Information message

Novotel Ottawa City Centre Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating 4.3/5 9,979 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Book this hotel
Room 1

Best price guarantee

How it works?
Novotel Ottawa City Centre
See on a map
+ 21 Services

Hotel extras

  • Free WiFi, work space, LCD TV, mini fridge, espresso maker (only in upgraded rooms)

  • Naturally lit indoor pool, gym, sauna

  • 8 flexible rooms for events that work

  • Rideau Shopping Centre (including one of the only Nordstrom in Canada)

  • Across the street from the Shaw Centre , 2 blocks from the Byward Market, 10min to Parliament

Hotel location

Novotel Ottawa City Centre

33 Nicholas Street
K1N 9M7 ottawa
canada

Tel: +12303033

Fax: (+1)7604765

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • ACCESS : 

  • By plane

    OTTAWA INTL At 18km / 11.25 miles

  • By car

    NICHOLAS STREET EXIT At 2km / 1.24 miles

  • By train

    OTTAWA VIA RAIL STATION At 7km / 4.35 miles

GPS :45.425818, -75.689128

Hotel services

THE ALBION ROOMS RESTAURANT

The Albion Rooms Lounge & Dinning is inspired by a farm to table mentality. Our chef uses local produce to create an ever changing menu. The Bar is stocked with local craft beers, a creative selection of wines and exciting house made cocktails.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary

  • Swimming pool
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
Catering services
  • One Restaurant
  • One Bar
  • Breakfast
    • Buffet Additional charge
  • Room service
    • Cold snacks
    • Hot meals
Meetings/Events
  • 8 Meeting rooms
  • Business Center
    • Self service business center
Accessibility
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
Hotel Services And Equipments
  • Hotel informations
    • 283 rooms
    • 5 rooms for people with reduced mobility
    • 92 family rooms
    • 8 connecting rooms
    • 283 non-smoking rooms
    • 8 floors
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • Arabic
    • English
    • Spanish
    • French
  • Laundry / Valet Services
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Wi-Fi
    • High speed transmission line
    • WiFi in the communal areas
    • High Speed WiFi
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • High Speed internet
  • Air conditioning
    • Air Conditioning
  • Reduced mobility Facilities
  • 100% Non Smoking Property
  • Elevator to all floor
  • Check In & Check-out facilities
    • Late Checkout
    • Express check-out
    • Express check-in
  • Currency exchange
    • Currency exchange
Access to property
  • Indigo Public Parking attached Additional charge
    • Near the property
    • 100 parking spaces
    • Public
Well-being
  • Pool Currently unavailable
    • Covered
    • On site
  • On-Site Fitness Facility Currently unavailable
    • On site
Family
  • Services for children
    • Childrens TV Channels

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious rooms with a King bed or 2 Doubles, en suite bath/shower, complimentary WiFi & HSIA, ergonomic work area, LCD TV, laptop size safe, mini fridge, hair dryer, alarm clock, tea/coffee. Stunning new rooms! 1 King bed or 2 Doubles, en suite shower, free WiFi & HSIA, work area, LCD Smart TV, laptop safe, tea/coffee, fridge, & hair dryer.

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 8

  • Maximum size: 167

  • Maximum capacity: 180 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 140 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Ottawa City Centre

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

9,979 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,922 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Great location but two maintenance calls required.

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Kimberly Couples - 15/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

First, the speed of which the two repairs required were handled was excellent, it was just unfortunate that we had them at all. More specifically, both are things that housekeeping seemingly could have reported before anyone else stayed in the room. There was a buzzing sound coming from the electrical outlet by the top of the bed. We unplugged the clock to see if it was that but it wasn’t coming from it. I honestly don’t know what the cause was because it was repaired by the time we got back from our evening out. The second was more frustrating. The shower handle was broken and it would not stay up. You could see that just to look at it. The handle ended up having the hose burst and was not usable. Not a great way to start your day with water spraying all over, but not able to be used to clean yourself. Once again, when we were on our way out for breakfast we stopped at the front desk to let them know. By the time we came back to attempt to shower again there was a gentleman in the room repairing it. He cleaned up after himself when he left and was quite friendly.

I choose this hotel because of its location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Business - 14/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I was saddened to see so many homeless around the hotel . I was at times worried that the market is no longer a secured place.

Steps away from Byward Market

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Peepeee 14/10/2021 TripAdvisor review

Liked our superior King bed rm. It was Very spacious and clean. We will always stay at Novotel as Rideau Centre and Byward Market are steps away fr the hotel. Lots of good restaurants close by. Unv of Ottawa Is also walkable

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Amn Friends - 13/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was a great stay. The bed was very comfortable and the room clean. The carpet soft underfoot. The staff were attentive. I was disappointed that there was only a nepresso and not a coffee maker as sometimes I prefer coffee in the morning. I was also disappointed that there was no microwave. In covid times it would have been nice to heat up leftovers after we returned from dinner as a late night snack.

well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Cheryl C. Families - 13/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I am not happy that I looked at my MC bill and saw an extra 100.00 charge on the bill. No one explained that it was a security deposit. I had to call to find out.. How long does it take to remove it.. Please advise.. It was very upsetting to see that without any prior knowledge..

