ibis Southampton Centre Hotel 3 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.2/5 4,693 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

ibis Southampton Centre
See on a map
+ 15 Services

Hotel extras

  • The hotel is located within 5 min walk from the Central Train Station (exit from platform 4).

  • Ideal location for cruise terminal (5-10min in taxi average cost £10 depending on the gate).

  • Onsite car parking with reduced rate of £10 per night for residents.

  • Coming for shopping? West Quay shopping centre and Ikea are 5min walk from the hotel.

  • 24/7 reception, free wifi, tea/coffee and hair dryer in room. Iron upon request from reception

Hotel location

ibis Southampton Centre

9 West Quay Road
SO15 1RA southampton
united kingdom

Fax: (+44)2380/223273

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • NATIONAL EXPRESS:  SOUTHAMPTON SOUTHAMPTON

  • By plane

    LONDON HEATHROW At 130km / 81.25 miles

  • By plane

    SOUTHAMPTON At 7.56km / 4.7 miles

  • By plane

    SOUTHAMPTON AIRPORT At 9.66km / 6 miles

  • By boat

    SOUTHAMPTON DOCKS At 0.5km / 0.31 miles

  • By car

    JUNCTION 3 At 5km / 3.13 miles

  • By train

    CENTRAL STATION At 0.02km / 0.01 miles

  • By train

    LONDRES WATERLOO At 112.64km / 70 miles

GPS:50.905441, -1.414061

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

FOGGS

Feeling peckish? You don't have to leave the hotel: inspired by the spirit of global adventure, the menu at Fogg's is loaded with everyone's favourites from tasty pizzas and salads to fragrant soups and diner-style comfort food.

Our accommodation(s)

Inviting, modern and cosy, with a comfortable bed and a functional bathroom. The ibis room has got everything you need for a pleasant stay. Hotel 100% non smoking

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 2

  • Maximum size: 90

  • Maximum capacity: 60 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
ibis Southampton Centre

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.2/5

4,693 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

1,271 reviews

Excellent stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Laura B. Friends - 10/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Clean, tidy and very helpful polite staff

Dear LAURA B., Thank you for your excellent feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at Ibis Southampton Please feel free to also leave a comment on TripAdvisor. I know our Team will appreciate this. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Iwona Kowalczyk Ibis Southampton

Always good!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Jax Couples - 09/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stayed at this hotel many times as we have family nearby. Always spotlessly clean and staff are friendly and very helpful! Breakfast is good too

Dear DARRELL R., Dear LAURA BARKER, Thank you for your excellent feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at Ibis Southampton Please feel free to also leave a comment on TripAdvisor. I know our Team will appreciate this. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Iwona Kowalczyk Ibis Southampton

Excellent service

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 09/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff always helpful, nothing was too much trouble

Dear EVERETT M., Dear LAURA BARKER, Thank you for your excellent feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at Ibis Southampton Please feel free to also leave a comment on TripAdvisor. I know our Team will appreciate this. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Iwona Kowalczyk Ibis Southampton

Great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Gary Friends - 08/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

The fast online check in was very smooth running and when arrived at the Hotel was in my Room very quickly . Room very warm , clean and comfortable Brd was great and had a good nights sleep , Good hot running water and shower .

Dear GARY R., Thank you for your excellent feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at Ibis Southampton Please feel free to also leave a comment on TripAdvisor. I know our Team will appreciate this. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Iwona Kowalczyk Ibis Southampton

Close to station

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 07/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Okay

Good location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Charmain F. Families - 07/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

I have nothing bad to say, all staff were very nice and helpful, the only thing I can complain is the prices of your drinks, not having a machine I can purchase drinks I had to buy from the bar, I understand the price if you using the restaurant or sitting in the bar area but really high price to buy drinks for the room, other from that no complains at all

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Craigie M. Couples - 04/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was fine

Well located

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Mrs D. K. Couples - 04/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

enjoyed our stay after the initial mix up at the desk

ibis hotel disappointed

Customer review rating 2.0/5

G. M. Couples - 03/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

not a very good room, lift not working, my wife has walking difficulties but was forced to climb the stairs, breakfast was very poor, not much choice, not what was expected for the price, very disappointed.

Brilliant staff, the hotel is what I paid for and expected.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Mp Families - 03/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Dear Team, As I mentioned your staff make your hotel, the hotel itself is good however the below is what could do with a little attention. My room 114 Bath panel needs bringing forward to flush position with bath. Panel under sink has dropped on right hand side, needs re-fixing. Shower rail bottom has split, needs replacing. Room could do with a safe. This room suffers with a bit of noise, probably kitchen extract or AC unit.

