Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.3/5 5,947 reviews

#ALLSAFE Accor

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District
See on a map
+ 18 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Best price guarantee

How it works?
ALL - Accor Live Limitless

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • In the heart of the centre and canal district

  • Ideal for both business and leisure

  • Direct connection to Amsterdam Central Station and RAI

  • Many restaurants and sights within walking distance

  • An ALLSAFE by NSF Euro Consultants S.A. certified hotel.

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Private outdoor parkingPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Laundry
  • Gift shop/newspaper shop
Catering
  • BreakfastPaying
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
  • Snack & beverage machine
Leisure and activities
  • Beach and water sports
  • Other sports activities
Business services
  • 1 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service availablePaying
Information message

Hotel location

Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Noorderstraat 46
1017 TV
amsterdam
netherlands

Tel: +31206220328

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • Metro 52 :  52 Vijzelgracht

  • By plane

    AMSTERDAM SCHIPHOL At 15km / 9.32 miles

  • By plane

    LELYSTAD At 56km / 34.8 miles

  • By plane

    ROTTERDAM ZESTIENHOVEN At 68km / 42.26 miles

  • By plane

    ROTTERDAM ZESTIENHOVEN At 68km / 42.26 miles

  • By boat

    AMSTERDAM CENTRAL STATION At 2.2km / 1.37 miles

  • By helicopter

    SCHIPHOL HELIPAD At 15.8km / 9.82 miles

  • By car

    A10 RING EXIT S109 RAI At 6km / 3.75 miles

  • By car

    A10-E22 RINGEXIT S106 OSDORP At 6.5km / 4.06 miles

  • By car

    A2-E35 EXIT S110 AMSTEL At 5.5km / 3.44 miles

  • By train

    AMSTEL STATION At 3.5km / 2.17 miles

  • By train

    CENTRAAL STATION At 2.2km / 1.37 miles

  • By train

    RAI STATION At 3.1km / 1.93 miles

  • By train

    WTC ZUID STATION At 3.3km / 2.05 miles

GPS :52.360944, 4.893435

Our accommodation(s)

Choose the room that meets your requirements from the room categories on offer. Select from our range of comfortable Classic rooms with a view out over the traditional Amsterdam houses.

Classic Room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 12 / 129 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk

Classic Room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 11 / 118 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk

Classic Room with 1 single bed

  • Max. number of persons: 1
  • Area: From 10 / 108 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk

Privilege Room, 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 17 / 183 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Mini bar with free soft drinks
  • Bathrobe

Privilege Room, twin beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 18 / 194 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Mini bar with free soft drinks
  • Bathrobe

Classic Room with 3 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 17 / 183 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk

MyRoom by Ed: Learn to bike like a local.

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 20 / 215 sq ft
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
Rooms

Our restaurants and bars

BOUTIQUE BAR

Non contractual photo

Bring your day to a perfect end with a drink in one of the relaxing armchairs in the bar. The barman will mix you the cocktail of the day every day from 5 pm.

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 1

  • Maximum size: 25

  • Maximum capacity: 12 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

5,947 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

970 reviews

Very good location; nice hotel; very friendly employees

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Victoria Solo - 12/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I loved my stay there and will definitely stay there again when i come back. There is only one thing that could be improved: the eating in the room .. it was a bit chilly even with the heating

Dear Victoria, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel! At this time of the year the heating might still be switched off. Depends on the outside temperature. Hopefully we could provide you with extra duvets or electric heaters? I will review with my colleague from maintenance if the sensor activates on time. Thanks you for sharing. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Several serious inconveniences during stay

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Johan Couples - 05/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Unfortunately we experienced several inconveniences during our stay in Mercure Hotel Noorderstraat Amsterdam. We face the following sequence of dissatisfying events (in order of time): - Remote control did not work; it appeared to have only 1 battery. It took the reception appr. 30-45 minutes to find a solution. - The toilet (room 232) made a lot of bubbling noise and the water level raised as a result of bathroom activitities in neighboring rooms. - The toilet water raised even more after a 'small service' flush done by our self; fortunately there was no overrun of water yet, but the toilet could not be used. - When we called the reception employee he confirmed we could not stay in the room because of teh toilet flushing problem. Although we were ready to go to sleep, we had to change room. - The reception could not easily offer us an alternative room. After a lot of searching in the system and fysically looking together for rooms, we ended up in a much smaller room (room 124?) with a much smaller bed (queen size) than we booked (king size). - Because it was late and we wanted to go to sleep, we accepted this downgrade. We had to move all our stuff to the new room, while already fully prepared for the night! - After installation in this smaller room, it appeared that bathroom sink did not run empty after a first handwash. The 'sink-stopper' was stuck and could not easily be lifted / removed. - Again we had to call for the reception employee, who had to manually remove the sink-stopper in order to empty the sink. - We did not get anything offered to compensate the several serious inconveniences experienced during this ' leisure night' in Amsterdam. We were offered ' a free beer' , but obviously we only wanted to go to sleep. - Also the next morning at check-out we did not get anything offered as a compensation, like eg. room rate credit, free parking, ..... I only received email address to register complaint :-( !! Needless to say we still expect compensation from Mercure / Accor.

