Information message

Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.3/5 5,955 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District
See on a map
+ 18 Services

Hotel extras

  • In the heart of the centre and canal district

  • Ideal for both business and leisure

  • Direct connection to Amsterdam Central Station and RAI

  • Many restaurants and sights within walking distance

  • An ALLSAFE by NSF Euro Consultants S.A. certified hotel.

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Private outdoor parking Paying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Laundry
  • Gift shop/newspaper shop
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
  • Snack & beverage machine
Leisure and activities
  • Beach and water sports
  • Other sports activities
Business services
  • 1 Meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available Paying

Hotel location

Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Noorderstraat 46
1017 TV amsterdam
netherlands

Tel: +31206220328

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • Metro 52 :  52 Vijzelgracht

  • By plane

    AMSTERDAM SCHIPHOL At 15km / 9.32 miles

  • By plane

    LELYSTAD At 56km / 34.8 miles

  • By plane

    ROTTERDAM ZESTIENHOVEN At 68km / 42.26 miles

  • By plane

    ROTTERDAM ZESTIENHOVEN At 68km / 42.26 miles

  • By boat

    AMSTERDAM CENTRAL STATION At 2.2km / 1.37 miles

  • By helicopter

    SCHIPHOL HELIPAD At 15.8km / 9.82 miles

  • By car

    A10 RING EXIT S109 RAI At 6km / 3.75 miles

  • By car

    A10-E22 RINGEXIT S106 OSDORP At 6.5km / 4.06 miles

  • By car

    A2-E35 EXIT S110 AMSTEL At 5.5km / 3.44 miles

  • By train

    AMSTEL STATION At 3.5km / 2.17 miles

  • By train

    CENTRAAL STATION At 2.2km / 1.37 miles

  • By train

    RAI STATION At 3.1km / 1.93 miles

  • By train

    WTC ZUID STATION At 3.3km / 2.05 miles

GPS :52.360944, 4.893435

Our accommodation(s)

Choose the room that meets your requirements from the room categories on offer. Select from our range of comfortable Classic rooms with a view out over the traditional Amsterdam houses.

Classic Room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 12 / 129 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk

Classic Room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 11 / 118 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk

Classic Room with 1 single bed

  • Max. number of persons: 1
  • Area: From 10 / 108 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk

Privilege Room, 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 17 / 183 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Nespresso machine
  • Mini bar with free soft drinks(...)

Privilege Room, twin beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 18 / 194 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Nespresso machine
  • Mini bar with free soft drinks(...)

Classic Room with 3 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 17 / 183 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk

MyRoom by Ed: Learn to bike like a local.

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 20 / 215 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

BOUTIQUE BAR

Bring your day to a perfect end with a drink in one of the relaxing armchairs in the bar. The barman will mix you the cocktail of the day every day from 5 pm.

Non contractual photo

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 1

  • Maximum size: 25

  • Maximum capacity: 12 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

5,955 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

970 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Super excellent

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anthony Y. Couples - 05/06/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Comfortable bed bathroom fantastic and super breakfast

Dear Anthony, Many thanks for staying with us last weer! Thank you for reviewing us and your positive feedback. It was a pleasure to host you and an honor that you have spent your AccorInvest Christmas voucher with us! Wish you a great day! Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Very good location; nice hotel; very friendly employees

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Victoria Solo - 12/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I loved my stay there and will definitely stay there again when i come back. There is only one thing that could be improved: the eating in the room .. it was a bit chilly even with the heating

Dear Victoria, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel! At this time of the year the heating might still be switched off. Depends on the outside temperature. Hopefully we could provide you with extra duvets or electric heaters? I will review with my colleague from maintenance if the sensor activates on time. Thanks you for sharing. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Several serious inconveniences during stay

