stay at Ibis, this hotel was closed and was transferred to the Novotel opposite. The reception was helpful and polite. Room was dated but clean, however was very cold despite heating. Lost loyalty stay due to swap - frustrating.

Dear jamesashton019, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I'm sorry to see that you were disappointed with your stay. Your original booking was made with ibis Budget Southampton, and therefore it is not eligible for loyalty points, as is the case with all bookings at Ibis Budget Hotels. I do apologize if this was not made clear to you at the time of booking. Due to the pandemic you were upgraded complimentary to the Novotel, however the rate that you paid, and the conditions of that booking do still apply. I do hope that we have a chance to welcome you back again in the future. Sincerely, Patina Farnham General Manager

Very comfortable

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Keitht2 12/04/2021 TripAdvisor review

My room was spotlessly clean, spacious with a very comfortable settee which I later realised was a bed setter. I had an excellent night’s sleep on the best mattress I have ever encountered in an hotel. The shower was also excellent. There was a generous selection of teas and coffee available and, for the first time ever in my experience of an hotel small cartons of fresh semi-skimmed milk. In the past I have been a frequent user of Ibis hotels but on this occasion due to reduced numbers as a result of Covid all Accor guests were accommodated in the Novatel. In the light if my experience here my next bookings will definitely be with Novatel.

Dear Kietht2, thank you for your lovely review. I'm delighted to see that you not only enjoyed your stay, but will be continuing to choose Novotel in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, Patina Farnham General Manager Novotel Southampton

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in southampton