Information message

Novotel Ottawa City Centre Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.3/5 9,438 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Novotel Ottawa City Centre
See on a map
+ 13 Services

Hotel extras

  • Free WiFi, work space, LCD TV, mini fridge, espresso maker (only in upgraded rooms)

  • Naturally lit indoor pool, gym, sauna

  • 8 flexible rooms for events that work

  • Rideau Shopping Centre (including one of the only Nordstrom in Canada)

  • Across the street from the Shaw Centre , 2 blocks from the Byward Market, 10min to Parliament

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking Paying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowed
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out Paying
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing Paying
  • Boutiques/shopping
Catering
  • Breakfast Paying
  • 1 Restaurant(s)
  • 1 Bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Jacuzzi
Business services
  • 8 Meeting room(s)
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available Paying

Hotel location

Novotel Ottawa City Centre

33 Nicholas Street
K1N 9M7 ottawa
canada

Tel: +16132303033

Fax: (+1)6137604765

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • ACCESS : 

  • By plane

    OTTAWA INTL At 18km / 11.25 miles

  • By car

    NICHOLAS STREET EXIT At 2km / 1.24 miles

  • By train

    OTTAWA VIA RAIL STATION At 7km / 4.35 miles

GPS :45.425818, -75.689128

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious rooms with a King bed or 2 Doubles, en suite bath/shower, complimentary WiFi & HSIA, ergonomic work area, LCD TV, laptop size safe, mini fridge, hair dryer, alarm clock, tea/coffee. Stunning new rooms! 1 King bed or 2 Doubles, en suite shower, free WiFi & HSIA, work area, LCD Smart TV, laptop safe, tea/coffee, fridge, & hair dryer.

Our restaurants and bars

THE ALBION ROOMS RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: Regional

The Albion Rooms Lounge & Dinning is inspired by a farm to table mentality. Our chef uses local produce to create an ever changing menu. The Bar is stocked with local craft beers, a creative selection of wines and exciting house made cocktails.

  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sunday

ALBION ROOMS LOUNGE

Only guide dogs are allowed in food and beverage points of sale. Opening hours: 17:00-22:00 Wednesday - Saturday

Non contractual photo

  • Monday -
  • Tuesday -
  • Wednesday -
  • Thursday -
  • Friday -
  • Saturday -
  • Sunday -

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 8

  • Maximum size: 167

  • Maximum capacity: 180 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 140 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Ottawa City Centre

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

9,438 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,897 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

well located, steps away from Rideau center and byward market

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Terry Couples - 20/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Front desk staff very pleasant and professional

Excellent location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Ray F. Couples - 18/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very polite and courteous service from front desk to restaurant.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Jen Couples - 18/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Tried to call front desk few time with 61…, however never seem have people pick up my call

Awesome location, friendly staff.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Gerhard R. Couples - 16/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Unfortunately with COVID, things are not easy (masks and dining).

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Christine Business - 15/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very clean room and very comfortable. Due to COVID restrictions, I would say the hotel was 90% empty, but despite this, for some reason, I had neighbours on both sides of my room which made the noise in the morning and late at night a little unpleasant. It just made me wonder why the guests were not dispersed more to ensure tranquility given the low occupation rate.

Nice hotel, great location !!!

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Heather Families - 14/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Easy check in. Clean room. Great location !! Sadly due to Covid, the pool was closed.

Well located . Steps from the Byward Market.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Janet T. Couples - 13/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Staff were friendly and the room was spacious enough.

Great location, clean, friendly staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Annie B. Families - 13/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Perfect for the price

Excellent accommodation

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Margaret Solo - 13/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Second visit to this hotel and again totally satisfied with everything

Room was fine. Covid hampers amenities.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Barry F. Friends - 12/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Front desk staff were awesome and friendly. Not thrilled about having to pay $28 per day for parking plus the city accommodation tax. Room was nice.

Extremely well located

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Fatou K. Business - 11/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Friendly, clean and affordable

Well located

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Couples - 10/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Overall it was a good stay with the exception of the desk chair being very uncomfortable for any long periods of sitting. Staff was friendly, rooms adequate & clean.

Great Location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Shaye Couples - 09/07/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We stayed for 2 nights and 3 days. We felt safe inside the hotel with the health and safety protocols imposed. It was just unfortunate that there were some occupant on the 3rd floor that were so loud at 2 in the morning during our 2nd night. When I called front desk, they sent someone to check it out but the noise went on until 4am.