Friendly staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Diana Couples - 01/01/2022 Confirmed reviews ALL

Arrived a bit earlier than the official check in time but was not an issue and got to my room shortly after. Receptionist was very friendly. Returning in the evening after a long day of exploration of the historic sites in Southampton Centre we had reasonably price drink at the bar. I am guessing due to the low occupancy breakfast was prepared for order. We were able to leave our luggage free of charge prior to our departure from Southampton. Thanks for the team for a lovely stay. Will be back again.

Dear DIANA N., Dear LAURA BARKER, Thank you for your excellent feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at Ibis Southampton Please feel free to also leave a comment on TripAdvisor. I know our Team will appreciate this. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Iwona Kowalczyk Ibis Southampton

Excellent overnight stay. Located well for shopping and Mayflower Theatre

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Sandra H. Couples - 31/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, very friendly too.

Dear SANDRA H., Dear LAURA BARKER, Thank you for your excellent feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at Ibis Southampton Please feel free to also leave a comment on TripAdvisor. I know our Team will appreciate this. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Iwona Kowalczyk Ibis Southampton

Not so good on this occasion

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Eileen Couples - 30/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We always stay at this hotel when we come to Southampton because of its location and it’s service. The hotel is extremely comfortable and clean but is starting to look a little tired in decor in some of the rooms especially in the bathrooms where it could do with a revamp. Also what was most unsatisfactory on this occasion was the incessant and extremely loud chatter of the housekeeping team (4 of them) from early morning to my checkout at 11.30. I could hear them from the very end of the corridor to where they were by the lifts. They sounded like a group of fish wives in a market. People stay in a hotel to relax not to listen to them!!!

I always stay here when in town.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Families - 26/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I can't find a nicer, more centrally located hotel with kinder staff. Nothing is too much for them. The lift was out of order during our visit but they moved the cases up and down for all. The breakfast is spectacular.

Horrible stay

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Jason Couples - 23/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Started off with the lift not working which was a pain with luggage for a 2 night stay, so we asked to be not too high up and was put on the 2nd floor, then as soon as i went in the bathroom i saw a dozen hairs on the floor so took a photo (then cleared them up) and showed the photo to reception, and said it's fine i didn't want to make a big deal of it but thought she should have a word with the cleaners. We then went to the bar for drinks and as the barman passed over a glass of wine we mentioned the lipstick around the glass and he obviously changed the glass - obviously with the current Covid situation the cleanliness is already of great concern to us. The following afternoon we asked for an orange juice and lemonade only to be told the orange juice is only to be used for breakfast???? So that was bizarre seeing as i could see the carton in the fridge in the bar! The cooked breakfast to be fair was really nice, but still did find it odd that it's a free for all with regards to touching hot plate lids and tongs etc and it took 4 or 5 attempts to find a clean glass for the orange juice (could have just been dried water from a dishwasher but still didn't look very good) - we came down too late for breakfast on the first morning (do find 10am finish weirdly early on a weekend) but on the 2nd morning the receptionist said "you don't have breakfast with your room" so i had to get up the email to show that 4 breakfasts were included on my booking.. just all in all a very forgetful stay seeing as 2 days after the booking my partner tested positive for Covid and has ruined Christmas having to now isolate until the New Year

Great Service

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Matt Couples - 22/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Even with the brocken lift everyonw was so helpful and couldn't do enough for us

Perfect location for visiting family and meeting friends

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Kevin W. Couples - 21/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We use this hotel as a base whenever we are visiting family in Southampton. As we travel by train it is close to the station, town centre and buses to take us where we need to go. It is clean, comfortable and welcoming

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

E.s. Solo - 21/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel clean and tidy staff helpful and friendley.

Visit family

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Tom M 24/10/2021 TripAdvisor review

Have stayed here a few times. Is convenient for shops and nightlife and close to family. Perfectly satisfactory for an overnight stay. No frills but it is good value for money. Car parking a bit expensive but we arrived on the train.

Good hotel good location

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

MOTontour 20/10/2021 TripAdvisor review

Had checked in on-line so the check in process was seamless. Staff very friendly & polite. Room was comfortable, sleep quality good. Check out process was also good. The only gripe was the wifi which was never a good connect and kept disconnecting our devices.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in southampton