Dear Johan, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and filling out our questionnaire. My sincere apologies for all these inconveniences during your stay. I believe you have already been in contact with Martine, our Operations Manager Rooms. We are going to work on the comments raised and use it to improve on our services. Once again thank you for sharing. Kind regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Annoying

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Stephen Friends - 05/10/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

At 1am. We woke up to our room flooded, from the toilet over flowing. Contaminated water all over the floor. And we only got relocated another room. We was expecting a full refund ?

Dear Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We were indeed informed about this incident last weekend. Of course this is a very unfortunate situation, however we cannot refund your stay. We did not initiate this to happen and it was an unforeseen incident. My colleague at that time has spoken with you and said you agreed upon a free late check out as a gesture of reconciliation. In this case I don't think we have wrongly managed the situation and therefore an additional refund is not in it's place. I do apologize for the inconvenience you have experience during your stay in our hotel. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Lovely stay near the city center of Amsterdam

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Martyna Couples - 27/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff was very welcoming, enthusiastic and helpful. All information provided upon check in. Room was extra clean and well designed. Breakfast was delicious as well. It was an enjoyable experience and most importantly, a safe stay. We will definitely come back on our next visit in Amsterdam. Thank you for your hospitality. :)

Dear Martyna, Thank you very much for giving us the full 100% score. This was our aim of your stay and we are glad to read that we have succeeded. I'll make sure to share your words with our team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back the next time you visit Amsterdam. Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Great location, Great staff

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Iain M. Couples - 15/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We had a great stay at the Mercure. Xadim greeted us when we arrived and was very welcoming and enthusiastic. He had a lot of local knowledge and was very helpful.

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for giving us the full 100% score. This was our aim of your stay and we are glad to read that we have succeeded. I'll make sure to share your words with our team and Xadim has already received your compliment. a big thank you on his behalf! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back the next time you visit Amsterdam. Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Bit rundown and service not the best

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Couples - 07/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed here 8 years ago and loved it so we thought we would try it again. Location is great but staff not as friendly as we remember and the hotel is now a bit rundown

Dear Stefania, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Great staff

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Sedef Friends - 06/09/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Every single person working in this hotel is just great. Thank you for making us feel welcome and home.

Dear Sedef, Thank you very much for giving us the full 100% score. This was our aim of your stay and we are glad to read that we have succeeded. I have shared your words with our team. Great that you felt welcome in our hotel! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back the next time you visit Amsterdam. Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Good for cycle touring and Covid safe breakfast

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Lee Families - 23/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel took excellent care of our bicycles when we stayed here mid way through a cycle tour around the Netherlands - they were locked in the secure parking garage. The woman who ran the Breakfast Room provided the most covid safe breakfast I have ever had in a hotel. No mixing of customers was allowed and each guest was served separately - really good to see.

Dear Lee, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We were happy to safely store your bikes. I hope that you have enjoyed your bike tour in the Netherlands. Hopefully it wasn't to hot during your visit.. Also I would like to thank you for your positive comment on our breakfast. We are not able to serve breakfast as we normally do, it is safety first and we do our utmost to offer a good variety and ambience es well. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Max Friends - 17/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The staff make this place great. They made us feel very welcome and gave us good advise on places to visit. Rooms are clean complete with Aircon. Would recommend

Dear Max, Thank you very much for giving us the full 100% score. This was our aim of your stay and we are glad to read that we have succeeded. I'll make sure to share your words with our team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back the next time you visit Amsterdam. Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Well located hotel

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Piero S. Families - 15/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel was clean and had all the safety measures required for these trying times. One small note with regards to the bathroom. This was way too small for a normal person to move in. Couldn't imagine someone bigger than me moving in it.

Dear Pierp, Thank you for taking the time to fill out our questionnare and share your feedback. Beacuuse all our rooms differ in size we have different sizes of rooms and bathrooms. Some can indeed be rather small. My apologies if this was troubling you during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Lovely, quiet boutique style hotel with great reception staff

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Paul Solo - 15/08/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

I had a lovely introduction from a female remember of staff at reception. I didn’t get her name but she was fantastic. She welcomed me and had a room ready at 10am which I hadn’t expected. She gave me a map and talked me through where everything was in the city, marking the bits I was interested in on the map. She always said hello if I passed during my stay. The 2 gentlemen on reception were always friendly & also always acknowledged me. The room was small but had everything I’d expect. Air conditioning was great as it was hot. Breakfast seemed basic but I understand that Covid measures mean that a usual style buffet is not possible. The staff did their best to work around this. I slept well every night & the bed was very comfortable. I’d have scored a 10 but the room was not hoovered daily & there was confusion with some guests at breakfast and a table of guests had to be moved as they had been given seats too close to the walkway. There was a new member of staff on one morning who had not been properly trained & except for one morning, I had to find someone and ask for extra tea. The key staff on duty were very professional though. I would be happy to come back again and would recommend your hotel to friends. It was only a short walk away from a metro station so travel from the airport was convenient & cheap.