Location & comfort

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Joyce K 31/03/2021 TripAdvisor review

We booked a 4 night stay and added 2 more nights. We were in a deluxe king room with a sofa and coffee table. It came with a mini-fridge and decent size cupboard: one side to hang the other side 4 shelve sections. The room was clean and spacious. The restaurant was closed due to covid. Parking was underground. Across the street is a large indoor mall. We brought back some take-out and ate in the room and watched tv. We walked around each day around the nearby Byward market and enjoyed coffee and cheesecake at a cafe or an all day breakfast at the King Eddy Pub. We visited the National Art Gallery, we walked across the Alexander Bridge over the Ottawa River and visited the Museum of Canadian History on the Quebec side, we walked in front of the parliament buildings. One day we walked from the hotel then westward passing in front of the parliament buildings we crossed the portage bridge to the Quebec side, then followed the foot trail eastward along the river to the Alexander bridge crossed it to the Byward market, had dinner and back to the hotel. There are some small islands in the Ottawa River with a lot of seagulls. There were a number of Canada goose on the grassy areas alongside the trail. Another day we went to the Canadian War museum. It was a great stay.

The attenation from all the hotel staff

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

eli487 Business - 22/02/2021 TripAdvisor review

When you stay at the novotel at ottawa it does feel as part of your family They do care about the hotel guest, each staff member try the best they can for you. with all the hardship they suffer, the hotel management do not save anything from the guests. I will replace my future stay in ottawa with any other hotel

EXCELLENT HOTEL WITH CLOSE PROXIMITY

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

ubaedithnonye 09/02/2021 TripAdvisor review

Due to COVID, I wasn’t able to access some facilities as I hoped to. However, Novotel services was spot on. My room was so clean, spacious and nice and they have good customer service especially at the reception.

Dear ubaedithnonye, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Novotel Ottawa. It is a delight to learn that you have had an enjoyable and comfortable experience during your stay and that the staff was able to help you have a great stay with us. Our guest's satisfaction is always our first priority. We look forward to welcoming you when the Covid situation will be over so that you can enjoy all the hotel facilities. Sincerely,

Our Stay at Novotel

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Debra S 26/11/2020 TripAdvisor review

We did not have a good experience with the room. The thermostat was not working and room was very cold. The shower door was broken. Having arrived a bit late after coming from a funeral we attended in Toronto, this was very inconvenient - It appears maintenance is not high o the list of things to do. Perhaps COVID-19 situation is in part to blame. After complaining about the issue we were given the key for another room. This room did not have the view the other room had (we were viewing some garbage containers and other rooms - One would think that after the hassle we went through - at least give us a better view or one similar de one we had. One thing though! The Staff! Very Friendly and professional.

Dear Debra, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed some aspects of your stay and especially the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. However, I read your comment with great interest and I shared it with the concerned department heads to take the necessary measures. We extend our most sincere apologies for the frustrating impression you have received and actions will be taken immediately. Despite the details you mentioned above, I truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at The Novotel Ottawa and be assured that we will do our utmost to make your next stay unforgettable. Sincerely,

Excellent Hotel Getaway

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

victorlX3348VE 12/08/2020 TripAdvisor review

Did a quick getaway within the province during the COVID 19 pandemic. Hotel is actually fairly full (by the amount of cars parked in the garage), but very good social distance measures and prep work that gave the feeling to a lot of space. Amenities are mostly closed as expected, but no big deal as the location is decent and walkable distance to most attractions.

Dear VictorlX3348VE, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during these challenging times. We are all doing our utmost to keep everyone safe and we hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Raman Virk Front Office Manager

Super Clean and Modern Hotel in the heart of Byward Market, Ottawa

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

744heather 12/08/2020 TripAdvisor review

This hotel is always clean, and efficient with very courteous staff on site. A 5 minute walk to University of Ottawa for visiting parents or a 2 minute walk into the Byward Market for a night on the town...it is all right there. Underground parking offered to guests for a fee is very handy.

Dear 744Heather, Thank you very much as we appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback as we hope to see you again soon for another magnificent journey with us. Sincerely, Raman Virk Front Office Manager

Great experience

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

sarasz2020 15/07/2020 TripAdvisor review

Amazing location! Very accommodating and helpful staff. Place was spotless, room requests were taken into consideration. 4 stars because it was very hot and the room temperature stayed at around 21 degrees and the bed was a bit lumpy

Dear Sarasz2020, Thank you for your kind words with regards to your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again the next time you are in Ottawa. Sincerely, Raman Virk Front Office Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in ottawa