Information message

Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.3/5 6,002 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District
See on a map
+ 9 Services

Hotel extras

  • In the heart of the centre and canal district

  • Ideal for both business and leisure

  • Direct connection to Amsterdam Central Station and RAI

  • Many restaurants and sights within walking distance

  • An ALLSAFE by NSF Euro Consultants S.A. certified hotel.

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Private outdoor parking Paying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Laundry
  • Gift shop/newspaper shop
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
  • Snack & beverage machine
Leisure and activities
  • Beach and water sports
  • Other sports activities
Business services
  • 1 Meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available Paying

Hotel location

Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Noorderstraat 46
1017 TV amsterdam
netherlands

Tel: +31206220328

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • Metro 52 :  52 Vijzelgracht

  • By plane

    AMSTERDAM SCHIPHOL At 15km / 9.32 miles

  • By plane

    LELYSTAD At 56km / 34.8 miles

  • By plane

    ROTTERDAM ZESTIENHOVEN At 68km / 42.26 miles

  • By plane

    ROTTERDAM ZESTIENHOVEN At 68km / 42.26 miles

  • By boat

    AMSTERDAM CENTRAL STATION At 2.2km / 1.37 miles

  • By helicopter

    SCHIPHOL HELIPAD At 15.8km / 9.82 miles

  • By car

    A10 RING EXIT S109 RAI At 6km / 3.75 miles

  • By car

    A10-E22 RINGEXIT S106 OSDORP At 6.5km / 4.06 miles

  • By car

    A2-E35 EXIT S110 AMSTEL At 5.5km / 3.44 miles

  • By train

    AMSTEL STATION At 3.5km / 2.17 miles

  • By train

    CENTRAAL STATION At 2.2km / 1.37 miles

  • By train

    RAI STATION At 3.1km / 1.93 miles

  • By train

    WTC ZUID STATION At 3.3km / 2.05 miles

GPS :52.360944, 4.893435

Our accommodation(s)

Choose the room that meets your requirements from the room categories on offer. Select from our range of comfortable Classic rooms with a view out over the traditional Amsterdam houses.

Our restaurants and bars

BOUTIQUE BAR

Bring your day to a perfect end with a drink in one of the relaxing armchairs in the bar. The barman will mix you the cocktail of the day every day from 5 pm.

Non contractual photo

  • Monday Closed
  • Tuesday Closed
  • Wednesday Closed
  • Thursday Closed
  • Friday Closed
  • Saturday Closed
  • Sunday Closed

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 1

  • Maximum size: 25

  • Maximum capacity: 12 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

6,002 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

972 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Best Mercure ever!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

wietse2021 Business - 20/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

We have been in quite a few Mercure hotels.... Yet given it's location, it's stylish interior, the wonderful and friendly service and great breakfast, this hotel for us definitely is the best in it's brand! The location was close to the centre and many sites, yet it was nice and quiet at night.

Well located, good rooms, staff not always professional

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 19/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very cosy and quirky hotel right in the heart of Amsterdam. Rooms have a romantic Dutch touch. Limited possibilities to park a car. Staff does not show the normal Accor standard. First they offered us a parking for € 30.- Friday evening and € 50.- for Saturday 24 h. The staff told us public parking garages would charge the same. That is not exactly true. A nearby garage costs €15 at night and €20 at the weekends. The next day we called while having breakfast in town the counter to reserve two bikes. When we came back we were informed that there are no bikes for us. He gave our bikes to someone else. „You didn’t pay for the rental yet“. He referred us to a local bike rental. That’s not how a „reservation“ works.

Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District - good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Wlo Families - 16/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is very well located in Amsterdam. It is clean and pleasant, very convenient to much of what Amsterdam has to offer.

Great location, wonderful bed

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Joan Couples - 09/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were very pleased with our room and the people at the front desk. My only complaint is that when booking, parking was an option for €50, which I took. When we arrived, I was told that we were not on the list and it was full. It would be nice to be informed that one needs to call and personally book parking and pay for it. Not a big complaint, but one that can be fixed on the booking site. We were directed to the Heineken parking garage which was fine, but but turned out to be more expensive.

