Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 933 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District
See on a map
+ 16 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?

ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Quiet street in the heart of the city centre

  • Small private car park (paying)

  • Easy access to Museum Quarter

  • Authentic neighbourhood

  • Free WIFI throughout the hotel

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Private outdoor parkingPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Laundry
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
  • Snack & beverage machine
Leisure and activities
  • Beach and water sports
  • Jogging track
Business services
  • 1 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
Information message

Payments can only be done by credit or debit card (debit card only at check-in). We do not allow cash payments.

Hotel location

Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Noorderstraat 46
1017 TV
amsterdam
netherlands

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • Metro 52 :  

  • By plane

    AMSTERDAM SCHIPHOL At 15km / 9.32 miles

  • By plane

    LELYSTAD At 56km / 34.8 miles

  • By plane

    ROTTERDAM ZESTIENHOVEN At 68km / 42.26 miles

  • By plane

    ROTTERDAM ZESTIENHOVEN At 68km / 42.26 miles

  • By boat

    AMSTERDAM CENTRAL STATION At 2.2km / 1.37 miles

  • By helicopter

    SCHIPHOL HELIPAD At 15.8km / 9.82 miles

  • By car

    A10 RING EXIT S109 RAI At 6km / 3.75 miles

  • By car

    A10-E22 RINGEXIT S106 OSDORP At 6.5km / 4.06 miles

  • By car

    A2-E35 EXIT S110 AMSTEL At 5.5km / 3.44 miles

  • By train

    AMSTEL STATION At 3.5km / 2.17 miles

  • By train

    CENTRAAL STATION At 2.2km / 1.37 miles

  • By train

    RAI STATION At 3.1km / 1.93 miles

  • By train

    WTC ZUID STATION At 3.3km / 2.05 miles

GPS :52.360944, 4.893435

Our accommodations

Choose the room that meets your requirements from the room categories on offer. Select from our range of comfortable Classic rooms with a view out over the traditional Amsterdam houses.

Classic Room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 12
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk

Classic Room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 11
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk

Classic Room with 1 single bed

  • Max. number of persons: 1
  • Area: From 10
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk

Privilege Room, 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 17
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Nespresso machine
  • Mini bar with free soft drinks(...)

Privilege Room, twin beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 18
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Nespresso machine
  • Mini bar with free soft drinks(...)

Classic Room with 3 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 17
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk

MyRoom by Ed: Learn to bike like a local.

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 20
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk

Our restaurants and bars

BOUTIQUE BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Bring your day to a perfect end with a drink in one of the relaxing armchairs in the bar. The barman will mix you the cocktail of the day every day from 5 pm.

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 1

  • Maximum size: 25

  • Maximum capacity: 12 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

5,614 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

933 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

A nice place to stay

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Charles B. Couples - 28/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff friendly and helpful.

Dear Charles B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Excellent

Customer review rating 4.3/5

John M. Solo - 27/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Superb location, helpful staff. I always go bak to this hotel when staying in Amsterdam

Dear Mr M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Especially when it comes from our frequent visitors. Please do not hesitate to contact me the next time you visit us and share with me how we can make it even better! I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Average stay

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Magda Business - 25/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hand shower was broken (it was leaking and making loud noises) but after telling it at the reception it was repaired. The room could have been equipped with slipper and at least bottle of water as the fridge in the room was empty. The invoice for the stay didn't include data provided at the check in.

Dear MAGDALENA B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Some desk staffs need to pay more attention.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Dr. S. D. Families - 24/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Generally very good. I was annoyed by call from the desk reminding me to check out in time while I already paid for late checkout. The person was efficient enough to cancel my room keys as well.

Dear Dr. Sasanka D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District. I have shared your feedback with my colleague in charge of the reception. She can discuss this with the colleague informed and use it to take lessons out of it and prevent it from happening again. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Disappointing

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Rdin Families - 23/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very unhappy ,not friendly ,stayed 1 night the room was very small the tv was not working ur staff member tried fixing it and failed

Dear Rdin, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. If I'm not mistaking I have already received your feedback via the agency you have used to book with us. I am very sorry to read that you were very unhappy with you stay in our hotel. I can assure you that we will do more than our best to give a great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Brilliant stay!

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Arti Friends - 20/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Our stay was very comfortable and all our needs were taken care of. As we were celebrating a big birthday we had some special requests which the hotel fulfilled without any hassle. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was to a high standard and had a good variety. the room we stayed in was clean and well decorated. I will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Dear Arti, We very much appreciate your positive word regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Perfect

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Joe Couples - 19/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was a great bed, all you need for a hotel

Dear Joe, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! You have given us the highest possible mark we could receive and therefore we are great full! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Fabulous location and amazing breakfast, friendly staff

Customer review rating 4.3/5

T B. Families - 18/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

All was great, room could have been cleaner. Rug was stained in the corner and could have been cleaned. Also lighting could have been better as well. Big over head light with a teeny light bulb. Location is amazing and the staff is very friendly.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I have looked at the room just now and I agree with you on the lighting. It is a bit soft to light up the room. I'll take that with me into our renovation which we have planned for 2020. Next week our carpet cleaners will also start the deep cleaning of the carpets. I saw it couldn't hurt in the room you have stayed in. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. We hav Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

pleased

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Sercan Couples - 18/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Location is great. Room size is reasonible for Europe hotels. It would be bigger for 2 persons but reasonable. Breakfast is excellent. Hotel personnels are so interested for guest demands, they try to get you make happy.