Customer review rating 2.5/5

Johan Couples - 05/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Unfortunately we experienced several inconveniences during our stay in Mercure Hotel Noorderstraat Amsterdam. We face the following sequence of dissatisfying events (in order of time): - Remote control did not work; it appeared to have only 1 battery. It took the reception appr. 30-45 minutes to find a solution. - The toilet (room 232) made a lot of bubbling noise and the water level raised as a result of bathroom activitities in neighboring rooms. - The toilet water raised even more after a 'small service' flush done by our self; fortunately there was no overrun of water yet, but the toilet could not be used. - When we called the reception employee he confirmed we could not stay in the room because of teh toilet flushing problem. Although we were ready to go to sleep, we had to change room. - The reception could not easily offer us an alternative room. After a lot of searching in the system and fysically looking together for rooms, we ended up in a much smaller room (room 124?) with a much smaller bed (queen size) than we booked (king size). - Because it was late and we wanted to go to sleep, we accepted this downgrade. We had to move all our stuff to the new room, while already fully prepared for the night! - After installation in this smaller room, it appeared that bathroom sink did not run empty after a first handwash. The 'sink-stopper' was stuck and could not easily be lifted / removed. - Again we had to call for the reception employee, who had to manually remove the sink-stopper in order to empty the sink. - We did not get anything offered to compensate the several serious inconveniences experienced during this ' leisure night' in Amsterdam. We were offered ' a free beer' , but obviously we only wanted to go to sleep. - Also the next morning at check-out we did not get anything offered as a compensation, like eg. room rate credit, free parking, ..... I only received email address to register complaint :-( !! Needless to say we still expect compensation from Mercure / Accor.

Dear Johan, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and filling out our questionnaire. My sincere apologies for all these inconveniences during your stay. I believe you have already been in contact with Martine, our Operations Manager Rooms. We are going to work on the comments raised and use it to improve on our services. Once again thank you for sharing. Kind regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Annoying

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Stephen Friends - 05/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

At 1am. We woke up to our room flooded, from the toilet over flowing. Contaminated water all over the floor. And we only got relocated another room. We was expecting a full refund ?

Dear Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We were indeed informed about this incident last weekend. Of course this is a very unfortunate situation, however we cannot refund your stay. We did not initiate this to happen and it was an unforeseen incident. My colleague at that time has spoken with you and said you agreed upon a free late check out as a gesture of reconciliation. In this case I don't think we have wrongly managed the situation and therefore an additional refund is not in it's place. I do apologize for the inconvenience you have experience during your stay in our hotel. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Lovely stay near the city center of Amsterdam

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Martyna Couples - 27/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff was very welcoming, enthusiastic and helpful. All information provided upon check in. Room was extra clean and well designed. Breakfast was delicious as well. It was an enjoyable experience and most importantly, a safe stay. We will definitely come back on our next visit in Amsterdam. Thank you for your hospitality. :)

Dear Martyna, Thank you very much for giving us the full 100% score. This was our aim of your stay and we are glad to read that we have succeeded. I'll make sure to share your words with our team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back the next time you visit Amsterdam. Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Great location, Great staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Iain M. Couples - 15/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a great stay at the Mercure. Xadim greeted us when we arrived and was very welcoming and enthusiastic. He had a lot of local knowledge and was very helpful.

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for giving us the full 100% score. This was our aim of your stay and we are glad to read that we have succeeded. I'll make sure to share your words with our team and Xadim has already received your compliment. a big thank you on his behalf! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back the next time you visit Amsterdam. Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Bit rundown and service not the best

Customer review rating 2.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 07/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed here 8 years ago and loved it so we thought we would try it again. Location is great but staff not as friendly as we remember and the hotel is now a bit rundown

Dear Stefania, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Great staff

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Sedef Friends - 06/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Every single person working in this hotel is just great. Thank you for making us feel welcome and home.