Friendly service in a nicely located tidy hotel

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 29/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The centrally located small hotel was good in terms of location, tidiness and especially friendly service. It was already known that some noise may come from the narrow streets, but that did not disturb the sleep at all. Especially the good and friendly service of the staff deserves credit!

okay but not worth the 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Lilia Solo - 28/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

welcome was OK at the reception, alltough nobody offered to carry my luggahe upstairs (7months pregnant...it shows..) Room 313 was really very small. Amenities okay but one coffee cup in cardbox was dirty. Towels were big but very thin, like in an Ibis. I didn't feel like I was staying in a 4 star hotel. I understand the location doesn't help for the room size, but I was disappointed. Same for the breakfast..could not choose anything (I have diabetes so I could not eat half of it..). Hopefully I booked only 2 nights, I left for the swiss hotel in Dam platz, and this is really a 4 star hotel.. The rest was ok- sorry my comments are not very positive but I was disappointed. best regards layla

Dear Lilia, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am so sorry to hear that the stay was disappointing. At the time of your stay we were still offering limited services due to the measures of Corona and our AllSafe label. Therefore we are not able to touch luggage from guests. Nevertheless we could have mentioned this to you so at least you were aware. Breakfast was also served at plate service and mono wrapped items. This is now changed to a buffet again as measurements are released. The rooms differ in size, some are smaller and some are larger. The larger rooms are privilege rooms. I understand your disappointment and would like to thank you for sharing it with us. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Excellent location, comfortable room, friendly service!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

George Couples - 28/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Thank you for a lovely stay! Was great to have a proper hotel breakfast buffet again! Everything was perfect and hope to visit again soon!

Dear George, Thank you very much for giving us the full 100% score. This was our aim of your stay and we are glad to read that we have succeeded. I'll make sure to share your words with our team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back the next time you visit Amsterdam. Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Nice hotel in an excellent location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Tamas Families - 28/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I think back with a good feeling to our stay. The hotel had everything what we needed. Our room was big with two bedrooms, bathroom and a separated toilette. The location of the hotel is excellent - in the center, but still calm and quiet area. The staff is very friendly and helpful! - Many thanks to you ALL! :) I highly recommend this hotel for everyone!

Dear Tamas, Thank you very much for giving us the full 100% score. This was our aim of your stay and we are glad to read that we have succeeded. I'll make sure to share your words with our team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back the next time you visit Amsterdam. Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Very poor experience

Customer review rating 1.5/5

Anonymous Couples - 21/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very poor quality for a Mercure four stars. When arrived parking I had requested during reservation was not available at the venue. Room was exceptionally dirty. In a COVID context not very serious. WC with urine yellow stains. Tampax plastic on the floor in the toilet. Beer caps on the floor in the bedroom. A good layer of dust on the toilet shelf next to towels.

Super excellent

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anthony Y. Couples - 05/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Comfortable bed bathroom fantastic and super breakfast

Dear Anthony, Many thanks for staying with us last weer! Thank you for reviewing us and your positive feedback. It was a pleasure to host you and an honor that you have spent your AccorInvest Christmas voucher with us! Wish you a great day! Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Very good location; nice hotel; very friendly employees

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Victoria Solo - 12/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I loved my stay there and will definitely stay there again when i come back. There is only one thing that could be improved: the eating in the room .. it was a bit chilly even with the heating

Dear Victoria, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel! At this time of the year the heating might still be switched off. Depends on the outside temperature. Hopefully we could provide you with extra duvets or electric heaters? I will review with my colleague from maintenance if the sensor activates on time. Thanks you for sharing. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Several serious inconveniences during stay

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Johan Couples - 05/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Unfortunately we experienced several inconveniences during our stay in Mercure Hotel Noorderstraat Amsterdam. We face the following sequence of dissatisfying events (in order of time): - Remote control did not work; it appeared to have only 1 battery. It took the reception appr. 30-45 minutes to find a solution. - The toilet (room 232) made a lot of bubbling noise and the water level raised as a result of bathroom activitities in neighboring rooms. - The toilet water raised even more after a 'small service' flush done by our self; fortunately there was no overrun of water yet, but the toilet could not be used. - When we called the reception employee he confirmed we could not stay in the room because of teh toilet flushing problem. Although we were ready to go to sleep, we had to change room. - The reception could not easily offer us an alternative room. After a lot of searching in the system and fysically looking together for rooms, we ended up in a much smaller room (room 124?) with a much smaller bed (queen size) than we booked (king size). - Because it was late and we wanted to go to sleep, we accepted this downgrade. We had to move all our stuff to the new room, while already fully prepared for the night! - After installation in this smaller room, it appeared that bathroom sink did not run empty after a first handwash. The 'sink-stopper' was stuck and could not easily be lifted / removed. - Again we had to call for the reception employee, who had to manually remove the sink-stopper in order to empty the sink. - We did not get anything offered to compensate the several serious inconveniences experienced during this ' leisure night' in Amsterdam. We were offered ' a free beer' , but obviously we only wanted to go to sleep. - Also the next morning at check-out we did not get anything offered as a compensation, like eg. room rate credit, free parking, ..... I only received email address to register complaint :-( !! Needless to say we still expect compensation from Mercure / Accor.

