Novotel Ottawa City Centre Hotel 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.3/5 10,208 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Information message

Novotel Ottawa City Centre
See on a map
+ 20 Services

Hotel extras

  • Free WiFi, work space, LCD TV, mini fridge, espresso maker (only in upgraded rooms)

  • Naturally lit indoor pool, gym, sauna

  • 8 flexible rooms for events that work

  • Rideau Shopping Centre (including one of the only Nordstrom in Canada)

  • Across the street from the Shaw Centre , 2 blocks from the Byward Market, 10min to Parliament

Hotel location

Novotel Ottawa City Centre

33 Nicholas Street
K1N 9M7 ottawa
canada

Fax: (+1)6137604765

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • ACCESS: 

  • By plane

    OTTAWA INTL At 18km / 11.25 miles

  • By car

    NICHOLAS STREET EXIT At 2km / 1.24 miles

  • By train

    OTTAWA VIA RAIL STATION At 7km / 4.35 miles

GPS:45.425818, -75.689128

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
  • Swimming pool
  • Car park
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms

THE ALBION ROOMS RESTAURANT

Currently unavailable

The Albion Rooms Lounge & Dinning is temporarily closed for dinner service from Dec 21-28, 2021.

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious rooms with a King bed or 2 Doubles, en suite bath/shower, complimentary WiFi & HSIA, ergonomic work area, LCD TV, laptop size safe, mini fridge, hair dryer, alarm clock, tea/coffee. Stunning new rooms! 1 King bed or 2 Doubles, en suite shower, free WiFi & HSIA, work area, LCD Smart TV, laptop safe, tea/coffee, fridge, & hair dryer.

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 8

  • Maximum size: 167

  • Maximum capacity: 180 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 140 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Ottawa City Centre

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating 4.3/5

10,208 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,933 reviews

2021 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2021

Well located

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Amira Families - 18/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It would ve been convienent to have plastic cutlery in the room as well as water. A microwave wouldve been nice too

Well located, a young, keen staff trying to please and they succeeded.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

L. Business - 17/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

BIG smiles at the front desk. NICE appetizer plate waiting for me. More important than the view of Capital Hill from the Weston. As important as the ambience of the Chateau. I will have to stay in other hotels as well, but I will feel GUILTY for it! The restaurant atmosphere is not what it would be if was open. Menu quite limited. Food very good.

Friendly, clean, safe, cozy, economic, good breakfast, nice staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Ignacio Business - 14/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Very good.

Dear Ignacio, Thank you for taking the time to review our property! It was such a pleasure to host you and it is very nice to read you had a wonderful experience working with our staff. We hope to welcome you back again, for another great stay! Best regards, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Good stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Sandy Couples - 14/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great hotel and location.

Dear Joseph & Sandy Z., Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at the Novotel Ottawa! We value your input and encourage you to let us know more details about your next experience with us, should we have the pleasure of hosting you again. Thank you again for your rating, and we hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Excellent location. Great staff.

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Families - 13/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

From start to finish , everything was great!

Dear Leslie, Thank you for taking the time to review our property! It was such a pleasure to host you, we always strive to give the best possible customer experience and it is very nice to read you had a wonderful time working with our staff. We hope to welcome you back again, for another great stay! Best regards, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager
Customer review rating 4.0/5

Chris Business - 11/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great staff - facilities great

Dear chris m., Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience at the Novotel Ottawa working with our staff! We value your input and encourage you to let us know more details about your next experience with us, should we have the pleasure of hosting you again. Thank you again for your rating, and we hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Excellent stay

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anita Business - 09/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It was awesome!

Dear Anita H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed working with our Sales and Banquets team! They are always giving their best to our guests to ensure customer satisfaction, we thank you for the acknowledgement! Please take a moment to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor by following this link: https://www.tripadvisor.ca/UserReviewEdit-g155004-d182984-ehttp:__2F____2F__www__2E__tripadvisor__2E__ca__2F__Hotel__5F__Review__2D__g155004__2D__d182984__2D__Reviews__2D__Novotel__5F__Ottawa__2D__Ottawa__5F__Ontario__2E__html-Novotel_Ottawa-Ottawa_Ontario.html Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Great location

Customer review rating 4.0/5

De Families - 09/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Stay was very good - all staff were very friendly (front desk greeted when entering hotel) and room was clean and comfortable. Only glitch was on the last night of our stay (December 4th) guests in the room near us on the floor were extremely loud with partying, singing etc. at 0200 in the morning that went on for over an hour. We realize that we should have called the front desk, but thought it would end quickly. Reported it in the morning to the front desk.

Dear Debbie E., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. It's unfortunate that your last night was not up to par, but please get in touch if ever we host you again ASAP so that we can rectify the situation sooner than later! Thank you for your kind feedback as well, and we hope to see you again soon for another great journey with us. Sincerely, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager
Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Business - 08/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to mayor attractions. Staff is helpful and courteous, breakfast buffet was nice.

Dear Laura C., Thank you for taking the time to review our property! It is such a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed working with our staff, as we always strive to give the best customer experience. We hope to welcome you back again in the future, for another great stay. Sincerely, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Couples getsway

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Ann G. Couples - 07/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

We were looking for a quiet couples getaway. Novotel was definitely the right place.