Dear Sercan, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Very nice hotel for a weekend of sightseeing.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

John R. Solo - 17/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Everything was fine although there is one area for improvement. The configuration of the room made it very uncomfortable to spend any long amount of time working at the desk. However, the room is very small, and I'm not sure how that could have been improved.

Dear John R., Thank you for filling out the questionnaire. Good to read that you had a pleasent stay. Because we are housed in a monument, it is indeed difficult to change the room layout. We have different sizes of rooms. The larger rooms our privilege rooms. Maybe for the next time! Warm regards, Wiebe Bos, General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Disappointing

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

francis0510 Couples - 16/11/2019 TripAdvisor review

I use the Accor hotels since years (Europe and abroad). I experienced always a friendly and very helpful staff together with quite stay in my room. This wasn’t the case here. I did not have the feeling I was welcomed, and money was the main concern of the staff. The room was as usual but very noisy, due to the poor quality of the windows.

Dear francis0510, Many thanks for sharing your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. My sincere apologies for that. I'll see if I can retrieve your details so we can address your feeling about the welcome in our hotel to the right person, so we can improve on this. Furthermore I would like to say that we will renovate the hotel end 2020. The renovation includes the change of our windows. As we are situated in a monument, the process of getting the windows approved is long, but we are glad that we have a go for it. I hope you will come back to us the next time you stay in Amsterdam and that we can serve you better. Kind regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager

Enjoying stay

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Tracy A. Couples - 14/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Lovely hotel, nice clean rooms

Dear Tracy, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos, General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Jason

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Jason Couples - 12/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Dirty and small room. I do not understand why 4 tables and one chair was fitted into such a small room and why the TV was not hung on the wall as the room was so small. This is was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. Business and leisure stay.

Dear JASON D., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Due to the age of our building all the rooms varies is size and design. I will take your feedback for the planned renovation in about 1 year time, so thank you once again for sharing. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards, Wiebe Bos, General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

A nice, convenient hotel for the price

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Lauren Couples - 12/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

The Mercure Central Canal hotel fit our budget and was in a good location for sightsee, as there were many points of interest within walking distance. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed. However, the bathroom was very small and could have been a bit cleaner. The walls were a little dusty/dirty and the paint on the shower floor was peeling. Since we visited in November, the weather was cool, but if you visit in warmer weather I don’t think the air conditioning was powerful enough to really cool the room. We like to sleep in cooler temps, so tried the air at night but it didn’t so much. Reverted to opening the windows instead.

Dear Lauren, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I will share this with the team and particularly the Housekeeping team to improve our room cleanliness. In regards to the room temperature, it is correct! When temperatures drop below 20 degrees the air conditioning is indeed switched off automatically. We due hope to welcome you back in the near future! Regards, Wiebe, General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

VERY NOISY ROOM. COULD NOT SLEEP WELL.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Stephane G. Business - 07/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

I spent an awful night at Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District. This was my second stay in this hotel but this time I stayed in room 104 which is located just in front of the entrance alley on the ground floor. The room is poorly insulated from noise (probably simple windows) and I could hear all the noise from the outside as if I was physically outside : people talking until 1.00 am and garbage truck at 6.30 am... As a consequence, I could only sleep for 5 hours...

Dear STEPHANE G., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Our hotel is located in a monument and the building is old. We indeed still have single glazing windows and even if we are located in a quit area in the centre of Amsterdam, it can still be heard when people are talking in front of your window. At the end of 2020 we will start a full renovation of our rooms and install double glazing windows from then. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos, General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Helpful staff.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Ian D. Couples - 06/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff ar reception and breakfast were very helpful.

Dear IAN D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos, General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Small hotel within inner ring of canals, conveniently located for trams and metro, together with local bars and cafes.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Celtic C. Couples - 06/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good location, well appointed hotel but rather noisy, both internally and from hotel guests standing outside smoking. A ventilated but soundproofed room may therefore be appropriate if lawful. Unacceptably expensive full breakfast but no basic 'coffee and croissant' available. Friendly, multi-lingual staff.

Dear IAN O., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I have discussed your comments with my colleague from the Food & Beverage department and I think it is a great idea to implement a too go breakfast. We will work this out and serve this in the near future. regarding the noise level, we are renovating our hotel in winter 2020 -2021 and this will include sound proofing measures as well. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Warm regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

a couple of days in Amsterdam with friends

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Mike Friends - 04/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Nice hotel in excellent, quiet location. Room was a little small for three (but, perhaps to be expected), All staff were very friendly and very helpful.

Dear MICHAEL Y., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos, General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Good and bad in equal measures

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Rita B. Families - 01/11/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were very friendly. Room was very hot, despite the radiator being off and the aircon being on. It made for uncomfortable sleeping. Bathroom not so good - the shower kept flooding which we reported twice but it never got fixed. The shower needs a soap dish installed- it was annoying having to keep my soap and shampoo on the base.

Dear Mrs. B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. First of all I am sorry to hear that you didn't had a good night rest due to the temperature in the room. We do have an A/C but it is climate controlled. Regarding the maintenance thank you for reporting this unfortunately it wasn't solved during your stay I understand that this is not what you expect when staying in our hotel. We will have a renovation next year and we will definitely take your feedback regarding the soap dispenser into account. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Anna van Geelen, Guest Relations Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Comfortable, quiet room and good location.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

David M. Couples - 31/10/2019 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were provided with maps and excursion options, with staff explaining how to catch tram or Metro. The room was reasonable and relatively quiet Staff were pleasant and obliging. The location close to trams and museums and local bars and restaurants.

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in amsterdam