Good location

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Families - 13/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I think you should clearly state that parking is extra $$.

Good location near byward market

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Families - 13/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Good location. Room is clean. Staffs are friendly. Only downside was room 322 where I stayed has relatively week sound proofing and I can often hear people talking in the next room at night and early in the morning

Good enough for our needs

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Anonymous Friends - 13/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Wish we would have had a decent fridge as the one we had wasn't the greatest

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Mac Families - 12/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room was clean, would have preferred some conditioner with the soap dispensers but all else was good

Great Location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Noelle Families - 12/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were in town for my daughter's wedding and this was the hotel that was designated for guests - reasonable rate, easy parking, friendly and knowledgeable staff, clean room and bathroom with most of the usual amenities. Located within easy walking distance to all the downtown Ottawa attractractions/shopping/restaurants etc. Good stay overall once we arrived - the only thing I might mention was having to call the hotel several times for them to answer the phone when booking, and being quoted incorrect rates when the reservation was made. When we arrived however, the rates were as expected for the entire three night stay, and everything ran very smoothly.

Good Night

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Ewan C. Families - 12/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

I liked the hotel the underground parking was great especially because it was raining

Great stay!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Amelia Friends - 11/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Loved the birthday surprise! It was a wonderful stay and we look forward to our next one.

It was okay,

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Alex A. E. Couples - 11/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great friendly front desk staff. Room was comfortable, lobby and common areas were not the cleanest, and parking was not ideal.

Well located

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Families - 10/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Easy walk to the 3 venues for the wedding and many other locations. Easy navigation within the hotel. Difficult to get to with Ottawa one way streets. Actual directions for anyone driving there would be very welcome. The special wedding prices were not easy to access but easily fixed with a phone call.

Top notch service

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Christine Business - 10/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Front desk service was really standout, makes Novotel feel like a higher budget hotel. I wish I had taken the people's names because the girl at check-in and the fellow at checkout were both excellent. I stay in a lot of hotels and the warm and efficient service as well as cleanliness keeps me coming back. Best hotel service in the city! I do wish there was a non-buffet or more breakfast options for COVID safety travels. And the new soap is absolutely horrible way too strongly scented. It would be nice if rooms had hand sanitizer in them as well, lots of places are offering that now. But the main thing is the service is A+++ and it keeps me coming back. The fridge is and shower were spotless too, so housekeeping is pretty top notch.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Eli R. Business - 10/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

All the staff welcoming and doing the best they can.

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Anonymous Families - 07/10/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Room and facilities were good. Parking arrangements are not good.

Average stay

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Krisadd77 26/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

We stayed at Novotel Ottawa Aug 20-23. We had 2 rooms booked for us and 2 older kids. Parking our truck in the under ground hotel parking was challenging. There were not many spaces we could fit our Ford F-150 and we luckily found the last spot big enough. Our rooms were directly across form the ice machine and our first night sleep was very bad as the ice machine was used constantly until 1am. Traffic noise was very bad in this room too. We asked to be moved and they did find us 2 new rooms away from ice machines and seemed to be much quieter side for traffic noise. Much better the following 2 nights. The rooms were clean and updated but no fans in bathrooms and not enough towels. Restaurant was good/average typical breakfast buffet. The location was fantastic for walking everywhere. The pool was fully booked for our first day at check in but we booked 2 time slots for the next 2 days. Overall our stay was good/average. We probably wouldn’t stay there again mostly because of the parking issue with our vehicle.

Wonderful location and beautiful room

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Go56921818130 04/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

We came for a girls weekend and was pleasantly surprised. The room was great, location was excellent, right by The Byward Market and shopping. Sights all walkable from location. Will definitely be back. Great job with all the Covid protocols, felt very safe.

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Novotel Ottawa. It is a delight to learn that you have had an enjoyable and comfortable experience during your stay and that the staff was able to help you have a great stay with us. Our guest's satisfaction is always our first priority. We look forward to welcoming you the near future. Sincerely,

Great place in Downtown Ottawa

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

pafaucon 03/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

We felt at home! All employees, from the general manager to the waitresses & front desk agents, were very customer service oriented and helpful. Pool was nice. Breakfast buffet 😋 yummy. We frequently go to this hotel and love it!

Dear Pafaucon, What a great review. Thank you for your amazing comments! It has given me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Novotel Ottawa and we are so proud that you felt our team were friendly and welcoming and looked after you during your time with us. Hospitality is at the heart of everything we do and it is always very rewarding when guests take the time to give us such great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travel plans include The Novotel Ottawa! Sincerely,

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in ottawa