Novotel Ottawa City Centre

Novotel Ottawa City Centre 4 stars

Customer review rating (ALL Rating) 4.4/5 1,128 reviews

ALLSAFE approved hotel

Novotel Ottawa City Centre
See on a map


Hotel extras

  • Free WiFi, work space, LCD TV, mini fridge, espresso maker (only in upgraded rooms)

  • Naturally lit indoor pool, gym, sauna

  • 8 flexible rooms for events that work

  • Rideau Shopping Centre (including one of the only Nordstrom in Canada)

  • Across the street from the Shaw Centre , 2 blocks from the Byward Market, 10min to Parliament

Our accommodation(s)

Spacious rooms with a King bed or 2 Doubles, en suite bath/shower, complimentary WiFi & HSIA, ergonomic work area, LCD TV, laptop size safe, mini fridge, hair dryer, alarm clock, tea/coffee. Stunning new rooms! 1 King bed or 2 Doubles, en suite shower, free WiFi & HSIA, work area, LCD Smart TV, laptop safe, tea/coffee, fridge, & hair dryer.

Hotel location

Novotel Ottawa City Centre

33 Nicholas Street
K1N 9M7 Ottawa

Fax: +1 613-760-4765

  • ACCESS: 

  • By plane

    OTTAWA INTL At 18km / 11.25 miles

  • By car

    NICHOLAS STREET EXIT At 2km / 1.24 miles

  • By train

    OTTAWA VIA RAIL STATION At 7km / 4.35 miles

GPS:45.425818, -75.689128

Hotel services

Check-in from - Check out up to

In summary
On site
  • Swimming pool
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair accessible hotel
  • Well-being
  • Air conditioning
  • Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
Near the property
  • Car park


The Albion Rooms Restaurant & Lounge is temporarily closed for inside dining. Room Service remains available

Our guest reviews for
Novotel Ottawa City Centre

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

ALL Rating  4.4/5  1,128 reviews

TripAdvisor Rating  4.0/5  1,938 reviews

Certificate of excellence 2022

excellent service and good location

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Anonymous Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

service at reception was excellent, room was fine and parking available, nothing to complain about.

Love this hotel! Location is Fab!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Angele C. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Check in was wonderful, quick and easy. The front desk staff were amazing. Room was beautiful, modern and clean. Within walking distance of trendy pubs and restaurants. The pub right in the hotel is actually fantastic! The female bartender there is phenomenal! Super comfy bed. I will be staying here again!

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Anonymous Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Food and room was good. Easy accessibility to the best places in town. The staff was cordial and warm. The only think I didn’t like was the bedsheets in the room. They made our sleep rather uncomfortable.

Friendly staff, great location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Keiko Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Pro: Location. Friendly staff. Parking($28 is way cheaper than other parking around there, and easy access P3 from hotel elevator). Arran collections(shampoo, Shower gel, hand soap) smell so great. Con: Very thin wall. Actually I even could hear my next door’s conversation so I always turned on YouTube to distract myself.

Good stay

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Everton C. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

Hotel Room stay was amazing. Parking was terrible. Not sure why the parking spaces are so small. That was a nightmare to experience.

Good stay

Customer review rating 3.5/5

R L. Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

The room was neat and clean. We appreciated for the friendly reception services offered by Front Desk Staff, Jay, Jessie etc., One problem is about the circumstances surrounding the hotel, we found a number of drunkards and drug addicts loitering around the area.

Pleasantly Surprised

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Shana Couples - Confirmed reviews ALL

The location of this hotel is perfect. Quick access to the mall across the street, Tim’s around the corner and a short walk to the Market. The price was reasonable and the room was modern and clean. Only complaint I have is there wasn’t any hair conditioner. They do provide a nice scented body wash , shampoo and hand soap you can purchase. We might have bought the hand soap but found it super pricey. If we every make it back to the city we will be sure to stay here again.

good location, clean, friendly staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Anonymous Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Despite the possible challenges with it being a Convoy weekend, I did not experience any difficulties.

Great location, friendly staff, lovely rooms!

Customer review rating 5.0/5

Craig Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

They were able to accommodate us with a pet, gave us a lovely room that was recently renovated, very nice decor. The staff were very friendly, no issues!

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Jim C. Families - Confirmed reviews ALL

Great food in restaurant. Clean rooms

Customer review rating 4.0/5

Agnieszka Friends - Confirmed reviews ALL

Everything was great , the only one thing that wasn't nice was when we tried to book second night the girl in the lobby asked me if I have CAA that would save me some money at that time she said the room would be 175 I said yes had to go up to the room to get my card when I came down she asked me to get the driving license so I went upstairs again and the time I came down again she she the room is 205$ tow it was a simple thing to to start reserving the room so the time I had to go up two times it would be done and would not change the rate !