Dear Paul Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I have spoken with our Housekeeping Manager and your room should be hoovered on a daily basis. I have looked on the schedule and saw that there was 1 room attendant that we had received more complaints about. We have taken measures to prevent this from happening again. Please for the next time let our colleagues in reception know, so we can take action immediately. Thank you for sharing this with us now. Our breakfast during your stay was indeed different than normal. This is due to the strict policy we follow to prevent infection with Covid-19. Therefore we had adjusted the prices from the normal 22.50€ to 12€. At this moment we have already changed our variety, service and price. We had to learn how to deal with the new situation. Once more many thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Short stay in Amsterdam

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Michael H. Families - 24/07/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is ideally situated for a short stay in Amsterdam, shops and restaurants close by. - just a few minutes from the 52 metro, 2 stops from the main station. - isolated from all traffic noise - friendly staff - nicely decorated room, good shower etc

Dear Michael, Thank you for filling out our questionnaire and leaving a great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again the next time you are visiting Amsterdam. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Good central location and the bike!!

Customer review rating 4.3/5

C. Families - 23/07/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

enjoy the stay and room. Item to improve. Clean room in the morning cause cleaner coming aftrrnoon during rest time after lunch. For breakfast, with room at 200 at breakfast at 11, expect not to have to pay supplement for bacon and egg. This is standard in all 4 andc5 stars hotel in the world

Dear Mr. C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Feel free to inform our team in the future about the preferred cleaning time so you can enjoy your time in Amsterdam and rest at your fullest. We reduced the breakfast price as we have limited items for breakfast therefore we asked an extra supplement at that time for warm items. My apologies that this wasn't as you expected. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Anna van Geelen Assistant Operations Manager

An excellent hotel, run by happy professionals.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

David M. Business - 18/07/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

First class.

Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire! What a amazing comment. That's very nice to read and a great start of the day. I have also seen your comment about the registration and the room. I see that you book via an online travel agent. Please book direct via all.accor.com so we can see details, link your membership card. You get a better rate than on Expedia with your membership. I added a comment in your preferences that you would like more space. Hopefully we can do even better the next time. Thank you once more for your great review and hopefully we can welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Comfortable

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Christine Families - 26/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The concierge's were very knowledgeable. Our experience with you was tempered by all the COVID-19 shut-downs.

Dear Christine, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. What an unfortunate situation for your trip in our lovely country. Travelling so far to encounter this must be a massive disappointment on your stay. Hopefully we my welcome you back in the future to enjoy and experience our country and city in full swing. We wish yo all the B. and in good health! Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Well located but uninspiring with a rather small room and very expensive parking and breakfast

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Martin G. B. Business - 20/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Check in did not advise me that paying in euros would cost 3% extra when my credit card allows me to pay without extra costs. The room was very small in relative terms to my other many stays in the groups hotels throughout France. The parking at 50 euros per night on top off the room rate and breakfast (reduced to 19 euros each ) made this a very expensive 2 night stay and we would not stay there again. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast staff friendly. I have also noticed that the points I was saving up on my classic membership card have been cancelled off for some reason. With the virus we cannot expect to be travelling very much this year but I would have expected to be able to save up all the points for future use.

Dear Mr. B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. The parking rates in Amsterdam are high. Amsterdam has an anti-car policy. In our hotel we have a small number of parking places of wich we have to rent a few as well. Because of this we are forced to invoice our guests. These costs are high, although they are still below average in Amsterdam. I don't want to justify it, but I want to explain it. There are possibilities to park your car outside the center at a lower price. However, you must use public transport to get to us. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

nice room

Customer review rating 4.3/5

K. Business - 19/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

nice room Good location in hotel but No water in the refrigerator on the first day and Who ate Nespresso One was empty as soon as I entered the room

Dear K., Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I saw your remarks of the upgrade that wasn't given. You have stayed in one of our privilege rooms. This is actually the highest room category in our hotel. If I see it correctly, you had booked a standard room. This means you did receive an upgrade. Clearly we didn't inform you correctly about it. My apologies for that. The room you had normally have amenities in the minibar and Nespresso cups. That was not their apparently like it should. My apologies as well. I will discuss this with the team to prevent it from happening again in the future. Thank you for staying with us and hopefully we may welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Flawless finish

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Jamie Friends - 19/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Clean and tidy

Dear Jamie, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Well located

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Families - 17/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good stay, friendly

Dear Anonymous, Thank you very much for giving us the full 100% score. This was our aim of your stay and we are glad to read that we have succeeded. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back the next time you visit Amsterdam. Regards, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Not really a 4☆hotel

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Pascal L. P. Couples - 16/03/2020 Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was not really clean the carpet has been clean for a long times the bathroom was not clean as well the heating was making noise all night and to complete my stay the night receptionists was not wearing any shoes and was not helping us and willing to understand us very disappointed stay

Dear Pascal, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. I have seen your review on Tripadvisor, now I do have the information needed to adress the employee directly. Thanks for sharing again. Sincerely, Wiebe Bos General Manager Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in amsterdam