Dear Sedef, Thank you very much for giving us the full 100% score. This was our aim of your stay and we are glad to read that we have succeeded. I have shared your words with our team. Great that you felt welcome in our hotel! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back the next time you visit Amsterdam. Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Good for cycle touring and Covid safe breakfast

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Lee Families - 23/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel took excellent care of our bicycles when we stayed here mid way through a cycle tour around the Netherlands - they were locked in the secure parking garage. The woman who ran the Breakfast Room provided the most covid safe breakfast I have ever had in a hotel. No mixing of customers was allowed and each guest was served separately - really good to see.

Dear Lee, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We were happy to safely store your bikes. I hope that you have enjoyed your bike tour in the Netherlands. Hopefully it wasn't to hot during your visit.. Also I would like to thank you for your positive comment on our breakfast. We are not able to serve breakfast as we normally do, it is safety first and we do our utmost to offer a good variety and ambience es well. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Great stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Max Friends - 17/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff make this place great. They made us feel very welcome and gave us good advise on places to visit. Rooms are clean complete with Aircon. Would recommend

Dear Max, Thank you very much for giving us the full 100% score. This was our aim of your stay and we are glad to read that we have succeeded. I'll make sure to share your words with our team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back the next time you visit Amsterdam. Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Well located hotel

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Piero S. Families - 15/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was clean and had all the safety measures required for these trying times. One small note with regards to the bathroom. This was way too small for a normal person to move in. Couldn't imagine someone bigger than me moving in it.

Dear Pierp, Thank you for taking the time to fill out our questionnare and share your feedback. Beacuuse all our rooms differ in size we have different sizes of rooms and bathrooms. Some can indeed be rather small. My apologies if this was troubling you during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Lovely, quiet boutique style hotel with great reception staff

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Paul Solo - 15/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had a lovely introduction from a female remember of staff at reception. I didn’t get her name but she was fantastic. She welcomed me and had a room ready at 10am which I hadn’t expected. She gave me a map and talked me through where everything was in the city, marking the bits I was interested in on the map. She always said hello if I passed during my stay. The 2 gentlemen on reception were always friendly & also always acknowledged me. The room was small but had everything I’d expect. Air conditioning was great as it was hot. Breakfast seemed basic but I understand that Covid measures mean that a usual style buffet is not possible. The staff did their best to work around this. I slept well every night & the bed was very comfortable. I’d have scored a 10 but the room was not hoovered daily & there was confusion with some guests at breakfast and a table of guests had to be moved as they had been given seats too close to the walkway. There was a new member of staff on one morning who had not been properly trained & except for one morning, I had to find someone and ask for extra tea. The key staff on duty were very professional though. I would be happy to come back again and would recommend your hotel to friends. It was only a short walk away from a metro station so travel from the airport was convenient & cheap.

Dear Paul Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I have spoken with our Housekeeping Manager and your room should be hoovered on a daily basis. I have looked on the schedule and saw that there was 1 room attendant that we had received more complaints about. We have taken measures to prevent this from happening again. Please for the next time let our colleagues in reception know, so we can take action immediately. Thank you for sharing this with us now. Our breakfast during your stay was indeed different than normal. This is due to the strict policy we follow to prevent infection with Covid-19. Therefore we had adjusted the prices from the normal 22.50€ to 12€. At this moment we have already changed our variety, service and price. We had to learn how to deal with the new situation. Once more many thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Short stay in Amsterdam

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Michael H. Families - 24/07/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is ideally situated for a short stay in Amsterdam, shops and restaurants close by. - just a few minutes from the 52 metro, 2 stops from the main station. - isolated from all traffic noise - friendly staff - nicely decorated room, good shower etc

Dear Michael, Thank you for filling out our questionnaire and leaving a great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again the next time you are visiting Amsterdam. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Good central location and the bike!!