Good room, tiny towels, pool hours aren't useful

Customer review rating 3.5/5

Jack H. Business - Confirmed reviews ALL

Great hotel in the with good access to Byward Market. The room was nice with a very comfy bed. Not the greatest of views of a brick wall. Was here for 7 days for business. On arrival found the bar was shut 10.30 pm on a Monday but went across the street to Joey's which is excellent. Pool only opens at 10am which means of you want a 6am swim as I do when traveling your out of luck. Also when o did use the pool (weirdly shared with the next door hotel) some of it was roped of for children. Normally fine but such a small pool if you actually want to swim. Breakfast was good but I did get pancakes after asking for poached eggs on one occasion. Other than that all the towels were too small. Both in the bathrooms and by the pool. I could not wrap one around my waist of I tried. Parking is v expensive but as it's on a par with all other downtown car parks I can't grumble. Don't hire a big car though as the ceiling height is minimal.

Poor experience

Customer review rating 0.5/5

Anonymous Solo - Confirmed reviews ALL

Very poor customer service from the night “auditor”


TripAdvisor rating 1.0/5

jjtor2021 TripAdvisor review

There were many public health and safey violations. Only 1 of 3 small elevators working. Packed elevators, long waits. Room not clean on check-in. Buffet no protection, utensils not changed, no sanitizing or gloves. Dirty dishes.

Dear customer, Thank you again for your comment regarding your stay. As previously explained, we have indeed had a maintenance of our elevators which resulted in two of the three available elevators being blocked. For the restaurant, and more precisely the breakfast, we strictly follow the Ontario rules which allows us to have our breakfast buffet open. Each customer must wear a mask as soon as they leave their table and must have an up-to-date vaccination passport which is checked before they can enter the restaurant. Sincerely

Steps away from Byward Market

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Peepeee TripAdvisor review

Liked our superior King bed rm. It was Very spacious and clean. We will always stay at Novotel as Rideau Centre and Byward Market are steps away fr the hotel. Lots of good restaurants close by. Unv of Ottawa Is also walkable

Average stay

TripAdvisor rating 3.0/5

Krisadd77 TripAdvisor review

We stayed at Novotel Ottawa Aug 20-23. We had 2 rooms booked for us and 2 older kids. Parking our truck in the under ground hotel parking was challenging. There were not many spaces we could fit our Ford F-150 and we luckily found the last spot big enough. Our rooms were directly across form the ice machine and our first night sleep was very bad as the ice machine was used constantly until 1am. Traffic noise was very bad in this room too. We asked to be moved and they did find us 2 new rooms away from ice machines and seemed to be much quieter side for traffic noise. Much better the following 2 nights. The rooms were clean and updated but no fans in bathrooms and not enough towels. Restaurant was good/average typical breakfast buffet. The location was fantastic for walking everywhere. The pool was fully booked for our first day at check in but we booked 2 time slots for the next 2 days. Overall our stay was good/average. We probably wouldn’t stay there again mostly because of the parking issue with our vehicle.

Wonderful location and beautiful room

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Go56921818130 TripAdvisor review

We came for a girls weekend and was pleasantly surprised. The room was great, location was excellent, right by The Byward Market and shopping. Sights all walkable from location. Will definitely be back. Great job with all the Covid protocols, felt very safe.

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Novotel Ottawa. It is a delight to learn that you have had an enjoyable and comfortable experience during your stay and that the staff was able to help you have a great stay with us. Our guest's satisfaction is always our first priority. We look forward to welcoming you the near future. Sincerely,

Great place in Downtown Ottawa

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

pafaucon TripAdvisor review

We felt at home! All employees, from the general manager to the waitresses & front desk agents, were very customer service oriented and helpful. Pool was nice. Breakfast buffet 😋 yummy. We frequently go to this hotel and love it!

Dear Pafaucon, What a great review. Thank you for your amazing comments! It has given me great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Novotel Ottawa and we are so proud that you felt our team were friendly and welcoming and looked after you during your time with us. Hospitality is at the heart of everything we do and it is always very rewarding when guests take the time to give us such great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travel plans include The Novotel Ottawa! Sincerely,

Very good hotel and location

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Farkases TripAdvisor review

Excellent location for tourists sites and for restaurants within walking distance. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well equipped. The breakfast buffet is good value for a hotel restaurant.

Dear Farkases, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed some aspects of your stay such us the hotel's location, the staff and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travel plans include The Novotel Ottawa!

Great hotel and location!

TripAdvisor rating 5.0/5

Guy01925 TripAdvisor review

Very clean, modern hotel, recently renovated. Right next to a large shopping mall, very close to the popular Col. By Market and all the parliament tourist attractions within walking distance, including the impressive Rideau Canal locks. I stayed there many times for work and now I go back for pleasure! Great value!

Dear Guy, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ottawa City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are very glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay due to our convenient location. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other establishments nearby

All our hotels in Ottawa