Dear Johan, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and filling out our questionnaire. My sincere apologies for all these inconveniences during your stay. I believe you have already been in contact with Martine, our Operations Manager Rooms. We are going to work on the comments raised and use it to improve on our services. Once again thank you for sharing. Kind regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Annoying

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Stephen Friends - 05/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

At 1am. We woke up to our room flooded, from the toilet over flowing. Contaminated water all over the floor. And we only got relocated another room. We was expecting a full refund ?

Dear Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We were indeed informed about this incident last weekend. Of course this is a very unfortunate situation, however we cannot refund your stay. We did not initiate this to happen and it was an unforeseen incident. My colleague at that time has spoken with you and said you agreed upon a free late check out as a gesture of reconciliation. In this case I don't think we have wrongly managed the situation and therefore an additional refund is not in it's place. I do apologize for the inconvenience you have experience during your stay in our hotel. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Lovely stay near the city center of Amsterdam

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Martyna Couples - 27/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff was very welcoming, enthusiastic and helpful. All information provided upon check in. Room was extra clean and well designed. Breakfast was delicious as well. It was an enjoyable experience and most importantly, a safe stay. We will definitely come back on our next visit in Amsterdam. Thank you for your hospitality. :)

Dear Martyna, Thank you very much for giving us the full 100% score. This was our aim of your stay and we are glad to read that we have succeeded. I'll make sure to share your words with our team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back the next time you visit Amsterdam. Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Great location, Great staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Iain M. Couples - 15/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a great stay at the Mercure. Xadim greeted us when we arrived and was very welcoming and enthusiastic. He had a lot of local knowledge and was very helpful.

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for giving us the full 100% score. This was our aim of your stay and we are glad to read that we have succeeded. I'll make sure to share your words with our team and Xadim has already received your compliment. a big thank you on his behalf! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back the next time you visit Amsterdam. Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Bit rundown and service not the best

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 07/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed here 8 years ago and loved it so we thought we would try it again. Location is great but staff not as friendly as we remember and the hotel is now a bit rundown

Dear Stefania, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Great staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Sedef Friends - 06/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Every single person working in this hotel is just great. Thank you for making us feel welcome and home.

Dear Sedef, Thank you very much for giving us the full 100% score. This was our aim of your stay and we are glad to read that we have succeeded. I have shared your words with our team. Great that you felt welcome in our hotel! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back the next time you visit Amsterdam. Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Good hotel, good breakfast but non straight

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

sigalitpearl 28/02/2020 TripAdvisor review

We stayed at mercure Amsterdam Center Canal District and had a good stay. Non of the hotel stuff told us we had to pay for breakfast which we were sure we had included. At check out we had a surprising great amount we had to pay.... 220 Euros. It sure left a bad taste from the hotel

Dear sigalitpearl, Many thanks for sharing your feedback via Tripadvisor. We have been in contact via email about the breakfast and came to an agreement about the misunderstanding. Great to read you are looking back on a good stay and thank you for staying with us. Kind regards, Wiebe Bos General manager

Great Location with all needs close by

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Penny E 22/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

This place was our last stop before heading home. The hotal was fantastic, great service and close to trains and trams and in a quiet and safe location. Although a few stairs to get to our room is was clean and fresh and the family room was good for the 3 of us. Easy walk to resturants and Van Goh.

Dear Penny E, Thank you very much for giving us the full 100% score. This was our aim of your stay and we are glad to read that we have succeeded. I'll make sure to share your words with our team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back the next time you visit Amsterdam. Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager

Amazing stay

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

meganhes1 Couples - 26/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

Lovely stay in the Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District. Amazing front office staff, clean rooms, good breakfast. The hotel is in the center of Amsterdam. You can go anywhere by foot or by the public transport

Dear meganhes1, Wow!!! A 5 bullet score! Thanks very much for sharing this with TripAdvisor. I'm happy to read that you've had such a wonderful experience. Have a great new year's eve and we wish you a happy and healthy 2020! Kind regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in amsterdam