Customer review rating 4.0/5

C. Families - 23/07/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

enjoy the stay and room. Item to improve. Clean room in the morning cause cleaner coming aftrrnoon during rest time after lunch. For breakfast, with room at 200 at breakfast at 11, expect not to have to pay supplement for bacon and egg. This is standard in all 4 andc5 stars hotel in the world

Dear Mr. C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Feel free to inform our team in the future about the preferred cleaning time so you can enjoy your time in Amsterdam and rest at your fullest. We reduced the breakfast price as we have limited items for breakfast therefore we asked an extra supplement at that time for warm items. My apologies that this wasn't as you expected. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Anna van Geelen Assistant Operations Manager

An excellent hotel, run by happy professionals.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

David M. Business - 18/07/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

First class.

Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire! What a amazing comment. That's very nice to read and a great start of the day. I have also seen your comment about the registration and the room. I see that you book via an online travel agent. Please book direct via all.accor.com so we can see details, link your membership card. You get a better rate than on Expedia with your membership. I added a comment in your preferences that you would like more space. Hopefully we can do even better the next time. Thank you once more for your great review and hopefully we can welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Good hotel, good breakfast but non straight

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

sigalitpearl 28/02/2020 TripAdvisor review

We stayed at mercure Amsterdam Center Canal District and had a good stay. Non of the hotel stuff told us we had to pay for breakfast which we were sure we had included. At check out we had a surprising great amount we had to pay.... 220 Euros. It sure left a bad taste from the hotel

Dear sigalitpearl, Many thanks for sharing your feedback via Tripadvisor. We have been in contact via email about the breakfast and came to an agreement about the misunderstanding. Great to read you are looking back on a good stay and thank you for staying with us. Kind regards, Wiebe Bos General manager

Great Location with all needs close by

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Penny E 22/01/2020 TripAdvisor review

This place was our last stop before heading home. The hotal was fantastic, great service and close to trains and trams and in a quiet and safe location. Although a few stairs to get to our room is was clean and fresh and the family room was good for the 3 of us. Easy walk to resturants and Van Goh.

Dear Penny E, Thank you very much for giving us the full 100% score. This was our aim of your stay and we are glad to read that we have succeeded. I'll make sure to share your words with our team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back the next time you visit Amsterdam. Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager

Amazing stay

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

meganhes1 Couples - 26/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

Lovely stay in the Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District. Amazing front office staff, clean rooms, good breakfast. The hotel is in the center of Amsterdam. You can go anywhere by foot or by the public transport

Dear meganhes1, Wow!!! A 5 bullet score! Thanks very much for sharing this with TripAdvisor. I'm happy to read that you've had such a wonderful experience. Have a great new year's eve and we wish you a happy and healthy 2020! Kind regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager

A few glitches but would still recommend.

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Alan L Couples - 13/12/2019 TripAdvisor review

Stayed for three nights and on arrival there was no shower gel or shampoo. Day 2 and room wasn’t made over. Day 3 it got made over but housekeeping threw away the lids to shave gel and contact lens solution. Saying that, the reception staff were great and the location perfect with good metro connections. Would definitely stay again especially if they can sort out housekeeping.

Dear Alan, Thanks for taking the time to share you're feedback. It seems to me that we have made some mistakes. I'll discuss these remarks with our housekeeping team. I am happy to see that we were able to turn the experience at the reception. I'll share that as well. Hope to see you soon! Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager

Disappointing

TripAdvisor rating 2.0/5

francis0510 Couples - 16/11/2019 TripAdvisor review

I use the Accor hotels since years (Europe and abroad). I experienced always a friendly and very helpful staff together with quite stay in my room. This wasn’t the case here. I did not have the feeling I was welcomed, and money was the main concern of the staff. The room was as usual but very noisy, due to the poor quality of the windows.

Dear francis0510, Many thanks for sharing your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. My sincere apologies for that. I'll see if I can retrieve your details so we can address your feeling about the welcome in our hotel to the right person, so we can improve on this. Furthermore I would like to say that we will renovate the hotel end 2020. The renovation includes the change of our windows. As we are situated in a monument, the process of getting the windows approved is long, but we are glad that we have a go for it. I hope you will come back to us the next time you stay in Amsterdam and that we can serve you better. Kind regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in amsterdam