Dear Ann G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback as well, and we hope to see you again soon for another great journey with us. Sincerely, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Great stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Pat Couples - 07/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

Great location and comfortable room.

Dear Pat M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Always a Pleasure

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Families - 05/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

It is always nice to arrive at a Hotel you are familiar with, welcomed at the reception with a smile. The rooms are clean and updated nicely.

Dear Catherine G., Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It was a pleasure to host you, and I am happy that you appreciated our friendly service. Thank you for being such a loyal customer and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Best regards, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Frustrating

Customer review rating 3.0/5

Scott Business - 02/12/2021 Confirmed reviews ALL

As a platinum All Accor member I was frustrated that the AC was not working and there were no offers to change my roommate when asked they said it would not make a difference . I went into my room and it was 24.5. I went to the front desk to explain and was told that because it’s winter the AC is turned off so the only thing I can do is turn Off the heat and open the window. They also offer me a fan. Therefore I had to sleep with my window open and of course could not sleep due to the amount of noise. After a sleepless night it was still 22 and n my room.

Dear Scott M., Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. Firstly, thank you for being a loyal customer with Accor properties. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. Fortunately, I do see that you have a reservation with us expecting to arrive next week, please rest assured that I have gone and upgraded your room type to make this stay a more comfortable one. Our relationship with our guests is of paramount importance and we hope this next one will help improve your experience with us. Thank you for the feedback and we hope that you will present us with the opportunity to better serve you again. Sincerely, Jasmine Assistant Front Office Manager

Complaint

TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

jjtor2021 10/11/2021 TripAdvisor review

There were many public health and safey violations. Only 1 of 3 small elevators working. Packed elevators, long waits. Room not clean on check-in. Buffet no protection, utensils not changed, no sanitizing or gloves. Dirty dishes.

Dear customer, Thank you again for your comment regarding your stay. As previously explained, we have indeed had a maintenance of our elevators which resulted in two of the three available elevators being blocked. For the restaurant, and more precisely the breakfast, we strictly follow the Ontario rules which allows us to have our breakfast buffet open. Each customer must wear a mask as soon as they leave their table and must have an up-to-date vaccination passport which is checked before they can enter the restaurant. Sincerely

Steps away from Byward Market

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Peepeee 14/10/2021 TripAdvisor review

Liked our superior King bed rm. It was Very spacious and clean. We will always stay at Novotel as Rideau Centre and Byward Market are steps away fr the hotel. Lots of good restaurants close by. Unv of Ottawa Is also walkable

Average stay

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Krisadd77 26/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

We stayed at Novotel Ottawa Aug 20-23. We had 2 rooms booked for us and 2 older kids. Parking our truck in the under ground hotel parking was challenging. There were not many spaces we could fit our Ford F-150 and we luckily found the last spot big enough. Our rooms were directly across form the ice machine and our first night sleep was very bad as the ice machine was used constantly until 1am. Traffic noise was very bad in this room too. We asked to be moved and they did find us 2 new rooms away from ice machines and seemed to be much quieter side for traffic noise. Much better the following 2 nights. The rooms were clean and updated but no fans in bathrooms and not enough towels. Restaurant was good/average typical breakfast buffet. The location was fantastic for walking everywhere. The pool was fully booked for our first day at check in but we booked 2 time slots for the next 2 days. Overall our stay was good/average. We probably wouldn’t stay there again mostly because of the parking issue with our vehicle.

Wonderful location and beautiful room

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Go56921818130 04/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

We came for a girls weekend and was pleasantly surprised. The room was great, location was excellent, right by The Byward Market and shopping. Sights all walkable from location. Will definitely be back. Great job with all the Covid protocols, felt very safe.

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Novotel Ottawa. It is a delight to learn that you have had an enjoyable and comfortable experience during your stay and that the staff was able to help you have a great stay with us. Our guest's satisfaction is always our first priority. We look forward to welcoming you the near future. Sincerely,

Great place in Downtown Ottawa

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

pafaucon 03/08/2021 TripAdvisor review

We felt at home! All employees, from the general manager to the waitresses & front desk agents, were very customer service oriented and helpful. Pool was nice. Breakfast buffet 😋 yummy. We frequently go to this hotel and love it!

Dear Pafaucon, What a great review. Thank you for your amazing comments! It has given me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Novotel Ottawa and we are so proud that you felt our team were friendly and welcoming and looked after you during your time with us. Hospitality is at the heart of everything we do and it is always very rewarding when guests take the time to give us such great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travel plans include The Novotel Ottawa! Sincerely,

Very good hotel and location

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Farkases 31/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

Excellent location for tourists sites and for restaurants within walking distance. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well equipped. The breakfast buffet is good value for a hotel restaurant.

Dear Farkases, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed some aspects of your stay such us the hotel's location, the staff and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travel plans include The Novotel Ottawa!

Great hotel and location!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Guy01925 27/07/2021 TripAdvisor review

Very clean, modern hotel, recently renovated. Right next to a large shopping mall, very close to the popular Col. By Market and all the parliament tourist attractions within walking distance, including the impressive Rideau Canal locks. I stayed there many times for work and now I go back for pleasure! Great value!

Dear Guy, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are very glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay due to our convenient location. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

Fairmont Château Laurier

4 stars

At 423 m

See the hotel
All our hotels in ottawa